paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest / Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest / Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest / Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest

Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sabre paintball vest combines the features of a Recon vest, a Broadsword, and a Dagger vest. It provides the ideal blend of heavy ammo and storage capacity with comfort and functionality. Similar in design to the Special Ops Dagger paintball vest, the Sabre features an "open front" - without sacrificing storage capacity. This innovative, durable vest features a built in hydration pouch and inner harness to prevent excessive shifting when you're running through the woodsball field.

Comfortable, efficient, and much cooler to wear than typical military or full paintball vests, the Sabre is a great way to carry a lot of ammo without overheating. The open front of this woodsball vest gives you the feel of "packing light", yet is capable of carrying a payload that's equal to that of large, heavy vests. The latest addition to the SpecOps line of position-specific vests, the Sabre is designed for the Medium Rifleman (Sabre position) who needs to be mobile, but requires substantial amounts of ammo.

The Sabre vest offers the following storage features:
Six 140-round Pod Holders with Optional +2 Pods
Horizontal Tank Pouch that allows you to place the bottle so your remote line runs from the left or the right side. (Holds up to 92 ci. bottle.)
Perfectly Positioned Universal Radio Pouch
Two Large Front Utility Pockets (8 x 8-inch, 1-inch deep with dual zipper and internal, wide elastic strap). Great for paint grenades, rockets, tools, etc.
Adjustable Side Straps
One Pocket with Velcro® Flap
Flip down ID Window with Clear Panel (Ideal for scenario play)
Large Flip down Window with Clear Panel for Map Display (6 x 6-inches)
Built-in Hydration Pouch
One Size Fits All
High strength 1000D Cordura® pockets with strong Velcro® Sealing

The vest utilizes two adjustable crossing shoulder straps that are secured in front with convenient, locking plastic buckles, and doesn't compromise storage capacity or functionality. This design leaves the front chest area open to give you a comfortable, cool option to wearing a full vest.

Featuring rip-stop fabric and durable Cordura®, (in several different camo patterns and colors), the Sabre is every bit as rugged as our other full paintball vests; but the Sabre occupies substantially less surface area on your body, allowing you to keep cool without sacrificing your payload.

The adjustable straps allow players of all sizes and shapes to wear this vest, and it can be comfortably adjusted so it remains securely in place and doesn't shift when you play.
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball Sabre Vest is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Poobah Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Small 100 rnd belt pod packs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Palmer Stabilizer
Lapco Bigshot
Strengths: Comfortable
Well balanced
Durable
Well manufactured
Hydration bladder sleeve
Weaknesses: Probably not great for very small players
Review: I purchased my Sabre vest in Jan of 06. I've used it to play a few times a month since (I'm writing in Apr 06), so I've put in about 5-6 days of play with it. So far my experience has been very good. The Sabre vest is very rugged. I don't expect it to break on me at all. I've dived, rolled, ran, gotten wet, been hot and dry, and it has survived it all so far.

The unit is very comfortable even when fully loaded with 1100 rounds of paint and a full 20 oz CO2 bottle. Even though it may be a lot of weight, the velcro belt system and adjustable shoulder straps allows you to distribute the weight in a very comfortable manner making running,etc much easier than it would be otherwise. I especially like how the bottle is mounted in a horizontal fashion on top of the pod packs. It centers the weight well, while allowing you to pick your side for your remote (I'm a lefty so this is really nice).

The storage pockets are also very nice, and well situated in the front. There is a combination of zippered and velcro pockets that have enough capacity to hold tools, small towels, a short barrel, a granola bar, your keys, a wallet, etc. You get the picture, it has enough room to carry a bunch of stuff. Also the zippered pockets have a wide elastic band on the inside that you can stuff things behind and it holds them tight so you don't have your pocket contents bouncing around. When you combine the pockets with the 6+2 capacity, this vest is especially nice for your ability to play several games and not have to go back to the car to reload (well, unless you go through a lot of paint per game).

My favorite feature is the bladder system. It is so nice to have something to drink while on the field, and having it built-in to the vest is nice. I just throw in my 100 oz camelback bladder, and I have water for a few games. Or if I'm playing woodsball I have water for some really long games. Also, the open design of the vest is great for keeping you cooler than you'd be if you had a full vest covering you.

Finally, the unit is very adjustable. There are strap length adjustments on most everything, so this vest would be good for most anyone but the smallest players. I think if you were tall and thin, or a smaller younger player, then this wouldn't be the best vest. A specops Dagger vest would probably be the better bet.

Overall, I've been very happy with this product. After my mask, its my 2nd favorite piece of paintball gear
Conclusion: If you need a vest for woodsball, scenario, rogueball, then the Sabre would be a good choice. Its probably not high-speed, low-drag enough for speedball, but then again, if you were attracted to something like the Sabre, you're probably not playing speedball anyhow. Good function, good workmanship and good ideas make this a vest worth owning. I give it a 9.5 out of 10 with my .5 subtraction based only on the potential sizing problem for smaller players
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 13th, 2006 at 11:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackMajyk Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flurry Industries Vest
Marker Setup: 05 Black Magic-RVlution Hopper, PMI 88/4500, CP Flame Drop and Full Freak
Special Ops A-5 Double Trouble-Twin Flatlines
Ops Gear M82A1-Q Loader System and Red Dot Scope
WGP VF Tactical-Q Loader and 68/4500
Strengths: Light-weight, Adjustable, Load Carrying Capacity and Design
Weaknesses: Lots of Areas for paint to hide, can be difficult to clean
Review: I have yet to find any real weaknesses of this vest. Great design and comfortable feel, especially when you've been wearing it for 6 hrs. I use this vest for 24 hr scenario play and the only regret I have is not buying it sooner. The only caution I have about this vest is if you are a very thin person then maybe consider one of Special Ops lower Ball capacity vests. This vest carries 8 tubes and one mega sized tank.
Conclusion: Definitely get this vest if you are looking for high tube capacity and comfort.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Spec Ops Paintball Air-Through Commando Stock
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy
Tippmann Double Trigger
92ci 4500psi Crossfire

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
Red New Designs Saw Trigger
12 Volt Revy
Red Shocktech Clamping Feedneck
Halo B
Smoke Suicide Shells
Max-Flow Micro
68ci 4500psi Air America Tank
Strengths: Comfortable
Camouflage
Good Cut
High Capacity
Take DLLP's
Adjustable
Tough
Pockets
Internal Suspension
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This vest rocks. It's got good looks, quality, and performance in one package. However it does have its flaws......

+Comfortable: This vest is very lightweight, comfortable, and secure. It has one sternum strap across the chest, a buckle closure at the bottom, 2 shoulder straps, and a large elastic internal suspension(More about that later). I play in Eastern Nort Carolina so it can get hot, but this vest is so light it's not a problem at all.

+Camouflage: The Spec Ops digital camouflage looks awesome. It works great in the woods, and looks good too.

+Good Cut: This vest isn't in the style of a traditional vest. Its got a very open cut and dosen't cover all the chest like a traditional vest. This makes it seem not to be so constricting and makes it cooler for those who play in hotter areas.

+High Capacity: This thing can lug a TON of paint. With DLLP's it can carry 1,280 paintballs. Over half a case! And combined with the 92 c.i. tank it can carry you can go for hours. Perfect for a scenario game.

+Adjustable: You can adjust this all over to fit people of most sizes(But not all). It can be adjusted on the sides for girth and winter clothing, the shoulder straps, the bottom buckle closure, and the sternum strap. It's very easy to adjust for winter gear.

+Tough: This vest is very tough and heavy duty. Its made of tough Cordura and takes hits, dirt, rain, and regular wear and tear all in stride. Just hose it off after a game and its fine.

+Pockets: This has a ton of pockets. It's got a map pocket, ID Pocket, radio pocket, small exterior Velcro pocket, hydration bladder pouch, and two large, pockets with elastic inside to keep stuff very secure. The bladder pouch is just great. It's so convenient for long games. This vest can carry so much.

-Tank pouch security
I once had my tank fly out of my tank pouch after a snake dive. It just flew out. Yes I did have it in as securely as possible. Just be sure to have the Velcro and buckles down as tight as possible.

-Too big: It says 1 size fits all. This may not be entirely true. Im not a small guy to begin with. 6'3, 175lbs. I am skinny, but this vest is still very big on me. I've adjusted everything to be as small as it can be, but even still the bottom buckle flaps around, as does the sternum strap. If it wasn't for the internal suspension belt, it would be so loose as to be useless. So if your are a 300+ pound whale of a human being your in luck. If you are skinny or aren't too fat, beware. You have been warned.

-Lack of way to secure hydration bladder hose: The vest lacks a way to secure the hydration bladder hose. There are small loops on the shoulder straps, but the valve won't fit through. You can tuck it in the sternum strap, but the hose still flops around and can be annoying.


Conclusion: This vest is good looking, and gives high preformance. Id reccommend it, but take my advice with a grain of salt for the excessive size.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 7:36 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cmbwhisper Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rap 4, PCS
Marker Setup: Tippman 98, Tapco 6 pos. stock, Tippmann Cyclone feeder, Palmer pursuit stabalizer regulator, BSA 30mm red dot, Shock tech Super Fly bolt, Maddmann spring kit, and Ops gear interceeptor barrel.
Strengths: Holds 8 pods, adjustable everything, to front loading pouches one with a map holder
Weaknesses: Frustrating for skinny guys(IM ONE OF THEM)
Review: The rst game i played with this vest i was some what disatisfied with its ability to not fit my skinny stick body. The second and third game I LOVED IT. why you say. i spent a half hour adjusting the straps before the second game. the first game it seemed to bounce around alot and sag. when i would kneel down the pods would hit my heal and i would feel very awquard wearing the vest and it got down right unccomfortable sitting in on place for a long time. well now that the straps are adjusted and it sit alot higher, i am more than satisfied with its proformance. and the cool thing is i can haul all my gear, accept gun mask and pads, in the vest.
Conclusion: Even for skiinny guys, get this vest. its great and the features are balances well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GuyverLord Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Pod Pack
Special Ops Recon Vest
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with stock and extended foregrip
Strengths: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lots of space for paint & other gear
Weaknesses: None observed as of yet
Review: This is the second vest that I have purchased from Special Ops. The Special Ops Sabre vest is made through their partnership with Cops911 (they operate out of the same facility). I ordered mine from COPS911 since the Special Ops site does not offer it in MARPAT. It cost a little more, but it was worth it to me.

This thing is great. It holds 6 140rd pods (Edit: +2 more in elastic sleeves), my 90ci Nitroduck cylinder and has plenty of room for other things, grenades, squeegees, tools, snacks etc.

My Special Ops Recon vest is great. But one thing I noticed when I played was that it swayed when I ran. It's slightly annoying but you get used to it and compensate for it. The Sabre has an inner velcro elastic belt much like some pod packs. This prevents any sway yet the load is still carried by your shoulders like it should be.
Edit: I have the original Recon Vest which has no inner harness. The new Recon '06 vest has the inner harness that prevents swaying.

Addition: I used my new Sabre vest this past weekend at Spring Fling at Pinnacle Woods Paintball for the 2, 2 hour long games. It was great. The vest was comfortable the entire time. I barely noticed it was there. The inner harness works FANTASTIC. I was originally a little worried about the horizontal tank holder, but I came to love it. The horizontal holder puts the on/off valve of my remote within VERY easy reach. No more asking people to turn my remote on for me.

I had some slight difficulty putting pods back in the vest after pulling them out during play. This could be because I was not familiar with doing this, and this vest carries a lot more pods than my old one. I gotta say though, I LOVE the large paint capacity.
Conclusion: This is a very comfortable, practical, and well made vest. It hauls your air, lots of paint, and tons of other stuff in comfort. I definitely recommend this vest.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 8th, 2006 at 7:10 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Tuesday, November 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXE 4+1 pack
SpecOps Scout vest
SpecOps Dagger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 primary::
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Super R/T
Vortex mod
QEPH
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
Armson Prodot sight w/ Lapco offset rail
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Well made
Maneuverable
Payload
Versatility
Breathable
Weight
Weaknesses: I broke a pouch zipper
Center pods are a stretch for little guys
Review: I bought this vest off a buddy of mine in trade for a SpecOps Dagger vest. He didn't like that he couldn't reach the center two pods on the Sabre (he's a little-ish guy), and I wanted to carry more paint than the Dagger had standard. It turns out we were both better suited after the trade.

So, the Sabre. It's got an incredibly handy map pouch that the Dagger doesn't. The shoulder straps have molle-ish (but not really) webbing that allows you to attach things like a radio pouch, ID pocket, grenade pocket, or even tie in a Wolfhook sling.

With this thing, you can carry up to 1,100 rounds in standard pods. If you've got short arms, you may have a little trouble reaching the middle two pods, but I'm a big guy, so I don't have an issue with it. The tank pouch is horizontal, which prettymuch means you're gonna need HPA if you use it. It fits my 88/45 with ease. I have no doubts that it'll hold a 92, and it will probably contain a 114 if you can get it to slide in the sleeve.

One of the best things about the Sabre is how maneuverable it is. You can bend and twist however you want, and it just goes with you. Unlike a full vest like the Scout, the shoulder strap design produces very little resistance against movement, but still gives you two large pouches in the front with the map pocket and a small velcro pocket on top of those. The shoulder straps also mean that your upper body will get a breeze if one is available, making it not as hot as a full vest.

From back to back comparison with my old Scout, I found the Sabre to be lighter, easier to get into, and generally less irritating.

On the down side, not having a full front panel means it's not as customizable. I was able to mod a vest holster onto the Scout, but it'd be difficult to do on the Sabre. Also, I managed to break the pull tab off one of the zippers, but I'm gonna surmise that it's because I left it out in the rain one night and it corroded.
Conclusion: Great vest. It does exactly what it advertises, and it does it well. Smaller guys might want to look into the Dagger instead, but for me, it's perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobaboy007 Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage 5+4
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, opsgear G36c folding stock.
Strengths: Well balanced, roomy, good pod setup, good air setup, adjustable, feels good
Weaknesses: May not fit all players equally
Review: I've used this product for a few months now, and I love it. It fits me perfectly, I like its balance, I can adjust as needs be, and all its pockets are great (though I have lost several items b/c I forgot to close them =(. I've played with this thing through thick in thin, crawling through tangled brush, playing in the rain, etc. It works great. It got its real baptism of fire at a 26-hr scenario game, and it performed tremendously. I was able to access all my gear and paint when i needed them. The one real concern one might have is with the adjustibility of the thing. there is a point when it is essentially no longer adjustable, which is a problem with smaller players. However, b/c of the design of the harness, with its internal belt, this shouldn't be a huge problem, and there are several easy fixes you can do with thread and a needle if it its.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this is a tremendous harness for woodsballers who use a medium amount of paint. Giving it a nine b/c of adjustibilty and my lost tools =( (JK, lol)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media