paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Cyborg 2006 / MACDev Cyborg 2006 / MACDev Cyborg 2006 / MACDev Cyborg 2006

MACDev Cyborg 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Cyborg 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Cyborg 2006
[ View Photos (25) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Performance Technology.

The Cyborg is packed with the latest MacDev technology - everything from high precision regulators, feature packed board and aftermarket barrel through to the space age self lubricating bolt is designed to give you a smooth, accurate marker - straight out of the box.

Machined from a solid billet of 6k grade Aluminium, the 06 Cyborg is made to exacting tolerances - craftsmanship and design combine to make the 06 Cyborg smoother, faster and more accurate.

Light and Efficient.

Weighing in at 2.0lbs, the 06 Cyborg marker is light and well balanced - the marker can also achieve almost 2000 rounds from a 68cu 4500psi fill. This means that you can carry a smaller bottle to give you an edge during play, or simply save the problems of filling up all the time by using a large bottle - either way it means more paint, less air.

Bloody fast.

The Cyborg can cycle a true 33bps with paint - thats bloody fast in anyones language. The secret to the Cyborg speed is the unique efficient ram system and self lubricating bolt. A poweful electronic package is housed in the grip of the Cyborg reading the trigger continuously and uses a laser paint detection system to make sure the gun only fires as fast as paint is fed.

Whats new in 06?

The 06 Cyborg includes all of the features of an 05 Sonic Cyborg, such as Sonic Claw, Gladiator Inline, Sonic LPR, Sonic Bolt etc. However, many new 06 features have been added:

06 Performance
The new 06 model Cyborg features a new Pneumatic circuit, including a high flow, path optimised subplate, ultra responsive solenoid (2 x faster than the 05 model solenoid) and hoseless routing. These features combine to give the 06 Cyborg a 20% faster cycle time over previous models. Independent tests (TAG Sports USA) have shown the 06 Cyborg to shoot paint at a speed of 33bps using a Halo B – making the 06 Cyborg the fastest marker in the world.

06 Milling
The new 06 milling follows the style of previous models; however more material has been removed than ever before – lightening the 06 model by almost 10%. The 06 has been anodised standard with a dusted finish. This finish offers improved scratch resistance over gloss finishes.

06 Circuit Board
The 06 Circuit board is the smallest stock marker board ever made. The board is fully programmable, allowing the user to alter the fire rate, dwell, various debounces and a multitude of other settings. The board features independent plug-in componentry, to easily replace or upgrade individual electronic components (on/off, microswitch etc.). The board also features an on board tourney lock and a lifetime upgrade program – free software upgrades for the original owner for life.

06 Grip and Trigger
The 06 model grip frame has been moved towards the rear of the marker to give the user increased comfort and a more stable shooting platform for snap and running and shooting. The trigger guard has been expanded to allow easier trigger walking, whilst the trigger has a double bearing built in to eliminate side to side slop. The end result is increased speed, accuracy and comfort.
Product Availability 
The MACDev Cyborg 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Matt LaClair Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 interceptor - More kick, less efficient, heavier, less accurate, less speed
E-bladed vert cocker-doesn't even compare
05 proto matrix- same kick, less speed, less quality
Marker Setup: 2006 Pewter MacDev Cyborg
CP rail
CP on/off
VP claming no-rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe 7 peice matchstick kit
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Efficiency
Durability
Kick
Looks
Lightweight
Adjustability
Stock Board
East To Maintain
Laser Eyes
Weaknesses: Honestly.........None
Review: OK, so i'm waiting for the UPS truck to arrive, because it is the day of delivery. So at about 11:00AM he shows up. He hands me the box with paintballkingdom.com on the side of it. I know it has arrived. I feel like hugging the UPS guy! I brought it upstairs to open it up. Inside the box there is all of the stuff I ordered, CP rail, CP on/off, tri-flow, macroline, and Dow 33. More Importantly, at the bottom rested a hard plastic case. I undid the clasps and opened it up. It was a padded case and the marker was resting there, I did'nt know if it was a dream or not. The shade of pewter is brilliant,very light colored with a touch of grey. secondly It is the most durable and even annodizing I have ever seen. The Dust coat is so durable, I don't think that you could scratch it if you tried and I love how you can't figerprint it. Immediatly I pick it up, and screw on the barrel, OMG it is so light. With the barrel it weighed an astonishing 2.16 lbs. After admiring its beauty, I wanted to get an Idea of what I was dealing with, so I stipped it down. This is the part I like most about it, no tool dissasembly. The bolt comes out with a pull pin. The ram and ram housing come out with a simple turn of the ram cap. It was so easy to do. Just coated the ram and housing with a coat of Dow 33 and put a drop of tri-flow on each of the 3 bolt o-rings. Easy as that. Then I adjust the trigger. It is so easy via the 3 external adjustment screws. The top one is for pull tension, the further in clockwise the stiffer the pull. The middle screw is for microswith activation point, the further in the screw the sooner it trips the microswitch. The final screw is for post-travel adjustment, which I'm guessing you know what that is. After all that stuff was done the fun part came. I hooked up the asa and the macroline, and screwed in the tank. No leaks. Then I put it on uncapped semi and turned the vision eyes off (easily done by holding in the trigger for 2 seconds). It ripped. I dont know if it was the wide trigger, or the huge trigger guard ( you can even use 3 fingers!). Words cant explain the rippage, It is just sooooo easy to walk, it is unbelivable. I also noticed when ripping I noticed no kick what-so-ever. When I say no kick I mean no kick. I had about 40 balls in my room. I grabbed those up for an accuracy test. I shot at a board roughly 50 ft away and got amazing groupings, probably within 9 inchs. This was probably due to the Matchsick barrel, which is simply amazing. The eyes on this were flawless (and they look cool, you can see the red laser, its really bright!). Even Though i only shot 40 balls I could tell that the eyes are great. I procedded to shoot off the rest of my tank. I also had to see the gun cycle at 40 cps, seeing as it is capable of 46 cps I had to try it. It actually sounded awsome, and I can see it will be cool to show my freinds later on. And About 2400 shots later (using 92ci/4500psi) the tank was empty. And thats not broken in yet. Amazing. The final thing that I like about this gun that I can think of, is the stock board. It has over 11 modes of fire including semi, full auto, auto response, nxl, 3 types of PSP ramping, assisted ramp, and some I cant think of. To change a mode or dwell or anything along those lines does not require you to take off the grip, it is done completely through the trigger. For example if I wanted to put it on auto response I would hold the trigger down, turn the gun on, press the trigger once to enter the mode register, and then press the trigger twice for auto response. It is very simple. Thats is why this will probably be the only gun I will keep for the rest of my ballin days.
Conclusion: Get the 2006 MacDev Cyborg, you wont regret it. It is the fastest gun in the world, tested with paint at 33 bps, the most efficient, one of the lightest, extremely well balanced, Comfortable, and most accurate. All for an astonishing $975. If I can have it you can too, because I'm 15 years old, and my parents did'nt chip in a cent, just saving my $ from my job, and we are middle class people from NH. This is the biggest investment I have ever made and It ws a wise choice. Get Yours.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

theBroodwich Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, Freestyle
Marker Setup: Pewter Borg
CP Rail and On/Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Kila detents if you must
Strengths: Light, Small, Consistent, Efficient, FAST, Rips right out of the box
Weaknesses: None that I can tell
Review: I got my Cyborg in with really high hopes and I am not disappointed. The anno is amazing and the milling is a huge improvement from the past models. Looked through the manual and quick stripped it right away to get an idea of what I was dealing with; it is very easy to disassemble and lube. The trigger is really smooth and the switch is very light. Adjusting the trigger is very easy via the three adjustment screws, after a few quick turns I had it right where I wanted it. I haven't messed with the board settings yet, but from what I can tell it is fairly easy to do.

After installing the rail and asa, I screwed on the barrel, tank and a hopper to get and idea of how heavy it would be. With everything on and a full hopper of paint it is still really light and easy to move around. I aired it up and took it to my backyard to test it out. Operating pressure is set from factory is 200psi, and it really doesn't need to be turned up much(just adjusted for fps). I fired off a few quick bursts and was pleased with the groupings that the included .689 bore Matchstik produced. I loved the feel of the Borg in my hands, it is pretty easy to keep it really tight to the body and still move around. This thing has absolutely NO KICK. I refilled the hopper to see what kind of efficiency I would get. On my 68/45 tank a full hopper used less than 500psi, I imagine I can get over 1500 shots on a full tank. My fingers aren't very fast, but I can see how someone could get 20+bps, and it is very likely that this thing can cycle up to 30bps on ramp or full auto. After all of this, I took the Borg apart to clean and lube it for the next use, there seemed to be no wear on the inside.
Conclusion: Overall I am extremely pleased with the new Cyborg, MacDev did a very good job on it. Beautiful package, great stock reg(Gladiator) and barrel(MatchStik), and its overall performance make it the best marker in its price range. If you are considering picking up a new 06 marker, I would definitely recommend looking into the Borg, it is definitely as good as or better than many of the best markers out there right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2005 Angel Speed, DM Series markers (only tested), Egos (only tested), ION (not really in the same category in my mind)
Marker Setup: 2006 Cyborg
MacDev Matchstick Barrel (until I get a cocker threaded back for my PowerLyte Kit)
CP mini-rail w/CP on off

Angel 05 Speed
HALO B w/Rip Drive & Victory board
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP Direct Mount On/Off ASA
68/4500 CrossFire LP Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An aftermarket feed neck
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: None
Review: First Impressions:
The anno job on this thing is absolutely flawless. All of the parts match up very well with no color variation at all. The gun itself feels very solid without feeling bulky or awkward. It does seem a bit tall but when compared to a DM series marker it is about the same height. Although I don't really care for the feedneck it does seem like a very good stock one. The gun with the barrel, regulator, and 9volt battery installed weighs only 2lbs. With a complete setup on it (air system, loader, paintballs) it is still very light and very manuverable.

Modes and Operation:
The gun is very easy to turn on, just flip the switch in the top of the trigger guard and she is ready to mow faces; no need to wait for it to boot up. It somes stock with break-beam infrared laser eyes. So all you need to do is look in the breach to see if the eyes are working. The LED in the left side of the grip frame tells you if trigger pulls (flashes white) are being registered. The LED is green when the eyes are on and a ball is in the chamber. To turn the eyes off simply hold down the trigger for 1 second and the LED will continually blink red indicating they are off. Changing modes is a breeze once you get used to it (there is a bit of a learning curve here, but not too steep). Simply hold down the trigger when turning the gun on and the LED will be blue. Then select what you want to change by pulling the trigger a predetermined amount of times to access that particular setting. It comes with all the firing modes you will ever need (11 in all) to include PSP, NPPL, and NXL legal modes. The trigger is very easy to adjust with three adjustment screws in the trigger. The top screw adjusts trigger tension, the middle screw adjusts the firing activation point and the bottom screw adjusts trigger travel. This is very easy to do and only takes a few minutes at the most. How much gas does it use? Well, not that much. I shot 2 hoppers on 1500psi and still had well over 1000psi left and that's without breaking in the regulator.

The Fun Stuff:
Shooting ropes of paint with this beast is childs play to say the least. Out of the box I was easly putting out ropes of 10-15 balls at a time with no effort at all. There is virtually ZERO kick and has got to be one of the quietest markers I have ever shot. Is it accurate? You bet it is! I was able to hit 5" groupings at 50/60 feet with a stray ball here and there. I did have 1 barrel break when I tested her out but it was due to the humidity and some slightly swollen paint. But despite the break it still shot straight and true after about 2-3 shots.
Conclusion: Final Grade:
In my humble opinion this is one of the most underrated markers on the market. Looking over this marker I cannot find any reason not to like it, in fact I love it. It's fast, accurate, quiet, air efficient, easy to maintain, light, and easy to adjust. Given all these positives and no noticable negatives I don't know why any serious paintballer wouldn't look at the Cyborg as a possible choice. I give this marker a 10 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

darksentient Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Alias (fairly similar to this product most of all)
03 Lasoya
Dm4
Dm5
Dm6
Pm5
Angel A4 Fly
Angel 05 Speed

Marker Setup: 06 Borg (Pewter)
-Stiffi Switch Kit
-CP bleed on/off
-VP no-rise feedneck
-Hybrid Blunt Rail
-05 MacDev LegionAir 68/4500
-Halo B w/rip and V35 Victory board
Recommended
Upgrades:
VP no-rise feedneck
-the stock standard claw is fine, i just like my halo sitting real low and using a tool to securely fasten my hopper

Gun is great out of the box, none really necessary
Strengths: -Upgrades not needed
-Fast cycling rate = faster reaction time/recovery
-Maintainence/dependable
-Weight
-Consistent
Weaknesses: -Glad Reg/LPR little too sensitive to adjustments
-girls keep groping gun instead of me =(
Review: Looks:
First impressions were awesome. Comes in its own foam gun bag. Beautiful dust matte finish on my pewter borg. The milling is just amazing, profile is so darn thin, although the gun looks tall in pictures. Simple and clean design, while being ergonomic in all paintballing needs. Doesn't look that mean, at home at least =P

Performance:
OMG. I have to say it again, OMG =O
I have my HPR at 210, and LPR at 60ish. Shooting 285 +-3 (careful when adjusting LPR and HPR, gun is very sensitive to even a 1/5 turn, I learned the hard way when i blew my HPR gauge)

With everything hooked up, gun is superior in weight, profile, and personal feel. Perfect gun balance with everything on. With the Hybrid Rail and CP bleeding on/off on the gun, plus my MacDev LegionAir and Halo B, gun feels light as a feather. Easy to look down the barrel. Easy to turn a corner and snapshoot. Trigger is fast, although the back of the last set screw keeps grinding into the back of my trigger frame. I'm thinking about investing in a PBK Saber trigger to solve that issue and to have the feel like that of my critical trigger on my Alias. Gun doesn't skip a heartbeat on trigger pull and laying down ropes. Basically, you aim at it, it's going off the field with broken paint between its eyes. Virtually no kick while shooting at high rates while remaining super consistent.

Maintenance:
Not much you need to do here. You really only need to lube the bolt after every time you play with a light coat of Tri-Flow. LPR, RAM, and Glad really easy to take apart and lube with DOW 55, although only really needed to be done every 10,000-20,000 shots.

Efficiency:
I got about 1600 shots off a 68/4500. When you first get the gun though, it needs to break in a little bit. You might also hear a metal pinging sound. It's nothing to worry about as I found out on PBnation. At first I got around 1350-1450 shots off a 68/4500. Now i am very happy with not having to go back to the fill station all the darn time.
Conclusion: No gun will ever be perfect for everybody. Yet, whatever gun it may be, it could be perfect for you. This gun is perfect for me. Light, dependable, fast, sexy, and worth the dollar in comparison to many other high end guns out.

See you on the field
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 10th, 2006 at 4:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wgp04cocker Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4/5/C/6, PM5/6, Shocker, Ego, Alias, Ripper2, G7 Fly, G7
Marker Setup: MacDev 2006 Cyborg
Limited Edition Olive
14" Matchstik Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: -Weight
-Speed
-Accuracy
-Efficiency
-Low Kick
-Stock Board
-Price
Weaknesses: -Grips?
Review: After hearing such good things about this marker, I couldn't resist buying one. So, I sold my G7 Fly and picked myself up a brand new, limited edition 2006 Olive Cyborg. I was so anxious to get this marker I used 2 day shipping and eagerly awaited for its arrival. After waiting longer then expected (it was a holiday weekend, and I purchased it on a Saturday), I finally received my gun in the mail. When I first opened the box from UPS I was happy it came in a heavily padded foam box. After opening up the case I noticed the very nice dust anno and milling. I took it out of the box and was very happy with the weight, but at the same time didn't like the feel of the marker in my hands. Luckily, with a tank on my shoulder, this wasn't a problem when playing. I was fortunate enough to test it right away, as I had practice the next day and a tournament after that. Here is my experience from both days:

Pros
Weight
One of the first things I noticed about the marker out of the box is how light it is. It is definately compareable to that of a shocker, or an Ego. Although it may be somewhat tall, it is very thin, and with a tank and full hopper it is easy to handle.

Speed
At first I didn't like the feel of the trigger, it just wasn't for me. But then I messed with the 3 screws and I got it just the way I like it. Now, although I use PSP mode, I love my trigger and am easily able to get a nice stream going on semi.

Accuracy
The gun comes stock with a 14" Matchstik barrel, which is one of the best barrels on the market. At a tourny yesterday I was able to nail peoples hoppers left and right. Throughout the entire day I was very pleased with ball on ball accuracy it was delivering.

Efficiency
This is my second favorite thing about the marker. Off of 1500psi, I was able to get 4 pods when I was shooting it in my backyard. That means I would be able to get roughly 10 pods off of a full fill on my 45/45. Simply amazing.

Low Kick
Efficiency was my second favorite part of the gun, this is my favorite. The 06 Cyborg has significantly less kick then any marker I have ever owned or shot (keep in mind I've owned 2 DM4's, a DM5, DM6, and a Proto). Out of all of these markers, plus the other non-matrix guns (Ego, G7 Fly), this gun has the least kick by far. If you are a person who hates having a marker that has an excessive amount of kick, you WILL love the way this beauty shoots.

Stock Board
11 modes stock? Thats just rediculous. Its great that I have all the modes I'll ever need stock, saving me lots of money on an aftermarket board like Virtue or Tadao.

Consistency
I was very impressed with the consistency of the marker out of the box. I was getting +/- 4 over the chrono, which is much better then any gun I've ever owned.

Rare
I have yet to see someone with an 06 Cyborg at any of my local fields. Its pretty cool when you have what is to be considered a rare marker when you go to your field.

Programming
After experimenting with it a bit, I was able to learn how to program the board with ease. It takes a little bit of thinking at first, but after you spend a couple minutes toying with it you can get it down.

Price
One of the best guns on the market for UNDER $1,000? Incredible. Instead of spending $1,350 on a DM6, $1,900 on an SL66, or even $1,200 on an 06 Ego, you can spend a significantly less amount of money for an even better marker.

Cons
Honestly, I really can't think of anything I disliked about the marker. I have yet to have a problem with it, and overall, its been a pleasure to shoot. The only thing I can think of is the grips, but I wear gloves, so I don't notice them. But, as far a performance goes, there are no weaknesses that I've experienced.
Conclusion: I love this gun. Its light, fast, accurate, very efficient, has very low kick, and is overall the best marker I've owned (out of about 12). Considering the price, this is by far the best all around marker I have shot and/or owned in my 5 year paintballing experience. I can honestly say, if you purchase this marker, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 4th, 2006 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha1-1 Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5/6, EGO, ANGEL, few TIMMAAAAAS. CYBORG 6 is better than all
Marker Setup: ~ 06 CYBORG #3159
~ MatchStik 14' with .685, .687, .689 backs
~ Empire ReLoader B
~ 68/45 Legion Air
~ GNX4 drop


~ A-5
~ Freak barrel kit, 14in. allamerican
~ Red dot
~ red hot power tube
~ supa fly bolt
~ Mac Dev 68/45 HP
~ GX4 drop4ward
~ Richo hopper
~ E-grip
~ expantion chamber that only used as gas thro grip comp air doesnt need it so i just took out the 6 chambers i have no other way of getting the air to the gun didnt want to buy more crap..
Recommended
Upgrades:
well there truely isnt anything out there as of now that u could get thats better than anything on the gun already

but i would say get the other backs 4 the matchstik its the best barrel out there
Strengths: ~ light
~ simplicity
~ strong
~ durable
~ VERY efficient
~ F**** FAST
~ F**** ACCURATE
Weaknesses: I truely havnt had any thing that i didnt like!
Review: Well the Mac Dev 06 Cyborg is truely the SOPMOD M-4A1 of the paintball markers!!!! its the most underrated marker out there. markers like ANGELS, DM'S, TIMMAS, & EGOS, are all way over rated & over priced becaues of it. the CYBORG 6 is truly better than all of them, its super durable, light, very simple to opperate & change settings, very low mantaineness, VERY FAST & ACCURATE, & extremely reliable

STRENGTH- this marker has been made to withstand extreme abuse such as from fast, hard diving front players, the way the board, solinoid, & other inerds have been placed it makes 4 a very strong marker that wont brake easily.

SIMPLICITY- the markers settings r all changed through the clicking of the trigger & one multi color LED light placed on the left side of the marker this means no more hard to get to dip switches except 4 the one wich only turns the turny lock on/off. the on/off switch has been placed under the trigger frame completly out of the way unlick most markers were it is on the back side of the grip

WIEGHT- this thing is VERY LIGHT only 2 lb. with the barrel & reg. most markers dotn enclude these with there wieght

KICK- again all these other guns R way over rated the Cyborg 6 has less kick than a Matrix (DM's)

SPEED- no question the fasted marker out on the market

ACCURACY- well all that crap about DM's being the best is wrong the CYBORG 6 is more accurate than a matrix & the matchstik barrel is better than a DYE ultralights, or boomers,
Conclusion: my conclusion is that these are extremely rare markers i have never seen anyone else at a field have one besides myself, & they are the best marker out there 4 the lowest price only $975 at PBK. the truth is no matter what ur prefferance is or what u think looks better the CYBORG is the best gun out there i dont really care what ppl say cuz i know its the best & i like being one of the few ppl out there with the BEST GUN on the market ;)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hippie boy Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
04/05 cyborg, 07 cyborg, timmys, 06 ego
Marker Setup: 06 cyborg, tadao, stickys, pbk derlin sythe trigger, snakeskin bolt, ccm feedneck,
Recommended
Upgrades:
sticky grips, but realy this marker needs nothing to be great
Strengths: Sturdy, consistent, comfortable to carry, and bloody fast.
Weaknesses: When playing just playing for fun you will tend to blow through paint quikly.
Review: I happen to be incredibly biased towards macdev products in general, also it actually has some weight to it, it does not weigh more than the hpa tank. also this is a incredibly reliable, i bought a back up marker when i started getting in to more tourneys's and have yet to use the backup for anything other than my friends. still i think if your actually looking to buy this marker and have not held/used it i stress that you do.
Conclusion: It is a truly excellent marker, fast, strong, consistant
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beanbreaker Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
2k5 System X NME LE
2k6 WGP Black Magic Autococker
Marker Setup: 06 MACDev Cyborg
VLocity Hopper
48/3000psi PMI Steelie
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, straight out of the box this marker requires NO upgrades. Perhaps a clamping feedneck.
Strengths: Firepower.... 33bps
Next to no recoil
Ball on ball consistancy
TOP NOTCH QUALITY
Weaknesses: Perhaps the non-clamping feedneck, or stock grips
Review: Well, I received this marker about 3 weeks ago, and was able to put it thru its paces w/in the last few days. I can honestly say, that this is the best marker I've ever shot. You know when you've held something in your hands, and you can just feel that it's high quality? That would be the Cyborg. Just so that people know, I'm going to be doing my reviews rating each of the categories that follow out of 10, so you can see how I get my score. I rarely give out 1's, and rarely give out 10's. That being said... let's cut to the meat and potatoes.

ROF: To my knowledge, out of the box, this is the fastest marker available. In the manual it states it'll shoot a true 34bps. I haven't actually tested that out yet, but have seen numerous videos of borgs shooting well into the 30's.... IF your hopper can keep up. The stock trigger is pretty nice, but a PBK trigger is even nicer. Extremely easy to walk. The only problem with this combo (nice trigger and highly capable gun) is your ability to blow thru a case of paint faster than a junkie goes thru smack. From what I've heard, the RAM is what's responsible for it's high rof and efficiency (we'll talk about that later). 10/10

Quality: All the parts have the look and feel of very high quality - second to none. Delrin poppet, direct mount solenoid, ball bearing trigger, gladiator reg... the list goes on and on. If you hold the marker and shake side to side, you don't hear any rattling, or noise from one part touching another. Just silence. ;) The marker itself has the looks that "only a mother could love", but it's kinda nice having something that looks simple, but lays the hurt down like a roid raging wrestler. The part have a near perfect fit. 10/10

Efficiency: Again... second to none. The marker is advertised as getting 2000 shots out of a 68/45 tank. I can attest that they aren't lying. 10/10

Weight/Profile: Weighing in at just over 2lbs w/reg and battery, it's a light gun. So light in fact, that you'll either want a drop forward to balance out the unbalanced weight of your light gun, and now seemingly heavy tank, or a light tank. The profile and size is a little deceiving. When I first received mine, and unzipped the case, I thought... holy crap... it's a little big. But the second you pick it up, it all comes into perspective. It's practically weightless. 10/10

Shooting/Consistancy: 2-3fps variance over the chrono. Highly consistant. I only ran into one issue, and that was severe first shot drop off. HOWEVER, after cleaning lube off the rear ram bumper, the FSDO went away, and everything was well in the universe. 10/10

Cleaning/Maintenance: VERY easy to clean. Tooless design allows for trouble free cleaning and troubleshooting in the event you actually run into trouble. Direct mount solenoid means you're not screwing around with hoses when working on it, or removing the frame. 10/10

Comfort: The grips have a little to be desired. They're not bad.... as they're better than most grips I've felt. They're slim, and like a typical non-sticky, flexible rubber. They definately help keep the profile slender. I wouldn't say they're uncomfortable, but I wouldn't say I wouldn't upgrade them. 8/10

Average rating = 9.7/10
Conclusion: I rarely give out 10's, but due to the nature of the one aspect that scored below a 10, and the fact that a suitable replacement (if desired... my friend LOVED the grips) could be had for 30 bucks or less, I can't say I'd be doing the review service to rate this thing below a 10. It's about as close to perfect out of the box as you can find. Do a little hunting on PBNation.com, and you'll find that almost everybody argues that this is one of the only markers available for which there are no functional upgrades that actually increase the performance, maintenance, efficiency, quality or weight of the marker. If you're looking for perfection out the box, this is where you'll find it.... and I bought mine used! They do run on the expensive side, and not many retailers (online, or storefronts) carry parts for them, but they're VERY reliable. Just remember... the next time you see one of these things on the field, you'd better A) Be a better shot than the shooter, or B) Hide - because this thing mowes faces in even the most newbish hands.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 20th, 2007 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heinous Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No gun I tested came close, but people compare it to the FEP Quest.
Marker Setup: 1 of 10 Burnt Orange 06 Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev venting on/off
Vlocity
Matchstik barrel
PBK Saber trigger
MacDev 07 Sonic red valve
PBK Snakeskin short bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket trigger (personal preference)
07 Sonic red valve to quiet down the shots.
Snakeskin bolt if you want a lighter bolt.
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Light
Very little kick
stock barrel
People gawking
Weaknesses: Loose screws
Prone to turn off accidentally
Bad milling, might just be a bad batch
Review: The first thing I noticed as I took it out of the included gun case was that it's ridiculously light. Worked perfect out of the box. Used WPN Elixir, some Evils, and some crap leftover that the guys next table gave us when they left. All shot perfect with the 0.689 barrel that came with the gun. A ref asked if he could try my gun out and I let him. Now he's buying one. Another ref won't stop praising the gun and told my teammates to protect me because I got the best accuracy, the other team heard it too so next thing I knew they all came after me.

There's some serious pitting on the gun, and unfortunately I didn't check before playing so I can't return it now that it's used. If you're buying one check and see if there are any pits on the gun body, specifically the LPR cap, so you can return it while it's new. I'll try to get a picture on. I don't know how this can happen from a company known partially for its great milling/anno quality. It's only a problem if you worry about cosmetics.

The power switch is above where your trigger fingers would be, on the underside of the frame. It's a good place to avoid being shot, but when I walked the trigger I kept turning the gun off. Call me suck at walking triggers, but I'll probably get a new, shorter switch or make a custom cover. The rubber grip is good, but the screws holding it don't work well sometimes. If you screw too far in they might actually go through the grip (no damage, but still) and the LED signals through a black and white MacDev Jewel on the left side of the grip, turning red, white, green and blue depending on the situation. I found it hard to see under the bright Californian sun with smoke lense on my goggles. A translucent jewel instead would be nice. A detent also came partially loose after a day's play. All are minor problems that don't hinder performance.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a lightweight, accurate, fast and reliable gun that's a rare sight for most people, this is it. It got some DM6 owners jealous. If you want the same gun as the 5 guys next to you then get an Ion. I give this gun a 9. All those petty flaws added up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 1:34 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fishhead Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Intimidators, Wrath?
Marker Setup: Dust Blue 06 Macdev Cyborg, Dust Black CP shorty regulator, Dust Black J&J edge barrel kit, Trinity push-button on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips (see weaknesses), feedneck, regulator (maybe)
Strengths: FAST, efficient, accurate, excellent stock board
Weaknesses: Grips, milling (minor), size, lpr design, no on/off or rail?
Review: This is an excellent marker, and on paper, has everything one could want in a tournament level marker.

STRENGTHS

Fast - This is easily the fastest marker I have ever shot. Truly pointless in a tournament setting, but awesome nonetheless. The reports that it can shoot 33 balls/sec are completely believable. Also, no shoot down (that I have experienced) when laying out a fast string of paint.

Efficient - I traded an 05 Ego for the 'borg. The Ego is an efficient marker, but the 'borg puts the Ego's efficiency to shame. I am not sure of the velocity (paint was breaking at 50' and not lobbing) but we went through 3 pods (420 balls) using a 51CI tank with 1200 psi on the guage with air leftover. WOW!

Accurate - Accuracy can be called ball on ball @ 30' . The kick is noticeable, but not an issue when either snap shooting or laning. I was using fresh GAP paint (.689) with the stock MatchStick barrel.

Board - You would think that Virtue was in the grip instead of a stock board. Easy to program, 11 modes, trigger programmable (no opening grip to adjust anything) It even has a tournament lock. Another great feature, if you are having any eye issues, it will fire @ 1 bps or, hold down the trigger for 1.5 seconds, it will disable they eye, allowing you to shoot through ball breaks on the fly. Much easier than Virtue. Finally, the slider power switch above the trigger is a fantastic place to put the switch.

WEAKNESSES

Grips - These are easily the worst grips I have ever used. You can pull on the back edge of the grip and pull it off the bottom screw. They are not rigid at all, just some rubbery grips. Worse than any Spyder. Additionally, you can replace the grips with Matrix compatible grips, however, this leaves the solenoid exposed below th eye covers. A sizable gap.

Milling - 99% of the milling is just gorgeous. Think of the milling quality of the Ego with a consistent milling flow. But, below the LPR and in front of the ASA, are two corners that are uncharacteristically sharp and almost look like an afterthought. Like they finished a 'borg then said, "hey, these corners are not milled, get me a dremel." Also, the ASA is kind of a joke. It is way too long and is simply a cylinder, a miniature soup can. The Gladiator reg does integrate perfectly with the ASA, but it is ugly too. While I am mentioning the Gladiator, why have a reg/asa combo that is so long and then choose to put a straight fitting instead of an elbow on the bottom of the reg? That is what comes out of the box with the 'borg, a straight fitting.

Size - This marker is tall. It is taller than an 04/05 timmy, Ego, or even a Wrath. I think its as tall as an Impulse. No biggie for some, but if you are coming out of a Shocker, or even a PM6, it seems real tall.

LPR - The LPR seems to work perfectly and , uniquely, you adjust the velocity with the LPR and keep the HPR @ 200 PSI. The problem: The LPR is either too short, or the marker body is too long. 1.5" too long. That is the approximate length of the LPR spacer. No biggie, until you dis-assemble the LPR to lube it. The parts do not interconnect, so you have to drop the parts down into the body and hope they seat correctly. This could be fixed one of two ways, a longer looser spring, or, the cupseal and the spacer attach or screw into the spring. Then, it is only one part that has to seat correctly.

Why does this latest and greatest marker not have either an on/off or, preferably, an integrated rail? Kinda nit-picky, but it is the only new for 2006 marker (ok the Angels don't either) that doesn't have a rail or on/off.
Conclusion: If you have no problem with its size, this is a very complete marker out of the box. May be one of the best Back-player's marker currently produced. Fast, accurate and efficient.

Speed - 10
Efficiency - 10
Accuracy - 9/10
Electronics - 10
Size - 8
Design - 8

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 2:27 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media