paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Paintball Magazine / Paintball Magazine / Paintball Magazine / Paintball Magazine

Paintball Magazine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Paintball Magazine

Paintball Paintball Magazines

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Paintball Magazine
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $31

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
In each issue you can look forward to a featured custom paintgun. You can also find our version of paintball GQ, with fully outfitted players and an explanation of what gear they are using. Paintball technology, recreational play, scenario games, and extreme cutting edge articles, photos, and layouts. It is presented in a format designed to make it readily understandable to beginners and equally invaluable to top level paintball enthusiasts.

Price is for yearly subscription!
Product Availability 
The Paintball Magazine is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
snipe u now!!! Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
APG (there sister mags)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT and the 14" progressive.
Also, a Tippmann model 98 (no custom) with a flatline.
I use a 4+1, remote, and a 20 and 9 oz. co2 for both guns.
Strengths: I like woods the editors like woods. so it is a good magazine.
Weaknesses: Could be longer. And it comes out every other month.
Review: If you like speed ball or tournaments then I can understand why you don't like this magazine. It does have some speed ball stuff in it but not as much as the the woods and scenario games. I always enjoy picking up Painball Mag and APG at the news stand every time there is a new copy. They cover all of the stuff I want to hear about. but now if you think I am some redneck because I like camo and woods, ( Ive read what you speed ballers have said) why don't you quit b*@#hing and go find your self some other mag. This is for us woods players, and were sorry it doesn't have your flashy crap. we don't need it. Its one of the of the good mags ive seen out there.
Conclusion: If you like woods, witch I do, pick this one up. If you are in to speed ball you can try it but probably not like it as much as more of the flashy ones out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 30th, 2005 at 3:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AR55 MtM Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Aciton Pursuit Games
Marker Setup: Tricked out victor for speedball
Strengths: No advertisments
Talks about some markers
Weaknesses: No Advertisments
Expensive
Bad content
Poor Writing
Review: This is my friends magazine and i read it at lunch and from what i can tell it gets straight to the point but it does this in a very bland way come on i feel like im reading my brothers essays

Advertisments-Very few which is good for some but bad for me cause i like to look at advertisments cause face it thats where we get our ideas of buying stuff

Markers-Talks about some but as i said above the word choice is very bland it is so repititous like the A-5 is fast it is so fast that its fast enought to fastly fasten a fastner (okay maybe Im being a little to harsh but still)

Expensive-Where I come from these things are like 7 to 8 dollors way to expensive for me

Conclusion: All in all this is just an average Paintball magazine for Average people
5 out of 10
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

<Sch> Raven Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
APG (same thing!!)
Marker Setup: little bits and pieces of Zap 1000E (salvaging for Raven Primal)
Strengths: Err... great for woods ballers, reviews
Weaknesses: Little tourney coverage, made for woods ballers and scenario gamers, and much more!
Review: First off, I play speedball so all you tippmann camo people disregard this review.

Like I said I'm a speedballer and I find that this mag is geared toward Newbies and woodsballers because it has very little tourney coverage. They don't review any high end markers mostly Tippmanns and Walmart grade guns. Their "Ask the Airsmith" section has some of the most piontless questions asked in it (*sigh* newbs) how about a few quotes (Not the actual answers BTW)
"I keep getting hit on my left shoulder. What am I doing wrong?"
err... not playing tight enough
"Why is there so much padding in the new uniforms?"
Play in shorts and a T-shirt and you'll figure it out real fast
"Does a flatline really shoot farther then a regular barrel?"
err... yea, that's the piont of their design
"Can fitness programs make me a better player?"
no... go on a strict Bigmac and large fries diet and be a better player!
Their answer was "Yes being fit is good for and sport..."
No really?

That was all from one issue (June/July 2004) and I'm shure you could find a million more. Also being a speedballer their Scenario secrets section is just another few pages to flip though. They also have so few ads! How am I sopposed to look at the latest guns if all they got is those useless 3A spyder clones and Tippmann ads!

I also find that they are afraid to say anything bad about products. They didn't say in their review of the HALO TSA that sound systems can be triggered by players shooting at your position or that a ref blowing his wistle can make it feed. Or how the hopper's tilting impeller is 100% useless. or how it can jam up easily!

Or under the title "Paintball" it says "Paintball tips & tricks" that's misleading they really don't give you any playing tips aside from the blatently obvios like squishing a inflatable bunker's side with the barrel for a tighter profile or keeping count of players on you opponents side. And tricks? umm... nope... nothing comes to mind

How about that Canuck Corner? Hmmn... again only about woodsball and further yet, it states that us canadians don't have as high tech gear... Umm... at the feild I go to there's automags, cockers, angels, timmies, Impulses and that such... I'm the only one who DOESN'T shoot a "High Tech gun" only because I like to be differant. Or I don't know anyone who doesn't use a HALO, Egg or Revvy. It would be a start if the pictures in the canuck corner were actually taken IN CANADA!!! why? because American Newbies reading that mag don't wanna see canadinas running around with high tech markers! It's sterio typing the canadians ballers.
Conclusion: If you are a scenario gamer this is for you but for speed ballers it's useless and I find it to be depicting what they think canadian paintball should be like and don't show what it really is.
For it's use to scenario gamers I could give it a 2 or 3 but I COULD also give it a 1
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All others
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck
Strengths: PFFFT... Its small and easy to carry around.
Weaknesses: Everthing.
Review: This magazine is just your basic magazine. the only good thing i can think of is the price. I wouldnt spend your money on this magazine unless you just want to get a mag no one else has (and for a good reason.) Overall this mag is just a cheap bread and butter magazine.
Conclusion: Its probaly the worst mag on the market, but still its just below average.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
APG, pb2x, facefull.
Marker Setup: Icon T PDS, Reloader B, 72/3k, rest is classified ; )
Strengths: Not flooded with ads. Good begginner info.
Weaknesses: Lack of scenario coverage.
Review: First and foremost, in a earlier issue that i had from 2003, in the back of the mag they listed almost every paintgun out there an its aproximate cost. Page after page of markers. It was quite nice. I havent seen devotion to a marker market like that in a magaizne since. They also included several pages of all sorts of mixes of manufacterors and their products. The articles are deffinately aimed at a less-experienced crowd. The photo work is good, and the page layout is well done.
Conclusion: Good mag. If you are new to the sport, get a subscription.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Thursday, June 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
APG
PB2X
PGI
FACEFULL
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CenterFlag Reg.
Flatline
E-grip
R5
Strengths: Nice, clean layout
Not too many ads
Good for beginners
Weaknesses: Bi-monthly
Way too short
Review: Paintball Magazine is a fine beginner magazine. The articles are helpful and geared towards new players. The layout is easy to read and the ads aren't over-abundant. The single copy price is very good, but the subscription price is a little steep. The two main complaints are the bi-monthly publishing and the mag is way too short; especially for being bi-monthly. Overall it needs to be bigger and published more often to compete with the big boys.
Conclusion: Decent for beginners. Not big enough ultimately.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skippertipper Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
APG, PB2X
Marker Setup: xtra-richochet 2K hopper-sprint trigger frame-custom spring
(its the worst gun ever I'm getting a 98c)
Strengths: Interesting. Lilttle ads. Lots of Info.
Weaknesses: Weak reviews!!!!!
Review: I love this magazine! It has alot of cool and interesting stuff. It has weak reviews. They should be alot better. It has this like ask the airsmith, Wassup?,gogged,yada,yada,yada, and my favorite, kanuck korner. Has great features, too. Almost every month there is one review on a gun.
Conclusion: Great mag! Keep it up Paintball mag!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blakdrgn77 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Action Pursuit Games
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Compact, 12oz Co2, PMI 200rnd hopper
Strengths: no ads:) cheap
Weaknesses: kinda boring
Review: This magazine is very cool because it has no ads.....if u like looking at the ads that suks but i dont so i like it. plus its only like 3 bucks and stead of 6. The only bad part bad about the mag is that some of the articles are a little dull
Conclusion: tis mags awesome its only like 3 bucks cause it has no ads:).... i hate mags full of ads like APG
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bassimastprime Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
APG (Action Pursuit Games for all you idiots)
Splat
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
Vertical ASA
PMI Combat Folding Stock
Sometimes a Tasco Laser Sight
Strengths: Great Marker Guide
Good pictures and pretty good writing
Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: They don't cover tourneys very good, not enough
Review: This is a good magazine to pick up when you have some spare change, when you get a marker with the marker guide these are the best. Hundres of markers, don't look at the prices in this mag (way over). This magazine is ok, but I think APG is better
Conclusion: APG is better, this has a great marker guide
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wdp_billboard Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
apg and splat magazines
Marker Setup: spyder xtra blue
14in all american
12oz co2
32degrees gravity feed
32degrees coiled remote(sometimes)
Strengths: marker log
some worth reading articles
Weaknesses: is a little pricy for what you get
Review: Good-
good for looking at new markers
or keeping track of them all
decent amount of information on markers
some articles provide useful information

Bad-
some articles including the mail require you to flip to another part of the magazine to continue reading. doesnt make it easy to read
horrible amount of content for 5or6 bucks, i can finish one issue in less than 30min.
doesnt really help you improve your game just talks about it
Conclusion: articles are average, marker guide is helpful if annoying month to month,
dont buy it for the articles, but is an OK magazine above average
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media