paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud / OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud / OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud / OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud

OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The OPSGEAR UMP Shroud for the Tippmann A5 not only transforms an otherwise vanilla looking marker, but it adds to it tactical functionality the true Milsim/Scenario player demands. Patterned after the H&K UMP .45, the UMP Shroud can either transform the Tippmann A5 into an intimidating Sub-Machine Gun for CQB or when combined with other quality OPSGEAR components create an original design.

FEATURES:


Light-weight steel construction (less than 1 1/2 lbs)
Mounts to marker frame, allowing for easy barrel replacement
Designed to fit most models of stocks including all the folding models (does not fit the MP5 Sliding Stock)
Length: 14 5/8 inches
Powder Coat finish with a Silk-screened OPSGEAR logo
Designed as a near perfect replica of the real world firearm
One year warranty
Made in U.S.A.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR A-5 UMP Shroud is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
GetToTheChoppa! Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BT-16 barrel/handguard - its plastic vs. the UMP's steel beefiness
Marker Setup: A-5, Lapco BigShot 8", E-Grip, OPSGEAR UMP kit
Strengths: Great Looks. Excellent powdercoat finish. For the most part feels sturdy.
Weaknesses: Plastic rails, no sights(Edit: sight update), different size hex drivers required
Review: Hello, and welcome to my first review. I'll try to be as objective and informative as possible.

I received this shroud as part of the OPSGEAR UMP kit. First off, Let me emphasize just how AWESOME this kit makes the A-5 look!! Don't carry this thig around in public that's all I'll say! Once completely assembled, your A-5 will be mistakeable for a real UMP.
After installing the shroud I quickly attached the magazine and stock and begain running around the house clearing rooms :). I played around with my new UMP for a while and was surprised how well the shroud was secured to the A-5. I gave a few forceful tugs, but the shroud refused to budge. However, the front grip section of the shroud felt like there was just a little play left to right -- Not enough to make me feel uneasy but a notable, if small, amout of play was there.
This brings me to a point I should stress: Do yourself a favor and order the $0.75 barrel adapter sleeve that will fill in the open space between the shroud's one-inch barrel opening and your more-than-likely 7/8" outside diameter barrel. (Of course, if your barrel is one inch wide at the point where it passes through the shroud, you will not need this completely optional accessory).
The only other squabbles I have with this kit are the lack of a sighting system*, the plastic weaver rails (the plastic ones just don't have the same nice fit & finish as the metal ones) and the decision by the designers to use set screws that require a size other than the 3 standard sizes found on the A-5 (yes, you will need to start carrying one more allen key with you).
The obvious benefit to this kit is the killer look it gives your Tippy. Beyond that, having a handguard out in front to use as a rifle-style grip is nice. I found the kit works well with the original A-5 front grip because the front is left open for a rifle-style grip while the vertical front grip remains for CQB. Overall the quality of the shroud itself is very high, and I am extremely happy I bought it.

*Edit: In regards to the missing set screws mentioned in the review below...I have been in contact with Opsgear on the issue and have been informed that the kit should ship with six set screws. The threaded holes are for a future sighting system that will be released soon.
Conclusion: This shroud looks great on the A-5. The weakest part about this shroud is the fact that it has no sighting system, but OPSGEAR is working on this. The looks, and for the most part the sturdiness of this shroud lead me to enthusiastically recommend it to anyone looking make their A-5 look mean!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 10:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryback Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ e-grip, lapco bigshot (8" and 12"), lapco fake suppressor, shocktech bolt, ebay manual side velocity adjustment knob, lapco offset adaptor, NcStar 1x red dot scope, NcStar laser sight, remote line w/ slidecheck, Pure Energy 72/3500 HPA, opsgear UMP shroud (sometimes)
Strengths: Looks intimidating
Sturdy mounting
Good finish
Weaknesses: Some Weaver rails are a hair to long
adds weight
no manual sights included
Review: This is the first product I have tried from Opsgear, and I am actually quite impressed with the design and the construction. First of all, having this on your A-5 will get you some comments on the field ("Wow, what kind of marker is that?", "Thats a nice marker!", "Where did you get that?") This may be a positive or a negative feature, depending on your own personality. Installation was relatively simple, I recommend laying down some electrical tape on your marker where the set screws attach before installing it, to help minimize scratching your marker up. When I use my UMP shroud, I like to pair it with my Lapco 12" bigshot and the Lapco fake suppressor, and damn it looks MEAN! Especially with a scope, laser, etc. attached. Only drawback to that is the added weight, and after running around all day it will tend to take a toll on your arms and shoulders. The only complaints I have are that the plastic weaver rails on the unit I got could stand to be just a hair shorter. The way it came, the rails on the top side of the shroud bump up against each other, causing the rails to not lay completely flush against the frame. However, it is not readily noticeable and can probably be fixed by removing one of the top weaver rails and filing it down very slightly. Unfortunately, the hex screws used to attach the weaver rails to the frame are not the same size as any of the standard Tippmann allen wrenches, so you'll have to dig through the old toolbox to find something that fits. Metal rails instead of plastic would be a nice touch, but it doesn't really affect the performance negatively by having plastic.
If Opsgear or someplace else made an adapter to allow you to mount your stock/aftermarket grip onto the weaver rails on the underside, it would be a big plus.
Conclusion: If you are looking to build a mean looking custom A-5 or want the mil-sim UMP look, definately get this. Just be prepared to do a little extra work if you want it to look perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BuLLsEyE09 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
g36 hg....good product, nice raised rail
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
G36 HG, Stock, Mag, MP-5 Sliding stock, barret mag, UMP Mag, 2x truglo reddot,bipod, laser
12in. g36 barrel, 18in. interceptor
egrip
Strengths: STURDY
looks
STURDY
rails
STURDY
protects a-5 body
Weaknesses: Sliding stock unuseable
missing 2 set screws(not important)
Review: I recieved this for my birthday, my first impression was WOW. ASAP i went and threw it on my gun, it was amazingly sturdy, but it was missing two set screws. The shroud has a nice flat paint that is non reflective and quite tactical. the day at the field i got many looks and everyone wanted to see it. I am dissappointed taht i cannot use my mp5 sliding stock with it though. It has enough rails to mount anything you could possibly want to put on your gun. the shroud isnt very heavy yet it is still very sturdy, it feels as if it was meant to be part of the gun.
Conclusion: This is a great product, very solid. If you are into milsim this is a great buy, but since i am not able to use my sliding stock and the lack of two set screws.....i give this a 9, it would be a 9.5 if i could
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ravenwulfe Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT AK-47 Barrel, BT M-16 Barrel - closest things I've used to a shroud, but it all depends on your preference
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Basic, Black Finish
Smart Parts Tactical 20" barrel
Opsgear MP5 PDW stock
Brass Eagle 20oz Co2 tank
Opsgear UMP Shroud
Opsgear UMP Mag
Strengths: -Durable
-Sturdy
-fantastic looks
-Goes on/ comes off easy
-Gives horizontal grip
-Comes with rails
Weaknesses: -Substantially Heavy
-Set screws scratch body
-Bit pricey
-no iron sights
-Minor allignment issues
Review: I find myself more and more impressed by the quality of Opsgear products, despite short comings that you may find. While pricey, the UMP shroud fits well, remains sturdy, and is a nice looking conversion for the A-5. It has a solid metal construction, which is every bit as durable as the A-5 itself. The weaver style rails which come with the kit are slightly uncomfortable without gloves, and I recommend temporarily removing them and keeping them someplace safe until you have something to attach to them. While the rails are plastic, they are strong, and it would take a fair deal of force to damage them.

One nagging problem I have with it is the lack of sights, which you have to buy. I'm not sure if it'd be worth it to buy the Opsgear UMP iron sights if you have a stock. Some stocks will get in the way of your mask when trying to aim down the sights. If this is a problem, I'd suggest a folding stock, not having a stock, or a specially designed one that has a space for the mask to fit.

The other problem I have is the set screws which hold the shroud to the A-5 body damages the paint and scratches the body. I remedied this problem with masking tape, which also gives the screws more grip and there is no wobble or looseness like that. However, the shroud may come lose during a game without tape until the screws have had time to wear in, as has happened to me about twice now.

If you havn't been eating your wheaties, don't buy this shroud. Why? Because it with the UMP magazine kit and the PDW folding stock made my A-5 weigh ~4.5 pounds without air or paint. With air and paint, it's about 5-6 pounds I estimate. That's the same as a C7 (M-16) rifle, which I am quite used to carrying around. If you're of average physical strength, you shouldn't have a problem, but this may wear down on you over the day. I recommend a sling for when you're in between games to reduce fatigue.

Unlike the G36 shroud, you do not need to buy a tac-cap or anything to offset your hopper because it sits below the rim of the cyclone feed. You may want an offset in any case if you get a red dot or a scope of any sorts, though the longer rail may negate this.

One thing I enjoy on the kit is being able to comfortably use it as a horizontal grip without it sliding. This helps me aim and snap shoot, as well as I can rest the weight of the marker on the palm of my hand instead of my upper knuckle, which is remarkably relieving. It's also nicer to bench shoot, though if you have a vertical grip or a mag kit, I'd recommend using that for quick aiming and in tight spaces.

Another nagging issue is the allignment issue it may or may not have, depending on the cuts on the shroud and other factors. The sight rails may be turned off to the left side because of the cyclone feed, and if you have a thick barrel back (take for example, a Smart Parts "20 tactical) it has to be alligned properly or the barrel with have trouble fitting through the front and may be scratched. This problem can be fixed by screwing in the barrel before tighting the screws, which helps the allignment of the rails to the barrel. Smaller backed barrels (like a Smart Parts Progressive) will not have a problem fitting. Chances are, you will not have a problem unless you have a barrel that is intentionally thicker in places.

Field stripping the marker requires you at least unscrew the set screws and have the shroud loose because you can't get the bottom rear push pin out of the bottom of the marker. If you have any malfunctions, or need to do routine cleaning, you have to remove the shroud. This makes it more inconvinient and setting it up just right again takes some tuning. Make sure you tighten the screws evenly and alternate sides as evenly as possible when putting the shroud back on. This slows down and makes routine maintence a bit more complex.

An aside note, you will get comments on it. Quotes from both end of the spectrum for me were "I hope you're on my team" to a certain rental player "What's with the guy in the camo [I wear olive drabs, by the way] who made his gun look like an M-16 [Please tell me you find this as hilarious as I do]? What's the point of that?". Either way, it's a nice way to get mostly positive attention and it does get some interesting conversations going with people. One of the nice things about the paintball community is being able to talk to other people you wouldn't have met otherwise in a friendly environment.
Conclusion: While shrouds are basicly functionless modifications that many will argue (in many cases, rightfully so) add unnecessary weight and are over priced, it's definantly something appealing for mil-sim oriented players. The UMP shroud goes well for both military, counter-terrorist, or even sci-fi settings and the extra weight, in my opinion, helps build up your arm and shoulder strength with use (just be sure to give your arms a rest if the weight becomes painful). For it's purpose, it does it's job admirably and it will hold up for a long time to come. If it's looks and non-essential functions you're after, I highly recommend it. If you don't like weight and are happy with standard A-5 looks, you're best to leave this one be and find lighter and more functional modifications.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

OpsP8ntballer Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Opsgear M82A1 shroud, made by same company
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
Opsgear UMP shrou, mag, front and rear sights, g36 folding stock
JCS red hot power tube
Tippmann e-grip
Strengths: -Durible
-lines up perfectly with marker
-very intimidating
Weaknesses: -Cannot access grip cottering pins
Review: This shroud is a tank, it can take a seriouse beating.

**STRENGTHS**
Very durible, you won't have to worry about bending or twisting on the gun.
Since it attaches derectly to the gun with the top rear cottering pin and a bolt (included) to take the place of the a5 front sight bolt.
This shroud turns heads. It is my favorite shroud from opsgear. Very sleek and clean.

**WEEKNESSES**
Unfortunatly there is no way to take the grip off to change batteries or what-have-you, do to the shroud does not allow you to take the cottering pins off because the shroud blocks it. But if you do not have egrip or you don't have to change batteries very often the I HIGHLY recommend it.
Conclusion: It can be a real pain to change e-grip batteries, so that is why i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sarah93 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used other products from OPSGEAR and they all match up to be the same. Durable and you can't complain about that. Special Ops I haven't had must luck with but its all on how you play the game.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, OPSGEAR olive drab UMP shroud, G36 folding stock, UMP Mag, Tactical Light, Red Dot Laser, and a three point sling.
Strengths: It is very durable, tri-rail system, light weight, and all around great.
Weaknesses: There is no "key" weaknesses that I have encountered.
Review: Technically this is one of few OPSGEAR gun kits you can get. They are all good for different types of play. If your a sniper that have a kit for you. If your a breacher and a rusher then they will have something for you too. OPSGEAR fits all of your needs for paintball.
Conclusion: In conclusion I think that the UMP is one of the best products I have purchased from OPSGEAR. It is all around a great shroud due to the top rail system and also the tri-rail system on the end. It is great for CQB for putting tactical lights on it and also lasers. Best purchase you can get and you get what you pay for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilkHN Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger, OPSGEAR UMP Kit w/ G36 Folding Stock, Smart Parts Barrel,
Strengths: Very Sturdy and Rugged, Good quality material, Very competative look and feel.
Weaknesses: Added weight to the marker (nearly one and a half pounds)
Review: I recieved the OPSGEAR kit with the G36 Folding stock. I love it. Anyone who like the look and feel of a real steel firearm would love this kit. As far a reliability, its great. The magazine is very sturdy, it replaces one of the field stripping pins located where the magazine would go. The shroud accepts almost all barrels, as long as you don't have another shroud near the threaded part of the barrel. The rails are very tough plastic, the should not be underestimated, when I first recieved them, i was amazed at the quality of the rails. If you plan on Painting your shroud a different color, the rails can come off with standard allen wrenches (although the colors they have are great to choose from) The folding stocks are compatible with this kit and are very convienient for storage. This kit is mostly for looks however, it does not increase range or alter the firing modes at all. Although some players (including myself) operate better when handling a paintball gun that somewhat operates like a real firearm. The stock assists in bringing the gun to aim faster and more accuratly. Balance is so-so, the front is going to have a little more weight than the back (Depending on the stock you use) The shroud is mounted by six (6) allen screws (three on each side). The top of the shrouds accomodates two more screws, which do not come with the kit, (they are for the rear UMP sight which retails for about 19.99 at opsgear.com). The shroud does not cover the velocity screw, and is compatible with all standard hoppers including the Richochet hopper and the Tac Cap. Your standard verticle grip is still compatible with this kit, (The magazine can also be used as a verticle grip though)
Conclusion: This is the only shroud I have purchased and used before so I'm not sure if its the best, but if your looking for the HK UMP .45 Look, this is the way to go. I give it a 10 out of 10. Great job opsgear, and keep up the great work on manufacturing great products.

Have any questions? E-mail me at RamathornHN@yahoo.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GryphisOne Monday, December 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A5 with OPSGEAR UMP body kit, 12in. Apex barrel, Response trigger, Ricochet R5 hopper and remote line to a 48ci HPA tank.

2002 Autococker Outkast

2005 Bob Long Timmy Russian Legion Edition
Strengths: Makes the gun look badass.
Weaknesses: Heavy for n00b players, nerd players, no flatline support.
Review: I got my body kit for Christmas and I love it! Kinda.

Here's the thing with this kit. It's heavy as hell. Call me weak if you want, but I'm telling you that the thing weighs as much as the real deal. Which is great for the hardcore MILSIM guys. It's just not my thing.

Also, there's no Flatline support, but who needs it with an Apex tip right?

Another downside is the fact that OPSGEAR (the company who makes this kit) doesn't send it with directions, so you have to figure it all out by yourself. Also, some bits like the bodyshroud and mag require you to take some other parts off your gun, which can be annoying at first, but soon becomes easy.
Conclusion: So, all this kit does is make your gun look awesome. If you get this kit, you won't be able to use the flatline barrel or expantion chamber or a raft of other upgrades. It also adds weight to your gun, which isn't a problem to most players, but newer players might not want to lug around a big heavy gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2010 at 10:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adds Friday, June 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No shrouds or body kits of this sort its in a league of its own...but i have used other opsgear products
Marker Setup: A5 with w.a.s egrip
ump shroud
ump mag
ump front and rear sight post
g36 folding stock
Strengths: Durable
looks killer
no set screws
opsgear quality
Weaknesses: Hides half of the cocking rod
battery changes
heavy
Review: Lets me honest guys the main reason why you would buy this is for the looks. and let me tell you it is well worth it. i havent dropped it yet but im not afraid too cause i can tell this thing can take a beating. this version does not use set screws, it comes with a pin that goes through the tombstone and the pushpin holding your backplace/stock together goes through the back part of the shroud. It is very easy installment except you might want to take the front screw on your cyclone first....just makes it easier. The only thing i dont like is the shroud covers half the cocking rod, doesnt bother me that much i can still cock it no problem i just liked it the way it was before. The other bad thing is the weight, it adds alot to your a5 but it is so worth it and who cares about weight its a woodsball gun. get a sling or something
Conclusion: To sum up, this kit had me speechless the first time i saw it, and when i put it on for the first time it nearly passed out its that nice. you should definetly pick this up it will take your a5 to the next level.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xlRainlx Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Marker: Tippmann A-5
Operation: Mechanical, semi
Barrel: Tippmann 12 in Sniper Barrel
Shroud: Opsgear H&K UMP Shroud
Stock: None, yet
Hopper: Ricochet R5 Hopper
Tank: 20 oz. CO2 Pure Energy
Scope/Sight: Tasco Red Dot Scope
Sling: Universal CORE Sling
Strengths: Very Sturdy.
Can take a beating.
Feels so comfortable.
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy for little kids, or scrawny people >.>
Review: I was originally going to buy a G36 Shroud but then I saw this baby. It looked very cool and was pretty cheap so I bought it instead of the G36 shroud. When I took it playing, everyone, and I mean everyone, was scared of my gun. "Oh my God! Look at that guy's A5! It looks like a monster!" Were some of their words. I loved how easy i could creep into anywhere without the shroud getting in the way. It is so compact. I absolutely love it. It is somewhat heavy but I work out so I can't even feel the extra weight. I can still do a full speed sprint and not get tired.
Conclusion: Want a cool, cheap shroud that makes your gun look like Hell's mercenary? Then I suggest you buy this shroud. You will love it!...
If you aren't weak enough to drop it that is. Lol.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 2:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media