paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $220

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E is the latest addition to the Tippmann line of performance paintball guns.

Tippmann's all new Anti-Chop Technology (ACT) is a new system consisting of a rear bolt, front bolt and linkage arm with movements that are dictated by the location of a paintball in the chamber prior to firing.
If a paintball is fed correctly, the system's front bolt and rear bolt travel together - connected by the linkage arm - to fire the ball. However, if a ball is lodged inside the chamber incorrectly, the front bolt will stop moving forward as soon as it makes the slightest contact with the lodged ball. The rear bolt continues moving forward, but is momentarily disconnected from the linkage arm until it hits the marker's air valve. Upon reaching the air valve, the rear bolt is quickly forced back as it reconnects to the linkage arm, which pulls the front bolt back into firing position. While the two bolts are traveling back together, the lodged ball falls into position and the marker then cycles itself to discharge the ball at normal velocity.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E picks up where the standard Tippmann 98 Custom ACT left off, with an upgraded barrel, drop forward and performance double trigger.

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E features the Tippmann E-Trigger System which now includes the Wicked Air Sports (WAS) Equalizer board. The WAS Equalizer board features all new firing modes with up to 30 Balls Per Second rate of fire!

The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E Features:

11" Quick Thread High Performance Stone-Honed Barrel
5 Electronic firing modes: Semi Auto (NPPL), 3 Shot Ramping (PSP), 3 Shot-Full Auto (NXL), Auto Response, and Turbo
30 Balls Per Second (WAS Equalizer Board)
Double Trigger System
Drop Forward
All Aluminum Die Cast Receiver
Fully Customizable Receiver
Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Braided Gas Line
Removable Front Grip to Accept Expansion Chambers and Vertical Tanks
New Durable Black Finish
Requires 9 Volt Battery (not included)
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT E is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
andres14as Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months41 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Ion, Autococker's,
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro ACT E, Apex Barrel, Pure Energy Aluminum 68ci 4500psi, Halo B v35 victory board and rip, pure energy 20oz co2, Extreme Rage Harness, Pure energy remote line, sniper werks barrel, in about 2 weeks low pressure kit i will load up a pic of my gun shortly
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have the money Defenitly Apex Barrel the best range and sweet looking but if you dont then just get a 50 dollar tippmann werks barrel its has good range and looks good also, if you have a nitro tank get a low pressure kit, and if you have co2 get an expansion chamber, and of course electric Hopper Halo B is the best
Strengths: Speed
AccuracyPrice
Firing modes- 5 firing modes will discuss in review
Weaknesses: None really just the stock barrel could be better
Review: ok when i got my gun it came with a barrel sleeve, Tippmann 200rd. Hopper, manual, allen wrenches, spare o ring, barrel Squeegee, and e grip Adjustment Tool. I ordered my gun from Tippmann pros.com its the best website for any Tippmann owner or buyer i got my Tippmann 98 custom pro act e for 219.00 the cheapest ive seen and u already qualify for free shipping so if u don't live in Colorado 219.00 dollars is all u going to pay and you get alot more items than other websites



the first thing anybody would want to do when they first get there gun is shoot it so first i was messing around with the trigger to see if this 30bps rate was true i was reading the manual and it said the firing modes were Semi-auto- you all know what semi auto is, Auto response- really cool Fires on the pull and release, Full-auto- is 8 and 30 shots
per second, Turbo- Starts as semi-auto and goes to response mode as trigger speed
increases past 5 shots per second, Burst mode 1- 3 shot burst, burst mode 2- 6 shot burst. and each mode of fire is fully adjustable. so yeah i got up to 28 bps on a cold night on turbo mode. and thers also deounce and dwell settings but if u have this marker dont mess with either inless u know what ur doing.


I have 3 different setups here they are


Setup 1- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-Apex Barrel-Pure Energy Aluminum 68ci 4500psi-Halo B-Remote Line- Harness


Setup 2- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-werks Barrel-pure energy 20oz-Halo b


Setup 3- Tippmann 98 custom pro ACT E-Stock Barrel why?? because sometimes you just want to use the stock barrel and it works really good i don't know that's how it is for me-NITRO Why?? just fun with stock and of course my halo b

The only weakness some newbs will have is setting ur w.a.s. board if u have trouble setting up the w.a.s. board contact me at
andres14as@hotmail.com i will help u out it can get tricky setting it up if ur new at paintball or contact Tippmann they are the ones who helped me when i just got my gun

-Accuracy- if u can just afford the gun then its still a good investment it is very accurate with the new 11 inch barrel but like i said Tippmann could of made it better the best barrel to get with with this marker is probably the Apex or Flatline i recommend Apex just because u can dial in what u want like 8 clicks is flatline 1 is regular i play with about 4-6 and it makes a big difference over ur stock barrel

-Durability- like i said before this marker is very Durable the only thing Tippmann could of done better is baked the paint not just let it dry but bake it on so u wouldn't be able to scratch it off so easy but overall in durability even though its a electric Tippmann i give it a 9.5 in durability like i said the paint could of been better but the performance of this marker is a 10 out of 10

-weight- with my 68 4500 carbon wrapped nitro tank and halo b hopper with rip drive and victory board it weight's nothing to me and i way about 135 pounds and i have no problem carrying it around i will give this marker a 10 out of 10 in weight's it ways nothing i cant complain

-looks it looks like any old Tippmann 98 custom the only diffrences are there is a red E on the grip a new drop forward a 11 inch barrel not a stubby looking 8 inch a new double trigger and in the inside there is the ACT bolt a WAS board and thats about all for looks


UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! alot of people have been asking me how to program ur board and here are the instrucions i gave them all hope they help u

ok well is ur gun programmed? to the 98c pro act e if no then contact me. if yes then all u have to do is turn off ur marker by holding the trigger in tell u see a solid red light then let go then ur marker should be off then hold down the trigger and press the button for about 2 seconds let go at the same time and there should be a solid red screen this be a solid green wis ur dwell settings dont mess with the dwell settings press the trigger to go to the next setting the next should be debounce if u know what this is then change it i have mine set up to ten press the trigger down again and it should be a flickering green this is ur ROF rate of fire ps. to change any of these settings hold down the trigger for about two seconds let go then ur in programming mode. and pull the trigger for what u bewant ur setting to at. the tippmann 98c pro act e can be programmed up to 30 bps so that means if u want ur setting to be at say 15bps pull ur trigger 15 times each time u pull the trigger there should be a red led flashing one per pull. the next setting is your firing mode again do the same step to get into the programming mode 1 trigger pull is semi auto 2. 3 round burst 3. 3 shot full auto 4. auto response 5. Turbo and thats to get out of these settings and go test out your gun just turn it off then hold down the button intell u see a orange light let go and it should blik then ur ready to fire thanks for reading this hoped it helped u out if something didnt make sense comment my review or email me and feel free to ask questions.
Conclusion: I personally like this gun for speed ball alot more it is of course a good woodsball gun and great for all beginners and pros and of course its a Tippmann u know its going to be a good gun but this gun is fast and with the new ACT(anti chop technology) which helps alot so go get this gun its a great Gun The W.A.S. board and the ACT is the best combo Tippmann has ever made it shoots like a high end gun no lie
and strain relief ur w.a.s. board and your good to go (if u dont know what strain relief is comment my review i will get back to u) if u think my review was helpful u might think my w.a.s. board, Apex barrel system and spyder pilot reviews are also helpful so go check them out and why i said this better for speedball is because it shoots like a speedball gun and has the distance of a woodsball gun so this is a great marker for and all around player like me
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 10:53 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

blakes2406 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
WGP Prostock
Tippmann A-5 with WAS Board
Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro E ACT with WAS Board
Empire 7 Piece Barrel Kit
PMI 72/3000 HP Tank
Apache LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel or barrel kit
-HPA
-Fast loader
Strengths: -Its a Tippmann, so its durable
-Fast!
-ACT
Weaknesses: -Long
-Heavy
Review: I've owned many markers over the years, and for some reason i always keep coming back to my first love: the Tippmann 98 Custom. I learned how to play paintball with this marker, and i just dont feel comfortable when I'm not using one. Problem is, I play speedball, and as everyone knows, Tippmanns dont have a great track record in that catagory. Then comes along the Pro ACT E. It doesnt chop, which basically gives it eyes, a feature many speedball markers have. It also comes with the WAS Equalizer board, which makes it very fast. It has three legal tourny modes (NPPL semi-auto, PSP Ramping, NXL Full Auto) so no matter what tourny you play in, you'll have a mode you can use. This is basically the same setup the Pro team Tippmann Effect uses, minus a center feed kit and a custom trigger job. Its durable, so you can keep playing while everyone else is cleaning there $1,000 babies. Nothing bad to say about this marker, except that it is a bit heavy and long compared to most other speedball markers, not really a problem.
Conclusion: Buy a barrel kit, fast loader, and HPA and your ready to roll. This marker can compete with the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

UpInSmoke420 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (basic)
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT E
-Cyclone Feed System
-J&J 14" barrel
-20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-an upgraded hopper
-Maybe a new barrel but not a necessity (the stock barrel is quite accurate)
-maybe a Rocket Cock II ...to keep everything nice n clean
-thats just about it everything else is good
Strengths: -Made In AMERICA (so u know its gunna last)
-the egrip
-stock barrel
-ACT rocks
Weaknesses: The stock hopper cant keep up with the egrip
Review: This gun is awsome!
-a new hopper is needed if you want to shoot over 15 bps , i recomend a Cyclone or a Halo b ..egg2....really any E hopper...but if u want 2 keep it mechanical id go with a cyclone (just get the Q.E.V. if u want to shoop over 17 bps)
-the stock barrel is already 11'' and is already ver accurate ...
-the egrip is a little confusing at first but just read carefully and ull get it it just takes a while
this gun comes good 2 go stock ...i would still recomend tha things...i recomended ...but its overall a Really good gun for the $$
Conclusion: go get a credit card and order this RIGHT NOW ...u wont regret it !
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

vforce08 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Ion
Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T. with WAS Board E-trigger, Cyclone Feeding System with Vortex Mod, Lighting Rod, and QEHP, X-7 Low Profile Hopper, Vertical Expansion Chamber, 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel, and Maddman Stainless Steel Spring Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely the Cyclone Feeding System is a must for the Tippmann Custom Pro w/ E-trigger, and if you have an extra 60 bucks get the Vortex Mod and Lighting Rod for it, you can get about 20 to 25bps instead of just 15bps and the best part about this upgrade is that you don't have to worry about replacing the internals in the Cyclone anymore, and if you want even more balls out of your Cyclone add a QEHP you can get up to 30bps with this upgrade. Also another good upgrade (Only if you use CO2) is the Vertical Expansion Chamber, it makes the gun more accurate and it saves you more CO2 and it also has a better and stronger front grip. Last important upgrade to make your Custom Pro E as accurate as possible is a Barrel, 14" barrels are the best and I recommend J&J barrels they are just as good as the $80+ barrels and just for half the price, they are just as good and accurate.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Reliability
Durability
Price
Made in the U.S.A.
Weaknesses: None other then its a little too long with a 14" barrel
Review: This marker is the most reliable one I've seen so far, it is very strong and durable and if any internals get damaged (which it would be very unlikely unless you use it every day) they are very cheap to replace. Tippmann has the best warranty out there so if anything goes wrong with the marker they will replace it in no time. If you have the new WAS board in this marker you can be capable of doing up to 30bps if you add either a Cyclone Feeding System with the Vortex Mod, Lighting Rod and QEHP, or a good Halo hopper. This is a very good marker to play speedball or woodsball with and even if you are shooting it at up 30bps it is very unlikely it will chop a ball.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone that likes speed, consistency, reliability and durability on their marker. There is no need on buying an expensive marker and spending $600+ when you can get this one and its upgrades for less then $300
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jabar145 Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 14" Proto one piece barrel, folding stock and red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, electric hopper, HPA and a stock if you want.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, great feel, rarley chops and of course its fast.
Weaknesses: Long, springs wear out after awhile, gas hog, pain to take apart.
Review: This gun is one of the best woods ball guns you can buy. It is very rugged and barley breaks down on you. It has great accuracy and shoots fast if you have an electric hopper. There are a few problems with the gun like the springs in the gun wearing down over time and when that heppens the gun will sometimes not fire.

Also it is long and a 20 oz. Co2 only lasts me around 500-700 shots which is not great at all. The only other things bad to say about the 98 is that it can be a pain to take apart the first time and i do not reccomend doing it without the help of someone who has done it before.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and it is very solid but it has some minor flaws that keeps it from truley being perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 10th, 2008 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

little_ben Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Piranhas
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro e w/ cyclone feed
16inch tru flight barrel
Vforce grill(yes im bragging)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rufas dawg bolt
Cyclone feed(never misses a shot)
Strengths: Durability
No chops
Consistinsy
Weaknesses: Ha, its a tippmann it has no weaknesses
Review: Ive had this gun about 6 months and use it every weekend. Before this gun i was running with a spyder (dosent compare to a tippmann). I will never go back to a spyder after having this gun and never being put out of a game because of my gun. If you get this gun i reccomend a remote hose as tippmanns can be a little on the heavy side but make up for that in functionallity.
Conclusion: Dosent dissapoint
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blackcobra Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom R/T
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E, 32 degrees 14 in quiet riot, 32 degrees x chamber, rocket cock 2, Empire reloader II.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, hopper to keep up with grip
Strengths: Firing Modes
Barrel
Double Trigger
Drop Forward
Weaknesses: None
Review: Made in AMERICA. i love this gun its great i used it saturday with no breaks and just ripping on the red team. i held 4 people down while my team moved up the field. the stock barrel is almost as good as my Quiet Riot. i could fire as fast as my buddy walkin his 03 Cocker. this guns ACT works great, the fireing modes are sweet on turbo, and the weight isnt bad if your hefty like me.
Conclusion: BUY this gun its great for everyone. shoots fast easy to walk on turbo. this is another tippmann creation that was well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KLipneR Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix with night stick
Marker Setup: Custom Pro ACT E Grip with cyclone feed system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone feed/electro hopper.
New barrel
Better trigger for easier walking(you can walk it pretty fast on semi with stock trigger)
Strengths: Stock barrell accurate
Speed
reliable
5 modes of fire
Weaknesses: Trigger could be better NOTE: THE STOCK TRIGGER IS STILL GOOD.
Review: I recently used this at Canobie Paintball's Big Game in Windham NH and it performed very well compared to the high-end electro guns there. When i played i noticed that even for a stock barrel it was very accurate. And i could pretty easily get the gun firing very fast on semi (Canobie allows only semi automatic) You might want a fast hopper. i Chose Cyclone over halo because u dont need batteries for the cyclone feed system. I'm pretty sure the cyclone cannot go faster than 15 bps though, so dont get cyclone if you want 20+ speed. I also like the 5 firing modes. Especially the auto response.
Conclusion: Overall I like this gun as much as say ions because it can get very fast and is very accurate stock without the hassle of refilling a nitro tank every 500-800 (what i saw on SOME nitro tanks)shots. And without the price for nitro tanks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bonzipon Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none but i have used a tac-5recon
a jt excellerator 3.5
a rental tippmann 98 c
egg II with z board
Marker Setup: tippmann custon pro
e-trigger
had to buy my w.a.s board booooo
20 oz. co2
my orange paintball bolt hasnt comein yet and neither has my tippmann rocket cock
my compressed air tank is coming too
Recommended
Upgrades:
compressed air, or for co2 an expansion chamber
maybe a new barrel but the stock barrel is ok
a new bolt but only if you dont want kick.
Strengths: It is a Tippmann
Electronic
Easy hopper detachment
Stock barrel is pretty good
Drop foreward
Weaknesses: Foregrip is a sucky plastic
Nothing else
Review: ive actually only been playing with this gun for 2 months and 1 month with my tac 5
compared to the tac 5 i love this beast, once im done with all my uppys im going to name my gun the behemoth ahah. its great on the field of woodsball it has some nice settings. such as three shot ramping (my favorite) and turbo and three more.
it has that nice tippmann durable woodsball feel to it but because its electric it could be used as a speedball gun. It can shoot 30bps with e trigger and w.a.s board. its good all around but its a little long for diving into bunkers and stuff but w/e its up to you how you want to use your gun so yeah hahaahaha.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to every one out there with the right uppys you can release the beast within even though stock its a beast already haha. ok when you put upgrades on it you can aggravate the beast to a behemoth! id give it a 9.9 cuz not everythings perfect but there isnt one sooooo ya.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdog199016 Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with a camo finish and some custom bolt work.
Marker Setup: Standard barrel, Halo B hopper, 20oz CO2 tank, and some custom work on the switch!
Recommended
Upgrades:
faster hopper, longer barrel, and a couple extra batteries!!
Strengths: Speed and it is a tippmann!
Weaknesses: The menus can be confusing, but once you get the hang of it, its easy!
Review: I love the gun. In the beginning it was a little confusing because mine has a button instead of a screw, now I like it a lot better. I was always being told that tippmanns are good for only woodsball, but I could kick their @$$ now. I found a way to shoot extremely fast. Its not technically walking but it shoots just as fast. I haven’t used it that much but I have been “practicing” pulling the trigger faster.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that deserves more recognition then it is getting. I give it a 9 because the night that I got it I couldn't get it to work because mine has a button to turn it on instead of the screw.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media