paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer / Viewloader Lancer

Viewloader Lancer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Lancer

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Lancer
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
iewloader have released a NEW marker - the Lancer - and it's their best marker yet. The Lancer comes with a Blade Trigger as standard for an increased rate of fire and an Aluminium Body and Barrel for reduced weight. Other features include the Field Strip System for ease of on-field cleaning, a Vertical Feed and an Angled Bottom Line Adaptor to give you a more secure holding position on the marker. Viewloader have enhanced the bolt design on this marker to improve consistency and increase the fire rate to approximately 12bps.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Lancer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
sKapE Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I got a Blade a couple of years ago.... it "broke" and I threw it away. Turns out all it needed was a new o-ring. Other than that I am a complete and total noob to the sport.
Marker Setup: Lancer
VL 200-round hopper
3.1 oz Air Source pre-filled CO2 cylinder
Recommended
Upgrades:
It doesn't come with anything other than a barrel plug -at least, mine didn't-, so get whatever you feel would be best.
Strengths: Price
Reliability
Durability
Simple, for us short-bus-riding types.
Weaknesses: Bright red...but it's purty.
Uses a fair amount of CO2
Review: Let me first state that I am a squid, newb, greenhorn, whatever you want to ridicule me with, and this is the first gun other than the aforementioned Blade that I have owned or operated. But that means that I'm coming into this review with no set bias.

I've been wanting to get into the sport of paintball for a while now, but simply couldn't afford a half-decent marker. Well eventually my birthday gave me a chance to at least get something to shoot with. I bought this gun as an alternative to one of the big, beautiful babies up on the very top shelf at Wal-Mart (Apparently paintballers are big fans of the store :P) because my mom...I mean, um, "I" couldn't afford a $200 gun that I may not even use that much. The Lancer was on the section of shelves lovingly referred to as the "Poverty Shelf" by Wal-Mart employees at $50. It didn't come with anything other than a barrel plug, and we had to buy a hopper, Co2, 500 paintballs, and a mask to go with it, which ended up coming in at around $100 it was a great way to trick mom...uh, myself into getting something that basically cost the same as the marker kits on the top shelves.

Since it came with nothing and was something we could actually afford, I went home with pretty low expectations. After using a chainsaw to open the packaging (DAMN! Those things take a friggin' government agency to get into without tearing the packaging to pieces!!) I finally got to hold my gun. It felt very sturdy and well-made in my hands, and was a lovely shade of red to boot! I had the thing ready to shoot in 5 minutes, and headed outside. My brother was inside, hiding behind his pillow bunker, so the only thing I had to aim at was a thin tree a good 40 feet away. I fired the trigger, and the paintball flew in a perfectly strait path and nicked the side of the tree. After adjusting my aim a little, I was hitting it in the exact same spot time after time, until I finally decided I'd wasted enough ammo.

Soon I was taking on my friends in the hills, with their big brand-new "Top shelf at Wal-Mart" guns, and I was not only getting hit after hit, but getting frustrated because they would have to stop and fix their guns every round. For once I was thankful for my poverty and I hugged my Lancer. Then they threw rocks at me and I was sad.

The gun is sturdy, reliable, and shoots accurately and efficiently. It comes with a nice field quick-strip pin that will help you fix any problems that you might encounter quickly and with ease. It hasn't chopped a single in the 500 rounds I could bare to part with -we're poor, after all, and can't get paintballs every day- and it shoots far and strait at any velocity. It's red, which isn't good news to us forest-fighting types, but this is easily taken care of with some green construction paper and tape.
Conclusion: This is a great choice for new players or for the budget-impaired. It's sturdy, reliable, and can hold it's own with any "top shelf" gun. And, of course, all this for the low price of $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Nighthawk522 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98 custom
Many spyders
Marker Setup: View Loader Lancer, 20ounce co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
LONGER BARREL, helps ALOT
Strengths: Accurate without a longer barrel and easy to use for noobs or experienced players.
Weaknesses: The bright red kinda gives away your position, not the ideal camping weapon.
Review: This is the perfect begginer gun, easy to use, not lots of money, easy to take apart and clean, it has many upgrades and is easy to upgrade. I have only had a few paintball guns, like my tipman 98 custom but this is my absolute favorite for its easy to use ready to go style it will get u into paintball as soon as u play. A MUST BUT FOR NOOBS.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN ITS AWESOME. There are a few things wrong but nothing making it not worth buying.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 29th, 2007 at 6:55 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sharpshooter07 Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany,Raven,Spider,Viewloader high voltage.
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: light,cheap,I never had it chop a ball
Weaknesses: loud,not accurate,Trigger pull is huge!!!!!!
Review: The gun is ok for the price. Not the best but not as bad as a pump gun or brass eagle. Triger pull is huge, but everyone knows view loader does not make good gun they make great loaders. It is a piece of junk. If you don't have that much money buy it but if
you have any money don't buy it.
Conclusion: This gun is junk, but if its all the money you have get more and then buy another gun.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 8th, 2007 at 6:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbtstt Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted field markers and a variety of friends markers (Tippmann 98 etc.)
Marker Setup: Viewloader Lancer,
Empire Reloader II Hopper,
Standard Barrel (?),
Custom Foregrip,
Custom Sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Powered hopper,
Improved barrel (maybe; see review for details!)
Strengths: Price, build quality, finish, accuracy. And value for money!
Weaknesses: Colour; red isn't exactly subtle!
Review: I actually received the Lancer as a leaving present from several colleagues who I'd been paintballing with. I didn't really have much say in the purchasing of the marker (it was a shop recommendation) so I wasn't sure what to expect. Happily, having used the marker on several occasions, I'm now a Lancer convert!

As with the other reviewers I had a massive struggle unpacking the damn thing, but once I did I was impressed at the feel and balance of the marker. Its finish is excellent and the built is rugged and simple. The marker can be stripped and cleaned very quickly and easily. I think the barrel is standard, though mine is cosmetically different to the barrel featured in all the images of the Lancer I have seen online (different profile and mine is black rather than silver); regardless I think it is more then adequate and it has provided an excellent platfore for modification (see later in the review).

I do quite often laugh when I read some of the reviews for paintball guns criticising their respective accuracy; they're not cartridge firing weapons and so, consequently, I don't expect long ranges out of them. As paintball guns go however, I was pleasantly surprised by the Lancer, at any range I would class as "playing" range (i.e. the length of a paintball playing field) the Lancer fires consistently tight groups.

In terms of modifications I've done very little to alter the gun mechanically; however prior to my first use of the gun I made a minor modifcation to the trigger altering the pull distance on it. As a consequence I found that, during the first use, the gun choked a couple of times (as the rate at which I could cycle the gun had increased). I blamed this on the VL200 gravity type hopper I was using at the time and decided to upgrade that before I wrote the gun off as useless. As in turns out that was the problem exactly, with an electronic hopper in place (the rather excellent Empire Reloader II) the marker has been absolutely flawless.

Cosmetically I've made several additions to the gun; firstly I made up a foregrip which clamps roughly midway along the barrel. This gives a much better point to grip from and allows for much more accurate firing, particularly from behind cover. Additionally I tried a "proper" sling for it, but the fit was rubbish and the firing position awkward as hell. Eventually I ended up butchering a heavy duty lanyard and attaching that to the frame behind the bolt. The centre of gravity is quite far back so, with a 20oz tank attached, the marker sits neutrally on the sling. Result.

Rather happily the last time I went to the local field there were several sponsored players sharing the field with me, I didn't get the exact specifications of their guns but I do know that the pair of them had well over £1000+ worth of gear between them. All I saw all day was the pair of them fighting with their markers whilst my trusty Lancer didn't put a foot wrong!
Conclusion: Highly recommended. The build quality, finish and accuracy are all good, especially for such a cheap marker.

In terms of extras an electric hopper is a good investment, particularly if you're a quick on the trigger. The colour isn't exactly great either, but hey, you're not actually going to war with the thing so its not the end of the world - especially at such a good price!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bjones@aol.com Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Lancer
9 oz co2
200 round hopper
9 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger barrel for better accuracy
and maybe a fore grip for comfortable hand positioning
Strengths: Look at review.
Weaknesses: Look at review.
Review: Key Strengths :
personally like blade trigger
price
great gun for beginners

Key Weaknesses :
bright red
very loud

This gun is easy to matinees and works well.
Shoots five balls per second.
This gun is semi auto and uses fair amount of co2
If your a beginner looking for a gun i would recommend this gun.

Conclusion: I like this gun overall.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

elprupder Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
b.e. eradicator- only tested, was okish
tippmann 98 custom- who hasn't?
various pumps
Marker Setup: Viewloader Lancer
dropforward
polished insides
home mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, maybe- i dont know about others, but mine sucked
home stuff
Strengths: Quiet
Cheap
Weaknesses: Red
Bad Threads
Review: I went to walmart to find a cheap marker to mess around with, and saw this. It appealed to me because it was the last one and it was red and black, so im not sure if it comes in other colors. When i brought it home to try it out, it was pretty nice. Really light weight, felt good to hold. Then i took it apart. The barrel threads sucked, and made it squeak a lot, but a little wd40 and that was fixed. I added a dropforward so it wouldnt be so back heavy, and it worked very well. When you play, the red might stand out, but there are ways to fix that.
Conclusion: I would definitely reccomend this marker to anyone new to the sport, or as a backup, or just fun in the back yard. For 50 bucks at walmart, it's really good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkiller Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion (not as accurate)
Spyder Victor II (about the same but more heavy...not as easy to field strip)
Spyder Sport (not as reliable.....bolt shot out barrel:(
Marker Setup: Tac 5 Recon with Camo Paint, 14 inch pmi smoth bore barrel with compensator, dual trigger, smoke camo halo 200 rd hopper with extension, 20oz rhino CO2 with camo cover , m4 three dot sight, right hand sniper position elbow, tactical green laser pointer, new stainless steel reciever, 14 inch bipod, sniper stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most would say a longer barrel, or a drop forward........ i dont think u should buy any upgrades cuz it is most reliable as it is...........but if u are burning to upgrade it id get
around a 12" Barrel (make sure its light)
a cap stock if ur using a 20oz (id use a 9oz to keep with its lightness superiority)
fore grip to keep it stable
Strengths: Extremly light
easy to field strip
accurate
good on gas
does not chop
durable
cheap
Weaknesses: Red (wtf)
loader is welded on (wtf)
barrel is not ported (wtf)
threads sorta suck
Review: I bought this gun as a second to my now primary gun Tac 5 (i am amazed at how well my cheaper guns are doing) and i am very impressed with it. It was onlt $40 so it was a quick pick up. Even thoe their are much better guns this one should not be overlooked as it is very cheap and possibly the easiest gun to field strip ive seen. It has a pretty good barrel for its price but like all barrels it could be better.........some ports would be nice. But it shines in how light it is, my Tac weighs like 4 times heaveir than the Lancer.......but id stay with a 9 or 12oz tank to keep it light. The only let downs i sa was the welded loader, and the no fore grip (but u can see both of them when u buy it so its nothing new)

Well i finally put this gun in an extrem match up and it ruled......it broke one ball (actualy jammed in the breach...took like 15 sec to clean.......luv the feild strip....so easy) it still has half a tank left and it put a hurting on sum people...this thing fires fast for a mech...probaly the highest you can get without going eclectric......im thinkin of buyin another so i can make a turret.......
Conclusion: Its a must buy if ur a newb or ur looking for a secondary, or u just dont want ur precius G7 to get musk up.......dont make belive that price reflects the gun cuz it acts like a low bps ion......sorta.........lol.
This gun is awsome......im gonna buy sum spray paint to cover up that red paint...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 29th, 2007 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bananamana Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: viewloader lancer
viewloader orion trigger
20oz Co2 tank
viewloader hopper
custom barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Bright red
Review: I had just got paid and my job is relatively close to none other than Wal-Mart ahah. All my friends were planning this big paintballing trip, and I was the only one who didn't have a descent paintball gun. So i strolled into the sporting goods section of Wal-Mart
and saw three guns: Tippman 98 custom, Viewloader Orion, And Viewloader Lancer.
I really like the Lancer but hated the trigger, so I bought both the Lancer and the Orion . strange..I know. I then got home and after a thirty minute struggle to get them out of the package I then took both of them apart. I took the trigger and that cool silver thing from under the handle from the Orion painted them black and put them on my gun. I then sold the Orion to my friend ahah. Anyways I had no money to buy Co2 and paintballs to practice with, so I had to wait the most grueling two weeks of my life (Everyday coming home to see a paintball gun you cant use). When I was just about to go crazy with anticipation I got paid. I ran to Wal-Mart bought 500 paintballs and a 20oz tank of C02 and a hopper along with a mask with some battle swabs. I raced home got my gun set up and started shootin' an old dart board I placed in the back for practice and for the price it was a wicked gun. On the target wherever I aimed it had come very close to that spot. It turned out the paintball trip got cancelled but at least I still had my Lancer which I later bought more attachments for ahah.
Conclusion: I think for its price it is an amazing gun and with some attachments and parts your good to go.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fribby Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Inferno
Old Splatmaster
H18 Eros
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Just standard marker
Grav Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel for longer range shooting.

Definitley improved if you used a motorised hopper.
Strengths: Value and performance. Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Not too keen on the blade trigger.
Review: Make no mistakes this is a basic marker. However, given it's price point and it's performance aainst other more expensive mechanical markers I really find it hard to be overly critical.

The overall build quality is good and it feels nice to use, the only slight annoyance I had was the squeaky barrel thread but a drop of light oil sorted this out straight away.

The marker has a reasonable rate of fire, I was easily getting around 6-8 bps out of it, accuracy and repeatability is also pretty good. Over a 20m distance with the gun held firm on a solid surface 7 out of 10 balls landed on target the remainder had a spread of no more than 5-10cm. Pretty damn good!

One real bonus I have found with this gun is the ease of stripping down, NO TOOLS REQUIRED! The bolt is held in by a quick release pin which is secure enough to only come out when you mean to take it out, this is great if you are in the middle of a battle and don't want to start messing with Allen Keys etc.

Also the bolt is really easy to use when you have gloves on!
Conclusion: I was pleasantly surprised by the performance and features of this marker. You could spend loads more cash and get a whole lot less.

Note, I have just stripped my gun down (all looking good), cleaned it up and spray painted it a matt black. Now looks pretty damn good (reminiscent of Han Solo's blaster!) and I am all ready for some scenario woodsball this weekend. Without a marker that stands out being bright red!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 8:00 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Machnau Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98
Brass Eagle Marauder
Pirhana PMI
Marker Setup: Viewloader Lancer, stock parts right now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel for longer shots and slightly better accuracy.
Strengths: Easy field take down, so easy to clean it this way!!
Weaknesses: It's red....
Review: The gun itself is nice, I like the way it handles and shoots, the grip is nice, and disassembly is nice and easy (saves your hyde out there), however I do not like how the hopper sits directly in the middle of the sight rail. Overall, the gun is very nice for someone starting out and not looking to pay TOO much as a noob.
Conclusion: I reccomend changing the barrel, although the accuracy is pretty nice as is, a bit more distance can never hurt someone....(well, the person shooting the gun haha)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media