paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes / Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes / Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes / Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes

Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One of the sharpest looking guns we've seen so far, the Diablo Mongoose II Reincarnation sports an electronic frame. The gun also comes standard with a 9.6-volt rechargeable battery and wall charger.

Features:
Custom milling and fade anodizing
Beam Break eyes so you never have to worry about chopping paint
17 BPS rate of fire
Foregrip with expansion chamber
State of the art low pressure valve
Quick-strip bolt
Pro-style vertical vise feed port
Improved ball detent
Rear velocity adjuster with tournament lock
Drop forward bottomline
ASA regulator for consistent velocity
Electronic safety

LCD Version Features Include:
Shot Counter
Game Timer
Auto Shut-off
Product Availability 
The Diablo Mongoose II BBS LCD with Eyes are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
BoB DA RippeR Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year192 of 192 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- worse
ICD 04' BKO- better
Spyder Pilot ACS 05- same for the most part
Marker Setup: Mongoose II BBS LCD Blue to Black Fade
20 Ounce CO2 Tank
Empire Reloader II Smoke
Proto 1 Piece Barrel Polished Black
V-Force Pro Vantage Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger(optional), the stock one wobbles a lot.
New grips(for sure, or just get gloves), the stock ones suck.
New barrel(good to have) like every gun, stock's not bad though.
Fast Hopper, at least a Reloader II or 12V Revvy.
Strengths: **Review**
Weaknesses: **Review**
Review: General- 9.5/10

This gun is original in all ways. Not a lot of people will have it and if you don't want to be, "just another Ion owner", then this is the gun for you. The name is nowhere on the gun so people will be left wondering what its called, plus the name usually looks ugly anyway. It comes with a 1 year warranty if you send in something it comes with in the manual or else its only 90 days, but its all good.

Performance- 7.5/10

The gun performs well almost all the time, with a couple exceptions. I had a leaky cup seal a while after I bought the gun but it was easy and cheap to fix. My spring also started to get weak and it wouldn't let me shoot faster then 180FPS, but I just replaced it easily later and it works fine (you might have to buy a spring kit). I have yet to have a chop, even using old, bad paint. You can shoot extremely fast if you have a hopper that can keep up, and it keeps it's accuracy even at high speeds. It's accurate from far away even with the stock barrel. It has a lot of kick, but unless you're a scrawny 8 year old it shouldn't be a problem. It just gets kind of annoying with tiny little problems that cost like $2 to fix, but driving over to the shop and fixing it is kind of a nuisance. 7.5 is still a good rating, but little problems occur, havent had any big ones yet.

Looks- 10/10

This gun looks great, sweet anno and milling. Comes in 3 fades and 1 solid colour and everyone looks great, easily a 10 in looks.

Trigger- 7.5/10

The stock trigger's easy to walk which is a plus, but it wobbles side to side a lot. It's also made of plastic which isn't that big of a deal as the wobble. It also comes stock with a 25 gram switch which is my opinion is a little too light, 50 gram would be good enough for me but 25's not bad.

Barrel- 9/10

The gun takes spyder threaded barrels so you can get practically any aftermarket barrel you want for this gun. The stock barrel is about 11.5 inches. It's one of the best stock barrels I've ever tested, the curve is minimal, it usually goes where you want it too. Great stock barrel, 9.

Bolt- 10/10

The stock bolt is a delrin bolt which means it doesn't require lubing or oiling which is good. It has a quick release so you can clean it easily if you happen to get a break or if anything happens.

Consistency- 9/10

At the chrono, this gun will give you pretty good consistency for the price. I'm guessing it's somewhere around +4/-4fps. I haven't really paid attention to it but I'm sure it would be around there.

Feedneck- 10/10

The stock feedneck is clamping so it will fit any size hopper feedneck, which means you won't need to sand any of your feednecks, unless they are gigantic. It could cut into the plastic of your hopper's feedneck if you're tightening it fully, but a little clear tape around your hopper's feedneck and it'll prevent that. Keeps the hopper on the gun. I did have an incident when my hopper flew off when I was shooting quickly but that's cause I didn't tighten it enough, no big deal.

Eyes- 10/10

The eyes work great, I haven't had one chop yet even using old paint. You can turn them on/off in the LCD if you need to for some reason, but otherwise they're always on and working. 10,10,10,10,10.

Grips/LCD Panel- 6/10, 8.5/10

The grips are bad, just normal plastic grips with little bumps. Provides little grip, but if you have gloves you shouldn't worry about that at all. The LCD panel is sweet since it comes with a shot counter, game timer, and auto shut off. You can turn the eyes on/off, and adjust your ROF from 4-20. The LCD's kind of hard to see in the light but you can manage. It also might eat up your batteries quicker but it's worth it for the most part.

Drop Forward- 10/10

Regular drop forward, not too big, not too small.

Cleaning/Dissassembly- 10/10

The gun comes with a quick strip pin so its easy to disassemble the gun so you can clean and oil it. It comes with instructions on how to do it, so if you have no clue whats going on you can follow the manual.
Conclusion: If you're not extremely rich and need a really good starter gun, buy this gun. Remember, the person makes the player, not the gun. Everyone needs to start with a good beginner gun first, and this is one to have. I'm gonna give it a 9 for now since it hasn't given me any major problems yet, but I can and will update later as I play more. I'm currently having the problem with my spring, but I'm going to purchase the 32* spring kit sooner or later, hopefully that'll fix it once and for all.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Aces-High Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, spyder xtra, rented an angel at my field for 20$, viewloader orion and friends pgp.
Marker Setup: Mongoose bbs led, Qloader, cp one piece 16", About to get air
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast loader depending on what your doing with this gun
air would be nice to minimise the kick and keep it consistent
maybe a barrel ( Mine realy helps for the accuracy and sound)
spring kit is NEEDED trust me.
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: Okay, I bought the mongoose mainly cuz it's looks and speed. I was expecting a fairly good gun the would turn heads and be unic because I was tired of going to my field and seeing 5 kids each with ions. I had no idea how this gun would perform but I can tell you when I first shot it I was surprised. Here's what I have to say.

-Looks
Well like I said before I bought this gun because it turns heads with it's sleek paint job and it's uniquely shaped body. Truly one of the most beautiful guns in the sport of paintball. 10 out of 10

- Accuracy
I was a bit worried about the accuracy when I ordered it. I don't know I had a strange feeling about it and didn't think it would be very accurate. I thought diablo had only focused on the looks and didn't care how it performed. When I first got it I was a bit surprised, It was pretty accurate with the stock barrel in, but it's when I put my CP one piece that I saw that this gun was a real competitor and not only a looker. With stock barrel shots were firing an inch or two from each other from a fifty foot range. With aftermarket the shots were an inch or less from each other. With stock 7/10 with CP
9/10

-Speed
Well I knew this gun was going to be fast and there were no surprises in this category.
I easily manage to walk the trigger at 12 bps but when I really go I can get it up to 15 or 16, not that I would ever need this kinda speed but it's fun to have. My sister can walk this thing at 12 so even if you don't have the quickest fingers you can still shoot as fast as a pro. Speed gets 10/10. Just be sure you have a good hopper.

-Price
Very good price on this thing, but it's hard to find in stores so I had to order online and pay the extra shipping cost and since I live in Canada and had to order from the states it cost me around 300$ but this is well worth it. Price gets 8 Caz the shipping costed me an extra 50$ but if I lived in states would be 9

-Maintenance
Some people say this gun is high maintenance but I say the maintenace is extremly easy and dare I say it fun. I don't know why I like taking this thing apart but I find it quick and super easy. Yes you do have to lube it a lot but for someone like me who does it after every game anyways it's no problem and it dosen't bother me what so ever. It only takes about 5 minutes anyway. I give maintenance a 9 out of 10 because I could see it being a bit hard for someone new to the sport and the manual for this gun could be a bit better.

-Consistency
Well I have to say that stock this is the biggest weak point for this gun. The springs are horrible and this gun stock maxes out at 150 fps. I knew this would happen in a blow back electro however so along with the gun I bought a really nice shocktech spring kit for it and put the second strongest one in it which boosted it up to around 280 which is perfect for where I go at. With stock spring the consistency was HORRIBLE and at the chrono the shots had a difference of about -/+6 or -/+7 fps between shots which is very inconsistent. But when I put the shocktech spring in the difference was maybe -/+2 or 3 which is super consistent. stock 5 out of 10 but with spring kit 9 out of 10. With Air it should be even more consistent and I would probably give it a 10 out of 10

-Features
Final category that I will be reviewing the features on this gun are pretty standard except for the eyes which is excellent for a gun of it's price to have. The led version lets you cap it's speed which is pretty good feature to have. Also comes with a 9v rechargeable battery which is great and saves you money. features get's an above average mark of 8 out of 10

I have finaly had the chance to test this gun with all the different springs that shockteck includes in their kit.
silver/weakest does not work very well at all. it chronos at about 160 or 170. Green a bit stronger is a bit better but I think that it could be a bit weak still, havent chronoed it. Gold/second strongest is perfect because it chronoes at about 240 for me. Red/strongest DO NOT USE IT. you chop alot with it because it's simply too strong for paintballs, well the ones I was using anyways. Just use gold spring and you'll be fine, I hope. I'll update again once I get compressed air.
Conclusion: Highly recommended. Probably the best electro blow back out there and highly recommended. In my opinion just as good if not better than the Ion. I don't mind Ions either, I just hate their feel and looks. If you wanna turn heads, have optimum performance and don't wanna pay thousands for a gun than this is for you. If I could I would give it a 9.5 but you can't do that so I'll round it out to 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 at 2:46 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

diablo706 Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Ion is about equal but the mongoose has a higher fireing rate
Marker Setup: Halo hopper
Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper / nitro/compressed air ( i would recomend this for all guns)
a new trigger ( not realy needed but it is not bad to have)
Strengths: Shoots strait and accurate
It has a nice stock barrel and
A great firring rate.
Weaknesses: Loose trigger ( not a big deal)
It does bad in the cold with co2 i
Review: This is a great gun and a great buy. it has a nice firring rate, strong feed neck, and is all around durable.It looks awesome and in my opinion it is probably one of Diablo's best guns. The barrel on it is a perfect size it is big but not too big ( it is very maneuverable). The gun is also lite. This gun shoots far and accurate. My gun shoots around 250 to 260 FPS.
Conclusion: It is an all around GREAT BUY. The price is great. It would be stupid not to get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

413sonix Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix Pro with E-frame-Pretty good, but the Mongoose is better
VS2-Better by far
Electra 05'-Close, but no cigar
Too many E-Spyders that come close, but don't quite make it.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
12oz. Spyder CO2 tank
14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel
VLocity Jr.
CAMD 2.0 ESP trigger frame.
32* Spring kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Fast hopper
Palmers Male Stabilizer
Replace the female reg with a ASA
Strengths: Fast
Eyes
Regulator
Ok feedneck
Light switch
Weaknesses: Pretty inaccurate
Trigger feels small
Review: Well, my Sonix was broken down for our day of play. Was my non-working gun gonna ruin our day of play? Hell no! So my friend handed me his Mongoose II. He taught me how to operate it and it worked great. It has a very light microswitch. So I put on my VLocity Jr, screwed on my Co2 tank, loaded up the hopper and let it rip. It rips for sure. It is pretty inaccurate though. It also seemed to not shoot as far at the end of the day, probably due to I was running uber low on Co2. The eyes work great. I didn't chop one ball. I would recommend this gun for sure. Also if you own a Spyder and want a body that can take eyes and eye covers, but don't want to drill for eyes and tap the holes for eye covers, you can buy one of these bodies for that.
Conclusion: An excellent marker. I would recommend.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NH-Baller 101 Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any Spyder
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose II LCD BBS Black to Red Fade
68ci 4500 Air America tank
Nitro duck X-Stream tank regulator
Ricochet Apache Loader
New Designz High Preformance Valve
Trinity -15 degree block
Macroline
Spring Kit(needed for everyone who has a mongoose)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Sticky Grips
Compressed Air
Spring Kit
Electronic Hopper
Trigger (SPPS Snapdragon)
Regulator
Strengths: fast
fairly accurate
25g switch
Nice Stock Barrel
Clamp Feedneck
Looks
Weaknesses: Low FPS **Fixed Now with Maddmann spring kit
plastic trigger
bad grips without gloves
Review: This gun is great right out of the box. it shoots straight and accurate and looks mean. With some ajustment to the trigger it is fairly easy to walk too. Even though this gun is great if you don't want to be just another kid with an ion, it does have some shortcomings. For one, even though it has cool milling, it is still basically a spyder. The trigger wobbles and stock, is not close enough to the switch. The main problem for me was that my 3rd time using it, the fps dropped off to about 180fps. I changed out the spring and that seemed to fix the problem. After only 500 more shots it dropped back off again. Now by streaching the most powerful spring it comes with I can consitantly shoot around 250fps. The gun is deadly accurate in the right hands, but what gun isn't?
With a spring kit and compressed air this gun sould preform perfectly. Unfortunitally i havent bought a spring kit yet. If you are looking for a fairly tight gun with killer looks look no further. You no longer have to buy an ion to have low cost preformance.

Now I have installed the parts listed above, and this gun is awsome. It is running about 300psi!!!. The kick and sound was greatly reduced and I have had less malfunctions. I'm upping its score to an 8
Conclusion: Buy it to not be like everyone else,everyone is constantly asking what it is at my fields.
Springs bad but can be fixed, one LP its sweet
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 4th, 2006 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pballer68 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Diablo mongoose BBS LCD with eyes
cp expansion chamber
cp ASA on/off
(soon to be spps magno trigger)
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
ASA
Barrel (but not needed)
Strengths: FAST
Looks
Overall performance
Weaknesses: Bad grips
heavy
Review: This gun is great. It is so Fast plus it looks good.It performes well on the field to.This gun has full auto which is a plus.the stock barrel is accurate so u wont need another one for a while.also the gun is only about 170$ which is a awesome price for the performance of the gun.
Conclusion: My final words are to get the gun. you'll regret it if u dont.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sportsfreak7 Saturday, August 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo-worse
spyder victor 2-worse
ion-better
spyder imagine-worse
Marker Setup: all stock mongoose reincarnation 2 with eyes with halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
barrel
trigger
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Price
durability
Weaknesses: Trigger kind of flimsy
not very accurate
Review: +'s
good starter gun
preforms pretty well for what u pay
rof is good for a $150 gun
-'s
Trigger is a lil flimsy
not very accurate
overall it is a good gun for the starting to moderate paintball player if ur looking to be a serious paintball player and to join tournaments and stuff i wouldn't plan on getting this gun unless u plan on getting alot of ups
Conclusion: This is a good gun for playing recball with the local kids i wouldn't get it if ur looking for a tournament gun
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

puma0250 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion, spider Electra
Marker Setup: apache ricochet hopper
14" empire twist barrel
co2/n2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger
new barrel


Strengths: Fast firing
eye's for cheap
twist feed neck
derlin bolt
Weaknesses: HIGH MAINTENANCE
spring sucks
Review: Its a nice gun
just takes a little to get use to
not allot of upgrades you can buy for it
it has a heavy body, and the eye's on it are low end
i originally had a blast with it, and after along time using it
something became a pain
other than this its a good beginners gun
good for woods and speed ball

PS
buy a spring kit, my fps dropped within the first week and you can tell, im only able to shoot
150 maxed fps
Conclusion: For a beginner to speed and woods ball its an excellent gun, although problems have came around time and time again, buy a good spring kit for it, it has a horrible stock spring
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

coolkid305 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,spyder pilot
Marker Setup: egg2,mongoose lcd bbs w/eyes,20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,trigger
Strengths: Very fast and smooth. Shots very well and is a very strong gun.
Weaknesses: Stock screws get loose.Not accurate with stock barrel.Trigger wobbles
Review: This gun is really good for its price. Its good looking and it will not let you down on the feild. This gun shoots really good and its very fast. With a good hopper and new barrel you will be set to go with this marker. If you dont want to be like everyone else get this gun.
Conclusion: Get this gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

antiemomusic Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders. Its a clone.
Marker Setup: Mongoose II BBS
eVLution II
14" Quiet Riot Barrel
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper.
Barrel.
HPA.
Not Nesacery Upps Below
Reg.
Macro line.
Board.
Prolly a different feedneck for a lower profile.(angel thredded)
Gripz.
Trigger.(you can get used to the stock)
Drop.
Striker.
Strengths: Fast out of the box.
Light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: ION. Its only like 10 bucks more off orderpaintball.com
Review: 1st off i love this gun. It has major potental since it has eyes stock. with the updrades I posted up there it woul be an amazing gun. Im working on the moey for that stuff.but the negative is that mine breaks alot. As of now im sellingn it cuz id rather have a highend tourny gun. im to lazy to get those ups seperatly so im just getting something thats reliable and fast. still a good gun but im getting into serious tournaments.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. You wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 24th, 2006 at 9:26 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media