paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Speed 2006 / WDP Angel Speed 2006 / WDP Angel Speed 2006 / WDP Angel Speed 2006

WDP Angel Speed 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Speed 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Speed 2006
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Angel Speed 06 is a performance machine designed for the player who just wants to switch on and shoot.

Fully equipped with the new Angel G7 Fly engine and Fly friction-free, break-away trigger system - the Speed 06 has all the zing without the bling of the G7 Fly making it a pure, unadulterated, wrecking machine.

SPEED 06 Features
* 31 BPS
* Angel Laser-Eyes
* Enhanced higher flow cartridge mini-reg
spool assembly.
* Available in 90 and 45 grip frame options.
New - G7 internals
New - No-kick operation
New - 225psi operating pressure
New - Twist-lock Roto-breech knob
New - Custom Grip cheeks
New - Lighter body - The Speed 06 is nearly
3 ounces (85 grams) lighter than the previous
05 Speed model.
New - Compact design exhaust valve requiring 65% less opening force than the Speed 05 - delivering the smoothest ride in paintball.
New - New bolt with Anti-roll back feature
New - Smaller, flat back solenoid with dedicated porting. Giving higher flow rates than any other solenoid valve.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Speed 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Devs Saturday, January 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED, LCD, Speed, 05 Speed, A4, A4 Fly, G7
Timmies, shockers, bushies, egos, matrices, vikings
Marker Setup: Graphite 06 Speed
Angel Force Valve
Check-It Feedneck
Function Direct Mount On/Off
Tadao Board
Violent Products Trigger
CP 2 Piece
Crossfire LP 68/4500
Halo with Vic board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, New feedneck, Tadao baord and the new AF Valve
Strengths: Fast, Light, Instant-On, Gorgeous, Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Stock Feedneck sucks...
Review: Looks: Since this is least important, I'll get this out of the way first. Body milling has nice smooth lines that are rather elegant looking. The milling flows rather well. There is some minor mill chatter in one spot on the body (the knob side, mirrored where the front breach pin grub screw threads in. I'll take a pic and circle it for you guys). The anno is uniform and very nice. I have a small knick from where I lost my balance sliding into a bunker, but thats not the guns fault. I personally love the Graphite color. I know some people don't, but its my preferred color. (except maybe the bronze on the fly)

Engine: The design of the internals has changed quite drastically from the A4 and 05 speeds that I had. The single nicest feature is the ram-lock(not sure what else to call it) system which eliminates rollback. The 06 speed has a small knob, instead of the large lever on the G series. The LPR spring stack is slightly different, having 3 "springs" instead of many. I haven't lowered the LPR yet, but I will once its more broken in. The exhaust valve system has been changed as well. I haven't really taken a close look at it yet, so I'm not sure how it works, but I'll get to it and post it here.

Stock Trigger: The trigger system has changed slightly from the 05 speed. they have done away with one of the vernier wheels and replaced it with a magnet and adjustment screw system. This is called the Breakaway trigger. The adjustment screw sets return/release tension. I haven't been able to rip quite as well with this system, but I also haven't messed with it all that much. The trigger still interfaces with the board in the same manner.

VP Trigger: The VP trigger is shaped much like the Techna Scythe 2. I love the feel of the VP. Since its made of a polymer instead of metal like the stock trigger, the VP is about 1/3 the weight of the stock. Which makes for an even lighter trigger pull. The VP is very comfortable and is very easy for me to rip on.

Stock Board: The 06 uses the same board as the 05, but comes stock as the latest software version which includes a PSP ramp mode. I play in this mode seeing as my local field allows ramping up to 15. The board is simple to use. Even after just a few adjustments I know just by looking at it what setting i'm about to mess with. Just follow the directions and you'll be all set.

Tadao Board: This board makes all the difference in the world. The microswitch presents a completely different feel to the trigger mechanism. Its based on M7 software, and is insanely fast. The multicolored LED might seem confusing at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes like second nature. Definitely an upgrade I recommend to everyone.

Build: The gun has a very solid feel to it. It presents itself as a very stable shooting platform. One thing they changed (and only slightly) was how the Reg/Flashtank thing interfaces with the body. This slight change prevents you from being able to use a CP 05 speed reg adaptor. The knob sytem for the ram/hammer works very well and puts the bolt right where it needs to be. The Breach block fits very nicely but swings freely when open. WDP certainly didn't skimp on production values.

Misc: The feedneck is the same overall design from the 05 speed, but replaces the seperate orings with one large oring'ish thing. Doing this fixes the problem with one of the orings getting smashed into the feedneck preventing paint from being fed into the gun (i had this problem before, not sure if anyone else did.). The only problem I had with this system is that the gun didn't come with two different diameter oringish things. The 05 speed came with 2 sets of orings with different diameters. I had a slight problem getting my unsanded halo into the feedneck. (it has since been replaced with a CheckIt) The barrel is a new thread pattern as most of you know. It is not however the same as a-5 threads. Its close, but not exact. So don't try and a-5 barrel in your gun. The stock barrel is a .691 from what I can tell. I had to use stock my first tourney with it as my CP hadn't arrived yet. It shot very well and didn't have a noise signature that was radically different than most guns.

Paint: I've put around 7 cases through it, and I'm pretty sure its completely broken in now. Of the 7 cases, i've had zero chops and just a few barrel breaks. The barrel breaks were with my stock barrel at a tourney because my CP hadn't arrived yet as mentioned ^^^. The 06 speed is super nice on paint. I have used several different brands of paint in this gun from super hard Marbs to super brittle Hellfire. All of which have shot great through the gun. With the new AF valve my efficiency has gone up considerably. Not sure on numbers, but I'm sure I can get around 1200-1300 rounds off of a solid 68/4500 fill.
Conclusion: I was a little nervous about this purchase due to some of the changes that they made. But I am very glad I went with the 06 speed. I wasn't sure if I wanted a Proto or this, but I am 100% content with my purchase. I recommend this to any angel fan, and suggest that everyone at least try one. :-D With its easy to use "Turn On and Go" mentality, this is a face ripper of a gun. My Pred'd LCD will probably sit the rest of its life in the closet because of this thing. hope you all enjoyed. The lack of an included ASA and the crapiness of the stock feedneck give it a 9 total.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

angelballa4life Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel g7 fly,g7,a4 fly,05 speed
Marker Setup: 06 angel speed,dye ultralyte,crossfire 45/45,halo w/v board and speed wheel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: SPEED, its fast
realiability
trigger
shoots 4eva off a 45/45
Weaknesses: Barrell
Review: Okayt i got my speed a week ago and just took it out for practice today and this thing is sweet, first all u do is turn on and shoot its so nice,2nd it rips so nicely,3rdthe stock barrell isnt to bad but can use some work on accracy but so does every other stock barrell so whatever,4th it is balanced and verry light so perfect for any type of player, front,back.etc overall verry nice gun so buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Conclusion: This gun shoots straight ropes and is nice and light soo go get yourself 1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pieman8705 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
G7,G7 FLY,Minion,DM5,Timmy
Marker Setup: 06 angel speed
ccm clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck
barrel
Strengths: Accuracy,speed,consistency,weight(for an angel).
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: This gun is amazing, its ball-on-ball acurate, its a fast as any other gun, and its very consistent +5/-5. The only weakness is the feed neck, it sucks, my hopper used to wobble all over the place and it was crooked but the ccm feed neck fixed that. Its just as good as the G7 or G& FLY its just not as pretty but the milling is very nice. The weight of the gun isnt that bad, usually angels are pretty heavy because of the 3 tube design but this one isnt that bad. For the money this gun is awsome, i recomend irt to anyone.
Conclusion: If you want a fast, accurate, reliable, and overall awsome marker get an angel. i give it a 9 because of its crappy feed neck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdog2493 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus
Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: Red Angel Speed 06
Black Halo B with rip and belt drive
Black 2 piece CP barrel
Check-it sure fit clamping low rise feed neck
68 ci, 3000 psi crossfire nitrous tank
Red and Black empire nitrous tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
probably a new barrel
check-it sure fit clamping low rise feed neck
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
No breaking balls
Weaknesses: The stock feed neck sucks
Review: The Angel Speed 06 is a great gun. It never chops paint. It shoots very accurate. It shoots very fast. It is also very easy to use. I just suggest that you get a new barrel and a new feedneck because my Halo B hopper doesn't fit into the feed neck and i used to have to screw off the whole feed neck to get my hopper off. The barrel isn't so bad but i just always like to get new barrels for any gun i get because i dont really like any stock barrels.
Conclusion: This gun is great and if your interested in a gun this expensive deffinitely get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angelpunk Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders-Ions-Impulses
Marker Setup: Angel 06 Speed
Check It Uni Mount
68/4500 LPA PMI Tank
Halo w/ V Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just A Barrel
Strengths: The speed is great
nice light stock barrel
Weaknesses: Chops alot of two toned paint
Review: The Angel 06 Speed is the best gun i have ever had so easy to use a monkey could shoot this gunvery accurate never chops it is a great price for such a good gun for a semi pro player like myself it is a very very very very excellant gun
Conclusion: Buy this gun bc it is the best gun ever
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

biglou Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
spyder electra
chris lasoya timmy
Marker Setup: mostly stock
empire hopper
crossfire nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummmmm......barrel kit
maybe trigger
Strengths: Fast fast fast fast did i say fast
Accurate
Light
Comfortable
Compact
Weaknesses: None none
None at all
Review: Well i start playin tourney's with my lasoya timmy but my timmy is now my back up gun i use my angel its all around better in my opinion, it is soo fast and accurate i played with it once sooo far and i ran the feild with it but i was against spyder and other cheap guns so kinda unfare
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your a serious pb player
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 16th, 2006 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Supermanjb Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Speed 05
Marker Setup: Speed 06
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Halo w/ Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good Barrel
Strengths: Very Fast
Smooth Trigger
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Very sensitive with paint.
Review: Regardless of its weakness, I love my angel 06.

My performance increased playing with this gun due too the way the gun responds when plugging the trigger. The gun feels great during play. The trigger is very smooth and fast. The gun also shoot very accurate with the set-up I have now.

The only thing I'm not crazy about is that I need to always bye good paint, which is fine. For example, Do you feed regular gas in a high end car? Same goes with the Angel 06, Good Paint for a high end gun. Its just a hit or miss when your required to buy paint at most of these paintball fields because most of the time its either old paint or bad paint.

Conclusion: I love the gun I would still recommend this to anyone though I have this small issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntbal311 Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM3, Dye DM5, Eclipse EGO, WGP 2k2 Cocker, ICD Freestyle 2005, Bob Long Intimidator 2k5, ICD Bushmaster, Shocktech Bushmaster
Marker Setup: WDP Angel Speed '06, Pmi pure energy 68ci 4500 psi lp tank, Dye Ultralight 16", HALO B, Shocktech Micro Drop and asa, Redz Cam Lok Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck
Strengths: Light weight, speed, accuracy, body work
Weaknesses: Lpr had to be adjusted out of the box to fix first shot drop
Review: My marker was purchased one week before a 3man tourney, and i only put a case through the speed before the first game of the tourney. without breaking in, the speed performed flawlessly with the exception of first shot drop which was fixed when i added an lpr shim thus increasing the lpr pressure by about 5psi. marker absolutly rips in all weather, if your paint is too fragile, just bump up the dwell and the problems fixed its that simple. The board is very easy to work on and is idiot friendly. The trigger is very crisp and easy to shoot with no sideplay. WDP has put together an extreemly good marker for a very reasonable price, and unless you just have to be like everyone else and shoot a matrix there is no reason you shouldnt purchase this marker as all the top end markers do the same thing these days, its just how they get to the end product and WDP is top notch.
Conclusion: Buy this marker now, angels are idiot proof and dont need to be lubed and cleaned all the time as protos, dms, and minions do. why would you fool around with other markers that cost about the same or more and dont do the job any better or worse than an angel?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbman12345 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm5
Marker Setup: 06 speed angel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: FASTTT
accurate
eazy to maintain
everything is good
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is awsome i recommand it for everyone. Its so fast accurate eazy to maintain feels awsome what more can u say. i will always stay with angels they are awsome guns i can eazyily hit 16bps only bad thing is about angels so fast uses all your paint laugh out loud
Conclusion: Over the 1 year of playing with this angel best gun ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blakebr1228 Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty Much was a Smart Parts guy, Rat Impulse, Shocker, (only tested)Ion ~_~
Marker Setup: Gun is stock w/ 90* Frame
Halo B w/ rip drive
PMI 68/4500 LP Tank
2'' Drop (I'm a drop kinda guy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mabye a feedneck
Strengths: FASSSSSSt
Accurate
Extremely Light
Awsome Balance
Quiet, Efficient
Awsome Looks
Did I say FAST
Weaknesses: Mabye the feedneck?
Review: I never really got into the high end markers all that much kind of just stuck to the average Impulses, I had a Rat Impulse for 3 years. I was kind of nervous about dropping 900 for a gun, but not that I have it and have played with it a couple times, I would do it again if I could. Absoulty amazing set-up with the FLY internals and the new break-away trigger system. This thing shoots ropes and should be considered by anyone wanting to buy a new Angel. A++ Gun Awsome job WDP.
Conclusion: A definent for anyone looking into a Angel 6Speed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media