paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005 / Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005

Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $850

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Indian Creek Design, Inc. is proud to announce the release of the 2005 FreeStyle paintball marker. The 2005 FreeStyle has the same light profile of the 2004, but is now available standard with new milling and many great upgrades.

Among it's many features, the FreeStyle™ includes:

* High Efficiency System
* Unlimited ROF
* Cocker Threads
* Clamping Feed Neck
* Recessed Illuminated Toggle On/off switch
* Paintball Detection System (PDS)
* Clamshell Grip Frame
* Dual Regulated
* 4-way adjustable trigger
* Multiple trigger designs available
* Barrel, Rail and On/Off ASA
* Matte finish with fade anodizing

The FreeStyle is an extremely competitive package.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Freestyle 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
IDPBackman Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4, Dye DM5, Old-Style Matrixes, Proto trixes, E-cockers, Cyborgs etc....pretty much all high end electros.
Marker Setup: 2005 Red to Black fade ICD Freestyle
Prodigy Trigger
Nox Lite
11 Piece Empire Kit
Black Check-it Unimount
Hybrid B***H Grips
JDS LPR
70/40 Crossfire Stubby
Red Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Prodigy Trigger, Empire barrel kit, JDS LPR, new grips, new on/off, maybe a new HPR.
Strengths: VERY FAST!!!!
LIGHT!!!! (1.8 pounds)
ACCURATE!!!!
EFFICIENT!!!!
SEXY!!!!
CHEAP!!!!
Weaknesses: Stock on/off is a little odd.
Review: FIRST IMPRESSIONS: When I first layed eyes on the 05 ICD Freestyle, i was sitting in a chair at my local shop, waiting for my matrix to be fixed. i was very impressed by it's looks right away. the crisp, clean cuts of the milling and the subdued luster of the dust anno created a pleasing smooth look. the Red and Black (my team colors) were made for each other. the stock barrel looks a bit odd, as does the ON/OFF, but the whole gun just has a certain look to it that i find very pleasing.

FEEL: I was starting to get fed up with my Matrix spending more time in the shop than on the field so i decided that i should start looking around for a new gun. I had been impressed by the looks of the freestyle so i went back to the store to examine it more closely. The first thing i noticed is that it is LIGHT! Only 1.8 pounds, a huge difference from heavy trix. The trigger frame feels good in your hand and the Prodigy trigger is very easy to rip (i was not able to test the stock trigger). The grips are not very comfortable but they do have a nice, tacky quality to them and they feel like they stay in your hand well, i felt as though i had complete control of the marker at all times and didn't feel as though i might drop it. The only thing that bothered me was that the stock on/off seemed to be made of a poorer quality metal than the rest of the gun. With my 70.45 screwed into it it felt loose and a bit brittle. The clamping feed was very nice and fit my unsanded Reloader with no problem, keeping it on there very tight. I forked over the 600 (CHEAP!!!!!!!!) dollar asking price and filled my tank up to test my new toy.

SHOOTING THE FREESTYLE: After gassing up the freestyle and taking it into the chrono area i first turned off the eyes and dry-fired some, This thing mows! i was getting well over 15 bps fairly easy and hitting about 19 in short bursts. I stuck my reloader on it and went over to the chrono (also measures bps) my first 10 shots were 267,268,264,268,271,269,267,264,265,270. a tad hectic, but to be expected from a marker still within it's break-in period. i shot a string of 10 or so balls and was amazed at how easy it was to rip. i shot a string about 50 over the chrono and got 15.7 bps, not bad for a longer string of paint. i was able to easy shoot shorter bursts of 17-18 fairly easy. The accuracy was pretty good, putting 16 out of 20 shots on the 75 target with field paint and 18 out of 20 when i switched to rp premium. Not too bad for a stock barrel. i loved the fell of the Marker, it was perfectly balanced and the grip frame fit perfectly into my hand. it was soo easy to rip and the angle of the prodigy made it even easier. The Freestyle had very little kick and was very easy to keep on target while shooting. i got about 1200 shots off my 70/45. I was very impressed overall with the way it shot.

FREESTYLE IN A GAME: Not too much to say, it was great, i was shooting faces off all day. I play back and it was my absolute dream gun. I was shooting fools right and left. It got even better when my sponser bought me an empire kit and a uni for it. I sent my board in to get NOX LITE and it mows even faster!
Conclusion: I have never been a fan of ICD's products, but they did this one right. I would recommend this marker to anyone who can afford it. It is perfect for any position, fast for back, small and light for front, and both of those for mid! It is Fast, Accurate, Reasonably Priced, and Looks Great! The ICD Freestyle 05 will have you ripping faces, and looking like a pro while doing it.

i give it a 9.5 for bad grips and on/off, but i'm an optimist so 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

jpryor Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4
MacDev Cyborg
Evil Pimp
ICD B2K w/PDS
Marker Setup: stock setup
with Hybrid Grind (push button on/off)
Hybrid Blunt drop
more to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck - not necessary, but there are better ones out there
barrel kit - MacDev Matchstick kit works great
regulator
drop - ugly, retaining bearing doesn't sit tight
trigger - something wider for less side play
Strengths: stock barrel is good
rips with the right feeder (Halo)
lightweight!
compact
PRICE!
Weaknesses: Gas efficiency
Bolt disassembly
Better instruction booklet
Review: Since mine is not a full production piece (got it at World Cup), I'm sure they will iron out some of the issues that I have with the marker. That is not to say that this is a bad gun, and you shouldn't get it.

The marker is great for being out of the box, but spend some time adjusting it before you get on the field. The marker is fast and when you get the trigger setup to your specs, you will not be able to out shoot it! It needs a Halo to feed this beast. Lightest marker I have ever owned! Barrel is good for now...

Gas efficiency is not great. I am going to try a better reg and tank (right now I've got the stock reg and a 68/3000 hpa tank). Probably something like a 68/4500 LPA tank with a Gladiator.

Milling could be better, with some modifications. Since mine is preproduction, hopefully full production will be better. Also since mine only has 1 switch, have the milling for the frame only be for one.

Please drop the on/off drop. Retension system doesn't work well, plus it's just Fugly! Also the pin could be chromed steel instead of brass.
Conclusion: setup to make this reach it's full potiential:
barrel kit
on/off ASA with mini drop forward
regulator
dye grip (or System X's new one)
clamping feedneck
trigger (www.Vaporworks.com)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

esplodingseal Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
uled dm5
angel led
ultralight cocker
ion
Marker Setup: 2005 Freestyle
Predator Flashed
Reloader b
63/3000 pure energy
Xball Gold
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(carbon fiber or a kit maybe)
Strengths: Light
Fast Oh So Fast
sleek sexy look
Accurate
the list goes on and on
Weaknesses: Stock Hpr and Lpr but ther not to bad
Review: first off i have Never liked icd for anything at all. but our local proshop was sponsored by them and had a 05 Freestyle used for a decantly low price and it was in my range so i thought ah what the heck and bought it so i get home and gas it up and ...OMG its RIPS i was dry firing it for a bit then i put some paint in it, and i was in heaven this gun has NO kick and the trigger pull was oh so light (mine was professionally owned)

so i went out to the field with this bad boy, and yes its kinda old but i took it out and everybody was fawning over it, i even let a kid use it for one game and he came back swearin praises like no other..now hes buying a freestyle.
Conclusion: If you want a tournament grade gun out of the box buy it ...if you want to have a nice and fun gun buy it ...you know what just buy one. YOU WILL LOVE THIS GUN AND NEVER WANNA LET IT GO!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 3:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slink1 Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
viking, shocker.
Marker Setup: 2k5 freestyle, prodigy trigger, 70/45 worr gass penut, evolution 2, contract killer grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ccm no rise clamping feed neck, the feed neck is its main weekness.
Strengths: Super light, super accurate, super fast, very low profile, never chops. Low profile, balanced, comfortable.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, have to brake in regs, bad efficiency at first.
Review: i really like this marker, it compares to nothin i have shot before. it is very basi c and easy to use. the stock bored has 2 firing modes, semi and semi with not pds. nice and simple. it looks nice and performes just as well. with stock barrel it will shoot exactly were you point it. but i would recomend a new arrel because the 12 stock looks kind of funny and it is hard to wrap air bunkers with. the trigger is very ajustable and is very easy to ajust. it is a four point ajustable and the screws should always be lock down with locktite blue. the microswitch is pretty heavy. a good up grade would be the nox board, it has ramping and a more sinsetive switch. the stock feed neck is OK. it is great for halos but if you have anything differet i would recomend getting a ccm no rise claming feed neck, or just get a halo, they are the best hopper for the freestyle because they keep the marker very balenced. the marker takes a little while to get broken in, maybe 4 to 7 cases. i would recomend that you have it tuned when you buy it by a local airsmith unless you are patient and have had expience with working on markers. the fsdo ( first shot drop off) is pretty bad on this marker, there is something to do about it but i havent done it yet. getting the nox helps a lot, or just getting the nox softwear on the stock board. the drop occers when you turn on the marker, there is one shot of drop, then shoot it a few times and it will all go away.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this marker, it performes as well as markers that cost $800 more, timmies, matrixs, e-cockers, and everything else. For its price it blows everything out of the water. I recomend it because it is a great marker out of the box but it is also highly upgradeable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shlobo Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really.
Marker Setup: Limited edition blue gloss DM4 with the '04 NXL board.
2005 ICD Freestyle with a prodigy trigger and a Dye sticky grip.
All of the Dye C5 gear, Empire Reloader B, and a throttle tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new reg.
Strengths: Light, fast, easily upgradable, sexy.
Weaknesses: Gas hog, feed neck lets hopper spin, stock trigger.
Review: When I got this gun I immediately shot about 7 balls through it to make sure it worked. It shot great. I didn't like the feel of the stock trigger. It's uncomfortable to walk on. This is an easily solved problem. Buy the prodigy trigger and take the spring out. It shot so amazingly well as soon as I slapped that baby on. I also put on the Dye '05 sticky grip. That gives it a really good feel. The stock grip is crap.
I took it out to the feel about 3 days later for some actual play. I filled my 4500 tank to 3000 (that's the only guage they have available) and brought it onto the field. The beginning of the game went great. The only problem was, my hopper stopped spinning. Guess what. I was shooting to fast. I turned it all the way up and it was shooting unbelieveably well. Even at 237 FPS it still shot straight. I shot about 8 guys on the other team then the gun started to shoot low. I looked at my guage and it was at 1000. The biggest problem with this gun is that it's a total gas hog. I asked if I could use the private fill station and filled it up to 4000 this time. I went out and it was enough for the entire game. One thing that isn't really a big problem but it bothers me, is that the feedneck lets the hopper spin. The hopper won't come out unless you really pull on it, but it spins. Not a big deal unless you play snake. I just suggest getting a Dye no-rise. Same height and it will hold your hopper in place.
Conclusion: This is an amazing gun. Just play with a big tank. Get a prodigy trigger, a sticky grip, and a no-rise and you'll be set.

BUY THE GUN FATSO!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impy-Lover69 Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various autocockers, Adren. Impys, various impys, shockers, timmies, angels
Marker Setup: Vengence Autococker, 68/3000 crossfire, halo b, much more
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa or sumthing cuz the thing on it felt like it was about to break plus it took me a while to get it to stop leakin.
Strengths: FASSSSSSSST, this thing was rippin right outa the box
Looks really sweet
Weaknesses: The adapter felt like junk and the gun was leaking for me
Review: At first glance it looked sweet. The black and yellow were made for each other. When i saw it i had Mike gas it up. At first i didnt kno what to do but after a sc i remember how to turn it on and stuff. I shot a tank up and fell in love with it.
Conclusion: if you can afford it go for it, I know its on my list!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freestyle05 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-2004 Freestyle
-Wdp Angel LCD
-2005 Angel Speed
Well to me the angels are a completely diffrent gun in many ways, but the 2004 Freestyle is basically the same thing the only diffrence is probally the milling.
Marker Setup: -2005 ICD Freestyle(w/Nox board)
-Halob loader
-smartparts Freak barrel kit
-68/4500 crossfire tank
-Psycoballistics bullet drop forward
-Nox board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new regulator, barrel kit, clamping feed neck
Strengths: -Fast
-light
-quiet
-no recoil
Weaknesses: -Air efficiency
-Eye covers
Review: I have been on a novice/rookie team for 3yrs now and have had plenty of chances to shoot high end guns and I would say the 2005 Freestyle was definitley a highlight over those 3yrs. It has next to no recoil and is so light and easy to move around with it is definitly the perfect frontman gun. It is easy to shoot and when I say easy I mean it as soon as I picked mine out of the box I gased it up and put a box through it, I didnt have one ball chop and I was able to shoot a countinuous stream of paint at around 18-20 bps. The only problem I found with it was it is a gas hog as many guns are these days. I probally only got about 650 shots off of a 68/4500 tank. But this can usually be fixed with a new regulator and a couple of adjustments to the LPR. The biggest problem i had was that the screw that holds the eye covers on is made to short and after shooting the gun for a while it just came out along with the ball detent and spring.
Conclusion: I think if you have the money this is an okay investment if your thinking about getting one make sure u test it out and some other guns in that price range to make sure that this is the gun for u.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 18th, 2005 at 10:39 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fingle,no,hip Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, proto
Marker Setup: 05 freestyle
halo b w/rip
crossfire45/4500

04 imagine
teardrop barrel
superfly bolt
dead-on drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
scepter barrel, or ultralight
Strengths: light, great asa, faster that you, small,
GREAT costumer service!!!! cheap
Weaknesses: It can some imes can be a pain to set the regs.
Review: My friend has a shocker w/ vision and I really wanted one bad!
but then i found the freestyle and looked into it and found that it was not only better than a shcoker but cheapper!!! what more could you want?
have shot the shocker and freestyle I can say that the freestyle eats shockers for lunch!
the 05 freestyles come with the HE bolt which you can either leave it in your gun or take it out (depending on if you have a lp or hp tank). Also its only $650!!!
Now my friend wants to get a freestyle
Conclusion: I think this gun preforms as good as any other gun out there at half the cost!!!
you will not be sorry at all for buy it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TEAM FUEL 05 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, e2 ebladed autococker ( not nearly as good) and some intimidator
Marker Setup: 2005 black to blue freestyle
Cear halo b w/ rip drive
Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, asa, maybe feed neck and a HALO B
Strengths: Light
Fast (shoots ball on top of ball)
Accurate
Good looking
Weaknesses: No problems.
Review: This gun is a must have. It is very light and can forget your holding it. This is perfect for what ever position you play. Back, mid, front, it can go anywhere. It is very fast. if you don't have a Halo B then get that first. It can fill any lane you want it to and it will get the job done. You point the barrel where you want the ball to go and it will go there in a straight line. The milling on this baby (2005 model) is beautiful!
Conclusion: This gun will never let you down. Shoots fast, very light, accurate and looks good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MARKLAC7213 Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster, 04 freestyle, Cockers. etc
Marker Setup: - 05 Freestyle (Red)
- Pure energy 68/4500 tank
- CCM carbon fiber barrel
- SystemX slider on/off
- AKA Sidewinder HPR
- B***H grips by Hybrid
- Prodigy Trigger
- NOX Lite Flash
- Empire ReloaderB
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel works just fine, but I like my carbon fiber barrel better. Nice grips would also make your fs look more pimped out. Changing the on/off is a must coz the stock looks kinda weird. NOX lite / NOX board
Strengths: No kick at all. Small, light, accurate. VERY FAST.
Weaknesses: Just the gas efficiency
Review: Just try it yourself, believe me you'll enjoy it... You can run around easily... Also very easy to pimp out... Very good price too... Cocker threaded so its not so hard to find a perfect barrel... A lot of space to put stickers... FAST FAST FAST FAST... Accurate ... Make sure to have a lot of paint when u play, because you will love shooting this marker and next thing u know you're out of paint
Conclusion: Just buy the marker
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 10:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media