paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame / ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame / ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame / ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame

ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame

Paintball Ion Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ANS Ion complete upgrade kit includes the ANS Razor Ion Body, 90 degree trigger frame, Roller Trigger, and QEV. This kit is easily installed and will turn any ordinary Ion marker into a new gun. This item is very easy to install and will work with all Ion markers.

Features

QEV filters out dirt and debris while allowing the marker to cycle faster
Razor body gives the marker a new and unique look
The trigger is much more cumfortable than stock and allows for higher rates of fire
The 90 degree trigger frame fits cumfortably in any size hand
Product Availability 
The ANS Ion QEV, Trigger, Body, Frame is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Saiven Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock frame,SP QEV, SP Titanium Body kit, NDZ trigger.
Marker Setup: 2k6 Ion, NDZ Trigger, Shocktech Lg. Drop., Max-flo Micro with SP 68/4500, Shocker Reg, Blackheart, FIrebolt, SP QEV, Q-Lock, Silver Body kit, Lucky Blackout kit, 06 Freak and AA back with dust silver 14" & 16" AA fronts, Silver halo V35, Gray Empire bottle glove.
Strengths: Cheap...
Weaknesses: Cheap craftsmanship...
Review: 1. I asked for it, a silver to black fade. See setup for why. It's heavy. It's taller, wider, and longer than the stock body kits. The silver was great, the black was purple. The only parts that passed for black were the back plastic cap on the body kit, and the black trigger that came with it.

2. NDZ blade trigger will not work with the frame. It fits in, but simply does not move. Replaced with ANS trigger. Too much side to side movement in the ANS wave for me to appreciate it.

3. Board - goes in great, except the battery is loose and will rattle around unless you add foam.

4. Grips - don't want to fit at first. Tried my stock, silver and pro-touches from SP - all previously broken in for about 6 months. All gave me grief.

5. Breech into Body - Doesn't quite come flush with stock breech up front. I can also see my detents. Note to designers, make sure eyes and detents are protected when designing cut through body, please.

6. Blackout screw kit - only works with the grips. The body to frame screws have to be the ones provided from ANS. Back to using their stuff, again.

7. Reg - added extra o-rings to have the adjustable 90 on the reg be directly inline with trigger frame.

8. QEV - Didn't even bother.

9. Attempted contacting customer service at ANS about the frame/body. I only got to the point about the color when the guy argued about what color I was seeing. I have 20/20 with full color vision. I'm sorry, real black doesn't look black under special lighting. The stock frame from SP looks black in ANY lighting. Thanks for trying to help me. They only helped my frustrations. Note to customer service, let the customer tell you what they see, don't tell them what they see. Customer just might write a review about your product.
Conclusion: Fully assembled, it weighs more than my Tippmann! It's bigger, wider, longer, taller, most things don't match up, customer service didn't care to meet my needs, and after all that, I just wanna use it for target practice. Get a Punisher's frame instead. Note, I am only saying there is a color problem with the silver to black fade. I have not seen their other fades.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renegadeBaller Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Frame and Body
Marker Setup: Ion
ANS Blue to Black Frame and Body
Virtue Board and LAser Eyes
CP Roller Trigger
Eclipse On Off
CP Reg
Orange Dentens
Freadk 14" Barrel Kit
Shocteck Bolt
Hybrid Grips
Smart PArts QEV
Strengths: Looks
Quality Milling
Comfort
Weaknesses: Had to be Modified read review
Review: Okay SO i orded this Body Kit and Grip frame from ANS. When i got it it was packaged beatifully is shaped foam. I took it out for an inspection the Anno was perfect the blue to black was simply breathtaking the milling on the body and frame where AMAZING.. of course it also came with a QEV and Trigger.. I herd alot of bad news about this trigger so i took it out(see below).. So for looks and quality this thing has got me amazing

Looks and Quality 10 /10

When it came time to mount this thing.. Problems occured i have a Virtue board and it took a little bit of work with a dremel tool to get it to fit right.. About 10 minutes of test fitting and then adjusting with the dremel once that was done it was smooth sailing... It went together very well and had no problems after that.

Ease of Assembly 8.5/10

Now came time to play with the new grip frame and body.. And lemmie tell you this it is the most comfortable frame i have held EVER. It balalnces the gun perfectally in your hand. And since this Frame is Bigger then Stock you have a bigger finger opening making it even easier to walk on the trigger.. Amazing grip frame Very comfortable very pleased with it

Comfort and Playability (new word YES) 10 /10

Now as of that trigger I herd alot of bad thing about this trigger.. As for looks its like the rest of ANS' products beatifull fullied radiasued beatifully annoed.. As for performeance i built another ION from Spares and threw this trigger in.. It does have side to side play but it can be easilly elimitnated buy adding a few washer bewteen the trigger and frame.. Yeah its a great trigger though comfortable fast soo i dont see what people are complaning its a free trigger and its good

As for the QEV its also in my Spare ION no problems thus far very good QEV reliable works good doesnt leak what more do you want..

Extras 9/10

Conclusion: This is a great Frame and Body and it comes with great extras for a reasonable price. Yeah you have to modifife it a little with a dremel but it is well worth it.. You Marker will look spectacular and have everyone aweing and ooing at the field.. My hat goes off to ANS for a great product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dtx01 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Body/Grip
Marker Setup: ANS Body (Olive to Black Fade)
ANS GripFrame (Olive to Black Fade)
Blackheart Board
Virtue Laser Eyes
Freak 14" Front
All American Back
Smart Parts 360 QEV
Unicorn Orange Bolt
Check It On/Off ASA
Check It Drop Forward
CP Short Regulator
NDZ Detents
CP Blade Trigger
Dye 3 Grip
Q-Lock Feedneck
Pure Energy 88/4500 Carbon Fiber Nitro Tank
Evolution 2 Hopper
Strengths: Looks Great, Feels Sturdy, Unique
Weaknesses: Trigger that comes with it is stiff for my playstyle.
Slighty Heavier.
Review: I recently received my ANS Grip Frame and Body in the mail with the Olive to Black fade. I think they are both awesome. They look great and feel good as well. The Grip area itself is a little larger for us players with bigger hands but it made it a little harder to fit my dye sticky grip onto. The trigger area itself is a little bigger too. The frame is heavier compared to the stock ion body and a bit larger overall.

Here is my detailed review on my experience. I had many aftermarket parts so I had to install them onto my new setup. It was a huge pain to get the trigger pin out so I could install my CP Blade trigger. The package from ANS-ION.com includes A Body, Grip Frame, QEV and trigger for $199.95 with free shipping. The trigger felt very stiff and had a magnet in it. I really didnít care for it; With my play style I like a very light trigger that you can roll easily. I slightly scratched the frame from beating the hell out of it to get the trigger pin out. After all my efforts I was unsuccessful and had to run to my local paintball shop and they had popped it out after using the right tools but it took the man roughly 3 minutes of pounding, that pin was really wedged in there. After installing the trigger I noticed a clank sound inside my frame after time I hit the trigger. The base part of the CP Blade trigger was banging against the inside of the frame even though there was a rubber stopper inside to try to prevent that. They just didnít match up well. That was easily fixed with a small strip on electrical tape on the area in the inside of the frame where it was hitting. That problem was fixed.

My only other annoyance was quiet interesting. After putting the Dye sticky grip on, then screwing in the 4 screws, I turned my gun on and hit the trigger then the gun instantly shut off. At first I thought it may be the battery so I changed it to a new Duracell and it still kept shutting off after I pulled the trigger once. I did some investigating and found out that the top screws on the grip (when all the way screwed in) touches 2 silver pins on my blackheart board that which had copper wire coiled around it. It actually frigginí shorts out my blackheart board and it powers off. Poor design from ANS OR too long screws that came with my Dye Grip; I donít really know what the deal with that is but I knew it could be fixed. So I busted out a saw and shortened that screw so it wouldnít end up connecting with the board and shorting it out. You could just not screw in the screw all the way so it doesnít hit the pin but then your grip would not be tight and you could possibly get debris inside your gun, thatís why I suggest if you have this problem to find a shorter screw or make it shorter yourself.

Other then those 2 small issues the grip frame and body is great. I just ran into some small MINOR issues. Donít let these deter you from getting the frame. It is slightly expensive. Together the Frame/Body/Trigger/QEV package cost = $199.95 vs. $180 for a new ION but I needed a new frame b/c I stripped the banjo fitting threads on my old frame so I got something a little different.

ANS also sells a ANS Ion Complete Gun that comes with the Body/Frame, a QEV and a Trigger for $349.95 which is cheaper then buying the two separate. ANS-ION.com also offers free shipping on these items as well.
Conclusion: Great Product. Unique looks. Larger Trigger Area.

Free shipping from ANS-ION.com
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 11:13 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

daGeest Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NDZ body kit, SP 360 QEV, CP trigger
Marker Setup: Ion with ups...only stock items left are the bolts to attach...oh wait, I got some new ones with this frame.

And yes, I have a tank cover (what weenie puts that in their setup anyway??)
Strengths: Looks slick
90 degree grip
Weaknesses: Size/Weight
Review: (Copied almost verbatim from my frame review)

I am a front player. For over a year and a half I have been tweaking my Ion with only two strategies in mind: lighter and smaller.

I ordered this frame because the more I thought about it, the more I realized how "well, DUH!" the concept of a 90 degree grip on a short setup marker would be. Just put your hands up and pretend you are aiming a marker. First, hold your "shooting" hand at 45 and then again at 90. As I said, "well, DUH!"

Anyway, I get the frame and I notice it came packaged with the body kit as well. At first I thought I had gotten a present and was already deciding what I was going to spend my money on when I sold it. Then, I lined up my NDZ body kit. Wow...like 1.5 - 2 inches shorter. Same with stock body kit. I have limited exposure to body kits, but it seems to me that many would not work with this. Well...don't get me wrong, you can get them together, but it is obnixiously obvious that they don't really fit. You have a size 2 body kit on a size 13 frame.

My NDZ breech and chamber lined up without issue. I didn't bother with my CP trigger because I had read the horror stories and ANS was kickasscool enough to ship me a silver trigger. Everything else (no, the battery rattling is not an issue, its aftermarket for crying out loud...everything else-board, 360QEV, etc- went in without **real** issue) except the grips was fine. The grips (two different styles of Hybrids and the stock) can be a real, real pain in the wazoo.

So, I am torn on how to rate this. It is well made, packaged well and from a good company. They even went out of their way to swap out the trigger that came with it with another color. Very cool company, no doubt.

That being said, I really do not get at all the philosophy behind this design. It truly seems that the frame and body have two extra inches at the back for absolutely no reason at all. It is massive. I am not exagerating. Put it up to a stock frame and you would seriously wonder if it is for the same model of marker.

But, this is my preference and dependant on my style of play, neither of which is at all ANS's fault. So, I will rate this an 8 because it does what it says. Normally, this would be a 7 in my book (no I do not belive good = 10, sorry) but ANS is such a top notch company that I feel bad for dragging down the rating any more.
Conclusion: If you aren't overly anal on size/weight, this is a slick frame/body and the 90 handle is just the bee's knees. However, if weight and profile matter to you at all, this may not be the setup for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

raschelar Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock frame, body
Marker Setup: ion
cp reg
cp trigger
ans body and frame
raider board
freak barrel
Strengths: Looks
feel
Weaknesses: weight
FIT!!!!
after market parts
Review: THE GOOD:::
1) all metal
2) nice clean milling and anodizing
3) very comfortable when in your hands, i actually got 1bps more when testing on chronograph

THE BAD:::
1) it does weigh a small amount more than the stock body, but given that the stock body is plastic, most bodies will weigh more anyway
2) if you already haven't figured it out by now, these kits have a hard time coming together when you put all your parts in. i have also come to find out that BOTH CP AND N/D TRIGGERS WONT WORK IN THE FRAME. I have both triggers and I tried to put both of them in and all i was left with was a trigger that wont move, so ans forces me to use their parts
3) As with about half after market parts, it never comes together perfectly the first time. not the biggest of deals but it means a lot if the company really measures twice and cuts once because putting the frame together was frustrating!!
4) internals exposed through the frame

THE NEUTRAL::::
1) the rear frame screw is a different size Alan wrench so is just annoying.
2) your entire gun will be bigger, but only slightly. 1/2 in taller over all, 1/6 wider on the body, 1/4 in wider on the frame

On the field it holds up decently. the weight doest bother me, lots of people ask about it (kinda cool...i guess) . my biggest gripe against the kit is that it could of been so much better if ans just put a little more time into crafting it. oh well.
Conclusion: Unless you have your heart really set on this frame, i wouldn't suggest getting it. im pretty sure that in a few months someone else will come out with a real 90 frame that hopefully wont be discontinued : ) don't get me wrong, its a good body kit but its not the best, so why settle?
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 20th, 2007 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oldschool74 Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Ion body
Marker Setup: Automag ULE w/
Dye Boomstick
Level 10 valve
ultra light trigger
polished blade trigger frame

Minimag
Level 7
ultra light trigger
level 10 upgrade kit
polished Y grip

Smart parts Ion
NDZ breach (cocker threads)
ANS body and frame
QEV
TechT L6 bolt
Shocktech body kit
w/ clamping feed neck
element v2 grip frame
Strengths: -Best finish in dust blue to black fade
-Very strong construction
- upgrades in one package
Weaknesses: Some sharp corners left in the milling
Rather thick in places its not necessary
Review: I purchased this kit as a factory installed option when purchasing an Ion from ANS, and it came installed on the marker instead of the stock body and frame at a small savings as opposed to a separate sale. This means that I do not have a stock body or frame if I want to switch back.
The body is a solid peice of aluminum with a great anodizing job done to it in your choose of over a dozen options. The body I have( the only one I can comment on) had some very sharp corners on the side cutouts milled into it and is a bit heavy for my tastes but will certainly withstand considerable abuse if that is your style of play.
The grip frame also is finished in a top notch anodizing job to match the body, and is also built rock solid. My preference for the 85 degree frame is for the ease of rapid fire on the factory install trigger, which is very nice but is a little loose with some minor side play. After some play time I was not as happy with the "feel" of the hand grip area, its very square with very little contouring to the back of the grip where your hand wraps around the most. Also, and this is just me but...,I found that the back of the grip extends to the back of the body and looks great but if a smaller body is installed the grip sticks out too far so be sure you think of this if you order a second body to go on the frame.
Conclusion: I think that this is a great kit for your first upgrade and is much stronger than stock, but it has some minor draw backs, if you are looking for more than just good looks. Most of my dislike could be solved with a metal file and some time but then i could kiss that great anodizing good bye.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PLANETeclipsEGO Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ION
Shocker
ANS GX-3 auto cocker
EPIC ice marker (only tested)
Marker Setup: ANS ION
-CP c. feedneck
-ANS roller trigger
-CP drop
-SP freak kit
-ANS frame
-ANS "Cage" body
-CP reg.
-Virtue Board w/ upgraded eyes
Strengths: Everything is good (if you have all of my upgrades)
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: This gun is the best varient of the ION every set into production. If you are willing to upgrade it even more then get every upgrade that I have listed for my setup. You'll be a match for dudes w/ EGO's. GET IT.


no gun is perfect; so I'll give it an 8 out of 10
Conclusion: This gun is totally worth the money. Make sure to get some upgrades to make it even better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

540iRob Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Body & Frame
Marker Setup: Ion Pro - Olive
TechT L6 bolt
Smart Parts 360 QEV
Freak
Halo B with Victory Board
Strengths: Excellent craftmanship, and painting. Two tone jobs fade beautifully.
Weaknesses: 1 inch longer and taller than stock. Metal trigger bangs against metal frame (loud)
Review: I bought this body, frame, and trigger to go on and match my Olive Ion and Olive Freek barrel. It was ordered in the olive to black fade color. The first thing to note is that the olive color from ANS is no where in the ballpark of olive on a freek barrel or olive in camoflague, it is really gold. Second the picture of it on the ANS website has a dust colored olive trigger, but it shipped with a gloss black trigger. The trigger is a roller trigger but there is still a significant amount of lateral movement in it. (nothing new here). Next, the body and frame is about an inch longer than stock so you have to be very careful when aligning the holes in the firing can to the holes in the body to the holes in the frame. I would never want my marker to me a larger target than it can actually be. In addition this is not a bolt out back body. In my opinion all upgraded bodies should allow you to pull the bolt out without completely unassembling the marker. Of course from the website pictures there is no way to tell this or any descriptions about it. The 90 degree frame is neat but doesn't make that much difference other than the stock grips don't fit. Finally the holes in it down the side look great but I can imagine in practice you will get a large amount of dirt and paint in there and will end up completely taking apart the marker after each outing to get it clean. Ops, one more thing, the stock ion regulator just doesn't look right on this body and you really need to get a CP reg to keep it clean looking.
Conclusion: In all if I had bought new grips, a after marker regulator, and wasn't trying to match smart parts olive with ANS olive I would have enjoyed the product. Recommendation to ANS is to make a solid body with a bolt out back and try and get the industry to standardize the color olive (I can dream can't I). Cheers!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media