paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System / Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System / Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System

Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
With unparalleled consistency and performance the RAPTOR (MAX 3000 PSI) and RAPTOR REX (MAX 4500 PSI), is designed and engineered to deliver fully adjustable output pressures from 200 to 1000 PSI to your marker. The RAPTOR's are totality compatible with virtually all of the markers currently sold. Precision machined from solid stainless steel and backed by the Air America Limited lifetime warranty, the RAPTOR will deliver a lifetime of safe, rugged, reliable service, along with the razors edge performance expected from an Air America system.
Product Availability 
The Air America Raptor / Raptor Rex Air System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mark_426 Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 tanks - 48-3000 psi tanks
Marker Setup: Automag 68
LX
Ricochet 2k
X core
Air America 114/4500 REX tank
Coiled and braided remote
12" All American Barrel
JT Proteus
Flurry Industries Ultrabak Vest
Strengths: Lots of air, consistant, adjustable
Weaknesses: no output gauge
Review: This tank is great. I can get 2000 shots off of it. People complain of no on/off and a leaking reg. Mine has a bleed valve built into it, and it seems as though it leaks when I turn the on-off into off. To turn the reg in the same each time, buy a 4.00 tourney lock cap for an automag or just put tape around it when you have it set. I have had no problems with leaks or anything. I like it a lot.
Conclusion: Buy this tank. I have had no problems. It is adjustable, and big. 1800 shots in a tank is great. I use remote now, but I have a Kick Ass Paintball Products (KAPP) drop zone 2 in the mail. I like the slide check/ bleed valve built into the reg.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aovboy Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire Screw In: Very good product, but was not adjustable. I borrow them often, and am pleased with them. 1st choice for a screw in system.

PMI Pure Energy Screw In: A lot like the Crossfire, I belive they use the same reg.
Marker Setup: AGD RT ULE Automag
14" ULE Threaded Barrel, bore is about .689
ULT Kit
ULE Mainbody
Blade Intelliframe
Kapp Cradle
AA Raptor 68/3000 HPA System
Strengths: Adjustable
Price
Good tech support
Good customer service
Several mounting options
Lifetime Warranty
Weaknesses: Weight
Requires cradle or remote
No longer availible new
Requires On/Off
No Gauge
Review: I first received this HPA system via Ebay in an auction for a marker. When I recieved it, the bottle needed a hydro. After getting the bottle back from the tester, I replaced the reg, and brought it to the shop to get it aired up. It filled fine, but wouldn't reg and distrubute the air to the marker. The marker was tested with other systems, and it worked fine. After some disassembly of the reg, it turned out the pin and spring were bent, and someone had put the fill nipple, gauge, and output ports on the wrong places. The store didn't have the pin, spring, and seal, so I sent it in to Air America, following the directions on their site. I had the system back in my hands before a week and a half, working fine. They even included an instruction booklet, which matches the PDF file on their site. It comes with a lifetime warranty, and their techs were very helpful when I was discussing this with them.

During use, it has performed flawlessly. It has a very good recharge rate, more than enough to keep up with a reactive Mag, mid-level electro, or anything under that. I haven't tested it fully, but I'm willing to say it can recharge in enough time to give you atleast a successful 25 cycles a second, probably more. Have only tested it up to about 19-20.

The system is no longer availible new from AA, but can be bought new from some online stores and can be found used for cheap. Just be sure the bottle is within hydro, this is an older system.

A blessing and a curse is the style of mounting. You can't just screw this into an ASA, you need a Cradle for it. The cradles offer several mounting options, from way forewards to the point you will be chewing on your backplate, to putting the reg right under your gripframe. I prefer the latter, but it's up to you.

The Raptor is a good deal heavier than most systems because it has a larger reg and is made out of Stainless Steel, a durable (but heavy) metal. I would prefer a lighter aluminum system, but adjustable's go for $300+. Also, the Raptor only has a 3000 PSI max, compared to the Raptor Rex's 4500. Go for the Rex if you can. I use a 68ci bottle, and am comfortable with it...I wouldn't use more than an 88ci. The reg is adjustable from 200-1200psi, I believe. Not bad.

They have corrected these problems in their Armaggedeon and Apocolypse systems, but Air America left two big things out of this tank. One is the need of an output gauge. It's an adjustable tank, so I'd kinda like to know how much air I'm running to my marker. Nothing ruins your day like a blown solinoid or valve. The other was the lack of an On/Off. You need to buy an aftermarket one and use it. I would not leave the system running directly to your marker, always gassed up. If you don't have one, you have to shoot all the air out or blow the burst assembly to let the air out and either strip or put away your marker.

I would prefer to invest in a new adjustable system for my Mag, but they are so much money. AGD Flatlines, SP Maxflos, and new AA systems are all more than $300, and I can't drop that much right now. While it has some flaws, it performs well for the price. I will still most likely get a new system by next season, just due to it's weight and lack of important features, but if you are looking for an adjustable HPA system for a low price, this is it.

I suggest putting an On/Off on the tank and running it to a Gas-Thru grip on your marker. Put a gauge on the vertical ASA so you can check the pressure. Also, invest in a bottle cover. A normal neoprene one will work, but I prefer the Dye Rhino cover. It works very well.
Conclusion: I would prefer to invest in a new adjustable system for my Mag, but they are so much money. AGD Flatlines, SP Maxflos, and new AA systems are all more than $300, and I can't drop that much right now. While it has some flaws, it performs well for the price. I will still most likely get a new system by next season, just due to it's weight and lack of important features, but if you are looking for an adjustable HPA system for a low price, this is it. Due to shortcomings, I'll only rate it an 8, but I am pleased with it for what I paid, and hope you enjoy using one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coco Savage Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro Duck Mega Reg
Marker Setup: Black ULE Xvavled Mag, Blade Intelliframe - ULT, EggoII, Mega Reg 02 68/45k
Strengths: Holds pressure(est 200 to 1200psi), Solid construction, Good recharge rate, Made by AIr America.
Weaknesses: No inlet guage? Heavy
Review: I have had this tank for a while originally dated a 95 still performs SOLID! With zero issues , leaks , or any problems. Its ability to hold pressure where its set at(had a few experiences where adj tanks would never hold the pressure properly) is a huge plus!

Just sorta confused me as to WHY they wouldnt put an inlet guage on? I guess maybe this is a tank that people who have gas-thru grips with guages on them.. im not sure. This is really a design flaw rather then a performance flaw.
Conclusion: Performance wise its a solid ten, design wise its more of an 8 for no inlet guage. So thus my 9 rating. I do reccomend getting benchmarks cradle system for it, puts a metal sleeve over the reg, the sleeve has a dovetail slide rail so if the provided drop is too small/short you can use it on other dovetail style drops. IF AA could add the extra guage most adj tanks need, this tank would EASILY be a 10!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 9th, 2004 at 5:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a crossfire 68 4500 high output
center flag 68
pmi 68
Marker Setup: i have a 99' cocker a hinge boomstick ans frontblock on 114 raptor air
Strengths: The recharge rate is incredible very little drop and very consistent. Nice all around and all those people who think there isn't an on/off there is u just have to unscrew the end so far and it turns off and u can count how many times u unscrewed it to know how many time to screw it back in or just play wit it until u find the rite pressure to work at!!!
Weaknesses: The tank leaks alot out the regulator on the end i don't know wether it is mine or not but mine tank start to leak about one every 2 months but it is easy to fix the repair kit is like $15.
Conclusion: i like it except 4 some leaking problems and don't turn it on and off alot cuz then it will start to leak to
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P.E. Blade A/C Tuesday, January 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 68ci Nitro Tank
Marker Setup: Ok here goes: 2001 Autococker with ANS Front Pheumatics Kit, Eclipse Blade Trigger Frame, AA Vigilante Regulator, ANS Quick Pull Venturi Bolt, KAPP Cocking Rod, SS Internals, Chrome Ball Detent, KAPP Beaver Tail, 114ci 4500psi AA Raptor Rex with KAPP Drop Zone 2.
Strengths: I like to give an in-depth review for those who actually are concidering buying this product so get comfortable. I have the 114ci 4500psi Raptor Rex. The first thing people ask is why I got such a big tank. They told me it's going to be unbalanced and heavy. I thought it would be too until it arrived. It is actually relativly light for it's size and with a Drop Zone 2 it's center or gravity is almost perfect. It regulates extremely well and because the regulator is Stainless Steel, i'm going to assume it's durable. Much better than my crossfire.
Weaknesses: I think the major downfall of the tank is that there is no on/off switch for you to shut off the air going to the gun. Thus, yuo have to resort to buying a Pro Connect kit, another $50 down the drain. I only experienced one actual problem and that was with the fill nipple. When i went to get it filled once, the air would rush back out the fill nipple so it would not "hold a chrage." It was fixed by replacing the O-ring.
Conclusion: I think this is an excellent product. Well manufactured and somewhat reliable. For it's size, it is light and regulates the air extremely well. The only suggestion I could make to Air America is to try and incorperate and on/off switch. If you are willing to pay for the price of the tank, Drop Zone 2 and Pro Connect (Slide Checks will NOT work), you will not be disappointed with this tank. I gave it a nine because it lacks and on/off switch and I had an O-ring problem after the first month. Otherwise, excellent product!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zachary Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none three is no similar
Marker Setup: I have an 2001 cocker weith a custum anodizing job shocktech cocking rod dye excel barrel and 114 raptor and a kapp kradle i have an ans tigger and quick fire geipframe with a twelve volt revi
Strengths: it is very stedy aginst youre sholder
Weaknesses: it is a little on the heavy
Review: it will hold a lot of air and will not run out quick it is simple and reliable it can be a bit heavy when moving alot but it is a great tank and can be held stedily when being usedr it is good looking and stong will not bloww up easilyt tried to blow on up by overfilling it i made sure i got away from it
Conclusion: for serious players and peple that have a thick wallet i would not recomede this for little people thery might get tired from the weight
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dye7barrel Thursday, August 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire stub and max flow
Marker Setup: VLM Cocker
Benchmark frame
AKA Sear
AKA Trigger Plate
AKA Pump arm
AKA 3-way rod thing
Palmer Rock
Palmer Ram
Palmer 3 way
AKA Lighting bolt
14inch Dye Aluminum
12inch Smart Parts SS
11.5 Inch Lapco
A couple revy's
Strengths: Very nice tank!! I wound up with a rehydroded tank and the fiberwraped was perfect!! Reg seemed to be in very good shape.

You can usually pick one up for a decent price. Thats always a plus in paintball. +1
Weaknesses: What was AA thinking when they made this tank?? AA produces very high quality but must have fired the brains of the company for the making of the raptor. I mean, come on, who doesn't put an output gauge on an adjustable system?? What about the lack of an on/off?? An empty tank does me no good while at home, away from a fill station. Im gonna take off two points for each infraction.

Oh sure, you can have AA install a gauge or get a proconnect to solve the on/off problem. But who wants to spend money upgrading their air system while they could be out playing??
Conclusion: Keep in mind that I had an older model so things may not have changed as I do not keep pace with AA like I used to. If you can get yourself a package deal with an output gauge, some type of proconnect, and a cradel, jump on it. People have said that these babies have low recharge rates but I have not found this to be true. It was able to keep up with my cocker and I.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

b_schiffer Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Custom Products Regulator
Ricochet Apache Loader with custom speed feed
Raptor Rex 68/4500 w/ Empire Cradle
Strengths: Reg, Unique
Weaknesses: Output, once its in the craddle its annoying to take off.
Review: Im not whining about an on/off because you can pick one up for cheap and if you cant install one of those you need to stop playing. I love the reg on the tank even though my guns low pressure I love the comfort knowing if my reg goes I have a somewhat security system to stop things from getting ugly. plus I feel like if I fine tuned it and my reg I could keep within 2 +/- fps of my shots with little drop off.
Conclusion: Its cheap now, works great buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Llamaman Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Max Flow 68/4500, Pure Energy 68/3000.
Marker Setup: Classic Timmy with Petty LP Mod, Smart Parts Freak 16" Custom Annoed by Max annodizing. Kapp Drop forward and Air America Vigilante Reg and Air America Raptor 114/4500,and Halo B.
Strengths: Very reliable. I have had this tank for 2 years and no problems.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This has been a great tank. It was re-hydro'd last year and still going strong. People talk about no on/off and output guage but I have a tourney lock on my adjustment screw, so with a 1/4 turn with allen wrench I can unsrew by hand the rest of the way until the pressure is released.
Conclusion: Great product! Like I said above all you need is a cheap tourney lock, then have it setup for your gun, lock it down then you can turn it on and off without having to worry about changing the output pressure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ACtournyguy Monday, February 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi 68ci 3000psi steel tank
Marker Setup: 2k2 Blue A/c
Aluminum slider frame, Lapco autospirit, Blue kapp fat ram, Blue kapp rhino reg, Black STO 3-way (best found for sealling at lp), Front expansion chamber, Clear kapp hose, AA Vigulanti in-line, Kapp gauge, Slide check, Quick disconnect, Drop Zone 3 cradle, AA 68ci 4500psi Raptor REX, Dye black stickys, Smoke loc socs, and Halo B
Strengths: Everying, but a simple little proble, down below. Extremely consitant even in rapid fire, and i realy like the balence it gives my gun. Its light and i picked it up for only 290 bucks on a AA factory sale!
Weaknesses: Doesnt have a on/off but nothing big just put a slide check on it.
Conclusion: A great tank buy a great company. They have great customer service. When i first got my tank the hi pressure burst disk blew due to a bent needle. I shipped it to AA 2nd day air on a tuesday they fixed it wends and i had it thursday when i got home from school. It was great turn arround time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media