paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS Gen X / ANS Gen X / ANS Gen X / ANS Gen X

ANS Gen X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS Gen X

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS Gen X
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Lower half of the reg is a beautiful stainless steel. The upper portion of the reg is aluminum which allows it to be anodized to the color of your gun. A Thumb Adjustable Quick Twist is included for easy adjustments over a chrono. An out-put gauge is included so that you know your regulated pressure. This is important to know so that you can make sure the Gen-X is operating efficiently. Finally ANS used there patented Phase II valve face which allows unsurpassed recharge times.
Product Availability 
The ANS Gen X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
srrdude Monday, February 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 autococker, sto, black magic
Marker Setup: Level Ten Rt, 14 Inch all american barrel, Z-grip, benchmark/intelli hybrid, Warp feed, Flatline 3k/68ci nitro tank, 12 volt revvy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything.
Strengths: - not a whole lot. It has a fancy name, and the trigger is great
- x is a cool letter. Theres an x in the name.
- if it were a pound heavier it would b a great anchor.
Weaknesses: - ans doesnt exactly make great regs
- its extremely unreliable
- its fugly
- its right feed
Conclusion: its really not as bad as i make it sound, i just dont like it. Its not nearly as heavy as i say, but compared to 2k3s and such it is heavy. Its Better than spyders tho and id take it over... well spyders. Its good for cocker goers on a budget
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My STO and a couple other cockers...then again, a cocker is a cocker
Marker Setup: My gen x with j&j 2 piece, shocktech front pnuematics, superfly bolt, shocktech dropforwad, 68 ci 4500psi nitro, jack hamemr reg, dye sticky grips, benchmark trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, "stock" is nice but the gun is so much better with a better barrel
Strengths: Fast, accurate. I choose it over my sto and tricked wgp all the time, just get a new barrel and the gun is perfect, let alone if ya wanna upgrade
Weaknesses: Not the best fro upgrading, i wouldnt reccomend messing with it unless ya know what you're doing, upgrading and all, cause i almost had mine completely f***ed up, but got it fixed (thank god) luckily its good right off the shelf, no upgradings needed.

The thing is heavy, especially with a 68ci luggin it around and sliding can get difficult if ur not careful. dropforward u'll need to balance it out too
Conclusion: All-in-all a great gun for people who dont bother with upgrading and dont mind a slightly heavier gun, fast, accurate, quiet...hell, its yet another great cocker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about everything
Marker Setup: I currently use an 99 Angel SE with 12in carbon fiber barrel, DYE trigger guard, liquid bolt, adreanlin trigger, KAPP high rise feed, and a PMS 68 4500 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new gun, But seriously get a new barrel, and an evolution bolt.
Strengths: It is smooth accurite and efficent, the gun is also quiet and has a nice snappy triger
Weaknesses: It is ANS (anus) the gun ran great for six months or a year but after that watch out. The timing will go to crap the frond block hoses will start blowing off the seals will fail and you will look at it and realize how lottel ttime and effort went into the cheap crappy componets.
Conclusion: I am not denying it is a high preformance gun that is nice right away but the long term relibility leaves a lot to be desired it dose shoot well at first but in the long run just buy and Angel.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikee Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long cocker,wgp cocker....I have had too many autococker in the past 8 years.
also many wgp snipers!!
Marker Setup: Ans right-side feed Genx autococker : it has an Evil valve,wgp reg,chrome flame drop,14" bob long Longshot ss barrel,benchmark 45 trigger and Evil rubber grips,all components are ANS..and 48cu 3000 pre energy hps tank. still adding....
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend compressed air and also a barrel.....thats about it
Strengths: reliable
been around a long time
alot of accesories for the cocker
Weaknesses: sometimes the gun can be "moody"
Review: I have used many makes of the autococker,this gun now is set-up right out of the box.It has all the components that you would go out and buy and add to your gun.The cost on the gun is cheap considering all the good stuff you get.I would recommend this gun to anyone.I am really happy with it.Shoots straight.I have NOT had any problems with this gun since I have had it.It has had probably 8 cases of paint threw it and I have had 4 ball breaks,and that was my fault due to short stroking the trigger.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for the money! That and its a AUTOCOCKER..the best and most reliable paintball gun ever made PERIOD
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballchump Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Spyder flash, piranha BL, Griffin, mostly all of the guns under $200, i know it doesnt compare but i wanna post my thoughts
Marker Setup: 99 ANS Gen-x cocker, Orracle 3-way, CP flame drop, CP on/off, WGP hinge, flame trigger, ACI bulldog 2 68/3000 fiber-wrap
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, new 3-way, the ANS one sucks, new trigger if your a double-finger kinda person
Strengths: i paid $350 so good for money, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: timid (all cockers are), somewhat heavy, fairly loud
Review: I bought this marker from a store used for $350 with a few upgrades, right away i put the upgrades listed (except for the hinge and 3-way). I took it to world cup to test it out in tourney play. It crapped out on me...then i found out that i shoot too fast for the 3-way, so i put in $40 for an orracle 3-way, and $80 for a hinge, and i've been rippin 13 a sec since then. However it does have some cocking issues and does get a lil cranky but what cocker doesnt??? Overall, good buy, but with todays technology, i would upgrade to a shocker or higher-end cocker.
Conclusion: if you can get it for $350 or under, go for it, easy to upgrade, but a higher end marker, if youve never had a cocker before, get it working and itll be true to you. I give this gun a 8. If it wouldnt have crapped out on me when stock it woulda been a 9.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 18th, 2003 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrwwe Friday, July 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker orracle
angel 1r3
Marker Setup: i have a ans gen x with a j&j barrel,nitro,and dye sticky grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new valve
new bolt
Strengths: its accurate,compact,good griping,lightweight,
Weaknesses: none
Review: i think this is a third upgrade gun, however this is the 3rd gun ive upgraded to. if you want to start off with this gun it wouldnt be very good but if upgrading definitly this. best gun ive owned. I got mine used for $250 so you can pick it up for about that. the only things that are differrent on my gun are a stock gas grip.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to people who want to move to the different level.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Enigma58 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested many autocockers, bushmasters, and angels
Marker Setup: Gen X cocker, VL Revolution hopper, nitro, dye boomstick, drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro, barrel, drop forward, electric hopper
Strengths: it's quite, accurate, efficent, smooth, fast, looks alsome. perfectly upgraded right from the box!
Weaknesses: not much bad. Tends to shake parts loose and timing. Easy fix, not big deal.
Review: If your going to buy this alsome gun, buy it new. After a few months it starts to get what people call "moody." I have trouble with its timing some times, but i know how to fix it. If you don't know what your doing when you fix the timing, you might screw it up worse, trust me, thats what happened to me when i tried to fix it the first time. My gun after alittle started to get alittle bad, but now it's not getting any worse. I love this gun, it works perfect in tournaments, but it is a pain in the when you have to clean all the paint off of it. If you get the gun, i hear you shouldn't use Co2 cause it gets the tank to cold. Like all autocockers, you have to learn to pull the trigger all the way back or you'll screw the timing up and have to re-cock the bolt. I don't think this is a good gun for a beginner, but you guys can do what you want. Last thing i really have to say is, NEVER take apart the gun. This isn't like a spyder where you can pull it apart, put it back together and shot. You'll be lucky if the gun will ever be the same again after you get it fixed by a shop.
Conclusion: This gun is the best thing I ever bought! it's quite, and accurate, and everything else i said before. I recommend this gun to almost anyone. Anyone new at the game should give it some thought before buying it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pure adrenaline Saturday, May 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO
Wgp 2003 Vertical Autococker
Marker Setup: ans gnx
pure energy 68/3000 low pressure
12 vlt revy
kapp cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel would be great but already nice
new regulator
Kapp cradle
Strengths: Very Quite, accurate, smooth, easy feed, looks mean, light considering
Weaknesses: havent had any..heard bad stuff...but cant rate it by theirs
Review: the gun is nice considering its an older model...i actually got my cheap...so w/ what i paid i well got my money worth... the gun is so quite...its amazing...i like the looks of the gun ......definantly a good buy...no doubt it will need some upgrades but from my use of the gun id be able to keep up with the competition easily..no its not just the gun but accuracy and speed are a very nice thing to have...cant just have a gun in battle... you also need a player... a good player + ANS GNX = great buy and great performance
Conclusion: definantly a good buy...no doubt it will need some upgrades but from my use of the gun id be able to keep up with the competition easily..no its not just the gun but accuracy and speed are a very nice thing to have...cant just have a gun in battle... you also need a player... a good player + ANS GNX = great buy and great performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowCactusss Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
STO autococker, Dye autococker
Marker Setup: STO autococker, 14'' boomstick, viewloader 9v hopper,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak, if you want to spend the money
Strengths: very acurate, very quiet
Weaknesses: it is a very moody gun after about the first 5 months
Review: This is a nice autococker, very similar to the STO. At first the gun works very nicely, no problems whatsoever, but after about 5 months it starts to falter on the battle field and requires some major work. it also is difficult to clean, but most autockcers are. The gun is just moody and needs to have a user with alot of knowledge about autockcers, and i'm too lazy to figure it out.
Conclusion: It is a nice acurate gun, but it is probably better just to get an STO
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockfourone Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i also have a 2000 cocker with a benchmark frame, trigger job, and a boomstick. it looks cooler cuz it has a blue-black fade job but performance wise, my gen-X is far supirior
Marker Setup: ANS Gen-X Minicocker w/benchmark frame, trigger job, smart parts 12'' AA barrel, ANS venturi bolt, nitro duck 68/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really. i put my 14'' boomstick on it a couple times and it kicked ass
Strengths: everything. trigger pull is comprable to that of a 'pulse when you get it set up right. i can shoot just as fast as i could when i had the angel LCD (gun wastes paint and cant hit a damn thing, or maybe its just the player behind the gun getting too carried away, either way id take a cocker any day) accuracy is insane. awesome milling job. gun balances very well with a full hopper and a nitro duck 68/3k Gen-X reg is impossible to outshoot and starve for air
Weaknesses: 3-way leaks occasionally but this is easily corrected by tapping the timing rod with your finger. i dont know why this stops it but it does. Gen-X reg works great although if you run co2 it will get unbarably cold. this doesnt affect performance at all. it doesnt freeze up you just need to get some gloves
Conclusion: this gun rapes well worth the $1000 you spend on gun/tank/hopper
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media