paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine / Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Action Pursuit Games Magazine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Action Pursuit Games Magazine

Paintball Paintball Magazines

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Pursuit Games Magazine
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 183
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $33

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
APG is a monthly magazine dedicated to the sport of paintball. It's a magazine for players who want to sharpen their playing skills, as well as for those just getting started in the game. Each month, APG brings you articles on how to play the game, what gear you need, reviews of new paintguns, and more, plus news and commentary on paintball's important issues.

Price is for yearly subscription!
Product Availability 
The Action Pursuit Games Magazine is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PeYToN-SS Thursday, July 8th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splat
PB2X
Facefull
PGI
Marker Setup: 2k4 Dye Matrix LCD
CCM Feedneck
Empire Reloader
48/3000 HPA
Strengths: Pages 1-3
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Here's a basic overview of the average APG issue.

Pages 1-3: Usefull Information
Pages 4-50: "Why Speedball Sucks"
Pages 51-100: "Ads, Ads, and More Ads"
Pages 101-150: "Why Paintball Was So Much Better Back In The Day"
Pages 151-200: "How To Make Your Tippmann Look Military"
Pages 201-250: "More Ads!"
Pages 251-300: "Why Speedball Still Sucks"

APG has gone waaayyy downhill. The CO2 Mail Section is rediculious, its all people complaining about paintball getting a bad rep. If you in anyway like speedball, don't read this magizine. Its made by washed up fat woodsballers who hate speedball because its hard to mount their bipod's behind a standup.
Conclusion: Lame Magizine, save your money and buy a Facefull or PB2X
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 6:15 am PST
I found this review  
37 Comments - Add Comment

blackhawkdown Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
faceful, paintball express.
Marker Setup: bob long itimadator with bommstick barrel and full chrome bullet shape trigger
Strengths: they describe good info abput paintball events and internet sites and things to do
Weaknesses: soem articles have no point to them
Review: this is my faverite and most helpful magazine ive read and used so far. ive been able to scheudle events and go to events thanks to this magazine. ive been to d day 2 times with the help of this mag.But the only thing bad about this magazine is that they explain stuff like (How to shoot futhor and more accurate) but the truth is the only way to do thaat is to have a better barrel and practice ,practice, pactice, and more practice they dont even say anything about new barrels or practicing they jsut say stuff like( you can shoot straighter by aiming you gun forward) and crap like that so it is kinda good for bgginers but otherwise naw aim not intrested.
Conclusion: over all i love the reviewls they give on guns but the articles that are stupid no way will i read those.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtremely Evil Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
facefull, paintball magazine
Marker Setup: Evil omen
12v revvy
68/4500 PE tank
Strengths: there is a big variety of topics (tournys, scenario games, product reviews, tips etc.)
Weaknesses: the writers are worse than 2-year-olds, most articles are for newbs.
Review: Not a bad magazine. A lot better than facefull because all facefull has is tournament results, which is good if thats all you want but some people want to know obout scenarios and get tips for improving as well. It's better than paintball magazine because it has a lot more pages. They have a lot of variety in the articles and some are pretty good (though others just completely suck). Also, about 1/4 of the mag is all ads.
Conclusion: It's a good magazine for the newbie or rec baller, but doesn't hold a lot of interest for experienced players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bandball50 Tuesday, December 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball 2Xtreme
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS Black/Blue Fade, 12v Revy Clear, 2 9oz CO2 Tanks, 4 JT Speed Pods, Jt Slammer Harness
(trying to sell...anyone wanna buy for $180)
Strengths: Great Pictures
Great Articles
Weaknesses: None
Review: APG is a great mag for an newbie and/or experianced baller. I love to get APG mags, read them for a month, then cut out almost all the pictures and stick them all over my bedroom walls. I love the pictures. I like the reviews. I just wish there was a little more articles. You can find this mag at any Walmart, Kroger, Marsh, ext., and some PB stores. Unfortuanly, my local shop doesnt have this. Kevin (owner of IXP in Shelbyville, IN) has Paintball 2Xtreme.
Conclusion: Great Mag for Everyone to enjoy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
pb2x
paintball gear mag
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" stiffi
vL grav loader
9oz. co2 tank
---------------------------
Trilogy competition
Prostock barrel
java grav loader
20oz. co2 tank
---------------------------
Smart parts ion
black body kit
14" all american barrel
halo tsa loader
PMI 48ci3000psi
---------------------------
05 prostock
blue/black
12" dye excel
Overdrive loader
PMI 48ci3000psi
Strengths: Informative
Helpfull
Info on tournys, shop/fields, speedball, scenario
Good humor
Fun to read
Weaknesses: Some articles are similar
Lots of woods..
Rants on ramping.
Review: This was my first paintball mag i got b4 i started playing, im now subscribed to it and get it every month, it always has new products like markers and gear on the first few pages. This mag knows how to use humor and is fun to read, it dosent have the flashy backrounds that make it hard to see the font but some articles are continued like 20 pages from where it left off wich isint good and could give ppl the wrong info. It gives one or two review on products every issue and reviews good upgrades for guns like its article "ask the cocker docter" wich is info on new old autocockers wit sum awsome upgrades and lists companys, online stores, new products being sold. Has realy good scenario/speedball stories from fields. Info on tournys, pump tournys etc
Conclusion: Realy good mag id say its best for noobs but its fun to read threw more than once.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TheWonderWaffle Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGI, Facefull
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix '05
Ego Barrel
MACDev 45/4500
CCM Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: -Good marker reviews
-Interesting stories
Weaknesses: -Ads ads ads
Review: I've been reading this magazine for about a year now, in December of 2005, they changed their format, and the magazine isn't as thick. However, it seems like they cut out the 50 or so pages of consecutive ads that used to be in it. They have also become less "anti-speedball" and they do articles relating to professional paintball much more often. They do great reviews of markers, and a lot of their scenerio stories and speedball stories are quite interesting. The mag still has tons of ads, but some of them are actually useful and interesting. It's pretty cheap too, with a $4.99 cover price.
Conclusion: Buy it. If you don't like it, you only spent $4.99, but you will probablly like it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts progressive, JCS trigger/Egrip, tapco SAW stock, BSA Red dot mounted on Lapco Offset sight rail, Scepter grenade launcher, Opsgear SIG magazine, Allen paintball remote, Flurry Vest. Female Palmers Stab....

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: Easy to understand, well written, great for beginners
Weaknesses: Could be a little more in depth for more experienced players.
Review: For those that are new to paintball this is a very informative magazine that reviews lots of gear, discusses paintball games and tactics, and most importantly emphasizes sportsmanship and safety. I have seen the other reviews that flame APG as a "newb" magazine, but I should remind everyone that we were all beginners to paintball at some time in our life. For those with less experience craving GOOD fundamental information on the sport of paintball (both woodsball and speedball) you will find this magazine enjoyable and helpful. For those that are more experienced I believe you will find yourself looking for more in depth information and might be dissapointed with the content. You will not, for example, find articles on how to mod your DM4 with a V8 engine and a pentium 4 dual core processor in order to get 4 bazillion balls per second. I personally can live without that infomation. Anyway, for the average or newer paintball player this should be an enjoyable read.
Conclusion: Read it, you just might learn something.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 at 10:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ravenwulfe Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball Sports - Focused primarily on tournament and speedball genre (1 issue read)
P8NT Magazine (this magazine is in my locker and I can't remember if it's P8NT magazine or not)- Focused almost exclusively on tournament and speedball (1 issue read)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Basic, Black Finish
Smart Parts Progressive 14" barrel
BT Designs Carbine Stock
Brass Eagle 20oz Co2 tank
Atomic Energy 12 oz Co2 tank
CP gear Canadian Forces helmet scrim for the barrel
Strengths: -Lots to read
-Encouraging for new players
-Good scenario and rec ball coverage
-Wide variety
Weaknesses: -Articles tend to repeat
-Won't satisfy speedballers
-Reviews seem more like previews
Review: I am a weekend warrior recball player who was formerly a Canadian Forces Reservist, and I'll start off by saying this: If you love paintball and join the army, you will almost be entirely focused on woodsball and scenario play, and you will occasionally venture into the world of speedball (and likely take a long time to adapt to the change in gamespeed and gameplay) once in a while for a challenge. Up at this years Excercise Stalwart Guardian in CFB Petawawa, I managed to get to a large retail store called the Canex when it was my time of the week to go have a proper shower, and not a five second tip in the river with your rifle two feet away from you. I bought myself some junk food that would last a while (trust me, eating military rations long enough makes you crave for junk food), and I saw an Action Pursuit Games Magazine on the shelf. Me being a player who's had one scenario game and several days of walk on and reservation games, decided to give it a try. Besides, it had an article on the Oklahoma D-Day, why not?

Coincidentally, the first magazine I read from APG is also the best, and the following month was a bit of a disappointment. I can see why people give the magazine an overall rating of 6/10, but that's also taking in account people who don't do proper reviews, so let me get to it.

Of the three magazines I've read, this was the only magazine that had a good focus on woodsball and scenario games, which is what I had been looking for. While paintball scenario games are nothing like a military training excercise, they do provide a glamourfied and fun way to play soldier without all the headaches and stress of being in the real field. I also eventually got to the reviews and NPPL articles after a couple days, since you only have so much down time.

When reading this magazine, keep in mind it's written by paintball players from all over the place, not just journalists. Articles will be biased and full of personal opinion, which is something I like. I'd rather listen to someone's opinion and form my own from reading the opposing opinion than some journalistic neutral thing. The articles are usually well varied and have aspects of most genres of paintball, though speedballers beware: You won't find very much here except for some articles about how to read bunkers and use them. I'd recommend this more for the woodsball and scenario masses, as there's other magazines that are exclusive to speedball and tournaments.

While I enjoy reading the woodsball and scenario game articles, I think that the magazine is skimping out on speedball articles, which does take away some audience. While I have never done speedball, and probably won't for a while, I feel that a magazine covering all genres of the sport should put everything in equal light. Maybe every other month have a woodsball/scenario exclusive and speedball/tournament exclusive issue. There's too much stuff that's trying to be said to keep it all into one magazine, so the details are skimpy.

I've read other reviews and find a lot of people are turned off by the Co2 mail and articles on how electronics and ramping is ruining the sport. While this seems to be a dominating topic in the magazine, it is high lighting something that's bothering a lot of players. I know hardcore tournament and speedball players will disagree with me, but at least hear me out on this, if this is an opinion of a large group of paintball players, then as a community it would be benificial to listen to each other. I play paintball for fun, and all it takes is one ball to get someone out. Some of these high end guns spew out several balls for one pull of the trigger, and at close range, that can cause physical damage to a person. I know I probably sound like a broken record, but the idea of paintball is to have fun, not to hurt people. Why discourage people from playing because they're afraid of being seriously injured when we're still a growing sport and from what I seen, a very welcoming and good natured community? Some people don't care for the other person's welfare, and sometimes cheat the rules to win. That's not a healthy way to play a sport that's supposed to be for fun.

Marker and equipment reviews don't strike me as such... they seem more like previews. They don't tell you the ups and downs of each marker, and as said before by many other reviewer, they seem to be over nice about it. Kind of reminds me of how a sales person tries to make things seem better than they are. While it tells you what makes the marker tick, it doesn't do a damned thing about telling you what it's limitations and low points are. If I were a consumer, I'd like to be given an honest answer when purchasing a product.

Conclusion: Though the articles tend to reappear in each issue, there's still some uniqueness in many of them. If you are a scenario or woodsballer, I'd highly recommend this magazine, but if you are a speedball type of guy or girl, I'd recommend you pick up another magazine with that focus. It does a good job promoting stock class and honourable and safe gameplay, and it is written in a very friendly and encouraging manner for a new player or guys like me who enjoy entertaining articles that aren't too serious. For the amount of content, it's sure worth the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

falcon2ko Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Facefull,apg,paintball 2 etxtremes
Marker Setup: If you care that much read my profile
Strengths: -Good for noobs and focuses on rec/scenario and not just speedball
Weaknesses: -Some stupid,pointless articles
-Some tips and pointers that dont help or may hurt you
Review: Not much to say here.This is the most common pb mag I've seen(available at wal mart and other large chain stores.) Its good for easy reading on those boring days and has a few pics that are nice. Good for starting paintballers to read and understand the basics and the many ads give noobs something to hope for or buy. But like i said above some of the articles seem like a day before the months issue is due we need 2 more pages filled so throw that 3 page article in about rentals being fun type deal. Like that,some articles ramble on or talk about things noone really cares about and have no apparent point. Its only about $5 so just go out and buy one, pretty entertaining and some of the articles are fun to read.
Conclusion: Just go buy one since they are sold at wal-mart for like $5,and see what you think about it yourself.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann440 Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire,pintball,facefull
Marker Setup: All stock
Strengths: -Lots of articles
-Lots of tips
-Good nppl coverage
Weaknesses: Some articles are plan stupid
Review: This is the best paintball magazine I have had or read it has good nppl coverage and it has good product reviews and "up close with the pros" this is just a good paintball mag it has tons of good paintball gear and good marker reviews and good marker upgrades and everything else you need.
Conclusion: Buy this mag it is a good thick mag and it has lots of good game coverage and good paintballl gear and marker reviews
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media