paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel 1 / WDP Angel 1 / WDP Angel 1 / WDP Angel 1

WDP Angel 1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel 1

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel 1
[ View Photos (25) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Visible break-beam anti-chop eyes The Angel 1�s main pneumatic advancements have been made possible by the deletion of the rechargeable battery, allowing the Angel development team to completely re-zone the Angels classic 3-bore design in to a unique hybrid chamber operating system.

The front third of the 2 lower bores have been merged in to 1 chamber, to increase the volume of gas held in the exhaust valve chamber by 65%, which significantly lowers the pressure of gas used to propel the paintball, whilst substantially improving shot to shot consistency and accuracy.

The LPR has been fully re-designed and relocated from the front to the back of the main body. The LPR chamber is 80% larger and now sits directly beneath the Angel 1�s all new custom made 3volt solenoid, to allow direct air injection of the low pressure gas into the solenoid itself.

The custom solenoid then feeds this low pressure gas directly into the Angel 1�s super smooth ram, deleting the use of gas galleries and avoiding the use of small bore hoses, that restrict the flow of gas between the LPR, Solenoid and Ram.

These 3 core advancements in layout and design deliver, sub 200 psi shot pressure, faster recharge rates and an ultra consistent cycle pressure of 55psi.

The Angel 1�s electronic control system has been re-designed to maximize its performance advantages, whilst offering the most user friendly navigation system available on any paintball marker to date. The new Angel board is packed with more features and adjustability than any aftermarket offerings, whilst it�s intuitive blackberry style navigation system and multi coloured, crystal clear OLED display, make it incredibly easy to operate. In addition to semi auto, full auto and all major tournament modes , the Angel 1 comes with a host of user programmable ramp and breakout modes as well as a self diagnostic system that ensures you are always kept informed. The board also features a USB port, for easy at home software upgrades to conveniently keep your Angel 1 current with any software changes or updates.

These major pneumatic and electronic changes combined with Angels legendary build quality and an array of parts included as standard such as clamping feed neck, centrally ported easy bleed ASA, 3 bore size 2 piece barrel kit, 3 finger 45 frame with integrated mounting rail and comprehensive tool kit, sets the new benchmark for today�s high end tournament ready paintball markers.

Ergonomics:
Size & Weight
The Angel 1 is just 7.2 Inches (183mm) Long and 8.6 Inches (219mm) high, giving it the smallest profile of any high end marker available.

The Angel 1 weighs 35 oz (990g) including battery/ASA/Regulator
and 38.8oz (1100g) with it�s Feather-Lite 2 piece step bore ported barrel.

FEATURES:
� Lightened hammer and bolt, allowing for a lower pressure operation and a smaller cycling mass to reduce kick.
3d sculptured fore grip.
Light weight 17.8mm narrow grip frame with integrated dovetail mounting rail and triple finger guard
� Friction-free micro-bearing break-beam magnetic trigger with four points of easy adjustment:
� Forward stroke
� Back stroke
� Return strength
� Activation point
Electrinonics
� User friendly interface electronics with Blackberry style navigation system
� Super bright dual-colour Organic LED (OLED) display
� Break-beam anti-chop Laser eyes that can be replaced individually
350,000 shots from a STANDARD 9v battery.
USB2 programming port
Shot% filtering
Separate MROF eyes on and eyes of
Anti bolt stick
Alarm/game timer
Tournament ready presets NPPL, Millennium, CFOA, PSP
Custom modes Ramp + Breakout
Unlimited semi auto
Full auto
Mechanical de Bounce filter

Also included as Standard
� low profile, Low force, centrally ported ASA on/off adaptor with auto gas bleed and integrated dovetail mount
� Quick-release clamping low rise feed tube
� Three piece light weight, 14" Angel barrel kit
� 0.691"
� 0.693"
� 0.695"
� 0.700" Barrel tip
Tool kit and spares box
Unsurpassed Angel build quality and reliability.
New user friendly interface electronics with scroll wheel
Super bright organic LED display
Micro bearing trigger with four points of easy adjustment:
Forward stroke
Back stroke
Return strength
Activation point
Low force ASA adaptor with auto gas bleed and integrated dovetail mount (attached to gun)
Clamp arm low rise feed tube
Three piece barrel kit:
0.691"
0.693"
0.695"
0.700" Barrel tip
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel 1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
shadowhound77 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested50 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ego,PMR,VS3,Ion,DM6,DM7,Ego7,The Gat and a couple others.
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3 (back up marker)
68/45 Crossfire
Halo with V35 board

05 Ego
Vlocity
Virtue board
Lucky 15 barrel kit
Max Flo 68ci 5000psi Evil Scion
Star frame
New Designz roller trigger

07 Proto Matrix Rail
Lucky 15 barrel kit
Proto on/off ASA
Virtue Board
Violent Series Trigger
New Designz Proto Rail Back Cap
New Designz Frame
68/45 Crossfire
Halo with V35 board and Speed Feed

Angel 1
68/4500 LP DraXxuS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Looks Great
Technology
Ease of Maintenance
Weaknesses: Barrels (Too big bores.)
Modes (I'll explain)
Requires an LP tank
Review: Well I ordered my Red to Black A1 from www.fixmyangel.com a MT website and it came to me with a help kit or a Guage set. I used the A1 for the 1st time today (date is above on the post).

Accuracy
You really cannot rate a gun on its accuracy as it will change depending on your paint to bore match. The gun comes with a bore kit but the bores are for European sized paint wich is just a little bigger than the sizes in America. WDP did release a barrel kit for the A1 though.

Stock - .691, 693 and 695 with a 14 inch tip.
Upgrade - .683, 685 and 587 with a 16 inch tip.


Speed
Most guns today will shoot well over 20bps but with tournaments limiting people to 15bps does it really matter. Over a bps counter I was easily hitting about 14 and I haven't tuned the trigger for myself yet.

Size and Weight
Its tiny and for an Angel it is ridiculously light.

Technology
This marker is insane. First of all it does not use little lights to control it, you have an OLED display screen which tell you everything about the gun very easily. There is a USB plug in the board that will allow you to upgrade the gun whenever WDP releases an update for it. The board is so programmable that you will never need an upgrade board. You are able to change the amount the gun ramps, the speed you have to mantain to start the ramp and the speed you have to mantain to drop out from the ramp. The trigger is very changeable, all you have to do is put in an allen key and change the way the trigger is placed.


Maintenance
Very simple all you have to do is open the roto breach and clean it and the barrel. You need to lube the bolt with the supplied love juice. That's all you need to do.

Looks
Its an ANGEL. In one word: PHENOMENAL


Bad Parts
Make sure that you have the Generation 2 parts. Make sure that you match the paint type well on the modes eg. Fragile, Medium and Hard. Make sure all of these are in the right place and then you will have perfect marker. Of course since its an Angel, you will always have people to use your marker. Requires a Low Pressure Tank.
Conclusion: End of the day this is a great marker that shoots well with minor tweaking, but because the marker is a little difficult to tune and the barrels are a wee bit big in bore size I have to take 1 point away and since nothing is perfect, but this is damn close, I would give it an 8.5, but I'll round it up. Please rate this review and I will update it after I have used it a little more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Darrel001 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested31 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker, wdp markers, AKA markers, Matrix, DM's, shockers, a whole lot of other markers
Marker Setup: 2004 Featherlite Viking
DM4 w/ EVOLVE BOLT, AKA 2-LITER,
SPEED05 W/ CP ASA ADAPTOR, AKA2-LITER
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the mini-reg. I thought that HP would work well but ended up using LP for testing. With HP I experienced high velocity and inconsistancy.
Strengths: Nice balance, Better trigger adjustability,nice OLED display
Weaknesses: Some bugs/defects experienced - see below.
Review: To say the least, I was really excited about trying this marker. Since I knew the owner of the shop, I said that if he allowed me to test the marker for a day and I liked it I would buy it before the end of the day. I made sure to take care of it.

Out of the box I was surprised to see the size and weight reduction from the past WDP markers. It felt quite solid in my hands. .

I purchase 2 boxes of paint (1 for play and 1 for testing). After shooting about 2 pods I noticed that the roto-breach was a bit loose. I could wiggle the thing. My past WDP markers never had this problem before. After shooting about 3 more pods I noticed that the eye covers was a bit loose. I could actually some light on the body because the eye cover slightly seperated from the body. The store owner adjusted the dwell and the tried to repair the loose roto-breach and eye cover. We also adjusted the trigger. The marker shot like a dream. BUT after shooting another 4-5 pods the eye cover started to come out and the marker stopped shooting. I had to constantly push the eye & eye cover back every 3-5 pods so that the marker would shoot again. The rest of the paint on the first case was shot by the store owner and a couple more friends. The eye cover still crept out of the socket slowly. This was very annoying. One more thing to note was that I put in my crossfire HP tank to test first. We could not get the velocity down to 285fps (field's limit). After using my friends LP tank velocity limits could be reached and adjusted without problems.

Anyways got to play 4 games with this marker. The balance was decent. I prefer the balance of the older WDP marker (speed05 & a4fly). I experienced this marker going to "safe mode" twice during the day. A very annoying problem. I was also constantly pushing the eyecover back during the games. The issue that night arise is the eye cover coming out if your brush it against a bunker or take a dive.

Later, we shot the other angel 1 he had and we experienced the same problem with the roto-breach and eye cover.

Anyways I declined on purchasing it due to the many problems we experienced. The store owner understood and said that he will be returning the markers to WDP to get the problems fixed.

Conclusion: BOTTOMLINE....This marker has a lot of potential. I would wait a couple months before buying this marker. There are way too many bugs or defects. Wait for WDP to iron all the problems with it first.

I gave it a 7 because of all the bugs & defects. If the problems are solved/fixed, I will redo my review.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

Jenou Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DMC
Dye DM6
Angel G7
Marker Setup: Angel 1 with 18-inch ul barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL barrel.
Strengths: Fast as nobody's business
trigger
screen
accuracy rocks my socks
Self-cleaning laser eyes
Weaknesses: Disassembly is a bit...iffy.
Review: First impressions:
*I opened the box (Kudos on the cube box, WDP) and OMG I nearly died LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT, BABY!
*Shiny black A1 and a complete barrel kit (well almost complete. I'd like a .688 or .689) Came with love juice, barrel adapter, tool kit, you name it.
*Flawless anno

*Kiss bolt. speechless.
-smallest, lightest bolt used in any marker. period.
-Wanna shoot hellfire? How 'bout in 20 degree weather? Knock yourself out.

*2-piece Featherlite Barrel
-At first I had my doubts, but it worked fine. It shot lasers, but I still needed that 18-inch ultralite barrel. (18-inchers rule the field, baby.)

*eyes
-Bright as day
-Flawless performance
-just plain cool looking

*Detents
-Despite what's been said by many, the detents work fine If you have the new orange ones. (I have the new orange ones.)

============================================================
========
PERFORMANCE.


First impressions:::::::
Okay. I gassed up my new baby and took her out back for her first test run.
I had a bag of Really good paint (Severe Storm Ice), a bag of medium-quality paint (Draxxus blaze), and some crap paint I got from my field (Worr Paint).

Anyway, I shot a hopper and a half of the Severe and it shot perfect. laser straight and not a single break. Believe it or not, i ran its max ROF with eyes off and still didnt chop.

Next was the Blaze. It shot awesome too. No chops, just right.

Then came the worrpaint. Watch out. It shot okay. The paint was old (A month old or so) and had many blatant deformities. Through three hoppers of worrpaint, there were two breaks, and a small decline in accuracy.

ALSO: The two chops were no big deal. I just kept on shooting. The eyes cleaned themselves in a matter of one or two shots and the barrel shot clean immediately.

COLD WEATHER UPDATE!!!! 01-21-07

The angel one operates better in cold weather than any other marker I've seen. Its like its not even cold outside to the A1, but in reality, its lke 20-something degrees Fahrenheit.
*No chops (Thanks to Kiss bolt and broken in reg)
*No decline in operation
*No excessive fluxuaton of FPS

UPDATE 03-19-07

My Angel One continues to outperform all its competition. My brother recently got his Ego7, however, and when compared, the two were close. and here's the comparison:
*The A1 was heavier than the Ego7 by a couple of ounces.
*The A1 was shorter than the Ego7 by about an inch.
*The A1 shot faster than the Ego7 on semi.
*It took significantly less time to surf through settings on the A1
*The A1 had less efficiency than the Ego7 by a couple hundred shots (DXS 48/45)
*The accuracy difference between the A1 and the Ego7 was not noticeable.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++++++

MAINTENENCE

*All you have to do, I kid you not, is put two drops of love juice (DO NOT PUT MORE) into the ASA. The oil will distribute itself. cool, huh? NOTE! you only have to oil every 4000-8000 shots.

*EVERY 20,000 shots!!! You need to disassemble the A1 and apply grease to all the moving parts, while at the same time cleaning away dirt or debris. This is the iffy part. Me? I'd just be safe and take it somewhere.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
++++++

Conclusion: All in all, the A1 is a TOTAL SEX MACHINE. Accurate, faster than anything out there guranteed, and drop dead gorgeous, the A1 is amazing. But still, you need to take good care of it. Think of it as a pet, You love it, and it'll love you back.

A 10 out of 10. I'm completely satisfied, and recommend this gun to anyone looking to purchase a new marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 7:20 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wolfhawk46 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
Ego6
PM6
Quest
05 Speed
Marker Setup: Angel 1 #22
Crossfire 45/45 LP tank
VLocity pressure 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electrical tape...I'll explain in a minute
Strengths: FAST
LIGHT
Efficient
Low kick
SEXY!!!
Self cleaning eyes
Frictionless ram
Barrel kit
Weaknesses: Scroll wheel
Eyes
Barrel kit sizes
Review: Well, I took this gun outta the box and basically we myself, it's Gorgeous!!! No other words to describe it...it just rocks. it's SUPER light, small, comfy, grips feel good, good balance, solid build, flawless anno etc.

The board is amazingly tunable, the OLED's are the best thing ever made, VERY easy to see, multiple colors, feels like a palm pilot and the mode are all there, and all very fast. No problems with the board or software. The scroll wheel is easy to use and really nice too.

Played in a tourney with it today, we took 3rd, woot. Couple things i noticed, after setting up the trigger, the gun is VERY fast. We're talking just on semi. I was sad there was no BPS counter...though it can be plugged into a usb...so someone may install that feature at a later point.

Efficieny was good, and I only have the dwell at 8, instead of the recommended 7(stock 9). I think I got 500 shots off of 3000 psi from my 45 /45 tank. Could be improved by removing shims and lowering the dwell even more (I'm too lazy)

Accuracy was decent considering we were using .687 paint with a .691 barrel back, kinda mad that angel didn't at least put a .689 bore in there, but they're prolly gonna release that at a later point to screw people out of money. The gun was still quite accurate and mowed quite a few people throughout the day. Not sure about a shot grouping...but ball on ball from 20 feet or so...and a 1 foot spread from about 50-75 feet.

I didn't get the chance to test the self cleaning eyes because in 1200 rounds I didn't have a single chop or barrel break!!!! WOOT!!!

The gun has very little kick from what I could tell...could be lowered even more with lower dwell and less shims I guess, kick's never been an issue for me, shot really well, the performance all day was the best I've ever seen from a gun.

Now when I say this gun is light...I mean it's LIGHT, people were amazed at how light it was with a 45/45 and a VLocity, REALLY amazing, I was the fastest snap shooter at the tournament JUST because of this gun's weight. Off the break, I was always the first person to put balls down the field, it was SICK. No ideas on teh exact weight as I have no scale around, but it was lighter than anything else at the field.

Couple problems I noticed however. The gun going into safe mode...that's a slight problem...if you're wearing gloves while playing, you may accidentally hold the scroll wheel in the up position and it'll end up going into safe mode. This happened to me in one game...and I got shot out. Easy solution...electrical tape over the scroll wheel. Turning the gun on and off worked perfectly fine still, and no safe mode problems. Still a little sad...not much angel coulda done about that idea though. maybe if they'd made the menu accessable only through holding down the button...*shug* minor problem, easily fixed, not a big deal.

Another thing I noticed was the eyes...the covers suck...in fact...the entire eye area kinda sucks...First thing I noticed was that air would come out of teh eye covers area when shooting, apprently for the self cleaning eyes, the angel techs say it's normal...but it's really annoying as well. The eyes do move when you shoot, that's also normal, and so is the fact that you can see the eyes a little bit from the outside (not a big deal either, opponenets couldn't see it. ) But, they works great and I've had no problems with them, only one jam, and that cleared itself up so fast I didn't even realize it had happened until a second later.

As a side note, the frictionless ram is awesome, if you don't have air in the gun, you can tilt the gun forwards and backwards and it'll slide back and forth. The opening breach is wicked cool. The bolt is amazing...it's a polymer acetyl, very sturdy. no chops.
Conclusion: All in all, this is am amazing gun, I'd take it over a DM6 any day...same price...and this one comes with a barrel kit and no need for an aftermarket board EVER!!! Defintiely the best gun I've ever shot, rigth up there with my 06 ego, better than a dm6 or pm6, teh bolt's just SO much easier to deal with. Better efficiency...the eyes actually self clean unlike the dm6's, all in all, a great gun. 9.5 for teh scroll wheel, best gun ever though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

LI_AngelG7 Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANgel G7 and A4 Fly, DM6, HybridShocker 06
Marker Setup: Angel 1
68 4500 Pure Energy
Egg w/ Z Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
I just want to keep my software up to date, it cam with 1.7 and now 1.8 is out...All you need is a computer and a USB port/cable **Update I did upgrade to 1.8..It was simple and fast. All you need is the USB cable from a digital camera...
Strengths: Speed, Barrel, Flexible board for fine tuning, Blackberry Wheel, MILLING is awesome
Weaknesses: None
Review: I own a wide variety of Markers, all high end. I have to say that compared to what I have, this gun actually has entered a whole new level or better yet falls into it's own catagory. The trigger, once I had finally set it how I like was simple. Ropes fly with ease. It was like having a lazer. This gun is super accurate. My G7 and A4 Fly shot on an arche when it came to long shots, which was actually why I went out and bought a DM6 and then I tried a Hybrid Shocker. WDP fixed that issue this time around, which if your a back to mid player you could appreciate like myself. Angel were always made for the front aggressive player, this gun is for everyone. I actually will only use this and my hybrid from now on. My Dm6 shall be gone once sold, and the A4 fly I passed on to my stepson....

One word can also be used for this marker---"Inovation"

I have 2 people that I am friends with (in the industry) that have told me that Virtue is pretty worried about the whole custom pragrammable board thing that they came out with, because now they are saying Dye will follow, as well as Eclipse and others... Just think why should you have to spend over a $1000.00 on any gun and then have to spend $175.00 on a board? As well as other things...

The great thing is, is that you can update the software on your gun as new revisions come out.... Don't look at this as a pain in the ass, think of it as time spent instead of money...
Conclusion: There were some minor issues with the gun when it first came out, which kind of sucked, BUT, WDP took care of it and stood by the customer and handled everything the way it should have been handled..Hats off to WDP!!

I Love this gun, I am an Avid paintball player and an Avid WDP fan....So I personally think this marker is one of the best...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 9:34 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CardiacArrest Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP A4 Fly, WDP G7 Fly, WDP G7, Shocker, EGO.
Marker Setup: WDP Angel 1, 68/45 hp, Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
None straight outa box Sick
Strengths: ALL OF THE MODES IN THE WORLD!! Shoots darts fast
Weaknesses: The eye covers move look below
Review: First empresion: Very light great locking feedneck and cant wait to shoot it, and the box is like a rubix cube. before I test shoot it I look at all the sweet modes like: auto, demo, nppl, PSP, X ball, millennium, breakout, then I load up my hopper and start shootin at a rock in NPPL mode and its AWESOME so fast the eye covers moved a lot, but WDP sent me new ones that work GREAT, then I load up agian and shoot psp thats awesome as well. I have not played I game with it yet I will add on to this on the 15th of July.
Conclusion: This gun is all around great If you have the money get this gat!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mittelfinger Monday, January 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, EGO6, SL66, Karnivore.
Marker Setup: Drop forward with Custom Products 2k5 on/off ASA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Light weight, compact, excellent trigger, accurate.
Weaknesses: Poor overall mechanical design.
Review: I had considered purchasing the Angel 1 for some time. I read review after review and the majority were highly favorable. I never owned an Angel before and I always wanted to buy one. They were always considered to be the epitome of paintball guns. The truth is no matter how many reviews you read, you never know what you're going to get until you actually own it. When the Angel 1 is working properly it is fantastic, extremely fast and accurate. However, the gun can also be a nightmare. When you first see the Rotor Breech it seems very cool and innovative. You look at it and you think "Wow, that's great. It makes for easy access to the bolt and for easy cleaning." However, it is easy to overlook the fact that when the Rotor Breech becomes misaligned you're going to have problems. The Rotor Breech may have worked in the past on previous markers but on the Angel 1 it is a great handicap. It is held in place by a long pin that affixes the Breech to the body of the marker. If for some reason the pin is slightly bent, lookout. When I first dry fired the gun it worked flawlessly. Then a couple days later I to it to the field to play. When I tried to get it chrono'd it would fire then the bolt would get stuck in the forward position by the ball detents. I'd push the bolt back but it kept happening. So, I go back to my car to try and figure it out. I removed the barrel and hopper and try dry firing the marker but the same thing. After the gun would fire the first shot the bolt would get stuck and air would be rushing out. After messing with it I finally got it to work. Out on the field I shot maybe 20 balls and the same thing happened again. Luckily, I always bring a backup gun. Later, I'm reading a few posts and some say to check the detents. So, I bust out the manual to see how to remove the detents and WTF!!! You have to remove the inline regulator just to remove the detents. The reg. just doesn't simply twist and unscrew form the body but has to be disassembled to be removed. Which is just retarded because some things like o-rings are better left alone until they need to be changed or cleaned. The more you mess with them the more it increases your chances of nicking them or just not resealing properly. After removing the reg, you have to unscrew a volume chamber maintenance plug. Now, you have access to the eye cover. The only thing is they don't simply slide off but have to be pried away on both sides, held away fron the marker body, then you can slide it off. What a major pain in the a$$. Prior to taking the reg. off no leaks. After wards, I could hear a slight hiss. So, I pull out the internals again, clean it off, and re-lube, then reassemble. Still hissing, darn. I disassemble it again. Inside the reg. body there is this thing they call a Spool. What I did before was that I would clean the 4 o-rings on the spool body but inside the Spool are some more o-rings and a spring stack. There's a catch, in order to disassemble the spool you need a retaining ring pliers. I don't have one, double darn. So now it's off to the store for some pliers. Finally, I have it completely disassembled every piece cleaned and re-lubed. Put it all back together and.... a very very slight hiss. O-rings need to be changed and to top it off that wasn't even the problem, it was the Rotor Breech alignment. Every time you open the Rotor Breech it rotates the retaining pin. As you rotate the breech back into firing position the whole assembly will not be aligned if your retaining pin is not perfectly straight. Which will cause the bolt to get stuck after it is fired. The bolt basically gets wedged into the front of the gun. But there is some hope, as you continue to open and close the Rotor Breech. The retaining pin will eventually rotate back to the sweet spot which will cause it to be perfectly aligned. Thus allowing the marker to be fired. My advice don't open the Breech unless you really have to.
Conclusion: After owning this gun it leads me to ask, WHY? Why, do you have to remove the inline regulator just to change the detents? Why, didn't WDP use a better material for a retaining pin? Why, did WDP even have to have a Rotor Breech and simply designed the bolt to be pulled out from the back? Why, did I get suckered into buying this gun? As innovative as it is I feel that WDP got a little too carried away and should of stuck to the KISS principle (Keep It Simple Stupid).
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

a hobo Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
generation-E matrix
DM6
EGo 06
Marker Setup: angel 1/ halo B with rip drive/ hp nitroduck tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a drop forward, if possible, otherwise none
Strengths: Accuracy, reliability, eyes,trigger,speed, super sexy
Weaknesses: None seen so far
Review: The Angel one is an amazing gun worth every penny. I chose this gun over the DM6 and EGO for its great performance and trigger. Even, though the reviewers before me said that the eye covers crap out, that is not true because I fired a whole case of paint, and the eye covers never popped out. I fired both Dm6 and Ego, and both were great guns, the angel one is still better. And high pressure does work with the reg,unlike what some reviewer said before that it doesnt work well with HP tanks. The best thing about the angel 1 is the trigger adjustibility and performance. It is also a very easy to use marker.
Conclusion: No upgrades or replacments are needed for this gun, it works great just out of the box, but no gun is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

topshotta10 Thursday, March 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
ego 07
Marker Setup: angel one blue velvet, vlocity loader, draxxus carbon 68/4500 tank

ion red shocktech body kit, freak barrel, egg 2 hopper, qev, L6 bolt, ape board
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel if you just want a change, the stock barrel so far is great
Strengths: Angel one is fast, accurate, sexy looing, easy to maintain, highly advanced, freely upgradeable
Weaknesses: Board can be sensitive, but nothing other than that, i have no faults
Review: I recently purchased the gun, but was researching a lot of high end markers, and after research i was down to the ego 07 and the angel one. After shooting and playing around with an ego 07 and an angel one, i personally preferred the quiter and quicker angel, i addition I found that the ego's grip was narrower than the angel and did not fit as comfortable as the angel did in my hand. The ego is a great gun and performs superb but fo me the angel is a cut above, with free upgradeability, great service, quiter, and need i say a better looking marker.
Conclusion: Get this Marker, Very good quality and will satisfy most if not everyone
and allround amazing gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irsd123 Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP Dark G7 Fly
Marker Setup: Liquid Blue Angry Tadao'd Dark Angel G7 Fly with Orbium3, DEZ custom bolt, CP mini on-off, Nylon hammer, magna sync chip, Empire magna, CP 68/45

A1, CP mini on/off, Magno internals, Orbium3, 440 Torque, CP 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are totally necessary, but a set of gauges to set the pressure, 3-piece eye covers, a new barrel kit, and (above all) the Magno internal set are sweet additions. The stock board is so good that the Virtue is a downgrade. This review is with the new Magno internals installed.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Small
Efficient
ZERO kick
Quiet
Smoothest poppet made
Reliable
Consistent (great accuracy)
Weaknesses: Nothing worth mentioning.
Review: When I got this marker, I can say that I was amazed at it's out-of-the-box performance. The milling was smooth, the anno was beautiful, and it was shooting ropes without me touching any pressures. With less than a month of break in time, I took this marker to the PSP Phoenix Open and took third place in our section. I was cleaning out my lane with incredible speed and shooting out the snake without breaking a sweat. Keep in mind that the marker was totally stock other than the barrel at the time.

When I got the new Magno kit, all of this only improved. With the new kit, kick was gone, noise was signifigantly down, efficiency was up in the case-per-fill range, not to mention how gentle on paint it became. With the increase in cycle speed my A1 became much more responsive than normal. With the kick gone, my A1 became as smooth as a spooler and almost as quiet. The lack of kick, smoother cycle, and increase in consistency made my A1 a tack driver, literally the most accurate marker i've seen, and far and away the best poppet i've ever used.
Conclusion: Even without spending a single dollar in upgrades spent on it, the A1 will be a totally solid performer. Awesome accuracy, great feel, incredible stock board, and awesome options for improvement with the new Magno internals make this an incredible buy, especially for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 19th, 2008 at 11:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media