paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator

PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Includes Evil Detonator Regulator! Handles 100 to 500 PSI outgoing pressure
# Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye
# Powered by CO2 or N2
# Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
# Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver
# Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye
# Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery
# Custom vertical bottle adapter, micro gauge
# 17+ shots per second capability
# Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty
Product Availability 
The PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
navillus Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older Piranhas, and various spyders, none of which compare to this.
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO Special Edition
14in J&J Ceramic Barrel
Extreme Rage Trigger
Halo TSA Backman Hopper
68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Get an Electro Hopper,
New Feedneck,
New Trigger is a must but there are really only two real choices:
Extreme Rage Trigger or BOSS Blade II trigger
Strengths: Flush Cocking
Fast
Quiet
Consistent
Accurate
CHEAP
EYES
Very Little Kick (for a blowback)
Weaknesses: Trigger
one mode of fire
Stock barrel sucks, but that is expected
Review: I bought this gun for $130!!! It was on sale, but I'm sure you can find it for $150. Anyways, this gun is very quiet compared to most blowback markers for a couple reasons, 1)Flush Cocking (no external moving parts), and 2) It is built for low pressure
(compared to other blowback guns) out of the box. With capabilities of 20+ BPS, it is a fast gun. The detonator reg, worth $50 alone is a huge improvement over any stock reg, and it greatly improves consistency, and air efficiency. With a new barrel, this gun is very accurate. The trigger is iffy, but PMI expects you to buy an aftermarket trigger, so they use a cheap one to keep their costs down. This gun has breakbeam eyes installed, something you rarely see on a blowback marker, which is great, you will almost never chop a ball. Out of the 4000 rounds I've already put through it, none chopped, at all. Finally, and most importantly, PMI has EXCELLENT customer service, if anything ever goes wrong, they can help, whether it can be fixed, or you need a new gun, PMI is there for you, and will most likely replace your gun free of charge. Not that you'll ever need to.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun for beginers, or a great backup for experienced players. PMI has really created a quality product here. I would recomend this gun for anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007 at 1:02 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Tea Party Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion


Marker Setup: -14" Smart Parts Teardrop
- Halo B/Rip V35 Board
- 68/3000 ACI Bulldog
- Detonator Regulator
- Boss Flush Cocking Bolt
- Custom Trigger
- Core Feedneck
- Psycho ballistics on/off drop
- Macro line

Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
Barrel
Feedneck
Works good on CO2 but a lot better on N2
Strengths: Capped at 20bps
Accurate
Light
Little kick
1300 shots 68/3000
Easy to walk
Looks
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Stock Feedneck won't fit Halo
Stock Trigger
Review: Wow this thing rips, I took it right out of the box and got it at 16bps (CO2). Now with the upgrades it can easily compete with an Ion, Wrath or any cheaper high end guns. I can shoot about 19bps with up's with little kick. This is the best gun out there for the money, I got mine for $129. The accuracy form this gun is amazing, people normal would assume it's ok since it's a blow back. I was shooting 75 feet at 18bps hitting a 5" target every time. Not to mention it's not a gas hog, and the eyes work great.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun to anyone who is looking for a fast tournament ready gun right out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 7:26 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Bilbabo Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syder Xtra (I think Spyders are Piranha clones now)
Tippmann Custom Pro (my bro wants EVO now)
Marker Setup: Black PMI Evo Special Edition w/ Detonator Reg (stock)
Proto 1 Piece Barrel
16oz C02
Gravity Zap loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
(In order from greatest to least)
Compressed Air
Electronic Hopper
Feedneck (Impulse/Ion threads)
Trigger


Strengths: Eyes
Detonator Regulator = Low Pressure Operation
LCD screen
Accurate barrel
Flush Cocking
Can use C02
Weaknesses: Long Feedneck
Only Semi-auto
Review: I end up buying this marker for $100 brand new! I'm saying wow! I open it up put a 9v battery in and gas it up. It's twice as quite as my spyder xtra. I shoot practice balls with my gravity feed hopper and I'm shooting around 7bps. The eyes were doing their job because i was walking at my max at 14bps with a gravity fed hopper, with no chops! The next week I took it to my local field and I play about ten games with no chops, barrel breaks, and leaks using both C02 and Nitro the whole day! The Detonator Regulator is very consistent and works great with C02 and Compressed Air. I ended up playing with this Ion kid who wanted to be in the same bunker I was in because he saw me shoot some serious ropes! This coming from an Ion person is quite impressive. From what i have heard this marker has an 80g microswitch pull which is 3 times lighter than Spyder Electros and is capped at around 20bps. The pull is softer than clicking your computer mouse!
Conclusion: Overall this marker is as good as an ion and uses C02! I have no clue why it's a Low-end gun because it competes with the big guns. Thank You for reading my review and hopefully this answers your questions. = )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tommyboy15 Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Piranha E-Force Core
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo SE
Evil Detonator
Boss Bolt
Boss Blade 2 Trigger
J&J 14" Full Tilt Ceramic
Halo TSA LED Frontman
Palmer's LP gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger- unless you play woodsball
gauge?- see review
Strengths: 20+ bps
LCD
Break-beam eyes
Dual-detents
Flush cocking
Weaknesses: Trigger
Flush cocking- see review
Review: After playing for about two years with a very basic piranha, i thought it was time to upgrade. I looked at a few of the less costly high end markers, including the Ion, but i decided to stick with PMI and something i could easily work on myself. And with all the great features the Evo has plus the Detonator reg? It was an easy choice. I got mine for $115 shipped on ebay. but on to the review....

At the same time i ordered the evo i ordered the Boss bolt and trigger, and ironically enough the parts shipped before the marker (big let down at the time!) plus i already had the teardrop barrel. first thing i did when the gun came was swap out the bolt, and put the teardrop on. so i've never even dry fired it with the stock bolt or barrel. I've used the e-force trigger before and i know its crap. but i didn't have time until the next day to swap that. It took me about a half hour, make sure you have a center-punch if you change triggers, i bent a small screwdriver trying to get the pin out. but anyway now the gun is just ripping with the new trigger. If you play speedball, don't even think about using the stock trigger, you know its crap. but for woodsball i would actually recommend using the stock trigger because its so sensitive its very easy to accidentaly fire it with a better trigger. I used really old pmi premiums n broke 1 ball out of about a 1000, n i don't even think i didn't cause it didn't look like the same color fill, i think i just took a good barrel hit. so the eyes work pretty good, although i have to say i think i have shot 2 balls a few times, not something i expected with dual ball detents. The flush cocking is not quite what i expected, the cocking rod does go back into the marker once it is cocked but it pops out with every shot, it might just be the boss bolt i dunno cause i never used the stock bolt. I do have a complaint with the regulator gauge though the Detonator reg has an output pressure of 100-500 psi but the gauge goes from 0-1500. thats a lot of extra gauge that you will never use or see the needle go too. so why does it go that high? i'd rather have a more accurate more appropriate gauge.
Conclusion: Overall the gun is awesome the features on it are some you may not see on other blowbacks for a long time to come. I'm very happy with my marker, and i'm sure you will be too. Get this marker with a new trigger, barrel, and a good hopper, and you are set to go rip it up. It will not disappoint! 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 8:41 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lmneozoo Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Pmi Evo Se
Evolution 2 (eggy 2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, feedneck
Strengths: Fast
easy to clean
pretty accurate stock barrel
Works good with co2
Cheap
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I just got this gun and man do i like it The bps is uncaped so if you can pull the trigger 20 times in a second then you can shoot that. It is pretty heavy but the capibilities of the marker make up for that. This is a good gun for a back up or for newbs. This gun is really easy to clean all you have to do is pop one pin out that holds the bolt and hammer.
Conclusion: All in al i would recommend to get this gun becasue of the price its only 130 at actionvillage if you are a neb or just want a decent gun at a low price then go with the evo se
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brettski71 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
kingman spyder pilot,
32 degrees icon e
Marker Setup: Piranha evo
evil det.. reg
20 oz C02
boss blade 2 trigger
14 inche knok out barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger.. and everything else is pretty good
Strengths: Eyes. (never failed me)
Speed
Price
Reg
Looks
Weaknesses: Only semi (not a big deal though)
Trigger
Review: well i got this gun a few months ago ive been using quit a bit, and it never chops.
Out of the box its great no big adjustments required... you might have to get a new trigger if you think 17 bps is'int fast enough for you.

lots of people say get an ion its way better. I dissagree.. its the same with a boss blade 2 trigger your evo will go just as fast as the ion.
Me personally i dont like the ion. But to each are on opinions
Conclusion: Get this marker its awsome for beginers and even people who are getting into serious paintballing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 and Piranha Evo
Empire Reloader II
PMI Pure Energy N2 72ci/3000psi
BT Apex Barrel
Empire 7 Piece barrel kit
NC Star Red Dot Site (for the MR1)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Electric hopper
Strengths: Fast Shooting
Quiet
Good on air
Price
Anti Chop Eye
Weaknesses: Semi only- but not a big deal
Feedneck too small
Review: I just got this as my speedball gun and I am impressed with it for the money. They selling them pretty inexpensively right now I paid $117 shipped. For that price you get anti chop eyes, Evil detonator regulator for low pressure operation, 17bps rate of fire with a 21bps trigger cycle rate. I took it out to play the other day and it worked nicely. No chops at all so the combo of the anti chop eye and electric hopper worked nicely. The trigger pull is nice and short and walking it was pretty easy. I didn't feel out gunned on the airball filed like I do with my mechanical MR1. If I need to lay down some paint it does it without hesitation. Accuracy was fairly good. I am still breaking in the regulator so I can't comment yet on the consistency in velocity. Since its LP its pretty quiet. Its not the quietest gun on the field but its pretty quiet regardless. The only issues have with it is the lack of ramping or fire modes but for $117 I can't complain and since most fields and tourneys don't allow auto or ramping, so its not really a big deal. Plus you can walk the trigger faster than most auto fire modes on other guns anyway. The other issue is the feedneck which is too small so you have to sand down your hopper to fit or get a new feedneck. Other than that the marker is awesome.
Conclusion: If you're on a budget and you want a great tourney marker with the features of alot of higher end markers. This one is a bargain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kster Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Low end Mechanical Spyders
Marker Setup: PMI Special Edition Evo 06-Blue/Black
-14 in. Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
-Shocktech Superfly Silver Tipped Bolt
-Shocktech Piranha Clamping Feedneck
-eVolution II Loader
-CO 2 (The nearest field is 50 miles)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Easy to Use
Low Pressure
Quiet
Regulator
Weaknesses: Heavy
Eyes Don't work as well as expected
Review: This was my first marker, and I did a lot of research before I bought it. I wanted an electro that I thought wouldn't be overly complicated. I got it for about $160, this I found out later that I paid $30 more then what I had to, which is irrelevant to how much I like this gun. The first time I pulled the trigger I was amazed at how light the pull was compared to my friends Sonix. We played woods ball for a couple hours and the Evo performed perfect. The cleaning was a breeze too.

Good
The Evil regulator is great. I can't imagine buying a gun now without a regulator. The selections of springs that come standard are also pretty nice to have. I've changed and played with those two things to make it run as good as I can. Having a flush cocking bolt is also sweet; it just improves the overall appearance of the marker.

Ok
The eyes work, but it feels like its runs like a slow computer. With out the eyes on and a fast hopper I wouldn't worry bout getting out shot around my area, but with the eyes on it seems that it runs a signal by telegraph to London and back to make sure there is a ball ready to fire. I use the Eyes when I use the VL-200, but now that I have the Egg the eyes stay off. A new feed neck is a must if you want to keep your loader attached. The stock was too small for my Egg. The little very sensitive buttons on the side for safety and eye action are sometimes a pain. It takes me a couple checks to make sure I haven't accidentally hit one of them. The stock barrel is actually ok from what I've been around. Definitely able to be beat by some after market barrel, but ok if youíre budgeting.

Bad
It took a month and a half but finally I had to rip off the tattered grips, shave them down with a razor blade, and super glue them back on. I see no point in spending more money on some small pieces of rubber when I can do it myself. The velocity adjuster in the back has also become a pain. The little Allen wrench that is meant to lock it in place striped out after 2 times of use. It was my fault for putting that much force on it, but I was frustrated because it just kept coming out. I replaced my bolt because when the eyes malfunctioned or some reason I donít understand the bolt wouldnít recock and then not break the ball. It would just pinch it and jam. I think it has to do with the pressure or something, because it only did it when it was below 200 PSI. So I got a Shocktech because the gun is already heavy, I wanted to reduce friction, and I just didnít trust a flying piece of aluminum. Did I mention this thing is fairly heavy too?

Technical Details
I set my PSI to 250, and I have the medium spring in as of now. I've set it this way for conservation of gas and an arc that I found to work the best. The velocity adjuster is set most of the way in so that it won't come loose.
Conclusion: For my first gun I couldn't be much happier with the money I spent. For what I do it works great. So I guess I agree with all the others, if youíre looking for a first time gun, or a backup, the Evo should be a gun you would look at.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KingmanSpyderII Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Pirahana Guns
Marker Setup: Pirahana Evo PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator.
Evlution ll
68/3000
12inch barrel


Spyder Victor 2
Viewloader Quantum
47/3000


Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger (PMI triggers and funky feeling)
New barrel (at least a 12inch)
Feed Neck (Funny sized feedneck)
Strengths: Strong gun wont break easily
Flush Cocking system (makes it quieter)
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: Small Feedneck (wont fit halo or Evlution ll)
Strange Trigger
Long battery charge time.
Review: I bought this gun for only 129$ And it came ready to shoot out of the box. When I first tried to turn it on it wouldn't work. I read the manual and it said the gun needed to be charged for 22 hours! But you can also put a 9v in if you want to use it right away. Once it was ready to go I brought it to a indoor field. I was worried that the battery would not last that long but I put a case of paint through it a it worked great. Very fast. The reg takes a few cases of paint to get working right.
Conclusion: Good Gun and cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jessopher Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot acs
Bob long defiant
Shocker turbo sport
Marker Setup: custom 03' autococker
freak barrel
shockech bolt and front end
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
barrel
Strengths: Shoots fast
Consistant
Low pressure
Good looks
Weaknesses: Stock only the feedneck
Review: I just got the piranha evo se in black and I must say that this is a very nice gun. Out of the box it was pretty much set up as much as I could want it to be. Most complaints are about the tiny and high feedneck but my revolution 12 actually fit quite nicely in it. I will be getting a new feedneck nevertheless to fit the new egg I will be getting because this thing easily outshoots my old-school revey. I actually like the trigger alot because it is very light and fits my big fingers well whenever I am snapshooting. There is a very slight kick when shooting this gun but it is not bad enough to throw off your shots and it also bounces the trigger a bit so sometimes you will launch off two balls with seemingly one pull. There really is not much to fault on this gun. You can upgrade many things on it but it is not necessary to be competitive. I also like that it comes with a rechargeable 9volt battery; that way if it does go dead you can simply switch it out with a 9volt from your gearbag.
Conclusion: I bought this gun for $100. It is still considered a low-end gun but for the performance you get out of it one would be hard pressed to find a better gun in this range. It has many features like eyes and the detonator that puts it above the rest. Don't even look at a spyder over this one unless it is a vs2.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media