paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Half-Life Paintball Modification / Half-Life Paintball Modification / Half-Life Paintball Modification / Half-Life Paintball Modification

Half-Life Paintball Modification Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Half-Life Paintball Modification

Paintball Paintball Games

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Half-Life Paintball Modification
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here is information about this FREE mod from the makers:

This game is a modification (mod) of great multiplayer, first person shooter Half-Life. We are completely changing everything about the multiplayer aspect of it. We are working on giving the game a whole new type of feel, and providing the paintball fans a truly realistic experience.

We are planning on including several styles of game play as the mod develops, we also are including real paintball markers, hoppers, barrels, grenades, and anything else that is involved in the game of paintball.

For the first beta the game will be based around the "capture the flag" type game with elimination. You get marked (shot), you are out of the game 'till the round ends, just like real paintball matches. We are going to use the completely new VGUI provided by the new netcode, for the buy/selection system also.

The maps will include all new textures, and some will be based on real life fields from around the world. All markers will be real brands and will be tweaked to have the same firing rate, and shooting length of their perspective model, we plan on including everything from the low-end pump guns, to the fully automatic electronic markers.

We have to type of styles of game play planed out right now, one normal CTF, another is Team Elimination and the other is called Conquer, where you have to conquer the opposing teams base. We are working hard to implement as many features as we can before we release the first beta.

If you have any suggestions for the mod or would like to see anything else added, we are really open to suggestions and plan on adding features that you guys want to see, please go to the "suggestion" section of the forum and voice your ideas.

This mod is FREE, but you have to own Half-Life!
Product Availability 
The Half-Life Paintball Modification is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ClippersRchamps Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Counter-Strike
Marker Setup: JT 4.0, 14" Boomstick, 20oz tank amd 9v revvy.
Strengths: This game is fun fun fun! You get to virtually shoot all kinds of guns. I've shot most of the guns listed, and the action is almost alike. It's played on the internet with other players. If your poor this is your kind of paintball. Its a GAME!
Weaknesses: Its not real. Not enough servers support the game. Kinda lame playing a computer paintball game, I rather play the real thing. Sometimes not enough players. HEy its a game!
Conclusion: If you dont wanna play or dont have time to play real paintball then this the one for you. Paintball gets expensive and instead of playing pball on weekends, I find myself playing Paintball 1-2 a month, and the rest of the fill in spots with Half-Life Paintball cause its fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xLiLHockeyFreak Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Digital Paintball
Marker Setup: Upgraded Nasty Impulse
Strengths: Pretty fun paintball game for the PC
Weaknesses: Game play isn't that great
Review: Well this game is a decent game, at the time when Digital Paintball wasn't out, it was real fun, but now that DPB is out, this game is sort of out dated. They have a decent amount of markers, maps, etc, and it's a pretty fun game, but not better than Digital Paintball.
Conclusion: If you have Half-Life, go out and download this game and give it a try.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b_heald Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with upgrades
Strengths: Its got a wide virety of guns and fields
Weaknesses: too dark some times
Review: Its a fun game with lots of guns and fields to play on
its good to partice team play and work together to take a guy out
some times ppl just spray paint all over and u cant move it takes the fun out then
there ares so many differnt fields to play on you wont get bored
it includes everything from tight speed ball fields to woods ball to playing on a street
Conclusion: If u have half life get this its worth the download
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hipboyscott Wednesday, October 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Paintbrawl
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+ with remote, and usu. a 20oz CO2
Strengths: Its better than the ones you pay for, Paintbarawl 1 was doom with splats, and the latest online one still blows chunks.
Weaknesses: Its still not very realistic, I mean, if I could fire THAT MUCH with a 12gram PGP, why bother buy something with CA in the first place, ha ha ha...well, OK, not ha ha , more like, "um somethings wrong here"
Conclusion: I dont know if Half-Life is the best to use, although with such a large consumerbase, you probably will reach the most. My suggestion is to just tweak everything, and possibly get some more people to help with about everything, Its good, but just pull everything up a noch, and you might even become the DOD or CS of the paintball world, maybie get a licence deal and make a standalone too.

If you really are to try to make a serious paintball game, read my post at:
http://www.gamediscovery.com/ideas/
go to action, then select the Skirmish Paintball idea.

(while you'r there, try looking around some of the other stuff there, a lot is very interesting.)

Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnapCrackleP0p Tuesday, July 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme(ly horrible) Pintbrawl
Marker Setup: doesnt really matter for this but I got a Mag
Strengths: This is the sweetest paintball simulator out there, aside from the bunny hoppin (which keeps my butt alive hehe) Its great anf very time consuming caus you get so addicted you cant stop playing.
I love this, great guns, good mods, people are freindly!
Weaknesses: Maps get a lil old and there really isnt much to them, they just need a good mapper and theyd be set

I cant really think of anything else wrong with this, I love it! play it everyday
Conclusion: PLay it for a few days get good at it, dominate the fields. Its free, you really cant go wrong witht hat price, and to buy a paintbrawl is just stupid
I'm -[vId]-AuToMaG so if you decide to play this Ill be around =)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbwy Sunday, July 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
extreme paintbrawl (worst game ever)
Marker Setup: custom F/X micrococker w/ reflex trigger &68ci 5000 psi air america apocalypse tank & ricochet ak
Strengths: its a fun game, compared to alot of the other mods out there, its got a pretty good gun selection, and its alot better than any other paintball game ive ever played
Weaknesses: well, to start with, it needs alot more upgrades, choices for barrels, and choices for hoppers. and, what the hell is with the autococker? since when did the max rate of autocockers become 4 bps? my god,.the phantom is as fast as the cocker on this game. also, the bushmaster shoots way faster than the angel, and all the guns run on co2. i hope there is alot of fixes in the next version
Conclusion: in conclusion, its a fun game, that with a little work can become alot better, so, ill give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wobbles88 Wednesday, May 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing even comes close, maybe Counter-strike or Half Life since you need to have either one to play it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with two piece Mako Ultra Barrel, and some Dye Stickies, oh so slick, lol.
Strengths: Very fun, may get boring....but then it comes back somehow, I dont know why but it is really a thrill just to kill someone online with a mag. The guns are exactly like their counter-parts and you even hear the infamous ting of the PGP without co2, jeez its pretty good altogether.
Weaknesses: Sometimes....the hit detection can be quite bad , I mean cmon It a polished game except for this, oh and the full-autos are crap, if someone gets em, just leave, right away, lol.
Conclusion: Very good game...its freee...nuff said, stupid one hundred words, I laugh at thee, look for Matt-Payne-Ireland when playing, pretty good game all in all.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jero000 Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CS
DOD
CTF
FIREARMS
other half life mods
MOHAA
INFANTRY
other fps
Strengths: Well its a free game, thats the main one.
Fewer cheats than cs.
Fun for a while.
Bunny hopping... the only mod that still has it cept CTF (1.4 cs has removed bunny hopping! =()
Weaknesses: Lame sounds
Lame maps
the CO2 on the pgp can shoot 300+ rounds
Laggy
Few servers
Two cheat i know of... one is during the start time you can keep jumping in one direction and can gain lots of turf within the buying time, thus a huge advantage.
Another is a money cheat, that takes the fun outta of the game.
Conclusion: This is a free game and shouldnt be flamed, no one told you to download it, and its free. I heard that it is only the hobby of the creater of HLPB to make it and is creating the 1.4 Cs mod, which by the way sucks :P
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Counter-strike, Unreal tournament (if those can be similar to paintball !?!?!)
Marker Setup: PGP, Sterling STP Turbo, Autococker, and so many upgrades on them ( no i'm not rich, i had to sell my car, my house and so on to play paintball!!! ;) )
Strengths: This is paintball!!!
Paintball is so cool to play, this MOD is on th good way to make you feel as a paintball player!!
When will the new version correct all the bad things down there???
Weaknesses: Bunny jump on start of a game
Firing speed is not so realistic ( i shoot faster than this with my real sterling or cocker!!! in the game they're PGP speed!!!!! :(( )
LAGS!!!! (got DSL and play like a 14.4k modem!)
some minor bugs
Conclusion: This is a good beta version of paintball mod, we'll see on 1.0 release!!! i didn't played paintball for a year, and this game made me play again!!!

Try this! if you like it you'll love real paintball!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cs, dod, halflife, tfc, opera mod, wanted, practically every other halflife mod
Marker Setup: 2001 bruizer outlaw, 48 ci 3000psi, cp drop forward, dye sticky, 12" dye excel
Strengths: this game is sweet. very much like paintball. the guns are realistic and so are the upgrades. wide variety of guns to choose from. this is a great game if u paintball and like cs or other hl mods.
Weaknesses: the only bad is the maps is comes with suck so if u want to play all of the good speedball maps u gotta download them from the servers (5 min).
Conclusion: GREAT MOD! get this if ur stuck inside from paintball, its the next alternative. u can only play it if u have half-life, cs, or opposing force. get this mod!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media