paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt / Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt / Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt / Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt / Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt

Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Orange Paintball

Buy Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Howitzer is made of Polyoxymethyl (better know as "POM") which is an easily sliding and self lubricant plastic that makes any internal scratching of the marker impossible.
The tip of the bolt is fade coloured in orange.
A second internal o-ring is sealing the air between the powertube and the bolt. The result is a higher (gas) efficiency and better performance of the complete system.
The design is extremly unique and proofs another time the abilities of German engineering.
Product Availability 
The Orange Paintball A-5 Howitzer Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
tipper Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Tippmann RT, Polished Internals, QEV Clyclone Upgrade, Ricochet R-5, 14" Bigshot, 14" Lapco Machine Gun Shroud, Custom G36 Foldin Stock, Howitzer Bolt, Ak-47 Mag.
Strengths: Makes the marker louder, Bright orange, Uses less Air
Weaknesses: Can Cause Drag on the bolt.
Review: This a really nice bolt made by orange paintball products. It Makes the marker a little louder. Theres a inner o-ring to save air but I actually found out that (for me at least) it's a little to big, it actually has so much drag the marker dosen't even recock, so i have a smaller o-ring in there now. But it's nice enough to make the "big guns" say it's nice so thats a start for me. The sizes of the o-rings are as followed:

Standerd O-ring on the out side is 14mm i.d. 2mm thickness

Extra inner o-ring 11.4mm i.d. 2.1 thickness

The last neat feature it has is a " Easy sliding and self lubricant plastic that makes internal scratching of the marker impossible"
Conclusion: I would recommend this bolt for the player who wants to make thier marker louder, and inpress some people, but ethier way your gonna have to change that o-ring inside.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Polished internals
Howitser bolt
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8

Strengths: Increased efficiency
Accuracy boost
Self lubricating
Cheap
Quieter
Weaknesses: Requires modification of powertube
Review: I got this bolt for my birthday and right away I went down to the store to get air and paint so I could test it out. Only thing I was incredibly happy about was the fact that I had to sand down my powertube slightly to make it fit. The instructions that came with mine stressed that I do this and be careful about it. This step only took a second and helps it to cycle more smoothly. I like the fact that it lubes itself makes maintenance a little easier. The first thing I noticed about this bolt is that it made my gun significantly quieter and my grouping were slightly closer together. I saved around 50 shots a tank too so that makes me happy. The bolt was also cheap and extremely well made. Looks to be of good quality and the colors are cool. Seems to chop less then my stock bolt as well.
Conclusion: An easy 10 I only had postive results. One of the cheapest and best mods on my gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36c kit
ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
beoranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
Strengths: Saves on air
Weaknesses: Have to sand power tube down
Review: You must sand down the stock power tube before installing, or the gun will uncock after every shot, just sand it a little bit and then test it. if you sand it down to much it will defeat the point of the internal o-ring, or wreak the power tube.
Its easy to install, and saves on air/ co2, i installed the lightning rod and vortex at the same time i get an extra 300-400 shots out of my 20oz tank
it lubes itself so you dont have to worry about it after every game
It looks cool and works well
Conclusion: Works as addvertised it saves on co2/air
I took off one point because you have to sand down the power tube for it to work
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cheek007 Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock front bolt for 98 custom pro
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom Pro, PDW Folding stock, BT M16 sight-rail, remote coil, Tiberius Tac8
Strengths: The idea behind the rear inner Oring is good , and the quality is very nice.
Weaknesses: Does'nt seem to work with the original powertube (does not allow for smooth sliding)
Review: I bought the Howitzer front bolt because I thought it would give me a more consistent FPS . Installation was a snap but I noticed the bolt did'nt slide smoothly over the powertube. During testing the bolt became so stiff on the powertube that the top spring (front bolt spring ) was not strong enough to push it forward activating the ACT .
Because the paintball was seated in the chamber correctly the paintball was blown apart filling the hopper with paint .
After removing the inner Oring the bolt worked fine , however doing this defeats the purpose behind the upgrade .
Conclusion: I would like to see a test done with the bolt on The Dead On 98C Pro-Seal powertube I believe may slide better on aluminum than plastic. My product rating is based on my test with the stock (plastic ) powertube only . I'm sure it has potential!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

1337rick Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trinity a5 powertube and delrin bolt, stock bolt.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ smart parts linear 14inch, freak kit 14 inch, e grip, palmers persuit stabilizer, red dot scope, offset hopper, sight rail, m4 stock.
Strengths: Please read review.
Weaknesses: Gun will not recock after it fires due to the inner oring being too big.
Review: I have tested this bolt on the stock powertube after sanding down my powertube. The gun would not recock itself because there is too much drag due to the inner o-ring.

I bought the Trinity aluminum powertube and tried this bolt on it and still the gun would not recock itself....the inner oring is too big. Therefore i decided to stick with the Trinity delrin bolt...if you are looking to just upgrade the front bolt, i suggest getting the shocktech superfly bolt. I plan on getting it as it has great reviews.
Conclusion: Biggest waste of money i have ever spent on an upgrade. If you have a smaller o-ring to replace the crap inner o-ring then try that otherwise i'd look at other bolts.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Vortex Mod, BT Fixed Sight Rail, GTA Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Looks cool
easy to install
made of POM
Weaknesses: Seems to chop a lot
Review:
In short, installed this bolt, and i was getting a number of chops. And i mean a lot! I switched back to my stock bolt, and was still getting chops, but it decreased by about 50-60%. It wasn't until here that i noticed that my paint was incredibly dimpled! i talking about putting it on a table and it not rolling dimpled. Now i understand that the paint was the cause of a lot of this. however, i can not exclude the fact that i was chopping less with the stock bolt then i was with this bolt. I will update it soon enough after i re-install it, so please dont dispute this review, i just think its important to share this bit of info and i will update it again beacuse i really want this product to work and i feel that if i give it another chance, it will. I would like to point out that when i didn't chop with the orange bolt, i was getting better accuracy IMO than with the stock bolt. So im keeping my fingers crossed!

EDIT!!!! Mon. May, 14/07
So i reinstalled my bolt the other day. I tried sanding down my power tube, but it was still stiff when i manually slide it across and even after i oiled both the pwertube and the inner o-ring. now that being said, even after i removed the o-ring, the Orange bolt has a tighter fit than the stock bolt, even after i sanded it down. however, after i removed the oring, it slid across the power tube as easily as the stock bolt. The efficiency thing should be a bit better though cause the oragne bolt fits tighter around the power tube than the stock bolt did. right now, it its back to the stock bolts level (which is a 5). however, since that it is made of better material, i will give it an extra point making it a clean 6. i will update this review again after i play a game with it. i dont think that this product will go much higher than an 8 even if it does well in a game becuase i had to remove the inner oring. any product where i have to remove a stock part because it actually prevents me from playing is not that great to begin with IMO.

EDIT!!!! Sat. May 19/07
So after modding my bolt by taking out the O-ring and sanding down my powertube, this bolt still didn't perform like i had hoped. I was chopping balls pretty badly and my accuracy wasn't that great. i am really disappointed with this product. i reinstalled my stock bolt and was fine for the rest of the day. I can't say i would recommend this bolt to anyone. maybe i got a lemon, but stil, i wouldn't buy another one.
Conclusion: A good product in theory (i.e: the fact that it is made out of POM and that is has 2 O-rings on it). I will update this review once i get more play time. unti then, it gets a 4 because if the stock A-5 bolt is average, then this is unfortunately below that in terms of performance (in terms of construction however, this is better).
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 20th, 2007 at 8:55 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Howitzer Bolt
JCS Red Hot Powertube
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Works well
Fits Great.
BRIGHT ORANGE... how cool is that?
Weaknesses: None
Review: Bolt works well and is a good upgrade if you are looking to add a splash of colour to your internals. On top of this, the bolt is advertised as self lubricating, which was a big selling point, because even though I keep my marker well lubed, it gives me a big peice of mind knowing that I dont have to worry about it.
Conclusion: Good bolt to get not great, Reccomended to anyone looking for a cool internals but not worried about performance.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media