paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The premier marker in paintball! Designed and built by Bob Long, a legend in the sport of competitive paintball. He sets strict build standards to insure the Empire Intimidator is one of the fastest and most accurate markers in the game. Extruded aircraft-grade aluminum bodies keep the Intimidator light and streamlined. Some of the most highly advanced circuit boards and sealed memory chips make up the Intimidator's internals, combined with a friction reducing micro switch trigger system, this marker is capable of over 20 BPS.

Features:

* Used by Bob Long's Oakland Assassins/Oakland Empire!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
* Custom 14 inch barrel insures marksman's accuracy
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
xwhen_in_rome Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM6, Dark Angel G7, Ego
Marker Setup: 06 Empire Timmy
CP Slide ASA On/Off
Dye Throttle 45/45
12" 06 Freak back, AA front
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Vert Reg if you want it.. so far the stock is amazing just as long as you lube it.
I dont know if any trigger out there is compatible with this gun yet.
Barrel...
Strengths: Weight
Fast(Incredibly Fast)
Consistent
Effiecient
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: The original poppet. Other than that, this gun is flawless
Review: I first saw this gun last year around Dec. I had a Rat Impulse with an I-Frame at first. I wanted this gun the first time i saw it and picked it up around Early Jan. I finally bought it and couldnt put it down.

The first time at the field i had a leak but couldnt find the way to actually stop it. So i wanted to play with it so bad that i just did. With the leak the effiency was still amazing(4 Dye Lock Lids). The weight was amazing, perfectly balanced with the 45/45. The stock barrel is good but the thing is the when it chopped cause i didnt have my eye on,the balls swerved. It was easy to clean the chop with the easy to pull pin on the bolt.

I e-mailed the Bob Long tech after the field to mail me a new poppet, and so they did. Now after installing the poppet and playing with the trigger and settings, i can now hit 23 bps full auto and 21 semi auto, 24 on 3 ball burst. Now with no leak, this baby can go through 7 pods easy with the 45/45.

Finally, make sure you lube everything up before you play...makes the gun run smoother, but ill assume you know that.

Also...BLAST tech told me that the best psi to work on is 65-70.
Conclusion: Best gun I've had ever. Weighs less than the Ego and the Dark Angel and almost as the DM6. You don't need a fast gun like the G7 to take guys out(waste of paint). Timmys are reliable and this is the best Timmy yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

pbstar787898 Thursday, March 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ intimidator, Alias intimidator, Empire (1) intimidator, all the dm markers, shockers, cockers, and angels.
Marker Setup: Gloss black with blue parts 06 empire intimidator, 14in cp barrel, 45 45 crossfire tank, blue halo with rip drive, and smart parts on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
There is not much that needs to be uped on this marker out of box, but pm me if you wish to see a long list of possible ups...
Strengths: Light
Small
Fast
Easy to shoot
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Sharp edges
Compact grip frame (hard to work on gun)
Review: WEAKNESSES

This marker has several weaknesses in my mind. First of all, the sharp milling may look cool, but it can and has made deep cuts to the hand if you are not carefull. This is annoying, but can be overlooked.
Second, as with the first empire intimidator, this intimidators milling could be better. I am not a picky person when it comes to looks, but it looks like it was just welded on without smoothing it out near the eyes. This is annoying when you lay 1000 bucks down for a piece of metal.
Lastly, it is a hassle to try and get a rail on the gun. You have to take off the camshell and remove the battery in order to srew your set screws into the gripframe. Once in place they usually stay, but it is a hassle if you want to take your tank off the rail.

STRENGTHS

On to the good stuff....
1. This marker is light light light! The empire is both small and light so it handels great with front players and back players. This is the most comfortable marker I have held to date (and believe me, I have played and held many a marker). This is great for those long days at the field, you can play longer without getting tiered.

2. This marker is easy to walk. I have slow fingers and i can walk this gun fairly well. I can not keep up with some people, but I can hold my own in a match with full auto with just walking the trigger.

3. This marker keeps constant streams precisly. I am impressed with how accurate this marker is when shooting a constant stream of paint. It is very accurate seeing that you have the right barrel.

4. This marker is both air efficient and has little kick. I have my intimidator lpr set at 60 psi (low for a timmy). My friend who has an adjustable air tank set his lpr at 50-55 and it is rocking. This virtually eliminates kick and allows for more accurate streams and or one balling.

5. It's a timmy. These guns don't give out much drama, and when they do it is mainly the owners fault. All intimidators are built well and can take a beating (I know mine sure has).
Conclusion: I feel it is important to note that finding the right paintball marker is like finding the right pair of shoes. You don't just go out and pick up any pair of cool looking shoes and buy them, you try them on first and see which pair fits you best. You need to try out as many different markers that you can and decide which one is best for you. I like the feel of timmies, so I like this marker.

With that said I am going to give this marker a 9 because it performs perfect but it has some fault that are both annoying and dangerous (sharp edges, set screw). Overall this gun is great. I am going to keep mine for a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 30th, 2006 at 8:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonusballs Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Alias timmy, defiant, Ego
Marker Setup: 06 Empire timmy
Dye 45/45
12" assassins barrel
hybrid reg and mount
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetely a Dye Ultralight 16" !!!THATS IT!!!!
Strengths: !!! Very Freaking Fast !!!!
!!! Tight and Light !!!!
Weaknesses: Poppet must be tight and greased......
Review: For the most part... this marker is insanely light and small... i can rail 16 bps pretty much all the time... and if in the need... you can get that smart ramp going straight to 21 bps if your loader permits..
Im pretty much an all around player and for that this marker is perfect for my job... (railing and bonus-balling that is)
Conclusion: Please ,please get the ultralight and a 45/45.... this marker rips and goes where you tell it to go....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

warparty_mw Sunday, September 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Infamous intimidator- near same marker, but has different body
GZ intimidator - with complete 06 parts (only thing stock is the body)
Alais intimidator
Lasoya Intimidator
08 Impact Ego
DM8

Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
- Dye ultralight barrel
- Shock Tech screw on/off ASA

Smart Parts Impulse
- Bought it as a old school marker a month ago

Invert Mini
- Virtue Board
- Hybrid clamping feedneck

Airsystem
-Dye Throttle 68/4500

Loader
-VLocity JR. with Virtue Chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New barrel- Stock Assassins barrel is perfect for Nelson EKG
- Our home field gets Nelsplat for sponsorship so I switched to
Ultralight
-FAST Loader-I have a VLocity JR. with Virtue chip, this works great (needs full batteries)
Strengths: Very Fast
Very Light
Reliable
Easy to find parts ( Many parts are interchangeable )
Weaknesses: Nothing at all performance wise.
Review: like I said above, This marker is Very fast, Very light weight, Reliable and parts are plentiful and readily available

If I HAVE to say any thing negative about the Empire Timmy, it would only be that it is a little hard to clean and can be scratched fairly easily, so dont take it into bushball (like you were going to anyway)
Conclusion: Apart from the Impact ego, this is the BEST marker I have ever fired. I do not own that ego because there is no way I can afford it. The 06 Empire Timmy is huge performance for very good cost. Mine was only $490 on splatterpaintball.ca (Sept. 2008)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sciontay Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys, angel fly, wrath, shockers, cockers, ion, much more
Marker Setup: Red / BLK gloss Empire 2006 intimidator w/ revolver kit, empire reloader b, cp direct, empire fuel tank coming.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really its great, just a FAST loader
Strengths: Speed, weight, luscious color, very compact, shoots streams, very consistant
Weaknesses: Price, over all the marker is great.
Review: Well.....actually i was so eager to open it up i basically cut the end of my freakin finger off!!!!but it was worth it. The first thing i noticed was the awesome color, the black looked like it had been dipped in hot tar!!!!!!very cool. I had to wait a week before i could play with it because i left for OKC in the morning. On the field it is every thing a person could want in a marker (look at strengths above) no chops at all and very sturdy, not a big gas hog either. This GAT shoots streams of paint. The LCD is very easy to work and the stock FRENZY board is not bad at all.....IT is very easy to get to the internals and to put it back together. The trigger is smooth just like any Bob Long marker.
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good marker and is a must buy (if you have to money) i have had no problems with it and it is a perfect 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brennan87 Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION- Not even close
Shocker- Closer but not there
Marker Setup: 06 Bob Long Empire Intimidator Red Gloss, Hybrid Grind Push Button On/Off/Bleed, Empire B, Smart Parts Freak Kit (Red Freak Front), Empire Fuel 71/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- Stocks nice but just isn't a Freak
Maybe a Tadao or Virtue Board
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Accuracy
Light
Eyes
Weaknesses: Sharp milling on back just above bolt
Price
Review: This is a very nice gun.The milling looks really awesome. After playing with this gun I have to say its the nicest I have ever owned or shot. With a 12" Barrel its pretty accurate but with a freak its sniper accurate. There is no drop off whatsoever. Cleaning is the bolt is very simple (but if you dont put it back in correctly it wont pressurize and air will leak out everywhere.) This is a great gun.
Conclusion: Very good gun worth every penny. Perfect for experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedballSniper Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
'04 empire... louder, little higher LPR, more kick, little harder on the balls, heavier, slower max cycle rate.
Marker Setup: '06 Empire, Black to Blue dust
Redz Kit
Black Reloader B
70/45 Throttle
Black Hyrbid Rail. On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Fast Hopper, Light tank, to go with a super light/tight gun
Strengths: light, FAST, consistent, quiet, little kick(vibrates in hands), efficient
Weaknesses: Too sexy, need larger barrel bore... trigger not like '04.
Review: Got this gun for $1075 CAN. Right out of the box... sweetest gun I've ever held. It's so light, it's so small, it felt like a toy, all by itself. Put a rail and ASA on, slapped on everything else, hit 17 on the trigger, which is very light, and fell in love over the ramp modes. you max out your hopper no problem if you've got fairly decent fingers. 3 shot burst is much faster than ramp mode, as you get 3 shots as fast as the hopper feeds every time you pull the trigger, after the first semi auto pull.

Very efficient, about 1800 shots from a 70/45. Everybody wants to see it, and wants you on their team. Very accurate with a good barrel kit. After over a dozen cases, haven't broken a single ball, except for some crap paint that failed a 1 foot drop test. broke 4 out of 500 paintballs, just ripping on it. Mind you, they're barrel breaks, there hasn't been a single chop... the eyes work flawlessly.

The gun can use less cycling pressure than other timmies, making it quieter and better on gas, while the lighter bolt and ram reduce the kick substantially. It kicks less than a shocker, and much less than all other styles of timmies. You hardly have to hold it down when you max your loader.

The only weakness (if you can call it a weakness) is that it's harder to take apart than the older styles of timmy. It's complicated to explain, but you'll see what I mean when you get one.
Conclusion: You want the best timmy out there? Get this gun... it is one of the pinnacles of sleek, sexy performance. It gets a 10. I guess the infamous gets a 10 too.... If you buy it, you won't regret it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reepers Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego6
infamous
dm6
pm6
ego 05
dynasty shocker
g7
Marker Setup: 06 empire2 white, white reloader b, speedfeed, flywheel, crossifre 45/45

black shocker ton ton frame w/ blue parts: qlock, hybrod bolt guide, stinger bolt kit, cp reg, blue freak, blue slik trigger, blue srail

Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: This beast is light, fast, accurate,milling, finish, and efficent.
Weaknesses: NONE! except somepeople sand down the sharp thing on the end of the gun.
Review: okay well i got this gun as a back up. If you read my other reviews u will see different guns but i sold all of those to get these. i am a gun whore, i got to have the best.

SPEED- well... this has got to be the fastest timmy out. The infamous is about the same speed, but it has a diff. board. This gun will not run away from you att all. It is very easy to keep a good string.

LIGHT- this is 1.6 lbs less than an alias....... well if you say this then you just fell like copying nad not writing a good review. From i experiences this is the second lightest gun i have ever shot.

ACCURACY- this is a very accurate gun. i can hit a 50ft target about about 145x. if i 1 ball the target i dont miss!!!!

MILLING- the milling is good and unique. It is very sharp and sexy. it turns my girlfriend on. wink*wink*

FINNISH- i personally dont like dust finish but this changed my mind. it is very strong and wont scratch, i have slide and dropped it before w/ nothing.

EFFICENCY- 1st of the torpedo reg is amazing. this is an excellent stock reg. i would even upgrade it from a cp or my old duel maxflo. i got around 2 hoppers and 1 pod per 45/45 fill.

THE SHARP THINGY- Well this has NOT cut or hurt my game in anyway. it is just part of the milling to make this marker kool and unique. I dont know how you could cut yourself it is not that sharp. but if you get into a fight take the bolt out and start swinging at people w/ your razor!!! LOL
Conclusion: This is another great from BOB. This is possibly in the top 5 of current guns. Dust finish looks pretty koll. and buy 1 fast because well.... theyre going outa stock
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 4th, 2006 at 6:02 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

matt67 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k4 alias, vice, pmr,slg,etek, rapper,marq6
Marker Setup: 2006 empire 2 pillow bolt, bob lob drop , bob long cam drive, bob long clamping feedneck, cp barrel .693, ccm carbon fiber barrel kit .690-.693 bob long swivel reg
bob long dime gauge, dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit, dime gauge, swivel reg, pillow bolt, cam drive, clamping feedneck
Strengths: Accurate, fast, shoot at someone they are done looks
Weaknesses: People only want to play on your side, crybabies, less family time
Review: Well i pick a brand new 2006 empire 2 in white dust with blue accents from bob long direct for 425 after shooting a 2k4 alias for about 4 months these guns are amazing fast accurate i live in hawaii so i get to play many very good player and some pros
but most are just novice with high ends had a friend get a vice two weeks ago shoot it it was faster and lighter but it was 325 dollars more also so i'm good all in all i think any high end poppet marker is about the same on the field the vice and ego are alittle lighter and are amazing markers but they are too expansive right now you can get a
gen4 intimidator ,infamous, or empire , ripper 3 for 425 plus shipping these are brand new never used 1400+ dollar guns so when people say yeah that's nice but may 1200+ dollar marker is better i get to remind them that a 1400+ dollar gun that sat on a shelf for three years is still fast accurate and better then their 1200+marker that will be worth 600 next year
Conclusion: For the 425 i paid it rips out of the box accurate, fast, you need a good barrel and trigger
if you have the money get a vice, closer, ego, or other poppet marker but in one or two years i'll get one myself for 425 or less and i'll still get 200-300 dollars for my gun as well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamalbpb Saturday, November 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto slg, diablo wrath, Angel 05 speed
Marker Setup: bob long 06 empire intimidator, crossfire 68/45,vlocity,dye boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
new asa, and maybe a new barrel, extra detents
Strengths: Very fast, easy to turn on and maintain
Weaknesses: It is sort of sharp around the edges and i have cut myself .
Review: This gun is very good looking and fast. When I got it I thought it looked great and shot wonderfully. It out shoots a lot of guns at my field. They are very light and compact, which is good. Again the only problem is when the detents break they are very inacurate and chop,but detents are very easy to find on ebay and such. Very acurate when there are detents in it,very good gun.
Conclusion: A good gun for a good price, buy one if you can.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media