paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Triumph XT / Tippmann Triumph XT / Tippmann Triumph XT / Tippmann Triumph XT

Tippmann Triumph XT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Triumph XT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Triumph XT
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $139

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
•Semi-automatic, .68 caliber
•Integrated expansion chamber
•11" high performance barrel
•High impact composite body
•Soft-grip overmolded handles
•Integrated double trigger
•Center feed neck
•Durable in-line bolt system
•Includes 200 round hopper
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Triumph XT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
knightfox Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested77 of 82 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 - Basic Rental Marker
Spyder Xtra - My First Marker, very balanced for a beginner
Spyder Imagine - Faster than the Xtra, but still a blow back so I had to keep upgrading.
Smart Parts Ion - Best marker used to date, no chops and very light. No worry play
Tippmann 98 Custom - Very durable, but heavier than the Spyders and the Ion
Tippmann A5 w/ Flatline - Barrel is amazing, it is a gas hog, Cyclone Feed is A++
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Proto 1 Piece barrel
CCM No-Pro Feedneck
CP Roller Trigger
Psychoballistics Bullet Drop
Halo B
PMI Pure Energy 68/3K
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New Barrel, J&J Ceramic is good with Tippmanns (This is a TIPPMANN Triumph)
- Faster Hopper ONLY if you get the eXT (EGrip version)
Strengths: Lighter than other Tippmann
Same internals as the 98
Rubberized Grips
Expansion Chamber
Very Balanced
Weaknesses: Plastic Construction
Stock barrel loud
More kick than the 98
Complicated Disassembly
Review: The First Triumph review worth reading.

My friend has been trying to find a paintball gun for a while and then saw the Triumph XT. His sole reason for purchasing? It looked like a Halo Covenant Gun. Well, I was a bit wary when it first came in the mail but after using it, it proved to be a capable marker.

First Impressions:
The gun comes bundled with a barrel sock, o-ring, allen wrenches, hopper, oil, and an instruction booklet.

When comparing it to my Ion, it was a fairly heavy gun. But I had to remind myself that this was a mechanical gun, a Tippmann in disguise, so the weight didn't bother me too much. The entire body is made of a composite (Unlike the Ion with a plastic shell covering an aluminum body). The only metal parts are the bolt, the expansion chamber, gas lines, and the screws. Hmm, I was wondering if it would be like another Brass Eagle.

The Feedneck:
It is an integrated vertical feedneek with two allen screws to tighten. I think this is a better design than the side feed that the 98 has because I've had friends break the 98 feedneck trying to snap it back on. Very sturdy, fit the stock gravity hopper fine.

The Barrel:
The barrel is solid except for a little porting about halfway down the barrel. Not enough to be effective but enough to look very cool. The stock barrel a little loud but surprisingly accurate for a stock barrel. It hit within a foot approximately 80% of the time at 100ft. It seemed to be more accurate at longer ranges as opposed to close quarters shooting. But this won't matter since most people will upgrade their barrel (It takes 98 barrel threads).

~ The Review ~
The Triumph XT:
Mechanically it is identical to a 98 so I didn't expect anything less. What surprised me was how comfortable it was to shoot. So I want to make it very clear, this is no Brass Eagle plastic garbage.

The gun itself is very balanced. The integrated drop forward puts it ahead of any Tippmann currently made because it makes the gun much more compact. The mini expansion chamber did its job, no freeze ups during the entire time I used it. The Triumph kicked a little more than I'm used to, but I'm also used to an Ion so it was acceptable for a blowback gun. Trigger pull is very light, lighter than my mechanical Spyder ever was.

I thought the foregrip was a little gimmicky but I found it very useful when sprinting and lying prone. It is removable so you can actually use the handguard as a secondary grip for a more compact hold. Speaking of grips, the front of the grips are rubberized which give the gun a very secure hold.

Efficiency wise, we shot about 600-700 rounds and the 20oz wasn't empty yet. So it is no gas hog like the A5.

We got a lot of comments at the field about the gun. They were pretty impressed at how light it was compared to the Tippmanns (It was a woodsball field, lots of 98s). The serial number on it was 83 so we know he has one of the first ones made.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend the Tippmann Triumph XT to beginners and recballers. It has a Tippmann build behind it and is perfect for those not wanting blend into the Spyder clone or Tippman crowd. I would suggest you try to hold one first because it has a slightly different feel than any common paintball gun. The only thing I might worry about is its plastic construction, but after shooting it and ripping it apart, I don't think my friend will ever use the 1 year warranty that Tippmann provides.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bubba_paintball Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Triumph XT stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly a new barrel
Strengths: Great price, reliable
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Review: I purchased this gun for my son and we went out paintballing. My other son as well as myself have A-5s, one with a Apex barrel, and mine with a flatline. Since this line is so new (came out Nov. 2006) it was the first one to show up at the field - lots of people wanted to look at it and I have to say it performed great throughout the day. I used it for a game or two when he wanted to sit out and I found it balanced well and aimed pretty good - at least for a Tippman with a stock barrel. It takes 98 barrels, so you have a lot of barrel options if you decide you want to upgrade. It comes with a double trigger - or you can get the eXT and go electronic. For $99 I paid at Walmart, it was a good deal - you will need a tank though.

It did manage to chop a ball as when I went to put it away for the winter (either that or the gun took a hit and a ball broke in the hopper), there was paint on the bolt and in the barrel. I decided to take it apart to make sure I got all the paint off. There are a lot of screws and hex bolts to take off to get into the mechanism - not anything like the ease of stripping an A-5 which only takes a minute.

I would recommend this over most of the similarly priced guns - for $99 its a great deal. I've got a spider and I'd rather use this one.





Conclusion: Great gun, great price, bear to clean
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fcatman Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many products used, but I will only compare to similar:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Spyder Rodeo
ACI Griffin
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo (Primary marker)
J & J Edge barrel kit
CO2
Revolution w/ X-Board
32 Degrees spring kit
Evil Delrin Bolt / Stock bolt with venturi removed

ACI Griffin with stock everything (Was my backup, but it's worn out)
Zap / Archon Hopper

Syndicate Paradox ELE
Spyder Rodeo stock barrel, maybe my J&J Edge kit
Zap / Archon Hopper (The Revvy on this marker would be ironic)
32 degrees remote thick hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Bigger CO2 tank.
Strengths: Very good value quality / price.
Weaknesses: Not as upgradable as the 98C.
Vertical feed neck.
Review: The player's pack is usually like $100. For that price you get the marker, a tank, a mask, and a hopper.

What a bargain. Essentially a simplified plastic bodied version of the 98. You can't go wrong there. Apparently a good, solid marker.

Not as big or heavy as it would seem. Comfortable to hold. It shoots well. Seems fairly CO2 efficient.

I did not like the vertical feed neck. I prefer the Tippmann offset so I can aim straight down the marker.

I seems to be a bit of a "niche" marker, but that's fine. If this suits your needs, it appears to be a wonderful thing.
Conclusion: As a backup marker, buddy gun, or kid's gun, absolutely buy it.
For an experience player, maybe not the best choice because of reduced upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodedsniper Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann Pro-Carb
Tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: Realtree Hardwoods Grey Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline Barrel system/Apex
32* Hyperstar bolt
Response trigger (sometimes)
Folding Stock
eVLoution II loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel for sure, oddly enough, the Apex barrel that I have for my 98 fits the Triupmh
A stock would be nice for woodsball, I couldn't find an aftermarket one, so I made one from a steel band
Strengths: lighter than other Tippmanns
Same Tippmann internals
the expansion chamber
well balanced
Weaknesses: Vertical feed
Its RED
No factory upgrades
Review: I picked this up for $50, just to have a spare. It wasn't used much to start with, just for the simple fact that I hate to put the 98 away. After a while, I purchased the Apex barrel for my 98, and discovered that it fit the Triumph as well, so I used it a little, and saw how much lighter it was than my 98. I took some ultra-flat spray paint to it, to make it blend better, and constructed a simple stock that attaches to the drop-foward, so that the gun would remain balanced while I used a remote. The Triumph functions nothing short of Tippmann perfection. I've only broken 1 or 2 balls the entire time that I've used it, which is impressive, but what isn't impressive is the job that it is to clean. I finally reached the point of taking the barrel off (as well as the tank and hopper, but that goes without saying) and turning the waterhose on it, water isn't going to damage anything in the XT, since there is nothing electronic in it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who wanted to get the most for their money. This is perfect for someone who just wants to play now and then, and doesn't want a huge amount of money tied up in it, but also doesn't want to be out-gunned, or of course, for a spare
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: look at profile
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel would do but it already comes with an 11' ,but its not good quality so get a J&J or a Tippmann.
Strengths: Cheep
Reliable
Vertical feed
Easy to maintain
Good for beginners
Weaknesses: Not customizable(except barrel and tank)
A bit heavy
made of heavy plastic/metalish
Review: This is a great beginners gun if your a kid 10-12. I got this for my neighbor and he likes it. Surprisingly for the money this is a good gun. It comes with a 11' barrel already, vertical feed and a double trigger! All for about $100! Its still pretty reliable but not like an A-5 or 98C. It shoots accurate and doesn't chop balls.
Conclusion: So, this is a good gun if your kid who doesn't play much. BUT, if your older than 12 and really want to play paintball alot i highly suggest you get a better quality gun because, this gun is really for small time players. So, if your not a kid and will play alot then get a Tippmann 98 Custom, A-5, or a Smart Parts Ion.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 2nd, 2007 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nippletwistaz Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2, spyder xtra, tippman 98, low end markers.....
Marker Setup: invert mini, dxs pulse loader, dxs 69cui 4500psi low pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel

besides that i don think you would want to upgrade this since its a low end marker
Strengths: Lighter than tippmann 98
same internals then tippmann 98
stock barrel is accurate
Weaknesses: Ugly look
omposite shell(hard plastic)
look below for full review


Review: I first purchased this marker at a warehouse called XS CARGO. i went there on boxing day and saw this puppy for $30. for that price i knew i would buy it since my other marker was in repair and i needed a back up one. since this was not a paintball store i knew the warantee was usless. it was ok i mean for $30 its not gunna really matter. when i came hom i looked this up on buypbl.net and found this gun there for a price of $119.95. this made me satisfied that i made a good deal.

when i first opened it up and noticed the the hard plastic shell. not impressed but it was a tippmann so i knew i could rely on it to some extent. it semmed pretty sturdy.
i took it apart and basically it was a tippmann 98 in a costume.

when i first shot this i was impressed on the acuracy of the stock barrel. it wasnt a gas hog either. i went through 500 someodd shots before my 16 ounce Co2 ran out. after i noticed that the bolts came loose when i gased it. i didnt like this at all but agaiin, for 30 dollars i didnt expect and ego or dm7.
Conclusion: Altogether with its ugly plasma rifle style halo look, i give it a 7 out of 10. i would strongly recomend this to beginners as it is gas efficent, accurate and lighter than the other tippmann markers. for the slightly for expericend guys, i would suggest maybe the triumph ext or just a completly different marker. this is also a good back up marker incase ur good one has a problem. as well it is a good beater marker for playing around with friends and having fun. for 30 dollars u can't get a better deal than that.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 30th, 2008 at 2:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilpeanut Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: Tippmann triumph with 12 oz. CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, but it wouldn't hurt to buy a longer barrel. The one it comes with is fine.
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots good with any brand paint balls.
cool looking
fore grip
double finger trigger
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Hard to completely take apart
Review: I have been playing paint ball for less than a month, but I have seen my teacher (i'm in 5th grade) play. Compared to his Ion, this marker is awesome. It does not use a lot of CO2, and fires about 8 bps.
It is a little heavy, but you get used to it. The barrel is easy to take off, but the rest of the gun is hard to field strip. It is made of plastic, but is very tough.
Conclusion: Definitely buy this gun if you are a beginner, but if you want a gun that will fire 20 bps, don't get this
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fefethil Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder MR1
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Tippmann Triumph XT- Stock Barrel, Triumph Autoloader, Pure Energy 12 oz. Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Autoloader, More Accurate Barrel (I can't find one)
Strengths: Accurate, Durable, Not a Gas Sucker, Tippmann 98 Barrel Threads
Weaknesses: Semi-Auto, Little Heavy
Review: When I first got this I was a little skeptical, but it showed through at the end. When I first fired it I was surprised at how accurate it was, but then I remembered it was a Tippmann in a plastic shell, out of uniform. It proved itself in Woodsball and Speedball, and I was surprised at how resilient it was. It took maybe 8 shots to the marker itself and there was no damage. The only downside was that it was a little heavy.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to any starting paintballer or someone looking for accuracy in a marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

velociostrich Friday, July 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, WGP Worr Machine
Marker Setup: Normally I use a Tippmann 98, entirely stock with the exception of an 11" barrel; with this marker I used it entirely stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps an electronic grip frame (if they are even still available) and a regulator -- which, unfortunately would require some amount of modification of the regulator or the gun due to the fact that the gas line is contained within a rather small plastic grip.
Strengths: High parts compatibility with the 98 and other such derived Tippmann markers
Weaknesses: Relatively heavy, limited number of off-the-shelf modifications, somewhat poor construction
Review: I was initially drawn to this marker because of an absurdly low price I saw on it in a magazine ($30), and after having read the description, I was rather intrigued. The marker was falsely described as having a built-in regulator, if I recall correctly, as well as an eleven inch barrel, which some research revealed was threaded with what else but Model 98 threads. Thinking that if the marker was really no good I could use it for parts (as well as the barrel and alleged regulator), I bought it.

Taking the marker apart, I found that it was indeed but a clone of the 98 disguised in a plastic shell, which left me feeling both slightly disappointed but relieved that I would have no difficulty in locating replacement parts, if even from my 98 Custom. Furthermore, I was somewhat frustrated by the sheer number of screws that held the marker together -- cleaning the marker can take quite a while as a result.

I can say with certainty that I was rather disappointed after a few trials in the field. After what I believe was only the first or second day of play, the o-ring on the lower threaded portion of the "regulator" that screwed into the ASA was damaged and needed replacement. Not a difficult fix, but frustrating nonetheless. Later trials showed the marker to be no more efficient or stable in terms of velocity than the 98, despite the alleged regulator -- which, to my frustration, I found to be nothing more than an expansion chamber with hardly any volume inside at all. I found the marker to be highly prone to double and even triple feeding. Later, I found the trigger to be prone to "sticking" where the trigger return slide -- the small metal clip located on the rear the the trigger -- would not reset because the very tip of it would hit the sear and refuse to return fully despite the trigger being at rest. Closer inspection revealed that the trigger return slide was also heavily worn despite having hardly used the marker -- the same cannot be said for my 98 Custom which I have put at least 20 cases of paint though. I have not yet repaired the marker, though doing so would be trivial.

I did, however, find that it was no less inaccurate than my 98 Custom, which I would expect of a marker with nearly identical internals. It did seem, however, to be somewhat louder.
Conclusion: The only reason I would recommend this marker to someone would be for parts. I have not found it to be the least bit reliable, efficient, quiet, smooth, or of low recoil as I would expect of a marker priced at or around its MSRP; in short, I have been thoroughly dissatisfied by the marker's performance, but given that I paid only $30 USD for it I can't complain -- I see the purchase mainly as an eleven inch barrel with a free marker.

For those seeking a low-priced "beginner's marker", I would highly recommend looking elsewhere.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 23rd, 2010 at 7:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

young-gun Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98's
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Outta box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends how long you inteand on keeping it if not for very long none if not.

E-kit
Barrel
Strengths: Balance, Customisation, Price
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Noise
Review: This was my first Marker that i got at a budget store for a low 50$.
I got this marker because it was fairly cheap, and was made by Tippmann.
On my first game with it i was very unsasticfied with its accuracy.
But concidering its cheap i ignored that.
it shoots really fast for mechanical and taught me double trigger.
It also feels right when you hold it.
Conclusion: I would Recomend this marker for a raw beginer who has little spending room
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media