paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Defender Pants / Smart Parts Defender Pants / Smart Parts Defender Pants / Smart Parts Defender Pants

Smart Parts Defender Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Defender Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Defender Pants
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Defender Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
[paintball] Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Products Owned
Army Fatigues - They get the job done in the woods better than almost any alternative
JT Tournament Pants - They felt nice, looked nice but I tore out of them rather quickly, Defender pants are better made
Products Tested
Dye C6 Pants - These pants are probably one of the better I tested, but for the money it is nowhere near as good as the Defender Pants at 80 dollars. I find the defender pants to be a bit cooler to wear even though the padding is a bit heavier.
Empire Grind Pants - Played a few rounds in them, love em(they come in yellow!). Great pants for the money which is surprising for the empire brand name.
Redz Dimension and NV pants - The NV pants are nice, but dull looking, they lack the padding of the defender. The dimension is nice and cool to wear, looks great as well.
Smart Parts Chico - Terrible, just terrible. Might as well wear wind breakers.
Smart Parts Fighter - Almost bought these over the defender but what you get from paying 80 dollars over the 50 dollar fighter is incredible. Spend the extra cash and get the defender unless you really think they will give you that edge in speed.
Marker Setup: Main Set-up/Speedball
- Shocker STF (Olive w/Black Accents)
- Nerve Virtue Board
- Break-beam Vision
- High Efficiency Bolt/Valve assembly w/New Desingz ULP Firing Can (Black)
- New Desingz Roller Trigger (Black)
- Smart Parts Q-locking Feedneck
- Egg 3 (Black, n yeah I just like eggs better)
- Stock frame and grips (Oh yeah .45, I like it old school. I don't know what the
fascination with sticky grips are. I've never dropped a gun, gotten a blister, or lost my
grip while playing n I never wear gloves)
- Max-flo inline reg (Olive)
- 68/4500 Smart Parts tank w/ Guerrilla Air Fuku Reg
- Freak Kit w/ Olive AA Front 14"
- VForce Profiler (Yellow)
- Smart Parts Defender Pants (Black)
- LSU PB Jersey
- Freak Headband
- Shocker Barrel Condom
- Redz Small Gear Bag (Grey)

Back-up/Woods Ball
- Tippmann A-5 (No better gun to have when it all hits the fan)
- E-grip w/double trigger
- Ti Boomstick 14' (Sounds like a cannon on the A-5)
- Rear thumb velocity adjuster
- Lapco Machine Gun Shroud (To cover the shiny Ti back/for scenario play)
- OpsGear Magazine
- Sight Rail
- Car Stock
- 20oz Co2
- JT barrel condom
- VForce Morph (Grey)
- Random baseball hat
- Army Fatigues (Pants and Jacket over a t-shirt/underarmor)
Strengths: Crotch Padding
Leg "Vents"
Lots of pockets
Knee padding
Sweet looks/3d logos
Weaknesses: Some may find them heavier
Inner thigh protection
Draw-string is weak
Odd sizing
Review: First off I need to say I did quite a bit of deliberating when I came to the purchase of new pants. I spent a lot of time here reading and at my proshop testing out pants. I found the defender pants to be perfect for what I needed.

[Size]
As with most paintball pants the sizing is a little off of traditional clothing. You should really go to a proshop and try on pants or check with the manufacture on the exact measurements. With these particular pants one of average waist size(32) could fit from a medium to an extra large because of the adjustable waist. If I were going to buy some today I'd take your size in gym shorts or whatever and order the next size up. Even if they are a little bit to large in the waist or to long the pants have drawstrings on the bottom(typical) and an adjustable waist or the ability to use a belt. Besides when the pants are a little more loose you feel cooler and pant doesn't break as easily.

[Cost]
Some sites sell them for upwards to 150 dollars, I personally wouldn't pay so much and would go for say the Redz NV at 80 or Smart Parts Fighter at 50. But you'd be surprised at the prices you can get in your local proshop. I got my Defender pants for only 80. Plus you should always support your local proshop and community if you can.

[Protection]
Well like the name suggests padding in these pants is fantastic. Don't let the description make you think the padding is overkill. I find the weight of these pants to be perfect and the mobility is not hindered by the added protection. The padding over the crotch is fantastic, no one likes to get hit there and wearing a cup while playing paintball can be almost as dangerous and painful as actually playing the sport with all the odd movements we do(trust me, cups are fine in baseball and somewhat in football, but I've hurt myself playing paintball heh). I'd pay the extra money just for the added protection almost. The knee padding is great on the pants, though since I'm on the shorter side I don't get to take advantage of the full knee coverage the pants offer, but I have nice shin and knee protection haha. The fabric as a whole for the pants is thick enough to keep you from getting hurt while sliding even without the added padding. I'd say you won't need sliding pants for the woods or poor fields with unearthed roots. You probably won't be ripping these anytime soon, unless you jab a stick in the hidden vent spots.

[Feel]
The pants feel and flex a lot better than you would expect from first inspection. The vents down the legs of the pants is a great addition. It's always nice to feel that refreshing and somewhat calming cool breeze during a heated match. I like the fact that if you pick the wrong size(going over your size), they still fit like a dream with the adjustable bottoms and waist, though with that I should say the draw string at the bottom may have to be readjusted after each game.

[Looks]
Well if you like the style Smart Parts employs in their products, then you won't be disappointed here. These pants are tight and the logo that rests on your lower back is 3D, not just a printed design.

[Storage]
The pockets in your pants run down the front of your thigh and on each side of your leg below your knee. The ones on the thigh would be good for o-rings or rags. The two on either side are great for a battle-swab or squeegee. Being paintball pants there isn't much to secure the objects you carry in place, but you sacrifice security for ease/speed of access which I think is a good idea and can be the difference between a win or loss in a match.
Conclusion: I would say if you're looking for pants, have the money, can find them for a fair price, and don't have some sort of vindictive attitude towards smart parts(who knows, they could have killed your mother and raped your sister) then these are the pants to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cool shoes Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye C5, C6-Best pants money can buy
Redz
JT
etc
Marker Setup: Red 2007 NXT with literally everything
Backup gun: Red 2004 Vision Shocker with literally everything
Strengths: Good crouch protection
Good ventilation
Can tighten the bottom
Machine wash friendly
Weaknesses: Knee padding
Oddly placed pockets
Only two belt loops?
Review: For the past 4 months I have been required to wear them in every tournament I play in, so, needless to say, I have given these pants quite a test. I'm very skinny (160lbs), but very tall (6'2"), so I've always had trouble finding a good pair of paintball pants (and regular pants for that matter). The mediums fit my waste very well (I own a pair of mediums), but unfortunatley they show off my ankles a little to well. The larges are looser, but cover my ankles and help better in terms of bounces around the bottom of my legs (I own a pair of larges as well). Unfortunatley, there are only TWO beltloops on the pants, so I can't wear a belt and just use the larges for tourney play.
Durability
I play paintball 1 to 2 times a week. I wear these pants for every practice. They've been beaten up quite a bit already and so far I'm impressed with how they have held out. One thing that really stands out is how well the gel padding in the back has maintained itself. Normally after 3 months of weekly washing (at least, with my experience with other pants, notably the C5 and C6) the gel padding starts to wear off, but these pants have had no signs of giving away. The Velcro still works very well, and I've yet to tear these pants when sliding.
Padding
Padding is the biggest issue I have with these pants, and why it's going to hurt my review. The knee padding is grossly inadequate for a player like me. I play frontman and dive everytime off the break. The first time I used these pants my knees were swollen and bruised by the end of the day. Since then I have greatly increased my knee padding underneath, and this problem has gone away. However, I still expected these pants to have better kneepadding for dives, slides, and bounces. The material throughout the pants are also not as thick as some of the other high end tourney pants that I have worn. 3 weeks ago I got bunkered while at the snake and took several shots along my side and behind. I had some huge welts, which is expected, but I've never received welts like that until I started using these pants, even at ranges that close.
Ventilation
The ventilation is fair. Where the SP logo is up top there is material that is less padded, but more breathable that helps keep your thighs cool. There are also holes along the back side of the legs that add to ventilation. Their is some ventilation along the knees as well, but not enough. I'd like to see some vents along the top crease of the knees in next years model
Other
One nice attribute to these pants I havent seen on any other pairs of pants are the tightening strings at the bottom. Although I don't use them in speedball, they are nice when playing woodsball because they prevent the bottoms on the pants from getting caught on sticks and the like.
The paints also look, well, plain. Even the red pair doesn't have that much in terms of fancy stitch work. This isn't a real big draw back, just and observation, as it doesn't affect my score on the review.
There is room for a squeegee in the back, and some pocket space in the front, but the pockets are placed rather awkwardly. Right on the front of the quads. I don't know why they put them there, but, well, thats where they are.
Conclusion: These are not the best pair of paintball pants, but have proven to me that they are very durable, perhaps one of the most durable pairs of pants I've used yet. If you are a casual player (1 to 12 times a year), go for it, they will last you years! However, if you are a tourney player that tends to go through 2 pairs of pants a year anyway, get something higher up.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OakleyGascan Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dickies
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Virtue Board
SP Firebolt
SP Q-Lock Feed Neck
SP Titanium Silver Body Kit
SP Freak Barrel Kit w/14" Dust Silver Front and 12" Dust Silver All American Front
Kila Magnetic Ball Detents
SP 15 Degree Drop Forward
SP Max Flo 4500
Critical RPM Roller Trigger
Halo B (Black)
Pure Energy 68/45
Strengths: Everything!! They are more comfortable than even the most worn in sweat pants.
Weaknesses: Nothing what so ever!!
Review: I really don't know how else to explain other than these pants are wonderful. I cannot believe this is the only review that has been posted for these pants. They look great, feel great. We will see how well they vent once I get to use them. Smart Parts to me puts out great products and I will stick with them for life. All you need to do is take my word for it.

Edit
So I finally got to use my new pants this past weekend and was completely satisfied. Could not have bought a better pant. These things are great as I said above. I am the type of person who's sweats a lot and in these pants I did not sweat all that much. Usually my legs would be drenched after a full day of play but not in these pants. I stayed cool even when there was hardly any breeze. But when a breeze did come through it was like air conditioning. The padding is like nothing that I would have expected. I had more bounces then I ever did with the Dickie's. Keep in mind that the Dickie's have no padding at all. My legs were getting more breaks than any other part of my body. Not any more.:^) You can kneel run and what ever else you might do with no restrictions. They put the stretchy parts where they needed to be. So there you go, go buy these pants.
Conclusion: Grab you about $100.00 buck and go buy them. You will not regret it!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 7th, 2006 at 5:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tabascoNYP Monday, February 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Camo pants from Walmart, surplus stores, etc.
My brothers hand-me-down Dye paintball pants (sorry I dont know the name)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts EOS
Freak Jr. Barrel with stainless inserts
Halo hopper
Strengths: Good padding
Thick and somewhat warm for cold days
Look cool
Weaknesses: Probably too warm come summer without better vents
Review: I just got these pants a few weeks ago and I'm pretty happy with them. My only other experience with paintball specific pants were my brothers old torn ones he gave to me. The smart part pants are great now but I am worried they will be really hot in the summer. The other pants I used had better ventilation. These pants are better padded though, and they look like they are really tough. Some of the stiching is coming out a little bit but its too early to tell if thats going to be a problem. One other thing I washed them the first time and all the little rubber things on the side of the smart parts logo on the back came off. They didn't do anything functional but its was kind of weird.
Conclusion: I like them and I got them for cheap ($40 on ebay). I got some regular camo pants and ripped a huge hole in the back and was running around the rest of the day with my @$$ hanging out. Hopefully these won't dissapoint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuzzman70 Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I had some camo pants
Marker Setup: All stock, accept the tank, which is a PMI hpa. SP vibe
Strengths: Comfortable
padded
ventalated
Weaknesses: None
Review: Just awesome pants. They look and feel great, they are excellently ventalated, and are padded in all the right areas. I got mine at a steal for $30. Granted they are covere in paint at the moment still freakin amazing pants.

Smart parts may make markers and parts, but they know what they're doing in apparel. Super light, super comfortable, and well padded. The stitches dont some undone. Just a great pair of pants.
Conclusion: If you dont have a pair, get some. Instead of setting down towels in your car when you leave, just wear some basketball shorts under them and take them off. Works great. What the hell are you waiting for? Buy them, buy them now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kamikaze14 Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
fighter 3
Marker Setup: smart parts ion white w/ max flo micro, 14 progressive, qlock, halo b red
Strengths: Lightweight
Slagish (dont feel hits that much)
Padding
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have always been a fan of smart parts. I use just about smart parts everything, and when my team got a sponsorship by them, I was thrilled. When this happened, i had fighter 3 pants and jeresy. I kept the jeresy since that was fine, but i needed better pants. I sold my fighter pants for $45. After this, i went and bought the defenders. The first time i played with them, they worked awesome. This is definitely the quality you can expect from smart parts.
Conclusion: Overall awesome. Buy buy buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Friedmoose Tuesday, September 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
- X36 shroud
- X36 folding stock
- some SmartParts barrel

CCI Phantom
- VSC
- red on black acid wash
Strengths: - None that I have found
Weaknesses: - Tore up easy
- Crappy pocket placement
- Netting on the inside
Review: These are the worst pants I have ever owned, the day I wore them the seams began to come undone. These pants suck ass. The knees are barely padded, the material stains so easy, and the pockets are placed in the most retarded fashion. This particular pair of pants has 4 pockets, all of which are on the front of your thigh, the front! not the side like a regular pocket! the front! The pockets are stacked 1 on the other, 1 pocket is smaller and completely open, the second is a little bit bigger, and has a small Velcro square that will come off the first time you quickly snag it to get something out of your pocket. Another problem with these pants is the netting on the inside, it feels like you are wearing a bathing suit, which is not as bad of a problem if you wear a par of shorts under the pants, which i do regardless of the pants. I could go on and on about how much i loath these pants but i think that this is enough for a review that only a few people will read.
Conclusion: do not buy these pants! ever! go to Walmart, buy some crappy cargo pants, reinforce the knees and crotch, and you will have a pair of pants for a 1/10 the price you will pay for these pants and 10 fold the durability of these pants
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jksteele010 Thursday, November 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BDU, tested Dye Hybrids
Marker Setup: ION w/ CP Trigger and ND Clamp
Switch + 68/4500 LP
Strengths: Lightweight, Breath very well
Awesome design
Weaknesses: Very little padding
Review: These are my first set of paintball pants and its a pretty good pant. Absolutely love the design and colors of the red. I bought an XL thinking it might be too big, but with the adjustable belt, no problem they tightened right up. And they have great ventilation all the way down the inseam, so down here in Oklahoma, playing in 90+degree weather that's going to be a lifesaver. The only minor complaint is that I had expected a little more padding. They have re-enforced knees but no real padding and for $100 I had hoped they would. So I'll end up probably wearing knee pads

Overall a great product and if you can find it cheap on ebay, no reason not to get them.
Conclusion: Great set of pants for mid or back players, front may want something with a little more padding.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media