paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon ACP 2.0 / Ariakon ACP 2.0 / Ariakon ACP 2.0 / Ariakon ACP 2.0

Ariakon ACP 2.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon ACP 2.0

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon ACP 2.0
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
You too can now unleash the same proven technology used by our forces at home and abroad. When we were contacted and asked to assist in developing the next generation less-lethal pistol based on the original ACP the goals were simple. This new pistol was not to be used simply for training, but for live battle situations in which lethal force is a last resort. The pistol had to be 100% reliable, extremely accurate, gas efficient, inexpensive, and very easy to re-load. After nearly one year of development and testing the final product is now in use around the world by not only our forces, but by soldiers, officers and security forces all around the globe. Literally hundreds of modifications were made to the existing ACP to ensure that officers and soldiers would be able to rely on their new weapon in life or death situations. Many of these same changes are now incorporated into the all new ACP 2.0 and available on the paintball field at a price that will not unbalance your budget.

Features

Rapid Reload System™ RRS™
10 Round Magazine (Extra Magazines Optional*)
No Slip CO2 Cap
Variable Bore Size via Inserts
Quick Field Stripping Pin
Military Style Non Slip Trigger Guard
Automatic Ball Feed
Trouble Free Ball Detent
Soft Rubber Hand Grips
Ridged Non-Slip Trigger Frame
Interchangeable Flash Suppressor
Adjustable Velocity with Tournament Lock
Integrated Picatinny/Weaver Accessory Rail
High Flow Aluminum Bolt
Durable Steel CO2 Puncture Pin
Milled Aluminum Body
Bottom Line Ready
Full 1 Year Limited Warranty
Threaded Barrel (Spyder® Style)
Specifications

Operation: .68 Caliber Semi-Automatic
Overall Length: 13 Inches
Overall Height: 7¾ Inches
Weight: 2.2lb
Barrel Length: 8 Inches (upgradeable)
Barrel Bore ID: 0.684-0.690 (variable)
Power Supply: 12 Gram Co2 Cartridge
Cycle Rate: 16BPS (max)
Capacity: 10 Rounds Per Magazine
Velocity: 250-320+ FPS
Efficiency: 0.4 Grams Per Shot
Range: 0-150+ Feet
Product Availability 
The Ariakon ACP 2.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Clinton Levi Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months21 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Core ZX
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel, 14 inch sniper barrel, tapco adjustable stock, cmi heavy duty remote coil, 3000 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra magazines, Cigar tube loader
Strengths: Great marker handle, Easy magazine release, Quick reloading, Accuracy, Well built
Weaknesses: Co2 installation is a little slow due to the barrel being out
Review: The Ariakon ACP 2.0. A great marker, the perfect pistol to have for scenario players. The gun is very manueverable and is great in tight spaces, perfect for snap shooting. I researched the pistol marker awhile and I found the ACP 2.0. I noticed that it is the second generation for the ACP, there is huge differences between the two, Ariakon fixed all the problems presented in the first generation. The gun is perfect for a variety of situations, such as hill assaults, while taking cover behind fork of a tree, and for those close quaters when you and your oppenent find each other void of cover,and perfect for bunker assaults. The gun includes all the tools to take it apart and comes with an extra barrel, and a marker plug. The pistol shoots just as good as your primary weapon and is just as effective, great range, similar velocity (adjustable).
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who plays scenario/woodsball. This is a solid gun with all the effectiveness of a regular marker. The price is justified by the reliability of the marker. If your thinking about getting a paintball pistol, this is the one for you. The only downside is Co2 installation, but that can be overcome with practice (or you could just take the barrel off and put it back on when done reloading).Overall the ACP 2.0 gets a 10. Perfection at its peak.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Cacophony Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
1) Tiberius Arms TAC-8 (superior, 10/10)
2) Tiberius Arms T9 (superior, 10/10)
3) APSRAM Walther P99 (superior, 9/10)
4) APSRAM Sig Sauer 226 (better, 8/10)
5) PMI Pirhana USP (better, 7/10)
6) Sheridan PGP (N/A)
Marker Setup: Primary weapon: Tippmann A-5 with Special Ops commando stock & A-5A2 foregrip; Smart Parts Freak Back with Hammerhead Pro Tip front barrel; Simmons 40mm red dot scope; JCS dovetail-to-weaver offset rail; PMI coiled remote line with slide check; Palmer Pursuit inline stabilizer; PMI 72cu/3000psi HPA tank.

Secondary weapon: Tiberius Arms TAC-8 pistol with 3 extra magazines.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) 2 extra magazines
2) 10-round tubes
3) Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit
Strengths: 1) Accepts Spyder threaded barrels
2) Weaver rails
3) Rapid reload system
Weaknesses: 1) Poor accuracy
2) Air inefficiency
3) Cumbersome magazines
4) CO2 exchange
5) Poorly balanced
Review: My wife has small hands and cannot grip a Tiberius Arms TAC-8 or T9 very well. So, I started a search for a good, simple secondary weapon that she could use. I had been admiring the Ariakon ACP 2.0 from afar via the Internet for several months. The versatility of the weaver rails seemed appealing and the top-loading magazine configuration appeared easy to use. Unfortunately, the features of this marker could not compensate for its average to below average performance. Before I proceed to the body of this review, I want to preface by stating that I had already become accustomed to the performance of the Tiberius Arms marker line prior to using this marker. Thus, the standard I have for performance may skew the curve by which I evaluate this marker.


SETUP:

I purchased the ACP Sidearm Package directly from Ariakon via the Internet which included the ACP 2.0, 2 extra magazines, and an Ariakon holster. The pistol itself has a solid build consisting mostly of metal components. The ACP 2.0 came with two muzzles with different caliber bore sizes. I already had a Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit with Spyder threads; the Freak back seemed to fit nicely into the pistol. The 12-gram CO2 cartridge housing is located at the front of the marker underneath the barrel like most other 2nd generation semi-auto paintball pistols. Regardless of what muzzle break or Spyder-threaded barrel is used, the barrel extends out above the CO2 cap making it difficult to tighten the CO2 cap quickly (resulting in wasted CO2 during the loading process). A 3" Weaver rail is located underneath the 12-gram CO2 cartridge housing that can accommodate various accessories such as a laser sight or tactical flashlight. The safety is located above the trigger guard. The velocity adjuster is located at the back of the marker below the cocking mechanism and has a locking screw that prevents changes in velocity in-game.

The magazines are crafted from molded plastic. The magazine is loaded by pulling up on the lever that covers the opening through which paintballs are fed into the marker. Only 10 paintballs can be loaded into the magazine even though it looks (and sounds) like it could accommodate 11 rounds. The magazine is mounted onto the top of the marker by sliding the magazine forward until a retention bar fully retracts the lever covering the feeding hole and clicks/locks into place. The magazine is released by lifting a second lever and sliding the magazine back whenever the magazine needs to be reloaded. While the plastic itself is high quality and durable, the magazines feel cheaply manufactured. The paintballs rattle a lot inside the magazine when loaded. It seems as though the magazine could have been engineered to be more streamlined and less bulky; there is a lot of wasted space that could have been eliminated to reduce the weapon's profile. The magazine is large. It does not fit conveniently into pockets or holsters. In fact, the magazine is too long to fit into a Custom Products 120-round pod. The magazine holster built into the Ariakon pistol holster has a shallow pocket that allows the magazine to fall out quite frequently. I recommend carrying extra magazines, but I honestly have not come up with a convenient means of transporting them around the field while keeping them readily accessible (which is the whole point of having a rapid reload system).

The overall weight of the ACP 2.0 is relatively light given its size (2.2 lbs). Unfortunately, though, the weight is not well distributed. My wife had difficulty holding the marker steady with two hands (I admit, she's kind of petite and weak, but the marker is front-heavy even in my hands). Compared to the PMI Pirhana USP (which has a very similar two-tube construction with the CO2 housing and air valve located in the bottom tube and the bolt and barrel located in the top tube), the ACP 2.0 is far more front-heavy.


PERFORMANCE:

I tested the marker both indoors (74 degrees) and outdoors (68 degrees, ~8 MPH wind). I used a modern isoceles stance at 25 and 50 feet. I am rating the accuracy of the ACP 2.0 using the stock barrels that came with the marker. I used Marballizer paintballs. The following are my results:

25 Feet:
Indoors: 19/25 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's eye (4 hit center, 4 hit ~4 inches off center, 2 hit ~6 inches off center)
Outdoors: 17/25 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's eye (2 hit center, 4 hit ~4 inches off center, 3 hit ~6 inches off center, 1 hit ~8 inches off center)

50 Feet:
Indoors: 16/25 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (1 hit center, 4 hit ~4 inches off center, 3 hit ~6 inches off center, 2 hit ~7 inches off center)
Outdoors: 15/25 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (2 hit center, 3 hit ~4 inches off center, 3 hit ~6 inches off center, 3 hit ~8 inches off center, 1 missed the 18-inch target)

I also tested the marker with a Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit at 50 feet outdoors only. The following are my results:

50 Feet:
Outdoors: 21/25 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's eye (3 hit center, 3 hit ~4 inches off center, 1 hit ~6 inches off center)

I have used the marker twice in-game. I had 2 ball breaks at the muzzle using stock barrels (I matched the barrel to the paintballs prior to playing) and 1 ball break with the Freak barrel. No paint was found in the body of the marker itself suggesting that the paintballs may have broken at the threads of the barrel. I usually could land my paint within a foot of my target reliably at 30-40 feet. But, I dropped my magazines several times since they didn't fit into my pockets or holsters. There are few things more frustrating than having to leave cover to pick up something I dropped.

The air efficiency was somewhat variable and disappointing. A Crosman 12-gram CO2 cartridge provides anywhere from 17-28 shots. I noticed that I get substantially more shots if I remove the barrel before I reload my CO2 cartridge because I can maintain a better grip on the CO2 cap during the tightening process (resulting in faster rotation and less air loss). Exchanging CO2 cartridges is awkward because of the barrel's location relative to the CO2 cap. I have contacted Ariakon about a bottom-line adapter and they state that they will be producing a proprietary adapter sometime this year. Aftermarket bottom-line and 12-gram CO2 cartridge adapters are available for use with remote air, but I have read several reports describing mounting difficulties.


MAINTENANCE:

One of the highlights about this marker is that it is easy to strip and clean--even in the field. The bolt slides out the back after the strip pin is removed and a straight-shot slides right through to the front of the marker. On the other hand, if your magazine is painted either by an enemy or by a chopped ball, it is very difficult to effectively clean the magazine. I had to use Q-Tips to try and reach in between the retention lever opening to get at paint lodged inside the magazine. Velocity adjustment is simple: unlock the velocity adjuster with an Allen wrench, rotate the velocity adjuster until the desired FPS is achieved, and lock it again.
Conclusion: I cannot recommend this product. The Ariakon ACP 2.0 is--at best--an average marker. Pistols-only games require reliability and consistency. The ACP 2.0 does not provide either. The magazines do exchange easily, but they are so cumbersome that they will likely have to be stored in an inconvenient location. While it may be cheaper than the Tiberius Arms and APSRAM (RAP4) markers, the price difference is clearly denoted in its performance. The PMI Pirhana USP may not be as aesthetically pleasing, but the simplicity of its design and marginally superior accuracy, air efficiency, and cost make it a great alternative. I required a Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit to improve the ACP 2.0's accuracy to an acceptable quality. However, not everyone can afford to purchase a Freak Kit in addition to the cost of this marker (and, even if they could, they should purchase a TAC-8 or T9 anyway).
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

sciether Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
never used a pistol
Marker Setup: bt 4 iron horse, response trigger. rip clip, 2x6 by32 tactical scope,carry handle mount combined with 7/8 offset mount, safari tac sling, rocket cock 2, flurry vest, remote coil, pull through squeege, acp 2.0 drop leg holster and 2 extra clips
Recommended
Upgrades:
laser sight, a few extra clips
Strengths: Clips are cheap and they hold 11 if you squeeze an extra round in them.
Weaknesses: I dont like the 12 gram co2, is there a remote line for this gun
Review: I bought the acp 2.0 kit, consists of gun, drop leg holster, 3 clips, i got it for 170$, i also put a laser sight on the trigger of it, fits holster quite nice wt the laser on it, seems the holster that came with it was intended for tac lights or laser sights, also the two extra clips fit nice and snug in the spare clip pouch, i have no worries of them falling out, the clips hold 11 rounds, you have to squeeze the 11th in but it so far doesn't seem to cause feed jams of any kind. I am trully impressed with the accuracy of it, after zeroing the laser, it hits within 1 1/2inch group at 30 to 40 feet and within a 12inch group at 90 to 100 ft, more than enough to take out you're competition. With my gun so far i dont get more than 20 or so shots before it seems to fall off. i cant seem to find a bottom line kit for it yet, if anyone knows of one let me know? Overall a very dependable, accurate gun, makes for an excellent back up on the field. i suggest it without a doubt.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone wanting a reliable acurate back up weapon
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 2:02 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

straightupdoubl Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: Custom 98 Pro E, Flatline barrel, J&J Edge kit, Ricochet Apache, Remote Line, JT Proteus Chameleon w/ Sportzcomm, Flurry Emissary vest and on and on.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines-but you will need a place to put them. The Ariakon holster has a mag pouch that is too short for the magazine.
Strengths: Accuracy, looks, efficiency, rr mags
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I played with an Overlord that belonged to a friend and decided I liked the idea of a back up marker-and it looks good on my hip standing around waiting to start a game. When I compared the Overlord to the ACP 2.0 I realized the extra $40 was worth it. I like the Rapid Reload Magazine because its easy to change out a mag and the sights are a lot easier to see on the ACP Mags. The CO2 cartridges don't get stuck in the ACP like the Overlord so making a quick change in the field is faster. Ariakon also provided two bore sizer for better accuracy and they work pretty well. For right now the only other thing I like is that the cocking knob is easy to grab when its time-I have big fingers and the Overlord cocking knob is harder to grab because its inside a tube with open sides.
Conclusion: Right now Ariakon looks like the way to go-for me I liked the look and feel of the ACP 2.0 more than the Overlord. I will post more information after I get out and use it more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shadoflame Friday, March 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sheriden PGP - not as good, but much smaller and more consistent
Marker Setup: Ariakon ACP 2.0, 9 inch Java Barrell, Brass Eagle 12 grams
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulated remote line set up, longer barrell if u wish, and 45 sticky grips
Strengths: Accepts spyder barrells, hard trigger pull, RRS magazine, and not as loud as most blowbacks
Weaknesses: Inconsistent
bad sights
no CO2 quick change
Review: The ariakon acp 2.0 isnt much different from the origional, but that's a different story.

First off: firing performance.

The marker is extremely inconsistent, jumps averagely 6 fps between shots. Being an open bolt blowback, it is quite loud, but not nearly as loud as spyders. In cold weather, I get 20 shots of of one 12 gram. not bad considering 26 in good temperatures. Does not break at all with the stock barrel. The trigger pull is quite long and heavy, which is good in this case because when you pull it out of the holster and place your finger on it ya wouldnt want to accidently fire it. My other preference is it is that I can spin it my finger without accidently firing.

Upgradeability:

I tried many different spyder threaded barrells on this marker, I learned that not all barrels work so well. The included barrels are about 1.5 mm longer on the threaded ends than most spyder barrels. So when one uses an after market barrell, there would be a gap between the end on barrel and the integraded barrell. This gap causes breaks. Using barrells with more beveling stops breaks. My J&J edge kit wasnt beveled very much so it broke on every shot, but the Java 9 inch was beveled greatly so it doesnt break.

The ACP 2.0 can accept a bottomline for anyone who wants constant air. But to do this you eithar need get a CO2 dummy or remove the weaver rail to use a Zeus bottom line kit.

It can accept a hopper adapter, but doing so would ruin the whole pistol idea.

The weaver rail under the gun can have just about anything mounted on it, laser, flashlight, and etc...

The magazine:

The magazine comes off fast and comes on fast and doesnt fall off ever. It wobbles a little bit though. The magazine is made of hard plastic with metal parts, very durable, and doesnt cost much, only $20 (yes, $20 is alot of money, but is low compared to other magazines). to attach the magazine to the pistol, all you do is slide it on. simple as that. to remove it, all u do is pull up the front metal tabs and the magazine slides back for removal. when the magazine isnt on the marker, it automatically stops paint from flowing out due to the spring. there's no twist knob or anything like on other paintball pistols, ignoring the tac 8.

[THIS PART IS ABOUT RELOADING TEN ROUNDS INTO THE MAGAZINE, NOT RELOADING THE PISTOL}
paint is loaded into the magazine from the bottom, after sliding the spring back and locking it, you just hold the metal bar back and pour in ur tube. I prefer to load the magazine from the back though. You have to remove the screw on the bottom of the magazine first, then ya just pop off the back which has an O-ring to keep it from slipping off.

Precision.

The precision of the stock barrell is decent for being only 8 inches in total length. At 10 yards the precision is within 2 feet, very nice for an 8 inch barrell on an unregulated marker.

OVERALL

This is a very well made pistol. Decent precision, fast magazine changing, air efficient, and very upgradeable. Another plus to Ariakon for anothergreat product.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to all woodsballers and scenario players. This marker comes extremely useful as back up or for quick hit-and-run tactics. If you want to rule the forest or the simulated battlefield, get yourself an ACP 2.0 today.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Slaughter Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much any spyder clone. Sim-4, PT Extreme, PT Junior.
Marker Setup: Sim-4, led trigger(with custom response mode), stock single composite trigger. mock silencer(custom), Low Bolt delrin bolt, Magna port valve, New designz high flow valve, BSA 4X32 hunting/sniper scope, UTG weaver mounted bi-pod, M-4 weaver rails(for hand guard), M-4 carry handle weaver rail. Guarder fore grip, laser dot sight, Trinity ak-47 expansion chamber, Trinity sypder military stock(custom fitted), and a Kingman java remote+(3) 20oz bottles.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magne port valve, polished internals, and/or a cupped striker if you are good with a dremel.
Strengths: Ultra fast reloading, easy to disassemble, accepts many aftermarket products, upgradable barrel.
Weaknesses: None experienced.
Review: The ACP2 is the best pistol on the market without a doubt. The RRS makes reloading a snap(a couple seconds to reload.) You just pull a spring up and off goes the mag. You also don't have to mess with the end cap like all the other pistols on the market. The mags are the cheapest pistols mags I've ever seen too.
The ACP2 is not a gas hog at all. Stock, I can get close to 26(at 260fps) The recommended FPS is 250-260. With the magna port valve I can get 30 before the shots start to fall a little short.
The ACP2 can also accept any spyder threaded barrels, and most spyder stocks. It is truly the most customizable pistol yet. The ACP2 is included with two barrel inserts(one is .689 and I can remember the smaller one.) This makes paintball to bore sizing even better since you can use a larger variety of paint. You also don't have to worry about accuracy problems during the winter.
Conclusion: I recommend this pistol to anyone who wants a light reliable pistol that packs a punch for its size.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Tuesday, November 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, pump pistol, 10 shot, 30 shots per 12 gram CO2, ok accuracy
Marker Setup: '95 Automag with X-Valve & Level 10
pump kit Automag
Tippmann Custom '98
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, take it for what it is, a pistol
Strengths: Semi auto
Clip changes are fast on field
Clip reloads are easy
Weaknesses: Holster clip holder is loose.
Review: I purchased this used from Ebay but the guy never used it and it came in the original box with everything.

2 tips/muzzle breaks, Allen wrenches, barrel plug, instruction manual, nice holster, 3 clips.

The holster it comes with is pretty nice. It attaches on your belt, the has two adjustable leg straps. It holds the gun well, but the extra clip pouch leaves a bit to be desired. It is loose and could easily drop the clip when crawling around or running through brush.

The clips are easy to load. There is a nice retention bar that keeps the paintballs in place when the clip is loaded. The paintballs are spring fed into the chamber and that action is very smooth.

Changing the clip during a firefight is easy too. Just pull up on a small metal retention bar and slide the clip back off the gun. Then push a new clip forward onto the gun and it clicks in place. Very simple task.

Keep in mind this is a pistol. Accuracy is decent out to 60 feet or so. The barrel is Spyder threaded so you can remove the muzzle brake and put a full fledged Spyder barrel on it. I tried my friends JnJ and it definately tightened up my shot grouping. It also reminded me of that scene in Batman where the Joker pulls out that ridiculosly long pistol from his belt.

I seem to get exactly 20 shots from a 12 gram CO2 in 45 degree weather Shooting 280 fps. I would expect to get more shots in warmer weather. And I will also chrono down to around 260 fps and see how that does with effeciency. The CO2 is easy to change, provided you read the directions and have the gun cocked. I highly recommend you take off the muzzle break from the barrel to allow yourself to grip the CO2 thread knob easier.

I've yet to chop a ball in about 200 rounds through it. Only 2 barrel breaks, but I contribute that to brittle paint. The bolt comes out quickly via a clip and you can run a squeegie through the breech and barrel. (very similar to a Cocker) Very quick to clean and reassemble.

This gun is unique in that it can take the longer Spyder threaded barrels and can take a stock off the handle, and a foregrip, to make it more like a rifle. For the sniper type player this would make for a very low profile, lightweight weapon. I've heard they are supposed to make a 200 round hopper adapter. I really think this would not be an efficient use of this gun to try to make it into the rifle. It is what it is and that's a pistol.

I use this weapon for 2 on 2 swat style games and as a primary weapon during night play. During the day I use my main weapon.
Conclusion: Definately worth picking up if you want a decent back-up pistol. $140 gets you the pistol, 3 clips, and a holster. If you want to play with a pistol as a primary weapon, I'd drop the extra cash and go with the Tac-8, which has slightly better gas efficiency and is a little better balance in your hands over a long day.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 7th, 2007 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paddy_M Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Guns Used

Used a friends Spyder Rodeo With about 200rds of my Paint. (His USP also)
Rentals (Tippmanns)
Marker Setup: Ariakon Combat Pistol 2.0
Holster (Holds 10 or so 12g co2 or tubes and 2 mags)
4x magazines
8x tubes
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Delrin Bolt
Low Profile sniper? (Barrel + stock + Laser, light, or foreward grip)

Strengths: Easy Reload (Very Easy)
Shoots far/straight
Good on co2
Aftermarket Barrel Ready
Cheap mags
Weaknesses: 10 <round mags (But I mean it's a pistol)
Urge to buy two (DUALIES!)
Review: I am reviewing my new ACP 2.0.

As soon as this pistol arrived I signed for it and excitedly opened the box. At first I was taken in by how big it was, but later decided I liked the larger "military" look better, sexy black.

Time to fire this puppy!

I reloaded the magazine first. (I got a combo 3 extra mags + the one that comes with the pistol)

Reloading the Magazines

1. Pull back Spring (Locking it back)
2. Hold small bar back to open the feeding hole.
3. Insert Paint.
4. Shoot 'em up.

Time to load the co2, I read the instructions...

Cock your gun.

1. Unscrew co2 cap.
2. Insert 12 gram co2 Cartridge
3. Screw co2 cap in until you feel slight resistance
4. Grip co2 cap firmly and tighten quickly (NOTE: Some co2 will be expelled)


I am so excited I forget to cock the gun, so all the co2 leaks out at once, scared the crap out of me. Next I learn that "slight resistance" is actually very slight, wasting another co2.
This is when I learn the best method.

After the co2 has been inserted...
Screw really fast.

Once the co2 was in I looked at the instructions to attach the mag to the top. Easy as pie. Once I actually have the pistol and a mag in my hand it literally takes no more than 2 seconds. *click*


Firing the Gun.

I aimed, which is very easy thanks to the sights on top of the magazines. Nifty. I use one hand.

And do you know what the dammed gun did? It shot all 34 balls (3 mags + 4 balls out of a fourth) before It ran out of co2, I had to manually re-cock the last shot, and the 35th was not worth calling a shot. No ball breaks, no chops. The gun was amazingly accurate, and proved tough competition for my friend's Spyder Rodeo with his fancy $100 Evil barrel.

I now can load co2 easily. The Magazines are the best design ever, and very cheap too.
The gun is durable, as I have already dropped it.

Also it can accept MOST spyder stocks, so long as it does not interfere with the bolt, as well as Spyder threaded barrels (These threads are not JUSt used on spyders though). And comes with two different bore size Muzzle breaks. (Barrel tips)

*NOTE* When you add a barrel it goes on the threaded end of the ACP's internal barrel an example being I used my friends evil barrel (14 inch) so 14 + 8. I actually had a 20 inch barrel.

I am toying with the idea of making it a low profile, (No co2 tank/hopper meaning low) sleek sniper gun. With a stock and nice barrel. And either a Laser or Fore ward grip on the integrated R.I.S./weaver rail on the bottom of the gun, in front of the trigger.

EDIT: I had alot of fun with this pistol. But then it broke. First the pin connecting bolt and striker, then leaks galore. All of the issues I have had now. 2 Years later, I can not recommend this pistol. New, or used. Try a SA17 or USP, something with 10rnd tubes.
Conclusion: EDIT: I had alot of fun with this pistol. But then it broke. First the pin connecting bolt and striker, then leaks galore. All of the issues I have had now. 2 Years later, I can not recommend this pistol. New, or used. Try a SA17 or USP, something with 10rnd tubes.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2010 at 2:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slasher_99 Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tac 8
Marker Setup: Ion
acp 2.0
Recommended
Upgrades:
none except lota clips
Strengths: - Very accurate
-Looks
-Light
-Easy reload
Weaknesses: -Sights are usless (who cares, dont use them)
-Nothing else
Review: Alright there isnt enough reviews for this gun and it deserves more. I looked into nearly every pistol and came down to the acp or overlord. the main difference seams to be that the clips are cheaper for acp and that overlord has sticking problems sometimes with co2. It is pretty much the same gun which ever u think looks better pick that one. I looked into getting a pistol for two reasons save balls and more challenge. I used it twice it performed perfect no chops or breaks. this gun is very accurate easily as much as almost any other gun out there. the acp is also very upgradeable and the clips are easy to reload along with the co2. ppl say co2 changes are hard but there not just get some cover from a friend and take the cap off and put new co2 in. consistency was about 230 229 231 very good. I got so many one shot kills with this thing u get way more respect from ppl ur playing with as well. As for moving it is very easy u can run and almost slide and shoot at same time and snap shots are easy as hell. people know u are good if u use a pistol. It is highly not recommeded for newbs tho dont get it if ur new to this. As for the tac 8 which i tested once it is way more money and not worth it the gun looks better but can only hold 8 shots and the grip is F**n huge. IF ur not rich get this gun it is well worth it.
Conclusion: Buy it if your not a newb and want a challenge, great for sneaky players like me hehehehe
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericb Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none...first pistol
Marker Setup: own Spyder Rodeo and have used Tippman 98's
Recommended
Upgrades:
CO2 remote or some kind of additonal size tank accomodation. A laser site would be great.
Strengths: In spite of the size, it's actually pretty light. Amazing accuracy. Very powerful shot.
Weaknesses: Only 10 shots per magazine...but hey, it's a pistol.
Review: All I've had the chance to do is take it out of the box and fire about 60 rounds through it. I get about 20-22 shots per CO2 (Crossman) cylinder.

The rapid reload mags are really great...easy to load and quick to swap out. That said, it is very difficult to remove a mag that isn't empty...so, it's a good idea to flip the gun and unload the chamber if you want to do that.

The gun comes with an additional barrel...but honestly, I don't know what the difference is other than looks.

What is amazing is how powerful and accurate the shots are. at about 50 feet I shot a pattern of about 6" diameter.

I keep thinking that a remote line would be a great addition...but, it would be a shame to ruin the great portability and heft of the pistol.

Still, it would be nice to be able to use a small refillable tank.
Conclusion: I can't wait to use it...It's at least as accurate as my spyder and a heck of a lot lighter! I've always thought a limited paint game would be a lot of fun, where you can concentrate on strategy as opposed to just blasting away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media