paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail / Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail / Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail / Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail

Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The flattop rail is a 3/8"/.22 dovetail to 7/8" weaver adapter designed specifically for the Tippmann A-5. It has an extremely low profile allowing you to adapt nearly any weaver accessory to the top of your A-5.

The Flattop rail is one part of Special Ops' Complete Ergonomic Solution, which includes our Dogleg Stock line and our Stovepipe Hopper Offset.

Check out the product video for full details!

Technical Specs:
Material: Machined Aluminum
Attachment: Slides over A-5 Dovetail and Secures with Set Screws
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball A-5 FlatTop Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
LT.CDR.STINKY Saturday, September 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/WAS E-Grip
Flatline w/Trinity Ported Shroud
OpsGear MP5 Sliding Stock
OpsGear MP5 Mag
40mm Red Dot
Laser
SpecialOps A5 FlatTop Rail
Remote w/inline Palmer Regulator & Gauge on 20oz CO2
TacCap or APP T2 offset hopper
Strengths: Solid
Low Profile
Weaknesses: Can be tricky Installation
Review: Sights fit nicely on the rail. Doesn't really raise it by much so don't expect it to be too useful with a stock (except doglegs).

The material is solid and well made. Attaches with three small set screws. Allen key 5/64, which is not included in your A5 wrench set.

Covers almost your entire existing rail.

Installation requires the front sight to be taken out. Then the rail slides on your 3/8 from the front. Even with the front sight taken off it starts out at an angle and might be tight until it gets more parallel and slides more freely. A little oil on the rail worked real wonders. I went from scratching off a little of my A5 finish and getting stuck to easily sliding the rail on. Don't use too much oil cuz it'll keep oozing back out for a while.

Conclusion: Like the other guy says: Does what it's supposed to at a very reasonable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 16th, 2006 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KRASHARPSHOOTER Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Rail
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Dogleg Air-Thru Stock Kit
Special Ops 12" C-Series Barrel w/APEX tip
Special Ops Hopper Offset - Special Ops Flattop Rail
NcSTAR D4B Tactical 4-Reticle Red Dot Sight
Opsgear Remote Hose with Check Valve
Blackcell MOLLE Pod Pack - Blackcell 2+1 Pod Holder (x2)
Opsgear CO2/Compressed Air Tank Pouch
JT Pro Shield Spectra Mask
Strengths: Low Profile
Sturdy Construction
Weaknesses: You must remove the front sight and cyclone to install.
Review: This is yet another great product from Tippmann/Special Ops that has been missing for quite awhile. The Flattop Rail allows A-5 owners to mount any optics on their marker. I am using this rail to mount my NcSTAR Red Dot sight on my A-5. The quality of this rail is very nice because the entire rail is made of metal. The installation is very straight forward; just remove the Cyclone and front sight, slide the Flattop Rail on top the 3/8 inch rail and tighten the three set screws down. You will probably want to purchase either Tippmann's X7 Hopper or a Hopper Offset of some sort, so that your optics won't interfere with the A-5's standard hopper. I am using the Tippmann/Special Ops A-5 Stovepipe Hopper Offset, and have been having good results with it.

This rail is necessary if you want to mount a sight that requires the use of a picatinny rail. The NcSTAR Red Dot sight, which is what I use, requires the picatinny slots for the front screw to tighten the sight to the rail. If you're mounting a sight like the ADCO Sure Shot on an A-5 this rail isn't necessary. I had my ADCO Sure Shot mounted on my A-5 without this rail.
Conclusion: This rail is the best rail out there. You will not be disappointed. I give it 9 out of 10 because of the trick installation.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 30th, 2008 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kek Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Rails on A5 & 98
Opsgear M4 Raised Rail System
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, E-Grip, 12" PPS Brass Barrel, G36 Folding Stock, AK Mag, Trinity Military Shroud w/ Aim Point, Opsgear M4 Raised Rail System, Ricochet R5, Offset Adapter, Remote, 72/4500 HP.

Tippmann 98 Custom, 20" SP Tactical, Proteam F/X "Sniper" stock, HALO TSA LED Frontman, Remote, 48/3000 HPA
Strengths: Low Profile
Strength
Good Fit
Perfect quality finish
Weaknesses: Tricky installation
Set Screws
Review: I had the Specops Flattop Rail before getting my M4 Raised rail System. The Pro's en con's in a nutshell:

Low Profile: as you can see from the pic's, this rail is pretty small. It would be virtually impossible to be able to get hit on it. It won't raise your RedDot/Scope too much either, so this is a pretty important point

Strength: this is one of the most rigid pieces of paintball equipment I have ever laid my hands on. It is pure metal, you will never be able to break this one!

Good Fit: after installation, by screwing the set screws in pretty good, this thing sits rock solid.

Perfect quality finish: the rail looks just perfect, the finish is pretty close to perfection. I'll post some pics of my rail next week, they'll say it all

Tricky Installation: as the installation guide already said, the installation may vary from A5 to A5, but mine required the front sight and the cyclone to be put off. Not a big deal, but required just a little more time.

Set Screws: i've personally never been a fan of set screws, although they make the rail stay put at all times. I've used the rail for some months, and already now I can see the print of the screws in the marker's finish. To me this is the biggest problem, but probably also the trickiest to solve
Conclusion: Good rail, just a pity about the set screws but overall near to perfection.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 at 9:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snipeo101 Saturday, July 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5a2 spec ops dogled stock
flatline,
flattop
bsa red dot sight.

tippmann model 98
dye xcel 12"
Strengths: Vary nice hard construction,
Dose exactly what it says.
Vary small
Weaknesses: Have to take some stuff off, not a big deal,
Review: Special ops paintball has again created a peice of equipment that's is custom built for the Tippmann a5, a peice of equipment never made before,
A .22 or 3/8 dovetail to a 7/8 weaver sight mount.

Once again it dose exactly what it says.

Look at my pic its number 3 or something like that, its the tippmann a5a2 with dogleg and 30mm bsa red dot sight
Conclusion: A gear peice of equipment
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Snuggie Saturday, April 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
J&J 10" Ceramic Barrel
G36 Folding Stock (Modified)
RAP4 RAS Gas Through Mag
Sightmark SM13003B RDS
Strengths: -Well built
-Adds top mounting weaver rail
Weaknesses: -Hard to install
-Price (should be about $10-$12, not $15).
Review: The SpecialOps/Tippmann A-5 Flat Top Rail allows you to mount weaver based accessories on top of your marker such as scopes, red dot sights, lasers, and any other weaver mount based accessories. The rail covers most of the rails already on the A-5. The install was a little difficult requiring the removal of the Cyclone feed and front sight. I also had to lube the rules and use a wood and hammer to tap the rail into place as per the instructions included with the rail. The rail sits tightly atop my marker and I currently have a Sightmark SM13003B Red Dot Sight mounted on top of it. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Conclusion: The A-5 Flat Top rails adds weaver accessory mounting capability to the top of the A-5, it's a good product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foodstamp Thursday, January 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RAP4 A-5 Tri-Mount
Marker Setup: Marker: Tippmann A-5 Basic (stylized as an MP5 PDW)
Tippmann A-5 6 Inch Fluted SMG Barrel
Tippmann A-5 MP5 Gas Thru MAG
Tippmann A-5 Sliding Stock
Tippmann A-5 FlatTop Rail
Tippmann A-5 Tri-Mount
NcStar 1 x 25 Picatinny Red Dot Sight & 3/8” Dovetail Base
TacCap 50 Round Hopper
Spyder Remote Coil
Strengths: Simplistic in design
Low Profile
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: fit varies from one marker to another...
Set screws will scratch finish
Not always level
Review: At first I was very pleased with the FlatTop Rail by Tippmann. It solved a problem caused by my Rap4 A-5 Tri-Mount. The Tri-Mount was designed to fit onto a weaver rail which meant it wasn't even compatible with an A-5 regardless of the fact that A-5 was in it's name.

So I bought a FlatTop rail to connect the Rap4 A-5 Tri-Mount to my marker. The low profile design made this the perfect choice! The only drawback I noticed at first was that my Tri-Mount and scope had a slight tilt. This was caused by the FlatTop. You need to make sure it's level when tightened. This is a minor concern.

The first time I took my marker out with this setup, my scope and rails seemed nice and tight and they were. At some point thoughout the day, the set screws must have loosened a little which caused some wobble to occur. I didn't concern myself with this too much as I was under the impression that the FlatTop could not come off unless slid off towards the barrel which requires the removal of the cyclone feed and front sight. I was wrong. I was approached by someone from behind who informed my that my scope fell off! I wasn't even aware. I could have lost $200 worth of equipment.

Upon later examination, I found that the if the FlatTop is slid into certain positions on my marker and pulled on at just the right angle, it comes off with ease. In other positions it is stable. This incompatibility might have more to do with the shape and size of my markers own rail system rather than that of most A-5's as I have not heard of this problem before.
Conclusion: I recommend the product in general, but if you don't get a tight fit, make sure that there isn't too much play between the FlatTop and your marker and be sure to look for positions where it can come right off.

7 out of 10. If I didn't have to worry about it falling off, it would have given a 10 out of 10.

For $15 you have no reason not to try one out and see if the fit is good with your A-5. I hope yours fits better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Furby87 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, JJ Performance 16", coiled remote line, tasco red dot, special ops sight rail, super fly mark 2 forward bolt, red hot power tube, tapco A5 6 position stock,
Strengths: Low profile, perfict fit, cheep.
Weaknesses: Have to remove cyclone system and front sight.
Review: This is great to have if you only need the rail for a sight but if you plan on adding anything else you should get a shroud of some sort. The only thing I found wrong with it is you have to remove the cyclone housing and the forward sight to put it on, but its not a big deal. It is great because it has a low profile and I personaly like to have my sights as close to the barrel as possable. It is fairly cheep since its only 15 bucks where as a shroud is about 50 and up.
Conclusion: If you only want to mount a sight and looking for something cheep this is a good buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twin1q Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
flatline
collapsible stock
red/green dot

CCI Phantom
14" barrel thats been machined to accept freak inserts
L stock
Red dot
Spring kit
Strengths: Simple and its made some kind of metal. looks great on my a-5.
Weaknesses: You have to take of the cyclon feeder in order to get it on.
Review: Its exactly what I needed. I got this really nice red/green dot for my a-5 but it needed a 7/8" weaver and now it works. simple design and sturdy.
I was just messing around and decided to try putting it on my phantom. well, it had too much play and of course it was too long for my phantom. I'm was never planning to put it on my Phantom but just wanted to let you know that it doesn't fit on all markers perfectly. I guess it was only designed for the Tippmanns.
Conclusion: It took me 5 minute to put it on. (30 seconds read the directions and 4min. 30 sec. putting it on) So Read the instructions if you get confused.
Note** I tried to put it on my phantom and it has some play, so if your not going to put it on a tippmann then find the specs of your dovetail and see if its compatible.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media