paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 98 Degree Paintballs / 98 Degree Paintballs / 98 Degree Paintballs

98 Degree Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy 98 Degree Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


98 Degree Paintballs
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 2.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Decent quality, cheap price!
Product Availability 
The 98 Degree Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, March 6th, 2001
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: *ahem* Don't bother. See below.
Weaknesses: The temprature: 64 balmy degrees.
The Gun: Pirahna STS with reg. and stock barrel
The paint: 98 degrees paintballs. one hopper full.

I had my intended victim well within sight. The punk had moved into my position, unaware of me. A grin crept acroos my face. A light trigger pull later, and my "victim" knew exactly where I was- it was easy. Just look for an orange mist, and confetti gelatin floating to the ground. For every shot that whizzed by my head, I returned a shower of liguid paint and shards of shell. *grrrrr!* I squeeged the barrel, dumped the remaining 98 Degrees, loaded up some marbs my friend threw to me, and proceeded to eliminate the punk with two shots... he had grown confident seeing an orange mist fog bank in front of my position.

Conclusion: I learned from my mistake. I dumped 'em, and will never harken it's door again.

Learn from my mistake.

Don't get them.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proball, brasseagle, pmi, diablo,viewloader.
Marker Setup: pirahna g3 ext pro
Recommended
Barrels:
a barrel that is not round because neither are the paintballs
Strengths: they cost me 20 dollars for 1000
I bought them from a guy named Mark
he got them for free I paid him
and adter I told him that he better give me my money back cause he practicly ripped me off.
Weaknesses: every sinlgle thing you can think of
they are not even balls they are something else some look like cubes triangles and things that I had never senn before.
They boke in my hopper, in my barrel, a dye excel, they broke in the gun, they also broke bofore they hit my opponent.
Conclusion: do not buy this crap!
learn from ny mistake, even the cheap walmart brass eagle balls are like 10 times better. At least brass eagle makes round paintballs
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Virus780 Friday, November 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
BLAZE - Diablo
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom - DYE Ultralite 12", DYE Sticky grips, Raised Sight Rail, ADCO Sure Shot Red Dot Sight, 20oz Co2 Bottle... More on their way.
Recommended
Barrels:
Dont waste your money on a barrel, it wont help you.
Strengths: Cheap paintballs.
Weaknesses: Over 3/4s of the balls are either deformed or has dimples in it. The price may be low but its definetly not worth the price. The balls are highly unaccurate. The balls do twirls. go straight down, left, right or up. Never straight. When the ball gets out of the barrel, the wind pushes the flattened parts of the ball causing it to twirl and become unaccurate. The only good reason why to buy these paint balls is to watch the balls do weird things for the sheer joy of entertainment. Really, you should get your friends over and amuse them at the ticks this ball is doing.
Conclusion: Dont buy these paintballs. Their not worth your money, I dont care about what the other guy said, they dont work well with tippmanns or any other gun. Dont buy this gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ebegoli Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Inferno and Dusk
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco BigShot 8"
BSA Red Dot 30 38
16oz CO2 Chrom molly
Recommended
Barrels:
None - stay away from these balls.
Strengths: None. Low price does not justify buying this crap.
Weaknesses: Breaks in the barrel all the time
Can not fly straight
Review: These paintballs ruined my field day.
Every 20-30 th breaks in the barrel of my A-5 with Lapco 8". Never happened before to me (I fired thousands of Draxxus paintballs with this gun). I tried adjusting the speed and lowered to 270-260. It helped on accuracy and breakage a bit, but flight path on 70-80' was still terribly inconsistend. Unbelivable. I had well calibrated BSA Red Dot, I had a really nice Lapco Bigshot that usually works fine with other paint, I know how to aim and shoot, but with this garbage I could not hit anything from the first, second, third try. Horror!
Conclusion: Stay away from these balls. They are going to mess you and your marker up.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wing_Zero365 Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B.E. Paint, Zap Sport Series, Marbs, El Tigres, and many other GOOD paints.
Marker Setup: right now a PMI Trracer stock
Recommended
Barrels:
You might be able to get through some with one of those blowgun things...maybe you wouldnt break so much?
Strengths: hmm...you get a good laugh at the people who actually use them...its too easy, just look for the orange mist...
Weaknesses: lets see.....pretty much everything
dimples, eggies, hell, i could shoot jellybeans and they would go farther than these things, hell of alot straighter too.
Conclusion: Me and some buds came across this ultra cheap paint on a website, and being that we use BE for backyard nothings, we decided if we could use these instead we'd save a couple bucks for the good paint used in tournys.
Well we got the 2000 rnd case and opened it up
First thing we saw->broken paint..and alot ...must have been about 25 per bag.
we examined each paintball after we got them out of the orange water.. separating the semi-round ones with few dimples from the cubes,eggies,and ones with so many dimples youd think it was a mini golf ball.
We ended up with about 25 balls that would be even worth shooting out of the barrel..the rest were so damaged none of us wanted to put them through our spyders and tippmans
so we took the garbage paintballs and sold them to some kid for 25 bucks who had a blast whipping them at each other(guess throwing them is better than shooting these things)
I dont think we'll ever buy those again, hell, id rather use viewloader/BE than that $#!T.
Hopefully no one gets this stuff kuz its just no good.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bag of luck Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
most all quality paints
Marker Setup: BE rainmaker, tlaloc chip(not installed yet)

2000 WDP angel lcd kapp volumizer, kapp highrise, DYE titanium boomstick (14") kapp dropzoneII cradle, halo B, air america raptor 68/3000

nel-spot 007 in mint condition with original warning sticker in place
Recommended
Barrels:
3" pvc pipe, a 20 oz on a drop with a butt plate, solenoid, trigger.... you got a paint RPG
Strengths: their consistency
Weaknesses: their consistency in being lousy paint
Review: brass eagle paint puts this to shame. this paint is honestly a true grade D paintball. if you could classify this, it would have to be classified as the stuff that sucks. its the apitimyof paint.
low quality is not a word that comes to mind when i hear 98 degrees.
total crap, horrible breaks, terrible flightpath, and the paint itself... its about as thick as sweat.


thank god i bought 2 tubes from a buddy for $2. this stuff absolutely blows. my nelson 007 is more accurate with bigball than my angel is with a titanium boomstick with this paint.
Conclusion: go bury your face in a huge pile of onions. seriously. make it look like your crying because if yoou use this paint people are gonna call you a poon after you yell curse then get lit up and cry.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jneely6 Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none because these paintballs suck
Marker Setup: A-5 wit expansion chamber, remote and hose, a 14 in tear drop, and a response trigger.
Recommended
Barrels:
maybe a stock barrel because these paintballs break in my tear drop.
Strengths: they are bright colored
Weaknesses: they break easy
Review: i think if you buy these paintballs use a stock barrel. The break in any other barrels. Tell you the truth i think bluestreak paintballs are better than these are. i used them in my gun and i broke amost all the balls.

if you have a stock gun than these might not breake in your gun but they break in modified guns.
Conclusion: dont buy these paintballs unless you dont care about breaking paint in you gun.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedHelix Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablos, Diablos Diablos. Infernos.
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Stingray 2 with:
-Venturi Bolt (with better O-Ring, the one that comes with it sucks.) -Plastic Detent Ball -8" ported DYE Barrel -Mounted Laser Pointer -Hammer-Penny trick -Hole in handle and stock buttplate for strap -Remote adapter (cut a hole in the top of a two-tube ammo pouch for the 9oz CO2 tank so it now carries the tank in 1 part and a 100-round tube in the other.) -Gas-thru stock attached to remote -Widened the hole in the gun frame where the Velocity Adjustment Screw hole is so the screw could go just a little bit higher. -Velocity Adjustment expansion -Handpainted the Stingray logo and text bright silver
http://members.aol.com/vvstingray/images/stingray2.jpg

Recommended
Barrels:
Coke cans.
Strengths: Well, they're relatively cheap....
Weaknesses: ...but they break like they don't want to be shot.
Review: I hadn't used these before I headed to a local indoor place because pretty much all of the outdoor courses in MA are closed until April. So, I've been using them for awhile there because they only allow field paint and they only sell 98 degree paintballs. My friend and I were initially delighted to see that this place charged less for thousand-round cases of paintballs, of which the box was labelled "98 Degree."

Now I'm usually not one to be able to tell a huge difference between performance in paintballs... but these are just awful. Most of the time they break before they even get to your chamber. Honestly, it was with these rounds I encountered my first internal hopper explosion, and I was less than pleased to see the entirety of my Viewloader lid get spattered with white paint.

I'm also entirely aware that many people would jump to say that I break a lot of paint because I use a Stingray, but trust me;' I'm one of those bored kids who mod the bejeezus out of their marker and when I use pretty much any other brand, I don't get breaks.

But these on the other hand... oh, man. Not only do they break, but they have some kind of solid mineral type of thing in them; when I pulled out my detent ball to clean it it looked like it had been spattered with confetti. That and they'd embedded themselves in the O-Ring of my bolt by some act of God, and it's like they ate away at it or something, because now it looks cratered from where said mineral-thingies were. Were these paintballs designed for the sole function of destroying your marker or something?

I'd never chopped as much paint before I used these even with my stock bolt AFTER it was dinged. And I was firing these off with a brand spanking new coned Venturi and a plastic detent ball that'd been through less than 100 shots. That and the entire chamber of my gun was coated in ATF. It's been the exact kind of situation where a ball should NEVER break. But they do. By some act of God, or lack thereof, these balls do nothing but break.
Conclusion: Just... run. These are reminiscent of the factory defects that you can find for marked-down prices on the shelves of paintball field stores, only labelled as an actual brand. Use them as a cheap, cheap alternative to buying rounds for gun-testing. (Though I'm sure many of you aren't fanatical gun modders like STING members, so I guess that gives you reason to never buy these paintballs at all.)
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 5th, 2004 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoPepsiForYou Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: just about everything, see below
Review: I got a bag of 500 for $5, I thought "why not, they cant be that bad" boy was I wrong. I filled up some in one of my speed pods. In a big shoot out I put these in then first shot [mist] I shoot a couple times [mist] [mist] [mist] then some chunks fell out and I ran away like a little girl.

cleaned barrel, went back and shot...one made it out! and I didn't know this was possible but it bounced! The shell is so weak it can break in the barrel no problem but then it bounces???
Conclusion: I got a ripoff and I payed $5...dont do it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowpillow1 Saturday, September 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
b.e is as bad but they smell worse
Marker Setup: 2001 tricked out cocker
Recommended
Barrels:
nothing at all can help these ive shot them out of freaks and boomys but nothing helps
Strengths: not much
Weaknesses: almost everything
Review: i was goin to play someback yard ball wit my freinds and went out to buy some cheep paint they were out of everything exept this shi t i bought half a case and got it for only 8$ cuz the store said they were so badly broken that well cut the price
about 200 of the 1000 were broken about 700 of the reamaing 800 were dimppled or deforeomed
when i finshed cleaning them i went to play, fist shot broke, and then at least 5/6 of the shots broke this paint is crap never buy it
Conclusion: this paint is crap never buy it learn form me it is the worst paint out there exept brass egale
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media