paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body / Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body / Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body / Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body / Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body

Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Technology Meets Woodsball™
Turn Your Smart Parts™ ION* into a customized woodsball™ machine with the Blackcell ION body kit from Special Ops™ Paintball. Choose from three hopper options and the SpecOps buttstock of your choice (including all air-through designs). Weaver rails are also optional. THE EVOLUTION OF THE REVOLUTION - Blackcell, from Special Ops™ Paintball.
The Blackcell ION* body kit gives you the ability to run sights, flashlights, night-vision and other tactical accessories, as well as mount other hopper systems, and an Special Ops™ air-through buttstock. Special Ops Paintball even offers 4-inch weaver rails (optional) that can be mounted to the side of the body for even more options, or just cool looks. (NOTE: Side rail mounting requires drilling pilot holes for screws.)
Assembly is easy. Just refer to your Smart Parts™ ION* owners manual and follow the instructions for installing a body kit onto the ION* marker.
Made from the same super durable nylon plastic used for real firearms. Perfect fit every time.
Includes:
Blackcell ION* Body
Back Cap
Mounting screw
Dimensions:
Body Length: 9.75 inches
Width: 1.5 inches
Weight: .5 lbs
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball Blackcell Ion Body is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Green Ghost Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion body
Punisher PB ion body
Marker Setup: Special ops Black Cell ion body
Special ops Black Cell Longbow stock
Special ops Black Cell q-loader kit
Q-loader
Egg
Hybrid .45 grips
CP sling trigger
CP Short reg
32 degrees remote
Cross Fire 68/3000
Low rise feed neck
Strengths: Light
Durable
Can mount sights, lasers, what ever
Looks good
Weaknesses: Hard to take on and off
cant fit qev or low rise feedneck
Review: The Black Cell ion body was by far the greatest mod on my ion. with the body you can fit stocks sights q-loader, mag. When I first took the body out of the box I thought it was awsome. When I put it on my ion I found that I had to take off my feedneck making it hard to take it on and off to clean the marker. After I had aquired a stock, sight, and q-loader feed kit and took it out to play a small game I was amazed at its center of ballence and easy of lining up my mask to the marker. The body itself is a tough and great looking. The only problem I found was how I couldnt fit on my lose rise feed neck. That was easly taken care of by a dremal.
Conclusion: Great product by special ops paintball as always. Tough, able to fit many modifications to it. I recommend this product to anyone who is into woodsball and has wanted a tactical ion body.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

elguaporyan Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Blackcell body
Longbow air-thru stock
Stiffi 14"
Empire reloader b
Evil detonator reg
NDZ on/off asa
SP 360 qev
SP low rise feed neck
Strengths: Butt stock on ion
has qloader/q-bow mounting option, unless modified
sight mount
Weaknesses: Remove feed neck unless modified
pain to take apart unless modified
Review: I used to work for spec ops and got to play with the blackcell before it came out, that is way I bought an Ion. Im not a tippmann fan and was looking for something better for woodsball the blackcell was it.
When I got the body kit and went to install it I realized how difficult it would be to put on. You have to remove the feed neck everytime and there is a little hole in the top just in front of the feed neck the size of an allen wrench to loosen the bolt under the berral. So I got out my dremel tool and reciprocating saw and modified it. I will post a picture of it. It is closer to how the stock body is now and if you look at the picture Im using a low rise feed neck. If you want to use the qloader or long bow kit this mod is not advised. Also it has not redused the strength at all. If you have any quetions on how to do this mod email me. Im sure, though havent tried, it will also facilitate the stiffi switch kit.
Conclusion: If you like the Ion and air-thru butt stocks I would recomend it.
6 of 10 before mod
9 of 10 after mod
8 of 10 overall
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

d74 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Ion
Firebolt
360 QEV
Lapco Utlra Low Rise Feedneck
Stiffi Switch Kit
CP Long reg
Strengths: Durable glass filled nylon, doesn't scratch easily.
Weaknesses: Length
Does not support low rise feednecks
Review: The body itself isn't very heavy. It weighs about 222 grams. The plastic stock body weighs about 63 grams.
Installing my lapco low rise feedneck was the first challenge. I had to cut off two bumps on the top rail to get enough clearance to install the low rise feedneck.
After that, the rest of the installation was almost a breeze..
Just one word of warning.. don't use this body with a stiffi switch kit. If you are unlucky and the sizing breech gets stuck whilst you are removing the barrel, your only option is to remove the entire body in order to unscrew the sizing breech.
Conclusion: This body will do just fine if you want to go for a long/q-bow setup or use a one piece barrel. Definitely not recommended for users of the stiffi switch.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ECOracer Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts Ion, Blackcell body, longbow stock, Deadly Wind Hollow Pont Bolt
Strengths: Very Strong, Rails, ability to add a stock, Q-loader mounting points
Weaknesses: Can be Annoying to disassemble, cant use a low-rise feed neck without modification
Review: Ok, so i bought this because i am building a Q-Bow.

I actually bought it in conjunction with the Longbow Air-through stock (which i also love).

When i first held this body i noticed it had some weight to it, which i like. honestly if the gun is to light i feel like im going to break it. Installation was very easy, remove te stock body and use this one...that’s it. The gun looks a lot more intimidating which is always nice.

one of the perks is the Q-loader mounting points that are already built into the body forward of the regulator. Basically you buy the 1-loader mounting kit from spec ops and it bolts into place and your golden.

i guess a negative is the fact that you need to remove the feed neck to remove the body. But honestly that’s not really an issue, it takes about 5 seconds to do so its almost negligable.
Conclusion: All in all, i love this body! very versatile, and very upgradable
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ejk2969 Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Ion Body
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Hybrid Headloc Low rise, Empire B2 loader, Shocktech Dual Roller Bearing Trigger v2(Urban), Blackcell Ion body Kit, Pyscho ballistics drop forward, Custom Products regulaotr. A-5, Palmer Stabilizer,Tipmmann E-grip w/ Ape board, Jcs folding stock w/ RVA, X-7 Hopper, Shocktech drop forward, Lapco 12" Big shot
Strengths: Easy to install, strong ABS, accessories attachables
Weaknesses: You must modifiy this stock if you want to use low rise feednecks.
Review: When I first bought this I was unsure of how it would look. When I finished putting everything back together I found I really liked it. It was easy to install, the mods were simple to do for low rise feednecks. It is a strong ABS plastic so bad dings, NOT! I also bought the side rails another easy install modification was slightly needed to fit the screws in place. The screw inside the barrel was easy to place. All and all simple to do.
Conclusion: If you want a nice looking body of ABS plastic and not a hunk of metal, this is for you. Mods are required for good fit. The stocks for this are nice and easily installable. If you want a milsim look for the Ion get this!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bryze Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A, there's nothing quite like it for an Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
A5A2 air-thru stock
remote to 68/3000 HPA Java tank
Flatline/14" CP 2 piece/12 JJ Ceramic/12" Smartparts Teardrop
R5 Ricochet hopper
Double trigger
Firestorm crank

SpecOps Blackcell M-1 (Ion)
NDZ Bolt
Smart Parts QEV
Q-Lock feedneck
68/3000 HPA
Strengths: Sturdy, customizable,
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy,
Review: I think it gives the gun a kick-ass, and unique look. As a military guy, I have little patience for flashy, fragile speedball guns. However, puting this thing on the ion makes me feel just a little bit better. I played recently in a scenario accompanied by VERY harsh weather, and the ion w/body kit shot flawlessly. Got a bit banged up, but the composite shell didn't sustain even a scratch.
Conclusion: Good product, just like everything else SpecOps makes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

somnambulated Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First time I've used a marker body kit.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Orange Unicorn Nano Bolt
CP Drop Forward
CP On Off
SP QEV
42 CU Carbon Fiber Tank
Dye Tank Cover
Special Ops Black Cell Kit
Special Ops Black Cell Rail Kit
Strengths: Looks different, light as the stock body, probably the lightest body out with rails.
Weaknesses: Must remove feedneck to remove body. Difficult to re-assemble.
Review: Overall, this is a very nice aftermarket body. As I mentioned, it weighs about the same as the stock body, being made of glass-filled Nylon, unlike most of the metal body kits out.
It feels extremely durable, and seems immune to surface scratching.

The fit of the body kit is good, but since it's thicker than the stock body, getting the banjo fittings back in, and the wiring harness, is somewhat difficult. It's a tight fit for the body too, you have to attach the barrel to the inner Ion body, then use it to slide the inner body into the shell. Then rotate the shell until you align all of the holes underneath, and the feedneck opening on top. This sounds like a pain, but it's not too bad once you get used to it.

The only major issue I ran into when installing the kit for the first time was the screws for the optional side rails. The ones provided are far too long, and scratched the inner Ion body very badly before I realized they were sticking out inside the body kit. I had to file off the ends of the screw after they were installed to get the body kit to fit without tearing up the ion body any more.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great kit, but a lot of headache could have been saved if Special Ops had simply provided shorter screws with the rail kit. I'm giving it an 8, because I had to modify the screws to fit, after they damaged my marker, and this is supposed to be a direct-fit kit.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media