paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America ScrewN Air System / Air America ScrewN Air System / Air America ScrewN Air System

Air America ScrewN Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America ScrewN Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America ScrewN Air System
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Air America, the originator of high pressure air systems, is proud to offer ScrewN™ line of compact, lightweight, high flow air systems. All ScrewN™ air systems include safety features such as:

* HP threaded burst disks
* Quick purge channels
* No thread locking compounds (following the leading cylinder manufacturer's recommendations)

Available in High pressure (Red) (850psi), or Low pressure (Blue) (350psi).
Product Availability 
The Air America ScrewN Air System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jwong Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy Fiber 68/3K - better quality control?
Marker Setup: B2K4 PDS, AKA Sidewinder, Vapor Valve, AKA SCM 3, Chaos Max
2k3 BKO, Modified stock valve, Zenitram ASA, AKA MItey Max, Palmer Stabilizer, Micro-rock
Strengths: Price
Fast customer service (will explain)
Weaknesses: ? Quality control
3 Yr re-hydro
Review: There was a special on the tank so I picked one up in Sept 05. I filled it to 3k a few times and it seemed to work well. However, when I finally had a chance to fill it to 4.5K, the problems started.... basically, the downstream burst disk kept rupturing. Happened to 2 different burst disks. Fortunately, it didn't appear to have damaged my Sidewinder.

I had to send it into their service depot to have it fixed.... which was additional expense on my part.

The turn around time was very quick. The reg is different; no down stream burst disk... which makes me a little worried should the reg fail, my HPR may bear the full brunt of 4.5K.... unless there's a built-in fail safe mechanism.

However, the tank appears to have returned to me with thread-lock used to tighten the reg to the bottle.... contrary to what the description says.

I can't comment on the flow as I have yet to play a game with the tank.
---------------------
Update: May 28, 2006
After playing in a tourney, the flow of the reg appears to be able to keep up with 15 bps (ramping) and appears to be relatively consistent, or at least the inconsistencies can be filtered out by the Sidewinder. Rating has been revised to reflect this experience.
--------------------
Update Oct, 2007
Fill nipple started to leak. Apparently the fill nipple o-ring is not really an o-ring. The fill nipple threading is also ? metric thread so is not compatible with Pure Energy Fill nipples.
Conclusion: Quality control issues but quick turnaround for the fix. However, the reg now does NOT have a downstream burst disk.

Otherwise, the flow appears to be sufficient for most play.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 14th, 2007 at 7:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

svdspecialist Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just other CO2 tanks
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, ricochet hopper, Techt vortex mod, smart parts all american.-Ariakon overlord rx
Strengths: Carbon Fiber wrapped
high pressure
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I used the air america-45ci/4500psi tank with my highly upgraded smart parts ion. This tank lasts a long time, and is very durable. I recommend a empire battle glove cover.
Really great and dependable tank. Since it is Carbon fiber wrapped, you dont have to worry about being hurt by over pressurizition, or a puncture of the tank.
Conclusion: Shure its expensive, but worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

babustos Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
72/3000 PMI
Marker Setup: Blue Dangerous Power Fusion
Blue Egg 2
68/4500 Air America


Strengths: Lightweight
Great capacity
Consistant
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this tank for only $100, thats the only reason I bought it. It is MUCH lighter than my old aluminum, and it feels better while playing. Shots per fill are so immense, I'm getting nearly a case per fill with my Fusion. The regulator is fairly consistant, no problems with it. For the full price, I'd probably rather get a Crossfire or Macdev tank, but I got a great deal on this one.
Conclusion: For the price it isn't the best, but nonetheless it is a great tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_beast Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI pure energy steel tank - Heavier, smaller, more expensive.
Marker Setup: AGD tac-1 automag
Strengths: Cheap, Dirt cheap! High flow, quality name
Weaknesses: ? None truthfully
Review: I picked this up while it was on special for well over 100 dollars cheaper than any other air system I could find. I am really impressed. No problems, high flow, it is all good really. I appreciate it being a big name like air america and the price to quality ratio is really unmatched. I also don't know what the review below me is saying, considering I got this tank pretty early in the production and mine had two burst discs of correct pressure rating.
Conclusion: I didn't hesitate to buy it, and neither should you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

corbo Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
steely an air tank thats heavier and doesnt hold as much
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ cp reg, t-chip, jt 14" 2peice
Strengths: Good price, lighter*, good flow, easy to screw tank off reg.
Weaknesses: Not as light as some tanks
Review: I shoot a DM4, I have never run out of air with this, never had any problems. This tank was very inexpensive and i like that. It was easy to take the 68/4500 bottle off and screw a 45/4500 on to make it smaller. If you have the chance buy this air tank.
Conclusion: Buy it if you can.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ilford Rule Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 (no other air tanks)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
14" Lapco Bigshot
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Tippmann/SO Flat Top Sight Rail (attached to the offset)
NcSTAR D4B
BT Sealed Bolt System
68/45 HP
Strengths: Cheap
Works ok. EDIT: Really well.
Easy to remove reg.
Weaknesses: no LP burst disk
Review: It keeps up with a tippy just fine. The one thing I don't like is the fact that there is no LP burst disk. But that's not a major issue.

EDIT: Ok, so, I've had it for over a year now, and I'm not really impressed. Back when I got it, i was playing indoors mostly, where the limit was 250 fps. The tank worked acceptably.

Now that I'm playing outdoors, I've run into trouble. I can't seem to get the marker to fire over 260 fps, and the shootdown is terrible. I, along with others, have tried many solutions and we all believe we have narrowed the problem down to the tank. If i determine it is something else, I'll change the review again. It is now down from 7 to 5, as I think I have a lemon (noone has the same complaint).

EDIT 2: Well, I was wrong (thankfully). After some tinkering with my marker (earlier issues were cause by my macro/valve on the marker), I've got it shooting great with this tank. I plan to keep it as long as I can. Review is up to 8 now. Also because I've grown to appreciate the benefits of the easily removed reg.
Conclusion: Ill give it an 7, would be 9 if they put in the LP burst disk.
Not bad for a blowback, but not great. I think I'm going to switch to a crossfire.

EDIT: 5

EDIT 2: 8. I'm keeping this tank. It's great, and I highly recommend it if you can still find them. Great value and it works beautifully. It's not as consistent as some others, but it's recharge is great. I intend to put a Palmers direct on my marker to deal with the consistency (+/- 10-15), but that aside the tank is great.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 5th, 2008 at 2:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media