paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell / Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell / Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell / Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell

Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hybrid Technologies

Buy Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Suicide Halo shell allows the player to easily access broken paint inside of your Halo by giving you the ability to remove the top of the loader. The Suicde Shell is three pieces, two pieces keep the internal parts together, the third is the removable section.
Product Availability 
The Hybrid Technologies Suicide Halo Shell is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jsw678 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: Angel-G7- Gloss Black
Pure Energy 70/45
Pepper Stickz Kit
Hybrid ASA
Empire/Reloader
Strengths: Easy to open up and clean
Hold more paint
Weaknesses: A bit big for speedball
Heavy
Lid is hard to open/close
Review: I bought this shell after my reloader shell shattered. It was a bit pricy but hey I have always said you get what you pay for and I loved that it was easy to pop open and clean those annoying ball breaks in the hopper...First

The good:

Rounds: It hold more paint, if you can find pods that hold more you are in like flin.

Cleaning: The top pops open pretty effortlessly with the removal of some screws, This is the shells strongest feature.

The "Bad":

The lid: It takes a little more effort to open and close, not as smooth as my old reloader .

Size: For me this is the biggest weakness, its a tank the thing is huge in my opinion.

Weight: Its also a little heavier than the halo or reloader shells...
Conclusion: I bought a new Halo B and a new Reloader shell thus retiring my Hybrid shell, to me the cons just outweigh the pro's. My PERSONNEL opinion is to think how it will affect your game rather than ease of maintenance... you decide. I would say this product is average = 5. Donít get me wrong, its great that the top opens up for easy cleaning but that alone is not good enough for a 10.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

SuddenDeath Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo, Empire
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit just right, price, lack of colors
Review: Nothings worse than breaking paint in your hopper and having every paintball thereafter shooting all over the place. We all know what a pain it is to clean the stock shells, so when these came out I was excited. Although hesitant to purchase because of the price, I bought them anyways. I now wish I hadn't. Not that the product is horrible but a few minor annoyances that for the extra money doesn't make it worth it for me.

Putting them together is no biggie if you've done it before. But trying to get the board in correctly was a little harder than it's supposed to be, as well the on/off button broke through. This was the only way I could be the board in. Not a big deal, but shouldn't be necessary.

The thing I don't like the most is closing the lid. It now requires much more effort to close, no more filling and slamming the lid shut; won't happen with these shells. Although in fairness, it is getting a little easier to close. Maybe it's getting broken in?

***EDIT****

After using the shells for some time, the lid snapped off. I can only assume this was due to the extra force used (necessary) to close the lid. I own three hoppers and never had the lid snap on me like this. I guess I'll have to speed feed this sucker now. Lowering my rating from 5 to 3. Ease of cleaning is the ONLY benefit you'll get from these shells.
Conclusion: Not sure I could recommend picking these up right now, I would wait till the price gets lower. This way if you run into my issues, you didn't spend a small fortune on something that you really don't need anyways.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 5th, 2006 at 4:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yuu Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock shells
Marker Setup: Mq'd Karnivor
Samurai Trigger

MI Mech Orracle
DART bolt
QEVs

Orracle Bodied Sniper
Strengths: 3 piece design. Slightly thinner feed neck plastics
Weaknesses: Apparent inability to replace lid. Limited color selection (for now)
Review: This new shell set should have been realeased long ago - what a boon.

The good:
3 piece design allows you to fully clean the interior of the hopper without having to remove the internals. So a 15 - 20 minute PIA job is reduced to just a couple minutes.

Slightly thinner platic in the neck removes the need for spending you time sanding down the neck.

One problem I consistently had with the stock shells was the small tab that the lid spring rested against would break in no time. This left the spring free to move and rendered it useless. The hybrid design seems to be much sturdier in this area. Though only time will really tell.

The Bad:
There doesn't seem to be an easy/ obvious way to replace the lid in the event of a break. But since I have not ever broken a lid before, it's a neglidgible issue.

Cost - to an extent. yeah they cost more than stock shells. But the reduction in the hassle factor will pay off over time.

I don't really see any other short coming at this time.
Conclusion: Next time you smash up your Relaoder B or Halo shell I'd suggest you pick up this replacement. If you have ever dealth with the hassle of a couple smashed paintballs in this style of loader you'll love the pop top design. No more pulling a whole half off the laoder to get the goop out of the front and corners.

It gets a 10 for now. I'll revisit the review if I encounter a problem that doesn't seem like it should occur under normal wear and tear.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cisco Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo. empire reloaders, pulse
Marker Setup: Anything and everything ,
Sponsors have to pay me to support here .
FREEBE. Ego is the best gun on the market still... !!!!
Hook me up PE.
Strengths: Easier to clean with no disassmebly angle of opening accomodates this.
Weaknesses: Its not durable, quickly cracks. Nuts fall out .
Review: So i have had this for awhile. I got it as a replacement for the halo shell. Starting at the back i do not punish the equipment like the front guys. I have never had to take the thing apart to clean it . the position of the opening allows you to clean the lil nooks and crannies without the trouble of taking it apart. I noticed hairline cracks earlier around the stress areas whee screws connect in spite of not overtightening, There is only three nuts that hold the top on and in the process of position a person for a paintball photo i literally ripped the top of the hopper off.

Mine busted at the feed neck after a dive. It cracked the shells as well as the ball stack but at different places so i clued it all back together and its working. I check today to see about returning it cause one of main selling factors aside from the advertised ease of cleaning was the lifetime warranty.
After going to hybrids sight i see that the warranty has been cancelled supposedly to people intentionally breaking the shells knowing they would be replaced.



No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.

No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.
No lifetime warranty.


Conclusion: Decent concept not worth the the extra cash. From what i can tell its no stronger construction than the halo shell.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

celica_pballer Monday, July 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock shell
Marker Setup: 05 hybrid shocker and loving it
Strengths: Cleaning
+ balls
cool lookin
Weaknesses: Lid broke off but i can find any other weakness
Review: 1 st thing this thing is awesome. Whoever thought to split the shell horazontaly instead of vertically is a genius. This makes it so much easier to clean broken balls out. Next you get more balls in it who doesnt want more balls. Some people say that they are hard to open, ya when you first get it. It just needs to be broken in. It will still be tight so you dont have to worry about it comeing undone. The only problem i had was the lid broke off. I was shot while reloading but it didnt break than. The next game when reloading it broke wierd. Any way this thing is ill.

P.S. if any one knows how to change these lids and where i can get one let me know
Conclusion: Dont mess around with stock shells get this thing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

I Splat U Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock shell,
and now Cranum shell
Marker Setup: Knutec Naughty Dogs FS7
Strengths: Great concept!
Easy to clean inside.
Weaknesses: Cheap plastic cracks, and breaks.
Too expensive.
Bad customer service.
Review: I bought a smoke Hybrid shell when my shell broke. The price was much higher than a replacment, but with the LIFETIME WARRANTY, and the fact you can clean the inside with ease, I got it.

After the first time I played with it I noticed a large crack in the hopper. No big deal if it breaks all the way, it has a warranty, right?

When I go to pull it out of my bag for the second time playing it is bigger, and there are two more cracks. What!! Just sitting in my bag? But it still works so I play.

I play two more times with the same results. the cracks just get bigger, and more of them, till after the last time I played when I removed it from my gun the feed neck broke and stayed in my gun.

I found out before the final break, that Hybrid will NO LONGER STAND BEHIND THERE WARRANTY, just because of some jerks who broke there hoppers on purpose. I think it is because there HOPPERS ARE CRAP, and they know it. I still have the box it came in telling me LIFE TIME WARRANY, and this really steams me.

However, the fact that Hybrid will not return my emails is why I will tell everyone TO NEVER BUY A HYBRID PRODUCT AGAIN!!
Conclusion: I now own a cranum, and it is great, and strong. Get one instead.

DO NOT BUY A SUICIDE HOPPER SHELL!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

famouslypink Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Halo And reloader shells
Marker Setup: Dark Timmy, cp reg, vp piston, cp direct mount on off, violent products micro volumizer...
Shocker, cp reg, but pretty much stock
Strengths: Allows for easy cleaning
Weaknesses: Durability?
Review: After receiving my shell from my local shop i rushed home set it all up and I thought it was amazing, the design was brilliant allowing for easy cleaning without having to take all of the internals out. So of course once my teammates saw it they obviously had to have one. The next tournament that we played was a disappointment though because we had all 3 of the shells break in some way, mine occurred when I took a hard snake dive (which reannoed my gun ground color) and the neck of the shell broke on both sides, now what I hear from hybrid is that they have a warranty for this so I will be sending it in to them and I will update this later when I hear from hybrid. My other two teammates had issues with the top piece of the shell, one got shot on the upper left part which caused the plastic to split and crack all the way down the side, the other took a shot to the front and that also cracked. We were very disappointed in the shell quality and probably will not be getting new ones anytime soon.
Conclusion: I gave this product a 4 because it inspired me to get a vlocity
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sillyrabbit72 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock halo shell- no comparison
Marker Setup: custom martin mini halfblock autococker
E-blade e1
nexus ram
2 eclipse qev's
wgp tickler lpr
cp reg
smart parts inline max flow reg
88ci 4500psi tactical systems X air
evil pipe barrel kit
empire reloader b
hybrid suicide halo shell
empire s4 drive cone
shocktech speed wheel
Strengths: Easy to clean
Large ball capacity
Looks sweet
Weaknesses: Wait this might have weaknesses?!?!?
Your kidding right?!?!?
Review: Ok this product totaly kills the stock shells
It's easy to clean
Has a 205 ball capacity
Looks sweet
And is nice and durable

This is the perfect upgrade for a backman like me. Larger ball capacity means less refills and longer strings. I could've sworn this thing has a black hole in it that just devoures any paintballs you put in. It feels like it never gets full!!!
Conclusion: One of the best upgrades for reloader b yet
Buy it now!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

russ101 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock shell
Marker Setup: 2004 Shocktech Intimidator. CP feedneck, CP micro drop, CP rail, Proto barrel, halo b, evil 68/5000.
Strengths: Holds 200
Cleans good
Clear blue is sweet lookin
Weaknesses: Nothing, just a tad pricy but worth every penny.
Review: Well, the feedneck on the stock shell was broken, and i thought getting this would be nice. I thought about just staying with a stock shell but then i saw the blue one and couldnt resist. I picked one up and i did find putting the internals in a tad more difficult than the stock shell, but that could be just me. so, when i finally got everything together it looked sweet on my timmy. all i bought it for initially was the top coming off. so i put a full dye locklid pod in it and i was like, "was that pod half empty?" no! and so i put as many balls in as possible. than i had some time on my hands so i counted 205 balls. pretty sweet.
Conclusion: Great shell, pick one up!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EEric22 Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Halo shells
Marker Setup: PM5
Ultralite barrel
CCM lo-rise feedneck
Suicide Shelled Halo B
MacDev LegionAir 68/4500
Strengths: Look hawt
Easy cleaning
I like the lid
Warrantee
Weaknesses: Smoke are fragile
Feedneck is small and barley fits in my CCM neck.
Review: I picked these up when my old shells crapped out on me. For 10ish bucks more I decided, why not? First off the shells look awsome, they're a little bigger then the stock shells but not a difference I'd say detracts from my gameplay. I started out getting smoke and after a practice and tourny, they had cracks EVERYWHERE! I sent them in to Hybrid and they sent me back black ones, which seem much sturdier. The screws and washers are magnetic so its a bit easier when taking them apart.

For some reason my eyes don't work when I put my catch-cup assembly in the shells, they just die. I take the catch-cup and such out of the shells, and the eyes work perfectly. I'm still investigating to try and find out why that's so.

Overall: The shells look awsome, have a nice springy lid, and are much easier to take apart then the the old shells. The downside is my first batch were incredibly fragile, and I've gone through alot of pain with the eyes not working when put together.

If you have the money, these are good to pick up for the wow factor and to have a bit less of a hastle when taking apart the shells. However if you just need some new shells to throw the internals in, look for the stock ones, these don't do much if anything to improve preformance on the field.
Conclusion: See above for my overall opinion.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media