paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Triumph XL / Tippmann Triumph XL / Tippmann Triumph XL / Tippmann Triumph XL

Tippmann Triumph XL Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Triumph XL

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Triumph  XL
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $99

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
•Semi-automatic, .68 caliber
•8˝" high performance barrel
•High impact composite body
•Soft-grip overmolded handles
•Integrated double trigger
•Center feed neck
•Durable in-line bolt system
•Includes 200 round hopper
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Triumph XL is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Nover Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: A5
e-grip
werks barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Low Cost
Very Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Size (big compared to other markers)
Review: I was not expecting much when I got this marker since it was plastic, and very low cost. ($99 for a Powerpack), howeever I was very surprised in a good way. The marker turned out to be way more than I expected. It was very reliable and sturdy. It fires a lot like my 98 Custom. The plastic turned out to be better than I thought. I beat the marker up pretty bad, and there were no issues with the plastic. I actually think that this was more accurate than my 98.
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this marker. For $99 you get a great marker, very good goggle, hopper and tank. For the player just getting into the sport, I don't think you can do any better than this!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

boing7472 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann custom pro
20th anniversary tippmann
Tippmann a-5
Spyder sonix
Marker Setup: Tippmann 20th century limited edition marker
12in J&J ceramic barrel
Response trigger
Apache Ricochet
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any?
Strengths: Reliable
Its a tippmann
Light trigger pull
Double trigger
Light
Cheap
Weaknesses: Looks
Kinda big
Review: Ok this gun is basically a Tippmann 98. T he plastic is very hard to damage and even when damaged still looks fine.

My buddy picked this gun up so that he wouldnt have to keep on spending 70+ buks every time he played paintball. At first i thought he made a terrible choice and that thr gun would suck. I was wrong. The gun fires just like a 98, bt nayb a ittle more accurate. It is very light despite its large size. The double trigger has an extremely light pull for all those that like to shoot fast.
Overall i think it is a good product, ust ugly.
Conclusion: Good product, just ugly, id give it a 9.5 if i could but since not, ill just round up and give it a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris21 Sunday, January 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
AM Sentinel
Marker Setup: Stock hopper, 14 inch freak front barrel, 20 oz co2 tank
Other upgrades/parts: None
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper, new bolt, (new barrel if using stock)
Strengths: Small kick back, semi quiet, inexpensive, well built
Weaknesses: Big, Gas hog, hard to clean/disassemble, and phantom leaks.
Review: An ok beginner gun for its price. Horrible for tournement play. Uses to much gas and is very big compared to most guns. It is somewhat heavy and long with co2 tank attached. I have noticed phantom leaks coming from the gun after 3 months of use. The stock drop forward is short and doesn't drop the tank low enough. Cannot upgrade at all. I had a 9oz co2 tank run out after one and a half hoppers.
Conclusion: Ok for beginners and not very expensive. Horrible for tournaments because it is big and and a real gas hog.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 5th, 2010 at 8:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

malibu5852 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A friends 98 Custom
Marker Setup: I bought the power pack and used the included accessories. Everything worked fine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel. The 8 1/2 barrel that is standard worked fine for the terrain where we played, (desert with heavy brush) Accuracy was awesome and easier to move around with a compact gun.
Strengths: Power, good velocity, awesome accuracy, light weight
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart to replace O-rings.
Review: Overall, I liked the gun. I was able to compete with my more experienced friends with better guns and didn't feel inferior. although it was a cheaper gun, it still has Tippmann written all over it. My experience with the gun failed when for no reason, the CO2 began to leak. It was not the O-ring on the tank but the metal hose inside the grip. The gun is not user friendly if you have to take it apart. Play hard while it is still under warranty. Overall, good gun for beginners, cheap for weekend players. I am taking mine back to either get it repaired or replaced but pleased enough to keep it.
Conclusion: Good starter, save money, buy better marker as you improve
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duluthpaintball Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other tippmann producs, spyders, ions, cockers, you name it ive shot it.
Marker Setup: electra 05' 45/4500 crossfire tank, halo B with rip, quiot riot
Recommended
Upgrades:
new body, new internals, an empty garbage bag.
Strengths: Its cost effective.
Weaknesses: Just about everything else.
Review: A buddy of mine picked one of these up to play at the local field, for the few times that he plays. I let him use of my spimmys for a few rounds while i gave his gun a run through. So i gassed up and went to the crono, and shot all over the board. were talking a +-25fps. i figured maybe it was the CO2 and the heat, so i switched to HPA, a little better but still not the +-5 fps that you would like to see. so i get out on the field, my hands starting to cramp trying to hold this awkward marker. a few things i started to notice while in the field were how loud this thing was and the terrible blow back. my hopper looked like one of those children's ball popper toys that you push along the ground. the range on this gun was ok, but the accuracy was terrible. cleaning this thing was also a lot more difficult then it should be. for an entry level marker, this should have a bolt out back set up thats easy for a beginner to take apart and put back together on the field without needing a tool kit. as for the plastic body, its not a s durable as an Ion and doesn't have good feel.
Conclusion: All in all i think this gun is ugly, and so far off the entry level standards, that it has no chance of a future model. tippmann really screwed up with this line. I would spend your money on a low end spyder, at least you can upgrade those into a mid level marker. sorry for the low rating all you tippmann lovers, but this is how i feel.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xps35 Friday, January 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 costum,
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion q-lock new dizines trigger carbon fiber 4500 psi 68 ci n2 tank, velocity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
?
Strengths: Ummm
Weaknesses: Ummmm
Review: The field i play at uses these thing as rentals and they r pritty sturdy. they r basiclt 98's with plastic bodys. i dont think they r very upgradable, u just buy the modle u want and thats all u get so its not exactly like the 98 . the body is pritty BIG not made for small hands. but a very good entry level gun. but i dont think its upgradeable. so i would just get a 98, or buy the ext version.
Conclusion: If u r guna get 1 get the ext version its only like 50$ more.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

DeFinate Tuesday, August 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7
Smart Parts Sp-1
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
(upgraded to a Lapco Big Shot)
Strengths: Surprisingly light
decent beginner gun for those on the thinnest budget
Tippmann 98 inside
Weaknesses: Plastic (thick, but cheap)
loud
barrel insert
strong kick back
possible phantom leaks
other problems
Review: This marker surprised me.

I purchased this marker because it only cost me 28 dollars and 10 dollars for a better barrel. It was the player pack so it came with a cheap mask, a 9oz Co2 bottle, and minor tools. Very inexpensive, so why not right?

This is basically a Tippmann 98 in a plastic shell, however a slightly downgraded Tippmann 98. It has all the same internals but the build quality compared to the sturdy 98 is not as good as one would expect from a Tippmann product. Is it suppose to attract beginner speed ball players? Apparently, but i really do not see it as nothing more than a recreational marker, something to pick up and play with friends who invite you to play at the various fields.

The looks are to be desired as i would compare the looks to say, a Power Drill. The marker is covered in rubber in lays and thick plastic, once again the look and feel of a power drill. Don't let the picture fool you, it is not as big as you think. The rubber grips are smooth, and the actual handle is pretty large, so for young players, getting a good handle on the marker could be a problem. Regardless of the cheap plastic it is actually sturdy enough to take the typical wear and tear of paint ball games. It can take all the drops, and clumsy smacks on the edges of walls and such. Anything besides casual wear and tear such as free fall drops, applied weight on top of the marker, and other extremes would essentially break the shell and other parts

It all goes back to the fact that it is a very much a beginner gun for any young paint ball player wanting to get into the game a few times only. This retails roughly around $79.99 to $89.99 in some websites and local stores. Obviously an inexpensive entry level marker compared to other's such as a JT-Tac 5, Spyder Victor, and others.

As far as how it shoots, once again surprisingly well. First upgrade for anyone purchasing any new marker is the BARREL. Upgrade the barrel for a better experience as it takes Tippmann 98 threaded barrels. The stock one shoots well enough for entry level marker, so no big rush into getting a new one , however upgrading the barrel is the only real upgrade you can do. I use a Lapco Big Shot barrel, for better shot groupings. Now putting the barrel in is a problem, you have to jam it in there tight, then turn till it stops. At first you might think that you are breaking the plastic threads, well you actually could be, so just be gentle with fair pressure when applying the barrel to the marker. As far as AIR efficiency, it is standard. Not so much a gas hog, but just about right depending on what kind of air you use It takes either Co2 or HPA. Use HPA(compressed air), though Co2 is fine as well. The marker contains an integrated expansion chamber inside the actual drop forward for those using Co2. The hopper and feed neck, are decent. No real issues there, as the marker works fine with a gravity fed hopper, an electronic one wouldn't hurt nor help significantly, find something that feeds 11 pbs you'll be alright, anything higher... and obvious waste.

The performance on this marker in general is fair enough. For a mechanical marker, this thing is loud. You hear the clanging of the bolt, and the plastic shell doesn't do much to muffle the loud noise. It is not that much of problem per say but notable to some. It doesn't bother me to be honest, but for young kids, it may scare them initially. Another minor detail that could potentially be a problem for the younger player, is the fact that this marker has a lot of kick. Every shot kicks the marker back slightly, the Tippmann 98 doesn't have as much kick compared to this one. The plastic shell would be the culprit on this one. Another Key feature, in performance and shooting, is the double trigger. It is lighter than the stock tippmann 98.

When it comes to cleaning your marker it is just as much a headache as it is for taking apart the Tippmann 98, however slightly even more. This particular marker, you have to literally clean, lube, and oil constantly the night before you play, and the end of the day just after to avoid problems such as air leaking. The Triumph XL has a lot of screws, and the internal mechanical parts are plenty and small. Much like cleaning the Tippmann 98, take your time, lube and oil everything up and go easy on the screws when putting the shell back on, as they can easily get worn out. Make sure everything is in order, as you can lose parts.

The packaged deal by the way comes with a very, very, very cheap mask, that would fit a 10 year olds face at the most. The 9oz tank is alright, but definitely invest into a bigger tank, the hopper is fine, as are the rest of the tools, squeegee, and barrel condom.


There is nothing particular great, nor as terrible in this marker. If you can find it cheaper than 79.99 then definitely purchase it for a fun "mess around the back yard" to the most and i mean most last desperate alternative if your primary marker, secondary, to even third marker breaks down, or whatever situation. Still i see the 79.99 price tag steep for a simple marker with potential problems within months (if not overly greased, lubed, but why would you on a cheap marker like this? better to pay attention on a better marker if not the slightest).

UPDATE 8/24/08

It's leaking...i believe its due to the plastic shell. Air is leaking from the side, where you turn the FPS.

This gun shoots great with Co2, however.. after 2 weeks of owning this marker, problems began starting with leaking within the Velocity Adjuster hole.

Keep in mind, you may or may not run into a defective marker, but this is happening more than it should. If you find it for less than 29.99 then by all means give it a shot, however.. make sure you take care of it.. oil it...and expect possible problems. If your patient enough, and having it sent back to Tippmann for a replacement or fix, by all means... do so.



Conclusion: Good for the most casual of the casual paintball players. Nothing more than a recreational marker to shoot in the backyard or for invite games, if you play only once in 6 months. Should be only 59.99, and 69.99 at the most to be honest as far as price. I would rather recommend other alternative starter markers such as a Tippmann 98, or any Spyder. Eventually you'll branch out from playing recreational paintball, get into either speed ball or woods ball, so investing into a cheap marker first to see if the sport is worth it to you more than just a year would be ideal. The Triumph XL would have to be a third choice, among those for entry level markers.

The high maintenance (to avoid future potential problems) is just high enough to consider other markers, the build quality is less than desired considering its a TIPPMANN, and lack of upgrades despite being "ready out of the box" hurt a casual player within a year.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 26th, 2008 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Garra Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmanns 98C, A5, X7
Lots of Spyders and other entry level mechanical markers
Other electronics markers, but this is not the point.
Marker Setup: Defiant 2 mostly stock, with a Empire on off ASA.
Empire reloader B
HPA 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
The same as the 98C, first one a 12 or 14 barrel.
Strengths: Price
Internal Quality, is a 98C.
Ligth
Design
Weaknesses: Kind of plastic used.
The barrel insert.
Trigger material
Review: The Triumph is a Tippmann line today discontinued. It will be a pity not to found the good things they brought with their design.
The idea, I think , it was to put a marker with speedball design, the 98C internal quality and a good affordable price as an option for beginners.
So, what be had?
It was cheap, no doubt about it.
The internals, no complain at all , same as the 98C.
First cons, it was very dificult to disassemble. I like to open my marker and clean it, but the triumph has lots of screws. The clean is a little bit harder than the 98C because of the plastics, not too different.
Durability, I´ve never see one externally broke in the last ten months, and the internals you know. It looks durable, the plastic is very good. The only two things I notice that could have problems where the trigger and the tank insert, but I ´ve never experienced one.
Plastic, the big problem with this kind of plastic is in the junctions. You have problems with certains parts of the marker, that with a metal one, you won´t have.
The worst is the barrell insert, with a rougth use, you could have your barrell half screw out in th middle of a big game. But take in account it is a speedball marker, and the games are short. The other one, is the safe is very hard to pull off when the plastic has a litlle movement in the lover junctions.

Performance, it will be something stupid to say that it have better performance that the 98C taking in account the problem with the barrell insert. But extrangely it looks like.
I don´t know if it was because it is lighter or because it has a faster trigger, so you could quickly improbe your shoot, but in a fast game it feels more accurate.

It is big? No, it isn´t big. When you play speedball, you have to see the gun from the front, as is the place of the marker where you usually get shot, and it is not a gun with a big front in spice it looks like.
But the most important thing about the marker, and that it will be a pity that Tippmann don´t reuse, is the excelent design the gun has for the speedball use (for beginners). The marker with the 9oz tank is extremely ligth , to use them continously, up in front of your eyes is very easy. I like to use it more than an Ion or my Defiant2 that are very light and comfortable speedball guns. Everyboy tell me how can I compare this electronic guns with a Triumph XL? I don´t compare them, they are completely different kind of markers, but the feel of using a XL in front of you eyes is wonderfull, even if the response is a lot more slow. I think is really COMFORTABLE to use.
This is the best point of the gun.
Conclusion: I can´t said that i like the triumph XL a lot, but I love to use it in lower and medium level speedball games.
Tippmann has made a lot of good things in the design of the Triumph, and three or four bad ones. Changing the kind of plastic used , they had a really good base to improve into an excellent beginners speedball gun (the people that never use a marker before, love the design), add a good barrel and you had it.
Tippmann owes a good speedball marker to the public. As everyone else, I think he could do it and with the Triumph they show us they have the designers to make it. Is just to put more focus into it.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kutchij1 Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spiyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Tippman Triumph XL
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Very Light wieght
Durable
Cheap
Relyable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel is short
Review: This is by far the best gun i have ever used in my life its cheap and its great for begginers it easy to clean and do matinence on it hardly jams and it has a pretty long range it comes with a hopper a mask and a 9oz CO2 cylinder witch is all you need if you play on a course because most courses have free refills the tank lastes for about a hour and a half.
Conclusion: great gun great buy I strongly recomend this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fergie Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All other Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed with Predator board
CP trigger, feedneck, and asa
Evil pipe
Reloader B

Proto Matrix Rail stock
UL trigger and alum backcap
CP barrel .689
Reloader B and PMI 72/45ci stubby bottle

Tippmann A-5 with W.A.S. board
vortex rachtet, ak-47 folding stock and barrel ( not sure on brand)
72/3000 ci PMI steel bottle and X-7 hopper
32 degrees remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Not sure of other upgrades.
Strengths: Made by Tippmann
Weaknesses: None except looks.
Review: Well, I just arived at the local field for a good day of ballin when the owner showed me his new nailgun. I've never seen a Tippmann nailgun before. After laughing for about 10 minutes, I decided to try it out. Snagged a CO2 bottle and slapped my reloader b on it(I started laughing again) and off to the feild I went.

To tell you the truth, i was impressed. The stock barrel wasn't too shabby. Trigger pull was lighter than a 98c in my opinion. Don't expect to be hitting 20bps though. The plastic is very tough and it protects the marker very well, but it is ugly.
Conclusion: Not a bad marker, but I don't see myself buying one. I would rather buy a 98c than to walk on the field with this ugly thing. I don't know what Tippmann was smokin when they drew this one up, but my rating will not be affected because of the looks.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media