paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005

WDP Angel Speed 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Speed 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Speed 2005
[ View Photos (51) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 117
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This completely redesigned Speed offers unsurpassed performance at an unbelievably low price. The Speed 05 is available in Graphite Dust, Black Dust, Red Dust, Blue Dust, and Silver Dust all colors featuring black dust accents.

Speed 05 Features

‘Angel Eye’s’ Dynamic ball detection system.
NEW Contoured super-comfort fore-grip giving optimum balance and control
NEW Cartridge Mini Reg, with increased porting and gas galleries for even lower pressure.
NEW Style Space Frame for Improved ergonomics and more finger space.
NEW ‘EMF’ Dual Polarity Magnetic Trigger. Utilizing Instrument bearing mounting system offering the crispest trigger operation in paintball, with zero friction or side-play.
New Opto Trigger, featuring non-contact activation with forward, return, and toe adjustment.
NEW Electronics pod, featuring durable 9Volt battery housing giving secure battery retention
Angel Fly Engine with 31bps Capability.
Twist-lock low-rise feed
External (lockable) Vernier trigger adjustment wheels.
Soft Face Bolt
NEW Soft-touch TPR grips
NEW Energy Efficient electronics, offering up to 200% more shots per 9v battery than any other Paintball Marker
NEW Encapsulated circuit board that is fully reprogrammable and upgradeable.
NEW user friendly Speed LED display system delivers the most advanced player to gun interface in its class, accessing 6 firing modes, with trigger offset, 4 loader settings, Dwell Adjustment, R.O.F indicator, Multi level Battery Indicator, Eye on/off indicator and test feature and Software version Indicator.
The Speed 05 is ½ an Inch shorter and ¼ of a pound lighter than the previous Speed.
Blackened Stainless Steel screws throughout
Infinity 14” One Piece Step-Bore Barrel
All Kills no Frills Switch and Play operation
The New Angel speed has been designed to out perform any gun in its class!
WDP have devoted incredible attention to the Trigger operation of the Speed. Having established a clear industry advantage in being able to cycle and fire 31 balls per second they are now concentrating on helping you get closer to actually achieving that ROF.

The EMF trigger is a highly engineered performance component. The trigger pivots on instrument bearings, ensuring a slick, smooth movement when pulled from any direction. The trigger gets its name from the integration of Electronics & Magnetic Forces.

Having a non-contact traction and repulsion magnetic action, which offers incredibly fast trigger return with no spring and zero friction or side-play. It is adjusted through the external Vernier trigger wheels to set the amount of trigger travel. The Opto-Trigger activation point can be set separately though the Toe adjuster.

To further enhance its performance the new Speeds EMF trigger system is mounted in a restyled grip frame that combines with a new ergonomic fore-grip to deliver the most balanced, comfortable and solid shooting platform available. The new ergonomic fore-grip has increased gas flow characteristics allowing for a further reduction in the Speeds operating pressures and recoil, whilst still maintaining its position as the most gas efficient firing system in paintball.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Speed 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SM6 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested43 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED, LCD, Speed, IR3, A4, and Fly
Different Intimidators, Impulses, AKA guns, ICD guns, Matrices, etc...
Marker Setup: Of my guns, the one I use the most is my Matrix LCD, with Reloader B and Max Flow 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast loader is a must. I personally prefer the reloader B.
A barrel kit is nice, but not necessary if you're on a tight budget.
You must have a high flow air system to keep up with the high rates of fire.
Strengths: Anti-chop eye, Trigger, Ergonomics, Reliability, Affordability
Weaknesses: Milling, Software (see below)
Review: Well, I first saw the new speeds in Vegas, and I've been itching to run some paint through one ever since. Yesterday I finally got my chance.
The marker I tested was a black '05 with entirely stock settings. Here's my take on it, from top to bottom:

Feed neck... is a twister low rise (same as the fly). It's lower than the old speeds and a4's, which is good, though I personally prefer the check it clamping neck.

Barrel... new infinity barrel (.689 I believe) had a nice finish inside and out. Shot fine. I can't say how it performs with breaks because I didn't break any paint :P

Body... I don't really care for the milling, however with the black anno it's not that bad. The anno was perfect, with zero imperfections.

Bolt/Engine/Eyes... Same as the Fly. Best design in paintball IMHO.

Reg... is different. It works fine. The gun was chrono'ing at +/-4 with less than perfect paint and a bad paint-barrel match. Although the foregrip is ugly to some, there is no denying that it is a lot more comfortable than the old style. It was much easier for me to wrap my ogre hands around it.

Frame and trigger... is easily the best improvement. There is ample room for the largest fingers, and the new grips are surprisingly comfortable. The trigger is just butterly smooth, and has no side to side play.

ALRIGHT, TIME TO SHOOT IT
The good: right away I was able to run off long strings of paint, without breaks, that was at least as fast as my matrix and probably faster. The trigger is truly great.

The bad: after I had my fun emptying a hopper I got serious. Within 5 seconds I was able to find the sweet spot that produced a double shot. The gun was set to the most conservative snub setting, btw. Then I tried to shoot a fast burst and take my hand completely away from the frame. The gun, on average, continued to fire 3 more shots. In other words, this marker had the same problem that plagued many pre v3.5 fly's.
Conclusion: This is probably THE best value on the market right now for people who want top of the line performance without having to take out a second mortage. Speed, size, efficiency, reliability, it has it all. On top of that you have the backing of WDP, one of the last class act companies in paintball.
The only real drawback I can see is the bounce issue. Of course, this will most likely be fixed with future software upgrades, as happened with the fly. Additionally, it may just be a hit and miss thing. Other guns may not have a problem with bounce, but this one did, and for that reason I will not be buying one right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

tye1138 Monday, December 6th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months39 of 76 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LED, LCD, IR3, A4, FLY, DM3, DM4, Alias, Freestyle, pretty much everything.

This is a 3 month wrap-up review of the 05 Speed. I've had a pre-release since before NPPL Vegas, so I've had plenty of time to test it.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Speed, Stiffi 12" barrel, Nitroduck 45/45 adjustable tank, Empire B Reloader, CP rail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evolve Kit, Jam Plus bolt, You'll need a big tank!
Strengths: Faster then shyt, excellent trigger, well built, fun to shoot, 9v operation!
Weaknesses: Still chops, to heavy, out of control speed, consistancy is so-so, 9V dies
Review: I'm a certified Angel Tech and this is WDP's BEST marker to date. They fixed almost all the problems and created a MEAN BEAST of a marker. This thing goes faster then shyt and truthfully can put holes in people if not watched after. The trigger and frame is 100% flawless, the feel is perfect and overall, its wonderful. Having an angel with 9v operation is just sexy!
Conclusion: I've run over 40k through my 2 05 speeds, in games and in tournaments. I've tested them to death and here is my PERSONAL OPINION:

Well, if I were like the other kids who post here and on PBnation, I'd say this thing is the best. What I can tell you is simple, this marker still breaks paint. They never fixed the paint breaking issue which they DO on the G7. WDP tries so hard to produce an out of the box good marker and they succeed. For players like myself, I can't stand markers that chop and I'd rather throw paint across the field then have a marker that does not work.

My solution was to create a bolt that removes chop. Jam enterprises and I worked out the design of the Jam Plus bolt and we are putting it to market in January of 2k5. With the bolt, paint breaking is removed from the equation. This $50 upgrade was just the beginning.

Gas efficiency on the 05 still sux. Out of the box I was getting 4 pods and a hopper from my 45/45 warm fill. Thats like not very good. 68/45 it would increase to 8 pods and a hopper. I play back and I can't shoot just 8 pods, so I decided to fix the problem with the Newton Valve kit from Evolve paintball.

The Evolve kit give you a bit more efficiency and delivers less kick. An adjustable ram cap allows easier access to the adjustments of the marker. At $155.00, this upgrade is well worth it.

Final price: $989.00 for the marker + $155.00 for the Evolve + $50.00 for the Jam Plus. NOW you have a marker! With those upgrades, WOOP the thing rocks house. No more chopping, problems will be gone for ever. Ehh, not for ever.

I have 2 of these 05's and both of them have had bad LPR's. I've replaced them, but I'm starting to see a trend of LPR's going bad. The marker goes out of control when the ramp is turned up. This can cause injury if the player does not stop shooting. The ramp is uncontrollable its an ON/OFF switch practically. One minute 8 BPS, next 24 BPS! Our video : http://www.behindthenettv.com/movies/818speedvid.mov is a great example of how fast the dam thing runs, but never the less, it can't run that fast in any tournament.

Conclusion: WDP, great job guys, I truly like this marker. For me its still too heavy to play front with. Without the upgrades, it will break paint on you, barrel break or breech break, never the less its a break. I enjoy shooting it and really like the trigger frame and trigger design, but the board is lacking. BPS is not that important if you can't control it.

Score: 10.0 for construction, 10.0 for frame and trigger, 10.0 for feel, 6.0 for the board, due to it being so un controllable and the battery dying so much. 6.0 for efficiency which they CAN FIX, EVOLVE DID! 4.0 for out of the box chopping and consistancy is not great at all!

Final Score: 7
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 at 11:23 pm PST
I found this review  
41 Comments - Add Comment

justin962 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months28 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, LED
03 Shocker
Alias Intimadator
DM4, DM5
Led Matrix
Varios Cockers
Marker Setup: 05 Speed
04 45/45 Conquest
12" Stiffi Switch Kit
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Possibly Evolve Kit ( Read below)
Fast hopper
Strengths: Very nice trigger, good looks, balanced to my liking
Weaknesses: Chopping Paint, Board shutting off, Cleaning
Review: I am a very unbiased person, regardless if I just spent over a grand for a product. I will not lie about it's performance and give it a 10 like 95% of these other people. People give Spyders, Cockers, Timmys, etc 10's, it is a very innacurate system and it needs to be stopped.

I owned my angel for about three months and put only about 10 cases through it. I will describe each aspect of the gun and give my personal opinion and rating.

Weight:

Not as light as my timmy's, but I did noticed it was more balanced. With a stiffi, 45/45, and a reloader b, I noticed it was a little back heavy, but if it is on your shoulder, that doesn't make a difference. Because it wasn't the lightest thing out on the market, I will give weight a 8/10.

Looks:

While this is all personal opinion, I do believe they improved the looks over the previous model dramatically. They went to the 'old school' milling of a led - smooth and plain. I fell in love with the looks when I first laid my eyes on it. Secondly comes the anodizing and finish. I had a dust black and they did a great job. Only disappointment I had is that it scratched easily. I was taking off a grip, the allen wrench slipped, and scratched the marker. I am usually very gentle with my markers, so I was shocked that it nicked the anodizing that easily. Because of that, I am giving looks/finish a 9/10.

Noise:

Nothing special here. Sounds like a normal angel, moderately loud like a timmy.

Speed:

The trigger is simply amazing. Hands down the smoothest trigger I have felt on ANY gun.. and that is saying a lot. Because of this, a high ROF was attained with ease. I don't look for a max ROF, but consistency. Are you easily able to constantly shoot 15bps? 20? etc. I never tested my speed, but I can tell you that I could shoot a stream all day. This is hands down my favorite part of the gun. 10/10 ( Yes, a true 10. )

Shooting:

This is where I became disappointed. The gun felt, looked, and dry fired great. Before I shot the first paintball, I had high expectations and was thinking that this could possibly be THE best gun on the market. Sorry to inform you, but it isn't. To make a long story short, this gun is VERY picky. I am in no way a novice tuner. I know how to work on guns forward and backwards with my eyes closed. I already had an angel parts kit, adjusted the ram, set the dwell, and lpr to it's appropriate settings. Out of a case, I would legitimately chop/break 50+ balls. This is completely unacceptable. I was using several different types of paint, ranging from stinger to marbilizer. The bad thing about this marker, is once you break paint in your breech, you better just call yourself out. You honestly will keep breaking paint. I have NEVER experienced this much bad luck with a marker & paint.

I will drop the chopping case, and move on to when it would actually shoot. Like all angels, they do not have a 'flat' trajectory. According to physics ( Yes, I have taken many classes ), any object traveling at the same velocity will travel the same distance. However, there are variables to this law, including the spin on the ball. To save you time, the 05 speed does not shoot any different than the previous angels. I would not recommend this for a backer on a 7-10 man team.

Other than what I stated, the marker performed okay. Besides shooting fast, I was mildly disappointed with this marker. I am going to give shooting a 6/10.

Other various problems:

I am going to make this short and sweet:
1) This marker is inefficient.
2) The board shuts off randomly during game play
3) The eyes turn off randomly during game play
4) Very inconsistent over the chrono
5) More kick than other markers
Conclusion: Some might be saying - 'Throw an Evolve kit on there, that will fix the: Sound, kick, chopping, etc, etc.' It might, it might not. Because I did not try out the Evolve kit, I will not comment. However, I believe a gun should operate flawlessly stock and you should not have to buy a $160 part to fix it. Stock, this gun receives a generous 7/10.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Vinny3299 Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ange 4 fly, dark shocker, intimidator
Marker Setup: stock with 68/4500 lp centerflag tank, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i can find possibly a barrel kit
Strengths: Awesome job on the trigger setup, its a lot more comfortable too.
Weaknesses: No volumiser's are included
Review: great marker for the price too. made the guns fly, just as good as the fly just VERY SIMPLE to use, turn it on and its ready to roll. very gas efficient, very little kick at all if any. i would go with this unless you must haveta have the lcd screen if not the gun itself outperforms the angel 4 fly other than the lcd screen. just another awesome marker from WDP.
Conclusion: Price under 1000 bucks can't beat it. brand new, magnetic trigger rips...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Robert_pb Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 speed, Matrix, dm5, imagine, Karnivor, 04 prostock
Marker Setup: 05 speed 45 frame
Custom Parts Direct Mount ASA
Halo B- smoke
68 3000 psi fiber tank w/ empire tank cover.
Volumizer
All American Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
volumizer
Strengths: Speed, weight, consistency, quality, eyes
Weaknesses: i dont like to say nothing, but NOTHING was wrong with this marker.
Review: WDP has once again proven that they can still make amazing markers. After alot of research, i purchased this gun, and i don't regret a single penny. This gun has an amazing feel to it, and is comfortable as you hold it. The first day i got this gun, i put my tank in and loaded my Halo with paint. I began to ripp on the gun without chopping a single ball. They eyes are of good quality, and work very well (with the right paint).

When i went to a field i put my Angel on the chrono and took about 6 shots with about a +/- 4 fps. This gun comes with a mini reg, which works extremely well. The gun has great quality, and if something should happen to go wrong, you can simply send it into the WDP office and they will repair it.

I liked the gun because of its weight. I am not weak, but i think i can speak for everyone when i say a light gun is important. When your running to bunker someone, you don't want to be carrying that is holding you down. The Angel is well made, and very light.

Lastly, I was a little bit concerned when i saw the price tag on this marker. I was unsure if this gun would complete all of my necessities. I was assured when i used the marker for the first time, and i am very glad that i bought it.

UPDATE: April 8/06

Alright i have used this marker for about a year now, and i can still say that i am fully satisfied with the marker. Although, one problem that i had did arise since my last review. I could not get my Angel to stop having mechanical bounce. I am very familiar with the marker and all of the trigger adjusting features, however I did have to bring it to my local shop and they got rid of it right away.

Another strength i can now add to this marker is reliability. The price may have gone down since the last time i wrote, but the quality certainly did not. The eyes still work extremely well, and i have added a volumizer to my marker set up. Until recently, i would chop once in a while with the odd ball, but i have put about 6 cases through the gun with the volumizer without a single ball breakage. That's just one thing i would invest in for this marker. I also purchased an all american barrel for my already accurate gun. It is better, but then again i didn't really have any accuracy issues before purchasing the barrel. Lastly, i just want to add in a comment on the speed of this marker. As i became more familiar with the trigger, i have been able to shoot beyond belief, and i will load some videos on my computer so private message me if u want to have a look. Overall i would still give it a 10, possibly 11 if i could.
Conclusion: Overerall, i can say i am very happy with this gun, and i would recommend it from an intermediate payer to pro. Definately get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 8th, 2006 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leons Saturday, November 13th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, timmys, dm's...
Marker Setup: angel 2005 with dye 4500psi/70ci air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Fast!!!!!
Accurate!!!
Light!!!!
Doesn´t use alot of battery!!!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Speed: every gun is fast now, so ill talk about the stock trigger... it is good, and has a Nice way to be adjusted, but i don't love it.
Weight: it is not the lightest today, but it isn't very heavy... i think about 2.2 oz or so.
Battery: it is very good with batteries.
Air efficiency: not the best, but you get enough shots with a 68 tank.
Manual: mine didn't came with, but it can be found on the Internet.
Barrel: the stock barrel isn't the best.. id suggest getting an ul.
Feeling/kick: i love how it feels, has a lil of kick, but just enough to make it feel nice.
Eyes: ive seen many of this guns with eye problems, but when they work.. they work very good and it doesn't chop... it doesn't like brittle paint.

Conclusion: This is an excelent and cheap marker.. if you are looking for an angel.. this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jhorgan Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-mag, Bushmaster, Shockers, many other markers
Marker Setup: X-Mag Silver to Blue Fade
3.2 Software
HALO B w/Rip Drive & Victory board
Evil Pipe
Fireblade Trigger
Empire Mini-Rail
68/3000 AGD Flatline

Angel 05 Speed
HALO B w/Rip Drive & Victory board
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP Direct Mount On/Off ASA
68/4500 CrossFire LP Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel or barrel kit, Fast loader, LP tank
Strengths: Fast, quiet, quality made, light, air efficient, good stock barrel, easy programming/user interface
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: The 05 Speed is a great paintball marker for a player who wants speed, reliability, quality, and ease of use but doesn't want to pay a ton of money to get it. The new Speed is capable of going up to 31BPS. And believe me with the new magnetic trigger design you are able to get ever closer to that 31BPS limit. I hit 22BPS (verified over a chrono) without even trying. The de-bounce setting was at 1 or 2. So there is virtually no bounce in the trigger. The trigger pull is nice and smooth with a crisp trigger return. And zero side play.
The gun is fully adjustable in just about every way. The trigger can be adjusted in terms of length of travel, return, and activation point. The menus can be accessed inside the grip and are indicated by the LEDs on the back of the space frame. The menus are easy to understand. With these menus you can program the de-bounce, loader type (9volt, 12volt, force-fed ect.), and dwell settings.
One word of caution though. It is highly recommended that you use a Low Pressure (LP) tank with an output of 450psi with the 05 Speed. And I can see why this is recommended. The 05 Speed is an LP gun. If you use a High Pressure (HP) tank on it the reg must be modified so that you do not blow out any of the internals of the reg. Just be careful. I also recommend that you completely read over the owners manual BEFORE you even put air through the marker. This will save you a lot of heartache and time replacing parts.
The stock barrel is pretty decent. It is quiet and fairly accurate. But it is still a stock barrel and isn't micro honed to the higher standards that aftermarket barrels are.
This marker is very sturdy and is made of quality materials. One thing that WDP is known for is delivering high quality merchandise and the 05 Speed is no exception.
Conclusion: I highly recommend the 05 Speed to players that are looking for a marker that has everything you need and nothing you don't. This marker will help you take your game to the next level and will never limit your performance on the field. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbbilly Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nightkast- Does not compare at all!
Viking- Doesnt Compare at all!
Angel 4- SENSI=Bad
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05
1 Of 30 Silver Colors
System X Slyder On/Off Unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Fast Hopper
Maybe A Stiffi but the stock one is SICK!
Volumizers
Strengths: Fast
Fast
Fast
Fast
LIGHT
Fast
Beutiful
Durable
Weaknesses: None, Maybe doing the settings with LED But its simple onece you know how.
Review: Ok, So I got marker like two weeks ago. I opened the box. It was neatly packed in Angel Box. It came with a barrel cover, love juice, CD Manual, replacement O-rings, Shims. This is literally IMHO the hottest gun on the market! I pulled it out of the box, Hooked up the fittings and unimount. Light Light Light. The new Minireg compared to older angels is way way way more comfortable to hold and I like the new cartrige idea because you can allready tell that there are after marker possibilities with it. Its super easy to get the nice settings. If you are a member of angelowners on the web its easy to gather what settings are best. I use the recomended fly settings. Even without a volumizer these settings work great. The externally Adjustible Trigger Wheels are simple. IMO A medium super light trigger pull is the best. And it was so simple to set it like that. The trigger is stiff. But the Super Awesome Angel master techs are making a drop in kit for the trigger to reduce slop and help with the stiffness. But till then I just lubed my roller bearing slightly with the included love juice and its very smooth. Very Crisp. Very light. Now onto the barrel. Its super great stock. On all my guns except when I just started I used a Stiffi 14" Which in my opinion is the best barrel on earth but the infinity comes up next, but im still getting the stiffi switch kit. The Matenience of this gun is so simple its childs play. Except for when the breech knob comes out. Its a pain in the neck to get the spring back in. lol it still makes me laugh when I think of that but no worrys what so ever. The concictency is incredible. With Just under professional grade paint I was getting +/- 1 on the chrono. AMAZING.
Conclusion: Overall this product is excellent and I want everyone to go out and get it.
ANGEL 4 LIFE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flAngel Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Speed, 03 Shocker, Tippman A-5 (the best for woods play)
Marker Setup: 05 Speed
68/45 MaxFlow
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the barrel.
Strengths: Fast as hell! Very well balanced, quiet, killer trigger
Weaknesses: Little heavier than my Shocker.
Review: The first thing I noticed about the 05 speed was its superb design and construction. The design is perfect. Well balanced, it feels great just to wrap your fingers around the grip. Every detail of this marker has been well thought out and engineered to utter perfection. The trigger is super smooth, unbelievably fast, and yet, still crisp and responsive. The internal workings of the marker certainly have no trouble keeping up with it either. The trigger adjustment wheels are an awesome addition. No more tearing down the marker repeatedly to make simple trigger adjustments.

After some initial adjustments to the setup, the marker really started to show me what its made of. The consistency of this marker is unreal. It outperforms every other marker on the field in terms of consistent ball-on-ball accuracy and rate-of-fire. From 50-60 feet, I can easily throw ropes of paint into a 3-4 inch area. I’m not talking about one round at a time here. I’m talking about full-on walking the trigger at 20+ bps and staying ball-on-ball. I’ve had more than one opponent walk off the field with a hopper dripping with paint.

While I had no breaks shooting Inferno or Hellfire, I did have several breaks using the less costly, more dimpled, Blaze. I have not isolated the reason for this yet but I suspect the barrel is too small for the oddly shaped paint.

So far, I love this marker. There is no comparison to the old speed at all, it’s a million times better. It’s faster and more accurate than my Shocker, has been reliable, and the trigger just rocks! I spent a lot of time comparing this to the DM4 and DM5. While the Dye is just about as fast (for my fingers anyway) it did not have as tight a grouping from anything over 25 feet from the target.
Conclusion: Aside from the slight weight issue, this marker is the fastest, most accurate, and best built marker I have ever had the pleasure to shoot. It's nothing like the old speed! Everything about it is exactly what touney a player needs and wants.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

1 Evil Package Tuesday, November 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any other type of Angel
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Avalanche Series Dark Angel G7 Fly, Predator V3 Board, Lucky 15 Barrel, Function Feedport, Function Direct Mount ASA, Pure Energy 68/4500 LP Tank, and Vlocity Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast loader (i.e. Halo B with Rip Drive or Empire Reloader B)
Good Barrel (i.e. JT 2-Piece Barrel or CP 2-Piece Barrel)
Low Pressure Air System (i.e. Angel Air Preset Tank or Worr Gas Preset Tank)
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Pros:
- Tight Trigger
- Dual Magnet Trigger Feel
- Through Beam Break Eye System
- Dual Plunger Detents
- 9 Volt Operation
- Wipe Clean Design
- Comfortable Frame and Reg.
- Build and Finish Quality
- Instruction Manual

Cons:
- Plain Machining
- Difficult Parameter Adjustment

This marker is made of machined aluminum, and it length is 18.5 inches, its height is at 8.6 inches, and weight is running at 2.3 pounds. This marker is a angel 4 and 4 fly that morphed into one gun and its the new speed, dont be puzzled by its plain looks but its packing one strong punch.

The main new features of this marker is physically the whole thing, having no lcd outlet for point and play access, 90* and 45* frames are welcome to anyone who has a comfort level, a ball raced trigger, comfortable as hell regulator, and its easy to wipe and clean body. That means no more worries about having to take a long time to clean a milled gun. If you dont need buzzers, lights, or ,massages, this is the marker for you.
Conclusion: IMO best angel yet...Look, design, size, cost, reliability, efficiency, ball breakage and accuracy is getting a 9/10. Also the Rate of fire recieves a 10/10.

The Most Advanced Paintball Marker In The World.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 17th, 2005 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media