paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Minion / Evil Minion / Evil Minion / Evil Minion

Evil Minion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Minion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Minion
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ANTI-CHOP BREAK BEAM EYE
ABS
FUSE BOLT
ADJUSTABLE LPR
HYPER2 IN-LINE REGULATOR
BALL DETENTS
UNCAPPED BPS
ON/OFF BOTTOMLINE
ADJUSTABLE CLAMPING FEEDNECK
Product Availability 
The Evil Minion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
primetimejr Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, dm5
Marker Setup: evil minion, reloader b, 45/4500
dm4, reloader b, 70/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, i prefer the cp triggers to stock
aftermarket board so that you can get psp mode and whatnot
Strengths: Light
Beautiful milling
Great customer service
All other matrix strengths
great price at $725
Weaknesses: Efficiency (sort of)
Trigger
Uses proto eye ribbon
Review: i could not decide between the minion and the pm6. after some time, i decided on the minion because i did not like the single rubber eye cover on the pm6.

This gun is probably 1/2 - 2/3 of a pound lighter than my dm4. It is even lighter than the pm6 by an oz and probably 3 oz lighter than the dm5. I believe it is only 1.5 oz heavier than the dm6. Anyways, even those with weak wrists won't be able to complain about the weight.

It comes with evil customer service which has been top notch. It comes from the factory ready to rip and is consistent and has no kick; like all other matrices. If you have any questions or problems, Evil is right there to help with you and the great thing is, if you live on the east coast or mid-west, it takes less time to send it for warranty since it goes to chicago; where as dye warranty has to be shipped to san diego.

Another great thing about this gun is that it comes with a .692 12" barrel where as the pm6 only comes with a .690 12" barrel. Aside from the eye covers, the oz of weight, the barrel and the better looks (my opinion), the minion and the pm6 are identical in every way.

As soon as i received the gun from evil, i put a cp trigger on it, hybrid bolt guide and a twist feedneck. None of these were required but i prefer cp triggers over stock, love being able to work on my bolt without using an allen key to get to it, as well as getting better efficiency, and i absolutely love twist feednecks. After i put the parts on, i changed the board to a lucky board with a codex chip. This is where i ran into the only real weakness to the gun. It still uses the proto eye ribbons which are a pain to put back into the board. With wire eyes, it is really easy, you just push the pin into slot and you're good to go. With the proto eye ribbons, you have to get the ribbon into the coupler and push the clamps in. It seems really easy except when you have big hands and fingers since the ribbon does not just move in any direction you want. On a positive note, lucky is making wired eyes so that we can get rid of the ribbon.

I used the gun for a whole day of x-ball tryouts. All that i had to do was raise my hpr and lower my lpr to 2 turns out. I got the gun set to 285 fps, and although the gun was new, it was +/- 5 fps. I shot a case through it and by the end of the day it was down to +/- 3 fps. Throughout the whole case i only had 6 barrel breaks and it shot just like the dm4, only in a nibble stature.

Cleaning this gun is just as easy as the rest of the matrix family since it has the fuse bolt system. If you are a newb, there are stickies on pbnation to show you how to clean it. Take the bolt out, put some hatersauce on the o-rings, put it back in and rip.

Although the gun was new, i noticed that the gun had acceptable efficiency. With the hybrid bolt guide (essentially the 530 mod to reduce kick and increase air flow) and the top hat spacer (increases efficiency) and using a 45/4500 i was getting 3 pods and a hopper before dropoff on a cold fill to about 3200. This was actually more than i was expecting since it will translate to 5 pods and a hopper off a 4500 fill without the regs being broke in. After using it for a month or 2, i'm guessing that i will be able to get 6 pods and a hopper off a 45/4500 fill or about 1000 balls.

The final point i want to address is the price. at $725 this gun is a steal. When the pm6 came out if started being retailed at $925. This is a high end gun at $725 and can compete with dm6's (1300), ego6's (900-1400), angels (1000+) and timmies (1200) with no problems.
Conclusion: If you love how matrices shoot and are considering either a dm6 or a pm6, don't forget to look at the minion because you will be more than happy with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

tntpoof Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMC..DM5 DM6 .a few other guns Timmys Ego so on
Marker Setup: Stock ..Freak 12" and Freak 14" Rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak kit thats all Oh replace rear trigger frame screw with next longer 1 in parts kit only 1 thread holding that bad boy in
Strengths: Easy to adjust.shoots ropes Fast
Weaknesses: Rear trigger frame screw fell out air screwhole needs to be on the bottom
Review: Drove 118 miles to pick this gun up it was worth it got it for about 250 under retail.. heck id pay 1000$ for it.. LOL..Opened the box andsaid a four letter word started with S ened with H LOL.. you have all the adjustments you need no need for a ramping board aint no skill in a ramper anyway.. Took it out and ran 2 caces through it it Rocked as all the guys that got shot by it.will say. LOL isnt all that bad on air I run a Dye Throttle 72 ci with 4500 psi.. only had it at 3000 psi and ran a case through it..
Conclusion: Buy this marker you wont be disapointed at all..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

k-odyevilpballa Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My ion, upped imps timmys, only one that compares is timmys
Marker Setup: sp ion white micro drop eclipse qev detonator reg cp slingblade trigger twister feedneck sp stickies freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast smooth accurate
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Okay , so i was at my local field and danny benites ,of chicago evil factory came up and asked me for a slice of my pizza, so i give him one ,then he asks if i want to try out his gun, woow heck yes ,so i take it over to th chrono and start shooting, wooow it shoots ropes, no recoil nothin, and its super accurate.
Conclusion: Well i only tried it once but for 600-700 bucks ied say go for it, im givin it a ten, cause when i used it it was perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 13th, 2006 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robinsucks Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6 - The PM6 is a slightly heavier version of the same gun with stupid plastic eye covers.
Marker Setup: Minion with Stiffi Tip
Ultralight frame
Hater Chip
Lucky Board
DM5 ball detents

Halo and Evil 5k 68.
Recommended
Upgrades:
What I listed above or save yourself the time and effort and buy the Evil Team version from evilstore.com
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light and smooth.
Weaknesses: No ramping board stock.
Review: Dye makes great guns and this one is no exception even though it is branded by Evil. It is a PM6 (2006 Proto Matrix) with a different, lighter body and two metal eye covers. Add the Hater Chip, Lucky Board, Stiffi Tip and even an UL frame if you can spare the $ and you have one of the best markers in paintball right now. Clearly worth the money. Fantastic performance.
Conclusion: Well worth the money. Buy one today and mow some fools.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baby dick Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion,piranha evo,tippmann 98c pro dm8
Marker Setup: 06 evil minion w/ ultralite frame
Torque 440 Electronic Paintball Loader, Empire reloader b
3000 crossfire tank
.692 bore Stiff! two piece
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stiffi barrel
UL frame
Strengths: anti chop eye, never chopped a ball with me, Easy to fix,little problems
Weaknesses: Cant shoot blank with eyes on, Battery life, Hard to clean eyes (for me)
Review: ok so I saved up and got this gun for $400 with a case of paint 6 bunkers C5s and whatnot. this gun is AMAZING Never have expierenced problems aside from battery loss. Will shoot FAST with the right Hoppers. I love my minion. I reommend this for serious and casual players. 10 out of 10
Conclusion: Awesome.Just. awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scooteraz Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hybrid Shocker; very comparable as far as shooting, shocker has smaller profile but seems a little fussier in setup. However, it (the Hybrid version) has great appeal from the uniqueness standpoint.
Quest, similar to shocker, but I did not like trigger and fit. Performance seemed to be significantly more prone to FSDO than Minion.
PM6/DM6, essentially same gun, except in details.
Marker Setup: Black Minion, Virtue board, Hybrid bolt guide, CP trigger (sling blade), either pipe kit back with Stiffi tip (for 14 or 16" total length) or Stiffi 14" switch kit (depends on my mood and whether I want to use top hat mod or not...see review), Empire B, CP bayonet style feedneck, 68/4500 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on taste. I did not like the trigger, so CP sling blade was first upgrade. Virtue board seems to be faster even in semi-only mode. Various high hat mods can have problems (see review), but some swear by them.
Strengths: Light, fast, quiet (if not using the Evil Pipe front), cost (even with upgrades).
Weaknesses: Not as efficient as other markers, upkeep, spool valve issues.
Review: PM 6 is different outer shell with pipe barrel. Nothing wrong with that.

All spool valve markers have similar issues; they experience to greater or lesser degree bolt stick and some frictional losses due to large o-ring contact areas with the dynamic o-rings. Smartparts Shocker and FEP seem to have chosen a slightly simpler airflow path from the firing chamber to the ball at the expense of larger o-ring surface area. Dye/Proto/Evil seem to have a slightly more torturous firing chamber to ball flow path, but less dynamic o-ring contact area. I like the Dye method, as it seems to be slightly less susceptible to bolt stick and first shot drop-off. But both are engineering trade-offs.

Got this a couple of months ago. Have used virtually every weekend since. Mostly speedball, but some rec ball as well. First weekend, out of the box I pulled the bolt, cleaned and greased, gassed up, chrono'd and went balling. About 50 shots in, the tophat ring blew. Pulled the bolt, cleaned, greased, re-installed tophat o-ring. About 50 shots later, blew again. This action repeated itself about five or six times (replaced the o-ring out of the nice spares kit). Re-boxed and played my backup. The store where I bought the marker checked it out, replaced the o-ring another time, and gave me several spares. Problem solved for about 2 weeks. After every session, I am cleaning and re-greasing the internals per manual. Problem started again. Replaced o-ring again. Another 2 weeks.

Seems the tophat o-ring is about a 2 week item in the stock marker. Every week with tophat mod (see later)

Had gun stock for about 3 weeks, except trigger. CP was nice upgrade for me. Shooting (except for top hat o-ring issue above) has been a dream. Essentially 15 to 20 bps with my fingers, almost ball on ball. OK, it is not minute of angle accuracy, but for speedball, plenty accurate. As far as kick...I never noticed kick on my old stock vision Impulse when playing, so I certainly don't notice any kick with this. If forced to talk about kick, yes this has less kick than an imp or a stock Ego (two that I have shot), but I don't rate that very important. Efficiency for me stock was about 1100 per 68/4500. Eyes do their job, never had a ball break in the chamber.

Added the Hybrid bolt guide and top hat mod later. Only slight improvement in efficiency (as one would expect if you think through the physics of the issue), but the top hat mod made the top hat o-ring issues arise again with the Stiffi switch kit. Apparently it took just a little too much pressure to get 290 from the switch kit with the top hat mod. I could use bolt guide without top hat and with switch kit, or I could use with top hat and with pipe back. Both great barrels, so kind of a tossup.

Virtue board was added on a whim. Was actually surprised that their logic seems to respond faster than the original Evil/Proto board. CP feedneck was totally unnecessary, but is nice. Will review both these products separately.

Lots of people have commented on the gun, favorably. And there are not a lot at the field, so some points for uniqueness. Good finish on the gun. I like the size of the grips vs. the Proto/Dye UL frame (have kinda big hands). Again, some fit the UL frame better. I happen to like the shape of this gun body better than the Proto, but that is pure taste.

I like tinkering and the shape, so this was a good gun for me. However, if you want the upgrades with initial purchase, and you think the style is OK, the Dye DM6 is for you. I would maintain gun after every use, so maintenance is not an issue to me, but if you like to go several weeks between services, this may not be the gun for you. Got to use Dow 33 or equivalent, as that does not cause o-ring swelling (DO NOT use Dow 55, as that does and will kill efficiency in a marker with o-rings that are reasonably new). This gun is lubricant sensitive (as are most spool valve markers).

Really good gun, fine as is. IMO the medium price performance leader. Good as any spool valve gun out there when you add upgrades.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone interested in a spool-valve gun. Lower cost than DM6 or high-end shocker. Less FSDO in my experience than shocker or quest. Highly recommended if you want medium cost high performance marker. Am giving 8 because 10 has to be reserved to absolute 1 in 1000 guns, 9 is for good performing guns with all bells and whistles. So, 8 is for medium price leader.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 12:35 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Killian! UDOWN? Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MacDev Droid
Bob Long Alias
PM6
BKO
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 06 Dust Silver Minion
UL Frame
14" .693 Lucky Un!tec barrel
Top Hat Mod
Pure energy 68/4500 HP
DXS Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Top Hat Mod
UL frame
Strengths: Milling
Weight
UL frame
Weaknesses: Proto Eye Ribbons

Review: I have Not put this gun through Hell yet so i will edit it after 10 more cases of paint. I bought this gun cause I love my PM6 and i always thought that the milling on the 06 minion was hot. so I bought this gun used about 3 weeks ago Gun came with the UL frame which is a Big plus. I have the stock frame on the PM6 and thats the main thing i hate about it. besides the Proto Ribbon Eyes,Great gun got about 1200 shots off one Fill.
Conclusion: Buy it. You will not regret it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 23rd, 2009 at 12:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drewwilcox1 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion only when pimped out but it still falls short
Marker Setup: ion with upps and a pure energy 72/45 and my velocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
orange bolt and ul but its sweet befor
Strengths: Short trigger stroke ,and its a pm /evil any more not needed to be said
Weaknesses: Air hog at times but the orange bolt will fix it up
Review: I went to a local field with a ion eww i know but when i went to the pro shop i saw a pm .Well i love dyes /protos and when i tried it i fell in love. i took it out to the field and just started to mow in my first game i killed 4 guys . The gun was hitting with in a 1-2 foot radias of where my barrel was pointing . I took it to the woods to see it did just as good put the balls where i wanted them and i was stoked that i was doing well .
Conclusion: So all in all i give it a 9.99 out of 10 it was so sweet if you can find one get it .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sk8erZero3 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, DM6, Timmys
Marker Setup: Black Evil Minion with Red annoed parts
72 cu 4500 psi Tank
Pulse hopper mated with RF Chip
UL Frame
Lucky UN1 Board
Virtue Chip
Soon Lazer Eyes
Ultralight Barrel
Top Hat Mod
CP Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame if you have the $$
New Board such as Virute or Toado
New Barrel, I prefer Ultralight
Strengths: SPEED
Accuracy
Distance
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: NONE that I have found
Review: SPEED
well with the stock frame I could do about 13 bps but when I got the ul frame I could do like 15 bps maybe a bit more but my friend who is crazy fast could do like 18 bps stock and 22 bps with ul frame so stock frame it is good

ACCURACY
with the stock pipe accuracy is not too good but slap a ultralight on it is practically ball on ball the stock barrel is very loud but almost any other barrel that you put on there will quite her right down

DISTANCE
with the lpr you can tune this for shooting VERY VERY brittle paint, efficiency, or distance, which is what I have mine tuned for, I still get like a hopper and 4 or 5 pods on a 68/45 but about 1 more pod with my 72/45

MAINTENANCE
this gun is VERY easy to clean it uses the fuse bolt which is only 4 pieces and the lpr is a bit of a pain to get out because you have to take off the grip frame to do it but it only takes me about 25 min. to lube the bolt, lpr, and reg

CONSISTENCY
not much to say about it but I get +/- 3 on the chrono which is pretty good but I have had some strings of same velocity's before
Conclusion: This gun is perfectly priced, it is the same as a pm6 except a bit better with metal eye covers, and smaller body, and even lighter with ul frame

This gun can compete with pretty much any high end gun like Egos, Dm6s, Timmys, etc

This gun is DEFIANTLY a gun to buy either as a back up or as a main gun because it is reliable and CRAZY FAST
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirtybird-OG Friday, May 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix's, shockers, timi's, etc.
Marker Setup: Blue minion w/ 68 scion, pipe kit, halo, Lucky board w/hater chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board with modes
Strengths: -Quiet w/ almost no kick
-small and light
-eye covers and milling
-PRICE!!!!!
Weaknesses: Stock board's lack of ramping modes.
Review: First impression was WOW! The minion looks great and shoots even better. Everything is very easy to set up (read the manual) and the maintenance is very low. A nice amount of o-rings in the parts kit just incase aswell. This was a hit for Evil in the PL market. Can't wait to see what's next from them!!
Conclusion: If your a Dye fan but don't want to be like everybody else, go with the Minion. Dye's proven reliability with Evil's attitude.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media