paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar / Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar / Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar / Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar

Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Custom Chronograph Inc.

Buy Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Chronograph with additional BPS measurement capabilities. Easy to use and resets on-the-fly.

From Source URL:

* Powered by one 9-volt battery
* Complete operating instructions included
* Easy to use
* Measures between 200 and 399 FPS; single shot, burst or ramping
* Reads between 4 and 30 BPS
* Handy size: 5 3/8" X 2 3/4" X 1 1/4"
* Weighs under 7 ounces with battery installed
* No tools necessary to change the battery
* Low battery indicator
* One button operation
* Full 3-digit LCD display
* 90 USA-only manufacturer's warranty
* Includes drawstring carry bag

Contact Info:
Custom Chronograph Inc.
721 Edmonds Way
Edmonds, WA 98020
Phone#- 360-988-7801
Product Availability 
The Custom Chronograph Inc. X-Radar is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
bsdonovan Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
"Red" Paintball Radar by Custom Chronograph Inc.
Marker Setup: Angel A4 Fly
CP Uni-Mount ASA
68/4500 Nitro Duck w/ X-Stream Regulator
Halo B V35 Victory w/ Rip Drive
Strengths: Battery Life
Rugged Design
Has BPS capabilities
3 Digit Display
Ability to read ramping rates
Weaknesses: You have to hold the unit on the barrel, no self support device,
Review: I was doing some research on buying a chrono to use at home to setup my marker and tweak it prior to getting to the field to play. So, basically I found there were two varieties to choose from without spending a few hundred dollars, the Custom Chronograph Inc. and the Sports Sensors Inc, RadarChron. After reading the reviews on both on pbreview.com, I thought I would dig further. I wound up talking with George at Custom Chronograph, Inc. He confirmed what I had read online, that they do indeed make the X-Radar and they make the "Red" Paintball Radar metal Chrono that all the fields and shops use. He stated that they are working on a new, non-metal version of the red one because, "the red one is just too expensive" He also confirmed that the technology in the two products is nearly the same, but the red is more accurate because of the way the gun is rested onto the chrono. The inaccuracy in the X-Radar has to do with the fact the user has to hold the chrono, and because angles are everything with Doppler effect, it can make slight differences depending on where it is positioned on the barrel. The fact you have to hold the button the entire time was a result of the fact that people weren't holding the unit properly and blocking the wave front coming out of the thing (which is outlined by a rectangular box on the rear of the unit), so they stated that early versions didn't work very well, when in fact they weren't using properly. So, they make it such that you have to hold the button so you grip the thing correctly. And, it has the ability to measure BPS, including in ramping mode because it doesn't need to be reset between reads like the yellow hand held. He also stated that the guys that make the Sports Sensors Inc RadarChron (aka the yellow one everyone uses) was originally made for baseball to measure pitching velocity of a ball coming into a glove (see http://www.swingspeedradar.com/). This is why it only has a two segment LED, it measured ball speed in MPH. Therefore, to display a 3 digit FPS, they display the 100's digit first, then a delay, then the 10's and 1's digit second. Thus, to do another read, the unit must be reset, so the button must be pressed again. They adapted it for various other applications including Paintball. So, he stated that it is not nearly as accurate as the X-Radar (yeah, I know this is coming from a guy at Custom Chrono, but I believe him). In fact, he stated, get one of the Sport Sensors Inc (PMI is just a distributor) chrono, the X-radar Chrono, and the red Paintball Radar (you'll notice the bat symbol on the Paintball Radar and the X-Radar are the same) and get a high end marker that shoots consistent. Then, put all three head to head. He stated if he thought the Sport Sensors worked better than the X-Radar, give him a call and he would gladly refund my money on the X-Radar. II wouldn't expect that this is a standing offer from Custom Chronograph, but I thought that was pretty bold none the less.
Conclusion: The guys at Custom Chronograph were very helpful, informative, and took the time to answer all my questions honestly and completely. The product really helps me tweak my marker and is very easy to use. I have found that when I do get to the field, my marker chronos very close to what the field chronos show. I would highly recommend this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Davenport Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The yellow one.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
Derlin ACS Bolt
C.A.M.D. E-Trigger
Lappco Feed Neck
Smartparts 14" Teardrop
Proto 14" Chrome
Dead-on Drop forward with on / off dial
Pyro Aim Regulator ( macro line)
New Designs Top performance Turbo Valve
12 Volt Revy & 12 Volt Revy Max
Pure Energy 20 ounce Co2
MadDog spring kit


Spyder VS1
MadDog Feed Neck
BT APEX ajustable barrel
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
12 Volt Revy Max
Pure Energy 20 ounce Co2

Spyder RS Stock
Strengths: Fps 200 -- 399
Bps 4 -- 30
Three digit display
Weaknesses: Defaults to bps makes checking for spikes in velocity difficult when firing rounds in succession.
Review: A great tool for any paintball enthusiast,(for saftey or tinkering) The chronograph works very well. The instructions for the chronograph were made dummy proof with the help of the drawings.I enjoy converting markers to low pressure ,this chronograph is a great asset in doing so. Easy to use , not overly complicated and it does what it is supposed to;which makes it very appealing.
Conclusion: Well straight to the point it's a good product it does what it says. God bless America it's an American-made product that alone should give it a Big 10 rating!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2008 at 12:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chronos
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with J&J Edge Barrel Kit, Response Trigger, Cyclone Feeder, Palmers Persuit Shop QEV, Double Trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster, Skull Drop Forward, Lapco Raised Sight Rail and Palmers Persuit Shop Stabilizer.
Strengths: Affordable, portable, accurate, bps reading, 3 digit display, user friendly, battery efficient.
Weaknesses: You must hold it as you use, bps activates only when you shoot fast enough.
Review: Well I needed a small portable chrono that was of good quality, but low cost. And for a while I could not find one of that discription. However, one day I was looking at paintballgears website and they had just got this new chrono in stock. So I checked it out, and with little to no reviews on the relatively new product, I took the chance and bought it for only $69. All I can say is that it was a purchase I do not regret since. This chrono filled most of my expectations. Especially its price, and quality ratio is excellent. It uses radar which makes its readings accurate and reliable. And rarely do you get a misread. The chrono fits in my gear bag since it is about the size of your hand. And it has 3 digit display which makes it much easier to read than the 2 digit yellow chrono everyone seems to be using. Also it comes with features that other chronos dont come with. Such as the ability to read in bps. However the feature only kicks in when it senses that you have fired at least a burst at around 4 bps or so. The chrono also takes very little power. I can take out a nearly used up nine volt battery from my loader or Ion, and put it in this chrono. Then use the remaining power on the chrono until the battery finally goes dead, saving me on batteries. Although too bad that it cant be hands free such as the yellow chrono, which can be annoying if you are trying to tune your gun by yourself and have to hold it too. It is a one button design that is easy to reset by just letting go, and pressing it again.
Conclusion: If you are looking for an accurate, convenient, reliable chrono to help you tune your gun, and to check if people are shooting hot, then this is the best one out there. Its portable size, and low power consumption makes this a very convenient part of a players gear.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

new_Faction64 Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, but I hear the "Yellow chronograph" isn't as good in accuracy or features and reset-ability.
Marker Setup: MR2
J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel
20oz CO2
Ricochet Apache
Strengths: -See Body Review
Weaknesses: -See Body Review
Review: Strengths:
-Accurate.
-3 digit display (unlike the yellow chrono)
-Cheaper...I found it on Xpaintball.biz for $70
-Automatic reset, so you can just keep shooting and it'll show the numbers right after the last
-BPS measurement, really cool!
-Allows to measure ramping BPS
-Ridiculously long battery life, I had half-used batteries in mine, for about 2 months now, and it's still working fine.

Weaknesses:
-None so far, I'm very satisfied w/ this product.

Conclusion: Overall I'd really recommend this product. I really loved the BPS feature and the automatic reset, made stuff quick and easy for me. Also it was cheaper than other chronographs, I got it at xpaintball.biz for $70 and couldn't be more happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 9:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bootman1 Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
field chrono
Marker Setup: 98 custom pro e-grip
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to use
Long battery life
Fairly accurate
measures bps
Weaknesses: Only measures 200 to 400 fps, really not a big deal at all.
Review: Bought this for outlaw games, work very well, in 10 minutes everyone is dialed in an playing. At $70.00 or so bucks it is well worth it to ensure safe games. Also measures bps which is cool, you do have to have the gun ramped up when you press to get bps count, which if your alone can be tricky. Overall great product for the money, and as you can see the weaknesses I listed are really minor.
Conclusion: Highly recommend, cheap, accurate enough, easy to use.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Merc4Hire Monday, December 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the big red box old and new style, the yellow triangle thing
Marker Setup: Orracle with belsales ram and qev's, E2 (and 420 trigger mod sometimes for messing around) slik bolt (I love this), ccm aluminum pump arm, etc.

I think I own 13 or 14 cockers most of which are pretty much maxed out, so that pretty much covers it.
Strengths: It works! accurate, easy, small.
Weaknesses: That you cant set it on a table and shoot over it.
ROF feature
Review: I often host group games with unknown walk-ons or people who are new and afraid of pain. A chrono, helps greatly to allay fears of newbies and parents, and gets more girls playing. It also helps to solve the problem of the jerk kid with a red spring in his gun shooting 450. I mostly use it to fine tune guns though. Having a perfectly tuned reg greatly improves performance, and that is very hard to do without a reliable chrono.

Strengths

I bought mine when they had just barely come out, so I think I have had it for nearly 2 years, ro maybe a little over. I am not completely sure, but enough to be sure.

I narrowly bought one of these on a well known auction site for $65 shipped... Less than the yellow one at the time. It works much more reliably than the yellow one, will read low velocities... it starts somewhere around 200, which is useful for bringing up regulators up from zero, or malfunctioning guns, so you can know what is happening.

I also find the low cut in point to be very valuable as I bought it to host reball events for a church. The yellow one wouldn't read low enough to help as reballs are supposed to be 220FPS or was it 230? It's been a while, but it made the thing useful vs. useless.

It is not nearly as picky about how you hold it. This is a big improvement. The yellow one either gives wierd or no readings if you don't hold it perfectly.

It works on "dead" 9v batteries, which most paintballers have lots of.

It is portable, and gave the same readings as the 'red box'

3 digit display! much nicer

You don't have to reset it between shots , so you can just snap a few shots and see what your gun is doing.

Weakness: Very Minor, but I want you to have the whole picture then buy it.

The ROF feature is a nifty idea, but I am not sure how trustworthy it is, not too much of a problem there, as my guns have a display for that, and I can hear if it dry fires in a string.

The real problem is that the rof feature cuts in at 5bps, which can't be turned off, so you can't check for shootdown, and it often engages when I am just snapping shots over it to get multiple readings when crhonoing a bunch of kids' guns.

It is easy to not hold the button and lose your reading.

I wish I could fire a string of say 10 shots and have it remember them, so I could know how consistant my gun is at higher rates of fire. I think this feature would help for sweetspoting regulators. If it would just remember the last velocity of a string and ROF, I would be ok with that

The only major annoyance is that it is small enough to misplace, but that is my fault...



Conclusion: Buy it. It is easily the best I have used and by far the best deal. no qualifications. I think this is an excellent product, and would only buy a big red for a field station at a regular field, I would choose this over the yellow one if the price tag were $25 more. It is just easier and more trustworthy. I think this is the only 10 I am ever likely to give.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Asp_LoD Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Miltech 66
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: You have to hold it to the barrel.
Review: I ordered the "yellow" one but was sent this one by mistake. I was going to return it but after reading the reviews here decided to keep it. It works great. It is very accurate and easy to use. I added some velcro straps on the side to keep it attached to the barrel. It reads just as fine if it is hanging upside down by the way. And then I made another velcro thing to keep the button pushed when I need it. It took about half hour but eliminated the main flaw with the this chronograph and it works great for me now. If the manufacturer improves the design to be able to attach to the marker and adding an on/off switch this chronograph will be perfect.
Conclusion: Buy it- it's accurate.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHANE_98C Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Red Field Chrono
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" Teardrop Barrel
Cyclone Feed
Double Trigger
RT
RT/Cyclone adapter
Shocktech Long Drop
Strengths: Accurate
BPS feature is fun
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Kind of expensive. But all chronos are...
Review: Got this on Ebay for 62 shipped. An ok deal.

When it arrived I took it out and tested it. I had just gotten home from a field so my velocity was freshly set. The X Radar chrono was right on! Then I let my RT go and it read 15 bps, a cool feature.

This thing is super easy to use. Just hold down the little black button and set it on top your barrel about an inch from the muzzle, then fire. It will read you the numbers consecutively so you don't have to reset every time.

This chrono can be easily stashed in a pocket and comes with a nice little bag for it.

It works perfectly.
Conclusion: I bought this chrono because I play a lot of outlaw. It fulfills its duty perfectly so I have to give it a 10/10. From what I have seen this chrono is way better then the "yellow one" in every way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

davpro777 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other radar
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 05 LP w/eyes
New designz HP Valve
New designz EQ bolt
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
J&J Elite kit
Shocktech Low pressure Chamber
Trinity T-Lock Feed Neck
32 Degrees and Trinity Spring Kit
CenterFlag DynaFlow on 47/3000
View Loader VLocity

Kingman VS2
J&J Elite kit
Hybrid Steel and Delrin Striker
View Loader VLocity
Centerflag Dynaflow on 68/4500
Strengths: Easy to use everytime
Price
Weaknesses: You must hold button to active the radar
Review: This is my second radar that I have, and I love it. It's rapid, easy and when you are a referee, this is a very easy way to check players. I check sometime the Velocity of my two guns and I'm happy to have this simple radar that give to you a very good output.
Conclusion: This is a very good radar, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capn Red Legs Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The yellow one, what ever that is.
Marker Setup: WGP 06 Black Magic SF
CP Reg, drop, asa
Freak
Vlocity Loader
Empire Fuel 68ci/4500psi

Smart Parts Ion
Scenario Dreams T Board w/ DYE membrane
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Freak

Smart Parts SP-8 Desert
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Remote fitted w/Palmer Stabilizer to run CO2
Stealth Barrel
Adj. Stock
Strengths: Size, price, bps feature, durable, battery life.
Weaknesses: Have to hold down the button to activate it.
Review: I have seen a few different types of hand-held chronos and looked into buying one for a long time before deciding on this one. The main reason I bought this one was the price. It was at least 15 dollars cheaper than the others and it seemed to have the features I was looking for.

The bps feature is really cool. It is fun to see how much difference each mod makes in the rof. It is also great for tuning up your gun after it has been sitting or before going to the field. It is really a time saving device and if you can afford it, it is worth buying.

Sometimes, friends and I go play renegade. It makes for a fast safety check. Less than 5 min, and everyone is checked and ready to go.

The only complaint that I have about this product is that you have to hold down the black button to make it active. It is not a big deal, but it kind of makes it hard when you are by yourself.
Conclusion: If you want a chrono that is inexpensive, reliable, and durable, get this one. You will not be disappointed. I have dropped it too many times to count and it still works just fine. It is a little scratched up though.

I give it a final rating of a 9 because you have to hold the button, but don't let that stop you from buying it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media