paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 / Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006

Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Kingman has done it again with their 2006 Xtra! This gun is loaded with features that the competition can't touch.

Features:

Vertical feed system
Aluminum 45 2 finger trigger with guard
Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose
Rear cocking second generation Venturi bolt
Field strippable pin
Sight rail with beavertail
Anti-double feed
12" micro-polished barrel
Low pressure chamber
TL velocity adjuster
Removable gas-thru fore grip
Mini expansion chamber
Resigned cocking grip
Deluxe drop forward
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
hectorg Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months52 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, tipp 98
Marker Setup: rocking trigger, 14 barrel, dye grips, ndz low neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, low pressure setup
Strengths: Cheap, upgradable, shoots pretty well
Weaknesses: For the prize you pay, none.
Review: I have had this gun about three months, and this gun is not bad at all, its a great marker for anyone if your Experienced or not. the good thing about this marker is it grows with you and what I mean by that is as your skills get better you can upgrade your gun to fit your paintball needs.

the good think about this marker it never breaks down most of all my friends I go play with have top of the line markers and while they are fixing their guns Im out there playing.
Conclusion: Well guys the gun helps but to win games its all about skills and teamwork.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 22nd, 2008 at 2:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Luminoth13 Monday, August 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-Lite,other Spyders,a few PMIs
Marker Setup: Stock 2006 Spyder Xtra with 20oz CO2 and JAVA loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably an electronic hopper, like a egg 2, but that's it.
Strengths: Great stock barrel
Comes stock with expansion chamber
Standard drop forward is very helpfull
Looks
Weaknesses: None worth mentioning
Review: I just bought this gun awile ago from ebay at $117. I'm on a 3-man team with my friends and decided i didn't want to rent anymore, so i turned to the new 2006 Spyder Xtra. This gun is at the the top of it's class, best mechanical marker i've ever used. Of course, i'm not rich so i've never been able to use the high-end electronic markers like Shockers and Angels. But in my book, this is the best gun i've ever used hands down. If your someone like me who want to play paintball but doesn't want to spend hundreds of dollars on high-end markers, then you should get the 2006 Spyder Xtra. There are no weaknesses on this gun that are significant or cause performance problems. This gun hardly needs any upgrades because it comes with so much right out of the box, but if you're shooting fast I'd reccomend getting an electroinc hopper like an egg2. Otherwise, this gun is perfect.
Conclusion: Great gun overall. Perfect for beginners or someone who's looking for a great gun without having to spend a ton of money on an Autococker or Angel.Highly recommend buying.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

Big C Unit Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator,
Piranha R6,
Piranha VLR
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with 20 oz Co2, Smart Parts on/off valve,
Jcs offset sight rail with a BSA 30mm red dot sight (excellent sight),
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Modified trigger settup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a barrel upgrade (thats what I'd do first), then if you are getting serious, a offset sight rail with a red dot sight, but not a laser pointer or scope. A red dot sight works terrific. I got a BSA 30mm of $30 and I love it. It is really nice if you operate on a one shot- one kill method
Strengths: durability
balance
little kick
Good looks
Doesn't chop
Very upgradeable
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: I haven't found any significant weaknesses
Review: The Spyder Xtra is A great all-around buy. I bought mine for $100 at Walmart and have never regretted it once. I have used several other cheap guns and when I bought an Xtra it was so different in every way. I stopped having balls chopped and the Xtra is more powerful, accurate, and upgreadable than the others. But I see the other guns as a prep-stage for me getting the spyder. When you are used to lower class markers, you smoke with a Spyder. The Xtra is very nice looking (espessially with a Progressive barrel) which, looks really dont matter i suppose. I recommend a Smart Parts Proggressive barrel for this marker I find it very accurate and cost efficient. the performance is beautiful, you can fire very fast and accuratelly. I have recently added an offset sight rail and a BSA 30 mm red dot sight to my gun and wow, it makes a difference. is is easy to see and use even in broad daylight. because of the price and performance I would recamend this gun to anyone is isn't rich and can afford 100 bucks and wants a great gun intermediate players would love this gun
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont regret it. remember all the best equipment is no good if you dont know how to effectively use it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 27th, 2006 at 10:54 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Holmes875 Friday, November 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS1, Tippman 98 Custom (kinda)
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Epiphany w/Black Q-Loc
-Empire Reloader B
-Guerilla 48/3000 HPA tank w/ myth regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel
-clamping feedneck
Strengths: -Built like a tank
- Ready for use until you're ready to upgrade
-Looks
Weaknesses: -Heavy (for a paintballgun)
-Barrel
-Trigger
-Feedneck
-Regulator
-Bolt
Review: THE GOOD:

This gun is great for beginners. You won't be spending money on 9 volt batteries, it's cheap, will never break, and will last you as long as it needs to. It's comfortable to hold, and is better than the first Xtra model (don't know about the new one). The macroline is metal, so you'll never have leaking problems or anything. The dropforward that it comes with holds the ASA in a good place, and doesn't wiggle at all. The detents (more like detent) also works nicely.

THE BAD:

Remember, this is a beginner gun, so it isn't going to be spectacular. For a marker, it's too heavy, the beaver tail bends easily if anything hits it, the reg sucks (up to 15fps difference per shot), the bolt (at least mine) rubs against the hole the feedneck slips into, scratching it all up, the barrel sucks, and the feedneck either needs one of those crappy plastic vertical necks on it or just use a hose clamp (best choice). The trigger is also crap because its like pulling back the trigger on a dollar-store cap gun. Being mechanical, this gun also breaks plenty of rounds, so make sure you have a good squeegee!
Conclusion: Despite the negatives, this gun is overall a good beginner gun. It held up nicely and got the job done. I used it for 4 years and after about a year I was doing great with it and only got better. It's a great foundation builder, but once you've gotten good at the game and you really know what you're doing, that's when you know it's time to upgrade. It's a great gun to get if you've never played paintball before or have rented a gun and just want a cheap working one of your own that doesnt suck horribly. *coughviewloadercough* Otherwise, dish out the extra $50 and get a vibe or pilot.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2009 at 1:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jomysterPB Saturday, October 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Tippman 98 custom, A US ARMY Alpha Black Tac edition, Spyder Victor, Icon X
Marker Setup: ~A 14inch rifled linnerar smart parts barrel~
~a 20oz Co2 tank~
Recommended
Upgrades:
~A 14inch rifled linnerar smart parts barrel~
~a 20oz Co2 tank~
Strengths: accurate stock barrel
nice looking
!!DOES NOT CHOP!!
Will last a long time!
Weaknesses: not as durable as Tippman guns
Review: I have used a variety of guns and the Spyder Xtra has been the best investment I have made in a gun. When I first got the gun I shot about 500 through it and I was amazed by how accurate the stock barrel was and its speed for a mechanical gun. For the price of only $140 I believe I got more than what I paid for it. Over the past 2 years with proper matianance I have not had to replace any major parts; just the spring. today. With a $60 dollar upgrade I have added a 20oz Co2 tank and a 14inch linnerar smart parts barrel. Just the $60 alone in upgrades has given me the edge in paintball. I can measure up with the low-range electro guns now. With the guns low matianance and high reliability it has been my favorite gun.
Conclusion: If you are intersted in paintball and want a high-end mechanical gun for a great price then this gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoWH3fan Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
old and 04 spyder imagine also older xtras.
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra 2006, 32 degrees spring set, 16" cp barrel and reg, empire reloader b, and sypder rocking triger.

Back Up and woodsball:
MR1 stock ( getting spring and maybe a rifled barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
well a you really need to start out is a barrel cp one peice is a great barrel to go with and fairly cheap (40 bucks).
Strengths: Ok barrel
cool looks
reliable
cheap
easy to take appart
very upgradeable

Weaknesses: The barrel
For the class of gun it is flawless (mechanical blowback)
Review: I must say it is a nice gun to have i got the gun at 100 dollars ( is now about $70) and found it pretty flawless exception to my barrel which gave me a few barrel breaks because on the poor quality in that part but my friend had used same gun with cp barrel and had no problems so most definitely get a new barrel. Besides the poor quality on the barrel the rest of the gun was great in quality : shoots strait (with new barrel), does not break down, does not chop (w/ new barrel and elect hopper), easy to take appart to upgrade or inspect, parts of the gun fits snug and does not let gas leak where it should not. Although there is a problem with the bolt scratching which is not a big deal because its normal wear will not effect performance just make sure you oil the gun well and take care of it to get maximum efficacy.

Since most people that will buy this gun will be newcomers. i would like to suggest you newcomers to take the gun completely appart so you know how to take it apart to oil it because despite what some people say you need to oil all paintball guns (there are some exceptions that being the derlin bolts). Also before you oil it i may suggest to look up where you need to oil online ( which is basically all parts the move ).
Conclusion: So, any ways i found that for the price it was a great gun because of reliable stock and upgradeablity. (ps. i gave it a ten because it just to compete agaist other guns because people over rate everything but normally i would give it a 9 due to the barrel mainly)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 11:07 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

engage1 Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac-5 Recon - About as good as the Xtra, but not as accurate or lightweight
Tippmann 98 Custom - As accurate and sleek-looking, but not as comfortable as the Xtra
Marker Setup: JT Tac-5 Recon Camo
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, it's basically amazing stock.
Strengths: Accuracy
Price
Durability
X-Chamber
12" stock barrel
Weaknesses: Need an adapter for hopper to fit
Nothing else really
Review: The Kingman Spyder Xtra is a quality marker at a really reasonable price. It's basically made to use straight out of the box and you barely need to upgrade anything besides the barrel if you absolutely have to. This gun shoots extremely accurately and when I used it, it put a ramping spin on the ball which caused my shots to curve a bit upward but straight none the less. On the break off my partner and I ran out into the woods and immediately got a one-shot kill on one of the opponents, it's deadly and intimidating to say the least. What you get for the price of the marker is more than you'll really find that you need. There are few upgrades, but equipping an e-grip would be a nice addition to give you that tournament edge. The blue color I happened to use wasn't exactly the best woodland camo, but the black version looks very stealthy and adds a sleek effect to the appearance of the gun. Check out the Xtra for yourself and make a definite decision based on a few shots, hopefully you'll find that you don't need a high-end electronic marker to compete with the croud once you've used the Xtra.
Conclusion: Try it out and make a decision. I loved it and am planning on purchasing one just as a backup so I don't have to worry, I know this gun is quality and I can count on it. I give it a 9 because I've only gotten a chance to test it, not play with it for a full day.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

metalfan99 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
this would be my first paintball marker, so the 2006 spyder xtra.
Marker Setup: 2006 spyder xtra
derlin acs bolt
j&j ceramic barrel
cp reg
cp drop forward
cp bottom line with on/off
spyder rocking trigger frame
trinity clamp feed neck
macro line set up

68 4500 centerflag hpa tank

halo with victory board
Recommended
Upgrades:
for upgrades, I would say to upgrade at you own will, but my set up really works for me
Strengths: Very reliable, shoots great and not one problem
Weaknesses: I have not found a prob.
Review: This gun is great, I hear a lot of people trash spyders but they are very nice to shoot and they will not leave you standing on the sidelines during a match. with a few upgrades you will be able to play with the best and be able to shoot as fast as them to.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun for anyone that is in to getting a good starter gun or getting a gun that can get a bunch of upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 1st, 2006 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

kingcrunkness Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: spyder xtra 2006,
gravity fed hopper,
two 12 0z tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
an electric hopper,such as a empire reloader 2, viewloader evolution or revolution
Strengths: Stock barrel is good
co2 efficient
Good for begginers
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Sometimes the nuts and screws come loose if you fire it a lot
Review: my first impression on the gun was that it looked pretty cool, so I bought it.
I bought it for the very good price of $89.00 at the local sporting goods store.
I was originally going to buy the spyder tlx but it was too flashy for woods ball. so the xtra looked perfect. the gun itself preformed pretty well on the field. kind of close to the tippmann 98c. but the xtra shot faster, around 8 bps. i personally think that the tippmann is more reliable.
the xtra can also shoot cheap paint like wild streak but don't buy it. I've not been playing paintball long enough to test out many guns so it is hard to compare to other markers.
but if you need a beginners or intermidiate gun You should buy it.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this guns if you are looking for a accurate, cheap, awesome, reliable
gun. This gun is for you. buy it now!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

AlphaNiner82 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used many guns on the range owned by friends eg. spyder sonic,piranhas,autocockers,spyder ec guns (pilot and electra)..simply a modded xtra competes with all these and is better than most.
Marker Setup: spyder xtra 2006.14" evil empire twister barrel.halo frontman hopper.3000psi air canister.aluminium feedneck.(optional)onyx 30x red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
do get a new barrel at least 14" and no longer than 16",get a riffled barrel or a ceramic.then get a hopper that feeds at least 10bps and isnt 'always on' in a game(noise and batteries).then get an air canister 3000psi is ok (got great accuracy with consistency) and get a good quality air regulater if u can.
Strengths: Very very reliable..Affordable..High quality..Accurate..Appearance(cool).
Weaknesses: Stock barrel a bit loud and a little inaccurate
Review: I have used this gun so many times by this review.it is the first gun i have bought and did so due to its awesome upgrade options and customisations..It is also more military issue quality as it can take a pounding and carry on delivering..Many games i can jump in when my teammates are having to fix their electronic markers on the sidelines..This gun is so reliable and trustworthy (well kept mind you) i would take it to (paint) war..After following the above upgrades my xtra now competes with protos,ec spyders,autocockers,tippmana5's and even dm's..This is still without an ec trigger but with a bit of gametime and a gun that is bloody accurate due to the air + the 14" riffled barrel..the twister barrel from empire is awesome..Cost half the price of the gun but wow, first time i used it was smiling the whole day- others wernt..The use of a tiltsound activated hopper will mean you can sneak and can have a bps rate of +-10..That can take out a dm on speedball with the right hands.
Conclusion: if want a gun you can really really customise but comes really really good as stock AND is affordable then buy this gun..it works so damn well in woodsball and with an ec trigger can kikass at speedball tourneys.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 at 10:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media