paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock / OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock / OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock / OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock / OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock

OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
You can go to ground in confidence with the RAIDER A5 AK FOLDING Stock. The stock lays flat against the body of the marker. Easy folding to store for transporting your marker. Fold for close quarters engagements! The stock will not interfere with the shooter’s hand while folded. SO STRONG you can drive a truck over this stock and it will not break!

FEATURES:
Approximately 10 Inches Long (Installed)
Military Grade Materials
Light Weight
Aluminum Reinforced End Cap
5 YEAR REPLACEMENT WARRANTY
The fold is a full 180°
Stock lays flat against the body of the marker
Easy fold and store for transport
Fold for CQB engagements
The stock will not interfere with the shooter’s hand while folded
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
vtTaco Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SpecOps A5A2 Stock
Tapco Saw Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 R/T
SpecOps A2-A5 Pro Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Aka Sidwinder
Opsgear AK47 Folding Stock
J&J 12" S2 Ceramic
Strengths: Light
Strong
Weaknesses: Gets in the way of mask like 99% of stocks on the market
Review: My first stock was a SpecOps Mp5 styled stock. It had a cut-out to allow for mask clearance but still knocked into my mask a lot. My second stock was a Tapco SAW Stock which gave a little more mask room but still got in the way. Both were set-up as air-thrus but my remote line combined with slide check sticking straight down, caused the line to jab into the ground while crawling. After changing to a bottom-line remote set-up, the full stocks still got in the way when trying to low crawl, shoot prone, or maneuver in tight spaces. This stock solves that problem.

Installation is easy, just pull out the two receiver pins, insert the stock in marker, and replace the pins. The fit is tight which is a good thing. No wobbles of any kind. The o-ring that buffers the hammer needs to be removed or the marker will not re-cock.

The stock is easy to fold and locks securely in place when both extended and folded. When folded, it doesn't interfere with the R/T hoses or my front grip. If you want to use the sights you'll need a raised or offset sight rail though it doesn't interfere with my mask as much as the Saw or MP5 style stocks do since it's design is narrower. I don't really feel the need for a sight anyway, since the marker rolls right onto target from my shoulder. This is the lightest stock I've used but it's still very solid.

I have found that the A5, with it's heavy hammer bouncing back and forth, shakes substantially enough to open up my shot pattern at high rof's. When fully braced against my shoulder, my shot pattern is a little tighter than when shooting with the stock folded.

Operating the stock is easy but it requires quite a bit of force. Just practice while watching TV and it will break in nicely as you figure out the best technique that works for you. I also recommend lightly sanding down the sharp edges and molding marks as they might poke and jab at your hand.

Edit: I've noticed that I keep the stock folded about 75% of the time during firefights. I pretty much only extend it when providing suppression fire and patrolling.
Conclusion: This is the last stock I will ever buy for my A5. It gives me the versatility I've been looking for and with the stock folded my marker fits nicely in my gear bag. If you want a stock, this is the one to buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5enthusiast Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 E
W.A.S Board
Flatline
Ak Folding Stock
Shocktech Drop
Pure Energy 72/3000


Strengths: Strength, Looks, Weight
Weaknesses: A bit Hard to install
(not a big deal)
Review: This stock is really worth the money. It is a bit hard to install, but a tight fit is better than a loose fit that is going to wobble on you at the wrong time. Once installed this thing is like a rock. No wobble, looks great, and it also feels great.

This folds the full 180 in a matter of seconds and back out again if you needed it.

This stock is also very light weight, which is nice because hey, who needs the extra weight.

Conclusion: If you are in the market for a great folding stock for your a5, then look no further, go buy one now!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cocktail97 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
Lapco 8'' Big Shot Bead Blasted Barrel
Lapco A-5 Long Foregrip
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
OPSGEAR UMP Gas Thru MAG
Remote Line
20 Oz Co2 Tank
Strengths: Very Sturdy
Strong
No Wobble
Comforatble
Weaknesses: Hard to install at first.
Only for the A-5 so far.
Breaks Push pins.
Review: I got the OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock in the mail a month or so ago. It took a bit of muscle to install but its alot easier if you loosen the screw just under the sights at the back of the gun. It is very comfortable and easy to use. It takes about a couple seconds to fold the stock and about half that to flip it back out again, but you can get faster with practice. It is great for a back player for the extra support and excellent for CQB. I can easily fold the stock and work a window or a corner with ease. Buy this stock if you want to get a stock for your A-5, you will not be disappointed.

EDIT:
Because the stock fits in very tight it will break/snapp/rip your back push pins in a short period of time (played about 10 hours, did mainteneance, found they were broken/bent). This is very common with stocks.
Conclusion: An excellent upgrade for you A-5!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 12:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KILLA DADDY of2 Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
THE OPSGEAR PDWKIT and the engler ak47 folding kit
Marker Setup: a5 with egrip
opsgear pdwkit
flatline
allens hopper
offset adaptor
raised rail
red dot sight
shocktech front bolt
Strengths: Fits extremely well and very sturdy
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Buy it, it is Far better then the engler product. no wobbles, easy to adjust the tension, and very sturdy. I am former military and this thing can withstand the abuse that i throw at it. You will not be dissapointed. Even the manufacturers website shows a ful size man hanging off of it and it supports his weight no problem. So, i tried it. And it held my 230 lbs easy.
Conclusion: Buy it, great value, and it fits like a dream.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SABER0404 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT 16 solid stock but on an iron horse
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5, E-grip, 12" J&J, OPSGEAR AK47 folding stock, OPSGEAR 416 shroud, Lapco m4 mag, remote line, home made suppressor mod
Strengths: -Folds
-Good Length
-Non-in-cumbersome
-Solid construction with no wobble
Weaknesses: -Kinda weedy
-Spring/hinge got stiff
Review: I got this as one of my very early upgrades and it was definitely worth it, it improved my game dramatically. The folding action was very useful so when I was going cover fire I could whip it out and get that little bit more accuracy, and when I needed to assault I could fold it in and have more maneuverability. When paint got in the spring it was a little bit annoying to clean but nothing overly bad. I found the stock to be the perfect length for me. Over time though I found my spring getting tougher and tougher to compress making it harder to fold. Though it's a solid construction, it's very narrow (but not uncomfortable), and the large gap on the inside gives the appearance that it is flimsy and weak (especially with my 416 kit on, fine without it though). The stock doesn't hit on the cyclone parts because of a notched cut out and the stock attachment point limits it's ability to fold too far. This is a very good stock if your play style changes a lot. For the spring issue i could probably just chop a ring out to make it easier.
Conclusion: In the end this is one of the greatest stock you can buy for A5 hands down but for me it's time to move onto something else as my play style changes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil Durza Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I tried out a friend's M4 stock that was on a 98c.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" J&J Ceramic
AK-47 OPSGEAR Folding Stock
Double Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Ricochet Smoke Hopper
Lapco Machine Gun Barrel Shroud
Strengths: Fast flip out
Generally easy install
solid through and through
Very easy storage with flip
Weaknesses: The install
C02 tank (not too bad)
Review: Well I bought it directly from the site and surprisingly got it in one week. Now to the install.
I had just a slight problem with it but it's real easy to fix. Apparently the holes where the quick strip pins are weren't into the gun enough on the bottom. I just took my dremel with a drill bit to it and viola, it worked with minimal effort. The tank if you have a 20 oz won't let you get your arm through it if you wanted to pull something from your jacket. You have to bring your hand out and around. It's not such a big deal but you can get used to it. All the more power to anybody who has a remote because then there would be no problem.
Conclusion: It's great to have a stock if you've never tried/owned one so I highly recommend this. I give it a 9.75 because of the install but it rounds up to be a 10 so good luck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fundi Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Any other Folding stock from OPSGEAR
Marker Setup: Flatline
AK-47 Folding Stock
Response Trigger
TACTICAL 4 Reticle Red Dot Sight
AR-15/M-16 Forend Grip - Black Finger Groove
Offset Hopper Adapter
TAC CAP Loader - A5
OPSGEAR Tippmann A5 SIG MAG Kit
Tippmann A-5 Double Trigger
Strengths: Strong, Steardy, helpful in tight/small spots.
Weaknesses: Hard to install. First, hard to fold. Need remote coil, 20oz tank gets in way.
Review: Its good when you are in a small spot or shooting at someone who is close and you don't need to much accuracy. It's also good for a sniping stock. Its good for anything really. For speedball I would use it when its folded. Its hard to fold when you first get it, but when you fold it a couple of times, the spring loosens up and you are able to fold it faster.
Conclusion: Get this product if you like to snipe or if you like to rush in and kill fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diegoballa Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
Opsgear AK clip
BT AK barrel kit
OpsGear AK folding Stock
E-Grip
JCS power tube
Strengths: no wobble
Folds in and out quick
Doesn't interfere with trigger hand
Only 70$
Weaknesses: Really tight fit so you have too fight with it at first
Review: great stock.Great for snipers who don't mind to get there hands dirty and rush in.
CQB(close quarters Battle)is awesome because it folds 10" shorter is half a second
and folds out with a snap of you wrist.All I can say is that they should make these stocks for more guns.
Conclusion: Super but nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 20th, 2006 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media