paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag

OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally a UMP magazine that makes real sense! Obtain the gas through look and feel without compromising the functionality, durability, or reliability of your Tippmann A5 marker. The OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Magazine will endure the punishment of the toughest player.

FEATURES:
Light-weight aluminum construction
Anodized Flat Black Tactical finish
Mounts securely to A5 frame
Replacement bolts included.
Will accommodate the stock A5 foregrip
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR UMP Gas Through Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Camaro2000SS Thursday, December 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco 12" Shroud (Just for looks as well)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Repsonse Trigger
Opsgear UMP Mag
Lapco 12" Bigshot
Strengths: Intimidation
Looks
Weight*
Solid build
All parts included
Installation**
Option to keep front grip
Weaknesses: Must remove the trigger assembly to install. (See Review)
Review: This mag is constructed to be very solid. I was pleased with the quality of it and the price, which wasn't too bad. I ordered mine straight from Opsgear for right around $60, I believe. The installation was not too difficult except for the fact that the trigger assembly must be removed for installation. It's very simple though, just two push-pins and the whole assembly comes off. I cleaned it once I had it off. Just make sure you align it correctly before reinstalling it. The mag comes with two bolts to put it into place. It's very self explanatory and I had mine on in less than 5 minutes. Take your time when putting it on if you do not have much experience taking things apart, one wrong move can have your gun not working properly or not working at all. I love the look of my gun and I will probably be posting some pictures. This is a must have if you want to improve the look of your gun. This mag can also double as a front grip due to its solid construction. You also have the option of leaving the stock grip on the gun. VERY GOOD! I recommend any Opsgear product. Fast shipping and they also supplied package tracking with UPS. Awesome.

*-Weight may or may not be a problem to you. The entire thing doesn't weigh much since it is made from a lightweight aluminum.
**-Installation does require removal of the trigger assembly, but it's quick and easy and you can even find a video that will guide you through taking it off and finishing the entire installation at Opsgear.com.

Note: This does not improve performance at all and is just for looks.....DUH
Conclusion: Must have for that sub-machine gun look. Do not be suprised when you have to remove the trigger assembly (it is very easy). Plan to have it installed in 3-15 minutes depending on your experience. VERY SOLID! So solid that it can double as a hand grip if you feel the need to remove your front grip. This product obviously has no effect on marker performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 29th, 2007 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OpsP8ntballer Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mp5 gas thru mag, Opsgear
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
Opsgear UMP shrou, mag, front and rear sights, g36 folding stock
JCS red hot power tube
Tippmann e-grip
Strengths: -Very durible
-leaves enough room for the stock a5 foregrip
-very attractive
-very sturdy
Weaknesses: -None
Review: I got this mag a little while back and have been in many games with it.
It definatly turns heads and gives your marker that UMPish feel.
This thing will not budge once screwed on to the gun. It will feel like part of the marker.
It is made of lightweight alluminum and doesn't add too much weight.
I highly recommend this magizine to anyone.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to everyone who likes the looks, it is very sturdy and durible.
I give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Ravenwulfe Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Basic, Black Finish
Smart Parts Tactical 20" barrel
Opsgear MP5 PDW stock
Brass Eagle 20oz Co2 tank
Opsgear UMP Shroud
Opsgear UMP Mag
Opsgear UMP front sight
Ricochet R5 hopper
Strengths: -Solid
-mounts easily
-Sturdy
-Looks great
-Can use as vertical grip
Weaknesses: -Basically only cosmetic
-Weight
-Temporary Trigger assembly issue
-Costs
Review: Let's be honest, you'll only be buying this product for looks. Even though I've found some creative uses for it, it was never my intent to buy it for anything other than looks. In that regard, it is wonderful, but don't expect it to enhance the performance of your marker.

That out of the way, I feel that the UMP mag kit is perfect for that submachine-gun milsim look.

Installation: It goes over the tomb stone and replaces a screw and a push pin with a longer screw and a large screw in place of the push pin. Seriously, it really couldn't be any more simple. One thing I do really like about it is if you still want your stock vertical grip, you can keep it, and it covers the front of the gas hose, so that way it looks a bit more realistic. Make sure you put the removed pin and screw somewhere safe, I keep all my hardware in a small zip lock bag in a bike bag. My only real installation issue which proved to be an annoyance was getting the trigger assembly on properly with it, because if it's not all the way on tightly, it may press down on the front of the trigger assembly and make the push pin have difficulty going in. My push pins are pretty easy in and out, and I'm starting to wear it down a bit so it's getting easier. The first couple times were very tough to do and I needed a pair of pliers and a hammer to get it through. Now I don't need the pliers or a hammer to get it in or out, though it helps to use the pliers to remove the one pin.

Looks: This mag kit is VERY sexy. It is one solid piece, but it is cut and styled in a way to make it look like it is a magazine slid into a feed port from a distance. In my opinion, because of the layered cutting, it looks a lot better than the Special Ops mag kits that replace the tomb stone. The thicker top cuts are so it can go over the tomb stone, and to make it look like a magazine well. It is a bit thicker than the trigger guard, but from a side view, they line up very well and it looks very much like a part of the gun. My magazine is kind of an odd colour. It is a tad lighter than the A-5's black colour, and it looks almost like it's slightly, very slightly, purple.

Construction: This thing is solid. And heavy. Although it's marketed as 'Light aluminum', it will add significant weight to your gun since it's not hollow like a real magazine, other than the slit for the gas line to feed through it. This isn't an issue for me, but it's pretty solid. The plus to that is that is that it is VERY sturdy and you can bash it around without worrying about breaking anything. I would probably bet it's even more durable than the A-5's metal body itself. This is a good thing, especially for the roughness of scenario play.

Other uses: Other than looking pretty, I've found a couple other decent uses for it. If you play sniper, it makes a decent monopod in the prone position, and can help you rest your gun when you are in prolonged waiting positions. Don't rely on it to stabilize your aim, but it will help a bit if you still use your arms primarily as support. More often than not, you may find yourself using it as a vertical grip. It's comfortable and more stable than the stock one, surprisingly. People with larger hands will probably like it a lot more than the stock grip.

Cost: This is where this hurts the wallet. Expect to pay about 70-80 Canadian for it. If you're on a tight budget, wait until you have some money to spend. You can get a good day of paintball in for that much.
Conclusion: If you have the money and are looking for a stable, solid, and great looking magazine for your milsim guns, the UMP mag doesn't disappoint. I'm very impressed with Opsgear's quality, and along with the UMP shroud and sights, it makes the most accurate looking replication of a real UMP on the paintball market yet. You can also save some money on other vertical grips and possibly bipods if you play that way with it, as well, so that adds to it's use, but this product is intended to be cosmetic so keep that in mind if you are in the market for something like this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Cocktail97 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
Lapco 8'' Big Shot Bead Blasted Barrel
Lapco A-5 Long Foregrip
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
OPSGEAR UMP Gas Thru MAG
Remote Line
20 Oz Co2 Tank
Strengths: Very Strong
Completely Solid
Looks amazing!
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavy
Cost
Quick Strip hindered
Foregrip Problem - See Body
No actual function
Review: After opening my mail, i saw my new UMP Mag for my A-5. It took about 5 minutes to install. It looks great on the marker, very realistic SMG look on the A-5.

I found a few problems with the UMP Mag.
- Because i have a stock, it is not possible to field strip the A-5 to take the grip off. You must either take off your stock or the Mag in order remove the grip to access it for maintenance i.e, battery change.(I have an e-grip)

-The Mag is quite long so your A-5 will not fit in a standard marker bag.

- I have the Long A-5 Lapco Foregrip, but i have really big/thick hands, so my hand rubs against the mag which is somewhat uncomfortable, even with the grip moved forward. I recommend using gloves, its more comfortable if your have big hands like me that rub against the corner of the Mag, however its quite snug but i don't mind.

Its basically for show, and adds weight to you A-5.

My review looks pretty negative, however even with these hick-ups I have encountered I still do not regret buying this Mag. The MP5 Mag will give you more room with the Foregrip if you have bigger hands but I prefer the look of the UMP one.

Conclusion: If you want the SMG look, get this Mag is looks freaking awesome. I don't regret buying it. But because of the few hiccups i encountered and its non practical use i rate it a 7.5
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 20th, 2006 at 1:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BuLLsEyE09 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Barret mag, g36 mag
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
G36 HG, Stock, Mag, MP-5 Sliding stock, barret mag, UMP Mag, 2x truglo reddot,bipod, laser
12in. g36 barrel, 18in. interceptor
egrip
Strengths: SOLID
Looks great
Wont interfere with stock gas setup
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy
Review: Another wonderful product from opsgear, I ordered this UMP mag over spring break and I have been very happy with it. It has a solid metal construction and includes everything needed to install it, it was a breeze to install, took less than 5 mins. i can field strip my quite fast still with this mag. it doesnt interfere with the stock airline which is good. It has amazing looks that go great with my g36/Mp-5 setup. It also makes a sturdy forgrip to hold on to.
Conclusion: Great product, if youre making a SMG type weapon, you cant beat the looks of this mag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 stock, Opsgear UMP Gas-through mag, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty gunsight, Special Ops Dagger Vest, Special Ops Digicam Maurauder Battle fatigues ,Orrange Howitzer Bolt, Tect-T Vortex Mod
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Installation
Weaknesses: Price
Installation
No real functionality
Review: So i felt like splurging on a mag at my paintball store/field to give my gun a more realistic look to it without sacrificing the sniper look i was going for or the ability to use the foregrip. The UMP mag satisfied all of these needs.

Looks:
This mag looks great! sleek and deadly. the top of this mag is bigger, so it looks like a mag well. so it is very realistic!
+2

Durability:
Well there is not much to say, about it; this is a chunk of metal. It can take a beating and has a really nice finish. I have yet scratch mine as far as i can tell.
+2

Installation:
This is both a strength and a weakness. Because it is both easy and a pain in the @$$. it is not difficult, just one more thing i have to do if i should feel the need to take off the mag. When you want to install this, for me anyway, i had to take off my trigger assembly (pistol grip) to put this mag on. however, you can slide it on all the way, you must slide it on half-way and put your pistol grip on. again, yu can slide it on all the way. you must put it at an angle, with back end all the way in and the front end, must meet with the back of the magwell. then youslide the mag up along with the pistol grip. i no it is very hard to explain, but you will see what i mean if you choose to purchase this product. the point is, you cant remove your pistol grip or mag individualy, they must both come off. this is because the mag has an indent of sorts to accomodate the rounded end of the pistol grip (where you put the push pin in). this prevents the pistol grip from being removed while the mag is still on the gun. after that however, it is easy, with the two pushpins on the body of the a5 being removed and replaced with two screws, which securely mount the mag to you gun.
-1

Price:
While i do not regreat my purchase, i still dont like how it cost me $85.95 CDN plus tax for a piece a metal. Albeit an incredibly cool piece of metal.
-1

NOTE: this product offers not real form of functionality except for it to either be used as a forward grip, monopod or so you can use your stock (or in my case not stock) forward grip on your A5. for me however, i really wanted to be able to keep the forward grip option open so i could mount my Special Ops A5A2 foregrip and have a cool mag that would not sacrifice the sniper look. so for me, this mag was a godsend and was everything i wanted it to be. As for weight, it will add weight to you marker, but not enough that you should notice it.
+3
Conclusion: Very cool mag for anyone who has the money to spend and wants to keep the front forgrip or have an SMG look.
NOTE: my review starts at a perfect 10 and then i deduct points or keep them depending on the strengths and weaknessed of the product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media