paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 / Tippmann Triumph SSL-200

Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Triumph SSL-200

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Triumph SSL-200
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new lightweight SSL-200 loader with 200 round capacity features Bend Sensor Technology that delivers up to 15 BPS. The Bend Sensor only operates when the marker is fired to improve efficiency and prolong battery life. The SSL-200 low profile design also features, LED on/off low battery indicator, quiet operation, adjustable O-ring neck to fit most markers and a snap fit wide mouth lid.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tkramer Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Reloader; VLocity
Marker Setup: Shocker Vision; Smart Parts SP8; Smart Parts ION
Strengths: Lightweight, dependable, efficient and sleek design
Weaknesses: The Triumph sticker started to peel off almost immediately.
Review: Although I have only used two other brands of loaders, I believe this is the best one on the market today. It is light and it has never failed to feed the paintballs into the firing chamber. I don't need a loader that feeds 20-30 balls per second-- I would go broke buying paintballs if I played like that. And at $60, the price is right. My family and I have 3 of them and they all work. I also like that the loader comes with various sizes of O-rings to accommodate different feed tube diameters.
Conclusion: The Triumph SSL-200 is an excellent loader. It is a solid performer and an outstanding value.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ForrestSpyder Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any mid range electric paintball loader.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR 2 with a Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 electric loader and a standard 20 ounce CO2 canister.
Strengths: -Tough.
-Ascetically pleasing on mil-sim markers.
-Good 12-15 bps rate of fire.
-Quiet.
Weaknesses: -Hard to clean.
Review: I was looking for a solid electronic hopper for my MR2 earlier this week because my non-electric hopper was simply not doing the job. I looked into the Halo B, but this was more expensive and was capable of a much higher bps rate than I required.

I came across the Triumph and was immediately struck by its looks. I know that what is visually appealing on a gun or hopper varies greatly from person to person, but I felt that this was a great looking hopper. It is long and has a small front profile and offers easy access to the battery in the back. The Triumph looks excellent on my MR2. Its black finish is perfect for woodsball players like me.

Functionally the hopper performs in a satisfactory manner. It is an agitation hopper. Thankfully it only agitates the balls when it senses that the ball feed is empty. This means that it will make no noise except when being fired or when it is first turned on. Its back mounted LED light lets you know when it is moving the motor and when it is not.

My only real issue with this hopper is that the shape makes it difficult to clean. Other than that, its is nearly perfect for a mid-range electronic hopper.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to woodsballers and those who play at church outings and the like. The black finish is excellent for forest play and the battery life is exceptional. Overall this is a very good hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Evolution II (19-bps), Q-loader, variety of non-agitated hoppers (Archon, Brass Eagle, VL and others)
Marker Setup: Jungle Green SP-8
Extendable Stock
Tactical Rail Kit
Stealth Barrel kit
TechT L6 Lightening Bolt
Smart Parts 360 QEV
CP Regulator, Long
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA
PMI remote
OpsGear 18" Interceptor barrel
Tasco BKRD30 RedDot Sight
Viewloader Evo II hopper
Q-loader System
Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 hopper
ON ORDER: PPS Brass barrel, Hammerhead Barrel Kit
Strengths: narrow frontal profile, fast, effective agitation/feed, single 9v battery, plastic stronger than Egg
Weaknesses: plastic not as flexible as unagitated hoppers like the Archon
Review: First day playing with this, about 500 balls through it.

I shoot a heavily upgraded Smart Parts SP-8, previously with a Viewloader Evolution II (Egg II) that claims 19bps.

Raison D'Etre
SPPL rules don't permit electronic markers to use any hopper that advertise a feed rate over 15bps. I bought the SSL-200 to remain legal and after looking at reviews for a number of other hoppers in the same speed range.

First of all, the SSL-200 has a very nice, narrow frontal profile and the surfaces are nicely contoured which will probably aid in bounces. The plastic is somewhere between the very brittle Egg and the somewhat softer plastic on typical field-rental, unagitated hoppers. (The Archon comes to mind). I feel more comfortable with the SSL-200's durability than I do my Egg.

Operation
The battery door on this hopper comes off very easily but doesn't have any tendency to open on it's own. A single 9-volt battery goes in "flat" - parallel with the ground.

There's a single pushbutton and an LED on the back of the unit. The LED lights green when on and batteryy OK, red when batteries are low, according to the literature (I haven't burned a battery up yet but I can confirm it does light green when on). Each time the rear button is pressed, the motor activates for a moment. Noise level is similar to the Egg but a bit more "growly" - still very quiet. Unlike the Egg, once your hopper is empty, this hopper won't "WHIRRRR" and give away your position.

The "bend sensor" is a little flexible finger in the ball outlet. Each time a ball (or finger) "twiddles" this, the motor activates and rotates an impeller/agitator. I don't think this qualifies as "force feed" like an Evo II but it seems very effective none-the-less.

When I set my SP-8 (with stock board) to ramping mode and got it going, this Tippmann hopper did very well keeping up. There were a few hiccups - perhaps one in 20 or 30 shots would stutter slightly as the hopper caught up. I had the eyes on so the marker would only cycle when it was properly fed.

I haven't clocked this hopper yet but, subjectively, it is very fast. With an aftermarket board set to cap ROF at 15-bps, I'm quite comfortable this hopper would not be a liability.
Conclusion: The Triumph SSL-200 hopper gets my highest recommendation.

If you want an excellent hopper that lets you shoot an electro' while respecting the letter and spirit of the SPPL rules, you won't be disappointed.

If you compare it to a Halo, Evo III, Apache etc, it doesn't keep up. That's not the point. This hopper is the best in it's class - legal 15bps hoppers for use on electros in SPPL.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 3rd, 2006 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tank61 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo TSA, Empire Reloader, Evlution II
Marker Setup: Ion Pro, Orange Bolt, Fuxing Roller Trigger
Strengths: Awesome Design and Very Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: I played a scenario game at Smakzone with the Triumph SL200. The Triumph easily kept up with my Ion Pro. I have tried it before with a Halo TSA or Empire Reloader and they couldn't keep up. I would have to give the Triumph a 10 for speed and looks.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to anyone. It is one of the best looking hoppers and fastest for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

rottendrew Tuesday, August 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity feed / friends electronics/Kingman Spyder Fasta 18
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault e grip and exp chamber mag, tippman triumph ssl 200 hopper, remote line and 20 oz co2 and a 4 in one back pack
Strengths: Price, shape, size, Capacity, reliable
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, Cant find a canvas cover for it.
Review: I have fired over 2000 balls out of this hopper on the same battery ,and only had a problem with some cheap thin shelled field paint. It was so thin it was breaking in my half filled ball tubes when i ran.

This suggests to me that these balls would have broke in a regular gravity feed hopper. So to be fair i wont count it in my assessment of this hopper.

While using mid range priced paint i found this hopper to be perfect for feeding you a constant reliable 10 to 15 balls per second .It only operates while the gun is fired and its quiet. 200 ball capacity is nice too. The battery door is located at the back on the bottom and is easy to change. However I never kept its abilities maxed out . I set my rate of fire to 10 bps as I feel 15 to be excessive. It feeds fine and only missed a beat when the hopper had about 7 or 8 balls left bouncing around when I was at a full run and firing. Even then it failed to feed only one ball . Besides if you cant hit someone or pin them down with 10 balls per second I don't think 15 will do the trick for you ether.

UPDATE The hopper has worked so well that i have bought one for my son who has a BT4 Banshee and it too works flawlessly. We recently were involved in a 10 hour senario game. We used over over 3500 balls each without one ball jam or break in the hopper
Conclusion: As long as you use a good fully charged 9 volt battery i cant see you having any problems. If you want 15 balls a second buy a hopper that delivers 17. I think this is a excellent hopper for the price. It works just as well as a higher priced model .
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 29th, 2007 at 9:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rickyg Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot acs
Redz Clamping Feedneck
SP Linear 16' Barrel
20 oz Co2
Tippmann Triumph ssl-200 Hopper
Strengths: Reliability, Doesnt Suck up Battery Power, Strong!!, Consistent feeding doing 13-14 bps
Weaknesses: Not easy to clean if any paint gets into the hopper!!
Review: Well i Played with this Hopper this weekend again and theres not much i can say about it except that it is an awesome Hopper, Feeds very consistently and you cant believe the reat performance for the price!! Go and get this hopper i guarentee you that you wont be dissapointed one bit!!
Conclusion: Highly recommend this hopper to anyone whos interested in it, giving it a nine because i struggled to clean it and nothings perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Drewbie Saturday, July 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard "shake & shoot" $5 hoppers.
The air-powered thing on an A5... can't remember the name.
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos
Pure Energy 70ci 4500psi carbon tank
Psiworx Pro3 Remote
Tippman SSL0-200 Loader
Strengths: Price
Easy to use
O-Rings for feedneck grip
Weight
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot for me and make me amazing?
Review: I've shot a few thousand balls with this hopper on my Azodin Kaos and I have ZERO complaints. It's not noisy at all and only activates when a ball leaves the port. That means you shot one and that's a thousand times louder than the little .3s whirr.

The best things about this are the low price ($45 CAD), the ease of use, slim profile, and low weight.

I really like the fact that this has o-rings on the barrel attachment area as I can tighten it down on my Azodin Kaos and never fear the hopper coming off as some have reported. I'm pretty confident that the o-rings make the difference.

It might be a little difficult to clean if you break a ball in it, but that's never happened so I can't speak to that. I have seen my buddy break balls in his A5 air-powered loader (hehe).
Never had any jams or mis-feeds and I do tend to hold my gun & hopper on 20-30 degree angles while shooting through brush.

Disclaimer: Only used Marballizer and XO Industries (purple and green) paint with this.
Conclusion: If you've got a mechanical marker you probably can't pull the trigger fast enough to make any of the more expensive (and heavier) loaders worth it. This thing works perfectly, is simple to use, is quiet, and has a fairly low profile that holds 200+ balls.
Just buy it and you'll wonder how how you ever played with the "shake and shoot" gravity fed loaders. :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painting turtle Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: Tippmann - custom pro
Evil - driver barrel
Tippmann - SSL-200
Tippmann - expansion chamber
Lapco - direct feed
DOP - rocket cock 2
DOP - custom 98 pro seal
Shocktech - superfly bolt
Tasco - red dot
Remote coil
Strengths: 15bps
Looks awesome
200 round capacity
Bend sensor technology
Weaknesses: Really hard to clean
Review: Performance: I have a mechanical marker (for now) and it's impossible for me to out shoot 15bps. So that means I always have a ball in the chamber. I've read reviews that complained about electronic hoppers being loud. This hopper is fairly quiet, and besides the gun noise is what they hear. (Unless your hopper continually agitates) It is also easy to use. On/off switch. That's it. I’ve seen hoppers with like a million buttons on them. I'm sure they do something special, but I like simple.

Looks: Now I know the picture looks terrible and I agree. I saw that picture and didn't want to even look at it. Trust me; it looks WAY better in person... or at least not that picture.

I ran some tests to see how fast it really feeds

NOTE: all these tests are freefall

The first tests were with 140 rounds

Test 1 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Test 2 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Test 3 - 140 rounds in 8 seconds about 17.4bps
Test 4 - 140 rounds in 9 seconds about 15.5bps
Average speed with 140 rounds 15.9bps

The second tests were with a full hopper (About 200 rounds)

Test 1 - 200 rounds in 14 seconds about 14.3bps
Test 2 - 200 rounds in 15 seconds about 13.3bps
Test 3 - 200 rounds in 15 seconds about 13.3bps
Test 4 - 200 rounds in 16 seconds about 12.5bps

Average speed with a full hopper 13.4bps

Conclusion: It is a great hopper if you shoot under 15bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zelda_4150 Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Hoppers
Marker Setup: MR1 (stock), Tippmann Triumph ssl-200, 3 20oz tanks
Strengths: Esay to change batteries, Light weight
Weaknesses: Plastic seams kinda weak,
Review: Did several drop test with scorch paint took about 19 secs for about 200ish constant feed in tests. i have expended about 400 rounds from this hopper and have only chopped one and was because of my gun. other times my MR1 just uncocked itself. i was getting about 10 bps from my MR1 when testing ( I was not shooting regulation though).paint will sometimes catch in the front when shooting downwards expect this hopper to double feed on most semi-auto markers. (ex. castle to ground)
Conclusion: This is the peferect hopper for any MR1 owner. if u have any questions look me up in the fourms.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

smokanci Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
V-locity
Marker Setup: Stock ION
Strengths: Long battery life.
Weaknesses: Occasional jams, very easy to break
Review: Even if I haven't used other products, the price tag on this hopper makes it a best buy option, other than the occasional jams (not too many but it happens) the hopper is just fine, you just have to turn it off/on when it happens. No ball chops because of it. It's compact design might bounce off incoming balls if you're lucky but don't count on it though...

[Later] ...Well, if you're a tournament player this is not a solution at all. The neck is pretty slim and broke instantly in a bad dunk behind a bunker. Another problem with it is that balls inside the neck tend to jump while you're running making it difficult to run and shoot, and finally the 15 bps that they claim, if it fed constant i would be happy with 10 bps, but this design doesn't help the feeding rate and while it is 15 bps for short periods of time, most of the time the feed rate varies greatly, you could test this by filling it up and letting it unload without the gun and you'll see what i mean. And for the price, 60$ it's a waste considering that a Vlocity is 120$ and if for some reason you would brake it, you could pay 40$ for another shell, which triumph doesn't have and you'd have to buy another one.
Oh, and about the design, doesn't help bouncing balls of the it at all, too hard the surface.
Conclusion: Maybe the best buy option out there, long battery life, very light weight, compact design

- Strike the above, if you're serious about paintball get a high end loader. It's a waste of time and money
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 6:35 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media