paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Shocker NXT builds on world-class tournament proven performance of the Shocker SFT with new features designed hand in hand with Smart Parts sponsored teams and professional players.

Few names are associated with as many paintball tournament wins as that of the Shocker. Through the Shocker 4x4, Turbo and SFT some of the best players in the world have stood on the awards podium with a Shocker by their side. With the advent of the Shocker SFT the Shocker took on a whole new look with a sleek, compact and lightweight design that delivered jaw dropping rates of fire. Now the Shocker NXT takes the name one step further.
Built on Shocker SFT technology the new Shocker NXT incorporates features that were developed and tested on custom markers built for Smart Parts sponsored teams.

* Break Beam Vision - The latest and most reliable anti-chop Vision technology is fully incorporated into the Shocker NXT body with no external wires or wire covers running from the grip to the eyes.

* Integrated Air Rail - Loose the drop forward and even the rail adapter. The integrated rail system allows 3/8" inch dovetail air system accessories to mount directly to the grip frame, or use traditional inline mounting screws.

* Rail Mounted on/off ASA - Positive air system control means longer o-ring and solenoid life. The easy to clean and rebuild design means a lifetime of reliable operation.

* Feature Packed Grip Frame - A built in snatch grip and expanded trigger guard with huge finger space are complimented by threaded lock pins which make the trigger, circuit board and on/off button easier to change yet more secure. Recessed frame screws disappear into the grip frame for a cleaner look.

* New Regulator - The new Shocker NXT regulator offers increased flow rate for maximum velocity stability.

* Sculpted, Rebuild-able Ball Detent Assemblies - Left and right spring loaded ball detent assemblies are multi-axis CNC machined to integrate seamlessly into the body

Smart Parts NXT Shocker Features:

New look with multi-axis milling
Break-beam Vision
Stronger feedneck threading
Impulse/Ion barrel threading
Integrated air system rail
Increased vertical regulator flow rate and consistency
High Efficiency Bolt/Valve assembly
Integrated, removable snatch grip
Four point, externally adjustable trigger
Threaded trigger and circuit board mount pins
Forward offset vertical regulator mount
Trigger guard with increased fingerspace
Sculpted plunger style dual ball detent assemblies
Harder anodized finish
Backwards compatibility
Threaded Trigger and Board Pins for easy installation
Newly designed feedneck for added strength
Smart Parts On/Off ASA

The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Shocker NXT main assemblies are backwards compatible, providing an upgrade path for Shocker NXT owners instead of obsolescence. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that Equipment Counts.

2009 update: Qlock and tournament modes included standard.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
nxtguy77 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year88 of 91 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modified ions
proto matrix
invert mini
etc.
Marker Setup: NXT shocker
Freak Kit
Q-Lock
Halo B or VLoicty
Shockteck on off
empire gunslinger panel grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
barrel
grips
Strengths: Sexy
fast
reliable
cheap
Weaknesses: Needs some upgrades
Simplicity of programming
Review: I decided to wait a year of using the gun to write a review instead of most that take it out of the box shoot a 100 balls and give it a 10 out of 10.

FEEDNECK
IF you are going to get this gun you will probly need to get a new feedneck stock it did not fit my Halo B or VLocity hoppers I got a Q-lock feedneck but i would not recomend it does have a chance of breaking your feedneck. My halo neck broke on it but iprolly just run into something.

BARREL
The STock barrel is not bad for some kinds of paint but with the all american freak all you have 2 do is buy a freak back and about 3 inserts .687,.689 and.693 are good ones 2 get.

TRIGGER
I personallly love the trigger its adjustable in 4 different ways so you can make it perfect for you. The trigger shape itself is also very nice.

GRIP
this is something totally personal i swapped it out with thin gunslinger grips from hybrid
.Dye sticky grips are also very nice

PROGRAMING
This is one thing that i was not super impressed with but it is pretty simple once you read the manul. it only uses 2 buttons inside the grip and the powerbutton very simular to ion.

HIGH PRESSURE OR LOW
I use a low pressure tank on mine and thats what I recommend I have also used a HP tank on it and it worked fine but the consistency wasn't as good.

CONSISTENCY
When I first got the gun i was getting a bout +- 4 and after a couple of months and some tuning I was getting+- 1 or 2.

PROBLEMS
Surprisingly i have only had 1 problem one was the detent was sticking and broke some of the balls but was easily replace and problem solved.

Conclusion: OVERALL
I love this gun it is super reliable it has never broken down its a good buy you are getting a lotta bang for your buck.I would recommend this good to a friend. the only downside in my opinion is it needs some upgrades and its gripframes kinda wide compared to some higher end guns.PLEASE if you liked my reveiw vote it helpful

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Megadestructo Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month78 of 91 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Vision Shocker - I like the NXT better
Marker Setup: Dye UL'd DM5 (red/black fade)
07 NXT Shocker (Dust Silver)
Dye Throttle 45/45
Redz Pepper Stix
Halo B w/Suicide Shell
Recommended
Upgrades:
New on/off ASA - I'm a fan of the Dye Airports
Lucky Un1tec barrels
Q-lock feedneck
Evil NXT Trigger
Strengths: -Speed
-Balance
-Weight
-Aesthetics (I think this thing looks freakin' awesome)
Weaknesses: -O-ring feedneck
-ASA (see review)
Review: So, I got mine last night. Had to wait at UPS to pick up for almost two hours but I finally got it. Brought to the field today and, of course, got all the "Ooohs!" and "Aaahs!" - first NXT to show up.

Gassed it up, jammed on the Halo, and started ripping people with it. Overall first impressions were very good and I definitely think it's a great marker. I've never owned a Shocker before (though I have played with my friend's 05 Vision) and I'm glad I have it.

Efficiency is what you expect from the stock HE bolt - pretty good but not great. But with all-day air on most fields now, it shouldn't be an issue, really. It also felt very well balanced and whipping it around the field was a breeze. The built in snatch-grip is cool if you like that sort of thing and the reg-design was very comfortable.

I also thought the larger trigger-guard was much needed. I've got big, monkey hands and this worked out well for me. This also placed the reg in a position. One of the most comfortable markers I've held.

But I have a few problems that everyone should know about - and perhaps they're just my personal preference so take everything with a grain of salt:

1) The feedneck sucks. I hate having to jam my Halo in crazy. Once in, it holds it well and it won't move. But taking it out is a sonofab*tch. Can't wait for a clamping feedneck to come out (anyone know anything about that btw?)

2) The ASA is not my favorite. I have a Dye Throttle 45/45 that has served me very well. But after the first few games, as soon as I screw in the tank a bit (I had to take it off to clean it), air started pouring out of the little hole on the bottom of the adapter. Only putting in another o-ring inside the ASA and then screwing the tank in fixed it, abeit temporarily.

I tried one of the field's rental tanks and that worked just fine. But then I tried my tank in my DM5, in some kid's 05 Shocker, and in an Ion - no problems whatsoever. Could be I have a bum ASA. Either way, that's getting replaced really soon.

3) Trigger. It felt nice and after getting a bit used to it, I could walk it fairly easily. But the adjustments feel very subtle - cranking it out didn't make the trigger feel any different, nor did it's placement move too much. However, it started to stick and I had to really JAM on the trigger to get the marker to fire. Put it back the way it was and it was still acting up a bit.

10/11/06 EDIT: Okay, took the whole trigger out and noticed that the spring was way too far out, causing it to catch on the inside - most likely my own fault. I tightened it back in and re-set the trigger and now it works like a dream!

4) While I think the design is sick, I noticed some obvious milling marks here and there (most notably around the screws). Nothing major (no burrs), but it's a minor annoyance. Also, a few angles around the frame are kinda sharp.

I chalk it up to me getting acquainted with it. I bet I'll have it all set and ready to go next time - but it was a bit annoying. Both my old NME and my UL'd DM5 were a breeze to set up and I had them at their sweet spot in under 10 minutes. I may look into getting another trigger when aftermarket ones start coming out.

So there you have it. When it worked, it worked like a charm. But I got fed up a bit trying to adjust and fix and work with some of these problems and ended up using my DM5 for the rest of the day. I figure it's a new marker and it just takes some getting used to.

10/11/06 EDIT: I gassed it up again and noticed that the reg's recharge as way off. I could fire off about 4-5 shots and I would watch the gauge go down to zero, preventing me from continuing. I waited 2 seconds and it was back up to full again. A quick clean and relube of the reg and the bolt fixed that right away. So, as a suggestion, check those out before going out to play with your shiny new toy. Again, works like a charm now.

10/13/06 EDIT: I AM A MORON. I replaced the stock grips with Hybrid grips and, having never owned a Shocker before, was surprised and dismayed to find out the solenoid board is right where the grip-screws go in. The stock grips are thick enough to prevent damage but not so with the Hybrid ones. So yeah, being an ignorant tool, I screwed them in too far and crushed a bit of the board. Luckily, it's still covered under warranty (there must be a dumb-a$$ clause for fools like me) and one quick phone call is all it took to send it in for repair.

The lesson? If you get aftermarket grips (and who wouldn't? the stock ones are thick and fugly), use an o-ring to space out the screws. Stupid design by Smart Parts, don't get me wrong. But 100% my fault.

10/21/06 EDIT: I am just not having any luck with this marker. I got it back from SP on Thursday (10/19) and brought it to the field today. Problem one? My Dye Airport is effed up. Had to switch out the one I had on my DM5. Problem two? The reg was pressurizing up to 260psi, making me shoot around 340fps! Trying to turn the nut that adjusts velocity didn't work great because it was stuck! Twisting it started unthreading the freakin' reg! It certainly wasn't like that when I sent it to them.

But...after one of the refs was able to help me hold onto the reg while I adjusted the nut we got it working. Brought it back down to just under 200psi and shooting 280fps +/-4 (not bad for a marker that has only had about 600 shots through it). After that, it worked and played beautifully.

It's been a freakin' adventure getting this thing up and running. But it seems I just tend to have bad luck with this sort of stuff. Anyway, used it all day today without any further problems and I cannot stress how awesome this marker is. Accurate, light, fast, and quiet. Coupled with my SS Freak and it's beautiful as well. I'll only update this review again if something major happens to it. Thanks for reading everyone.

12/28/06 EDIT: I have a Q-lock on there now as well as the new NoX board (unleashed) and NoX bolt as used by the Portland Naughty Dogs. It has even less kick than previously (which is an amazing feat) and the number of modes on the board is staggering. I have an Evil NXT trigger on the way as well as the wave design suits my fingers more. This has overtaken my UL'd DM5 as my main marker of choice - high praise indeed!
Conclusion: In no way am I disappointed with it and I bet all you old Shocker owners will have it dancing and singing within 5 minutes of taking it out of the box. Not having owned a previous Shocker, I have no idea if you should upgrade or not. But if you've never owned one, the NXT Shocker definitely gets you a lot of marker for the price.

1 Point deducted for feedneck, ASA, and various tiny milling flaws. And a little extra cash can fix these easily. 1 point deducted because I don't give out 10s (nothing is perfect).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 28th, 2006 at 10:40 am PST
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

Cool shoes Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months71 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Shocker (NXT is better)
Ion (NXT is better)
Marker Setup: Red 2007 NXT with literally everything
Backup gun: Red 2004 Vision Shocker with literally everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock (buy it with your marker)
New trigger (I recommend the NDZ Slik trigger)
Freak or other interchangeable bore system
New ASA
Strengths: Impressive stock reg
Very adjustable trigger
Backwards compatibility
Break Beam
Very good anno
Improved Detents
Weaknesses: Not 100% backwards compatibility (notably barrel threads and trigger)
Feedneck
ASA
Review: I have been using Shockers since 2004, and I know them inside and out. Currently, my team is required to use Shockers in all tournaments we play in, so I've seen everything that can go wrong with these guns and I've seen them put to the test. I will do my best not to simply compare this gun to the vision Shocker, although I times I will make references to the notable changes between this one and the 06. I hope fellow pbreview readers find this review helpful
Reliability
Shockers have been famous for breaking down when not babied, the NXT is no exception. If you do not take care of it, and lube it regularly, it will malfunction. I use my NXT 5 to 6 times a month under very adverse conditions, and I have not yet witnessed any problems because I constantly take care of it. I also believe that the break beam eyes help immensly. I've used this gun in the snow, with crappy paintballs, with a
malfunctioning hopper, covered in mud, etc, and I have not yet chopped. Sometimes I've seen players having trouble getting air to feed into the gun, and I think this is an ASA issue
ASA
I have noticed on some of the NXTs (not mine) that there is leaking out of the ASA. Usually tightening the tank or rescrewing it fixes the problem, but on one occasion my fellow teammate had to get the ASA replaced. I use a 68/45 stubby, so I can aim comfortably with the stock ASA in it's current position.
Interchangeability
The NXT is not actually all that friendly with the Shocker in terms of switching out parts. I cannot install my Vision Q-lock onto the NXT. It does not use Shocker threads (although this makes sense I guess, since now Smart Parts has a standard barrel thread). Most important however, is that I cannot use my Vision Shocker's triggers. I love the NDZ slik trigger, so much in fact, that I have a Vision Shocker grip frame on my NXT to I can use it (NDZ has released one now for the NXT, so I will be picking it up soon). I guess I can't complain at this when I examine why the triggers can't be swapped. NXT triggers have four separate points of adjustment (including a spring), making it very friendly to tweakers and allows everyone to get that perfect sweet spot for their fingers. Even so, I still can get a higher rate of fire with my old silk trigger on the vision frame than I can the new stock trigger. All of the old shocker bolts, boards, regs, etc will switch out, in fact the solenoid is the same, which is a plus in interchangeability.
Accuracy
The regulator on the NXT is noticeably better than that of the Vision's max flo. Very high recharge rate and great accuracy. About +-5fps. A lot of players I know still prefer to slap on the CP reg, but honestly I don't see much of a need, I'm very happy with the stock reg. I uses it' s own unique wrench to adjust the velocity. I hear a lot of complaints but I like it better than an Allen wrench because Allen wrenches are easier to lose (at least in my experience, ha I've lost I think 3 for the Vision's max flo). Also, the vertical ASA is moved forward allowing more finger space. Makes it much easier to hold and helps to improve accuracy, especially while jousting and firing off the break.
Feedneck
Buy a Q-lock. Best feedneck I've ever used and nothing else compares to it. I wish it came stock like it did on the Nerve.
Eyes
As stated before, I have not chopped yet. With the Vision Shocker, if I ever put it under heavy use in sand or had a barrel break, the eye would occasionaly malfunction and I'd have to clean it. I've yet to have this issue on the NXT. In ball detents are also placed less obtrusively on the gun, which looks much better and they are still easy to get to and clean (as well as the eyes).
Board
Stock Nerve board. I won't be replacing it since every tourney I play in is true semi-auto only. Additional firing modes will only hurt me.
Notable Improvements over the Vision Shocker
For those of you that want to know what different about the NXT compared the to Vision that I haven't talked about, listen up
Snatch Grip
It comes with a snatch grip installed. I love the NDZ Talon grip and I'm glad to see a stock grip on a Smart Parts marker. It really helps in snap shooting/stabilization.
New Bolt
The stock HE bolt is a pleasant upgrade, and makes one less $100 item you would have to buy otherwise
Paint job
The Annodizing is wonderful. I've had this thing go through quite a beating in the past few months and it looks like brand new. I don't know the whole story behind it myself, but I do know that the NXT's anno job is a higher end process that helps the color to bind better to the marker or something. Either way, whatever Smart Parts did worked and this marker still looks like new.
Grip Frame
The grip frame's screws are nestled into the frame, making them less obtrusive. The screws have larger holes than before and once they are loosened they become thumb screws. This is a wonderful change for me as I usually start stripping screws about 6 months in (I had to change my Vision Shockers screws with flatheads lol). With these screws that won't be the case.
EDIT: I have now used this gun for 7 months and I still have yet to have any problems. I have used it in several tournies and it has not broken on me. Some of my teammates have had bad experiences with their nxts, but I believe that this is because they don't lube/clean the bolt after practices, etc. Unfortunately I no longer will be using this as I now have to shoot an angel, but I still recommend this gun to anyone getting into competitive paintball.
Conclusion: All in all, an excellent tournament marker that has yet to cause me problems. Little need to upgrade as well, which is great considering the retail price you pay for this gun. I'll be honest, the ripper 2 and the ego... eh, maybe they are slightly better guns. As for me, I'm not planning on switching from the NXT. Like I said before, I've been using Shockers since 2004 and I don't plan to switch now. Please let me know if this review was helpful. Also, check out my review of the Vision Shocker! If you're tight on money, pick up one of those instead.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 22nd, 2007 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

phrenologyfiend Friday, September 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tons, but most recently:
-Proto Matrix 6 - After 4 years, it's still my marker of choice, it's faster, quieter, and easier to program
-Invert Mini - as fast as the Shocker, easier to program, quieter, and is nearly $200 less, but is harsher on paint
-Ions (Stock and custom) - quieter than the Shocker and easier to program, but inferior in all other ways.
Marker Setup: Main Rig
-Proto Matrix 6 (Olive)
-12" Deadlywind Fibur, with full Freak insert kit
-Critical Raze Trigger
-Special Ops Paintball T2W Stock

Backup Rig
-2009 NXT Shocker (Blue)
-Critical Trigger
-12" Deadlywind Fibur, with full Freak insert kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Board
Strengths: Unique
Simple maintenance
Fast
Trigger adjustment
Barrel
Weaknesses: Board/Programming
Loud
Poor trigger positioning
Multi-tool adjustment
Manual
Gas Efficiency
Review: WEAKNESSES

Board/Programming
There were complaints about the boards on the previous years' models, so Smart Parts updated the tournament settings on the 2009 Shockers. Even with the updates, the board leaves something to be desired. There are three settings that I expect to see on any board: dwell, maximum balls per second (BPS), and firing modes. Anything other modes are pleasant bonuses, but those are the ones that I expect. The Shocker board has four settings: dwell, rate of fire delay (ROFDelay), firing modes, and vision mode. Most of these are straight forward, except one might notice that there is no max BPS mode. The way that one caps the BPS is via a semi-complex, user-unfriendly equation: 1/([dwell in milliseconds + ROFDelay in milliseconds]/1000). This meas that if the dwell is 12ms and the ROFDelay is 45ms, then the equation looks like this: 1/([12ms+45ms]/1000). The final result: 17.54 BPS max. Thankfully, the new board offers five firing modes, that solve some tournament compliance issues, but if one were to simply want to cap one's firing at 12 BPS, one would need to calculate the delays needed and alter the dwell and ROFDelay. Beyond this difficulty, the programing is a little onerous, due to only having one LED color. Even an Ion has multiple LED colors. Come on, Smart Parts.

Loud
This is purely a personal preference, but I think that at a fast marker that is also quiet is a dead sexy marker. Maybe owning a Proto Matrix as a primary setup spoiled me, but the Shocker is bloody loud. It was louder than my Mini, and it was louder than my friend's stock Ion, and they were all using the same type of barrels (12 Deadlywind Fibur). I was surprised that the Shocker was louder than both of these less expensive markers. It seemed as loud as a Tippmann A-5.

Poor Trigger Positioning
Trigger critiques are tricky, since they are such a personal preference, but then again, this whole point of a review is one's own views, right? That being said, the trigger positioning seems ergonomically counter-intuitive. If you have ever watched people walk the trigger, you might have noticed that many people pull the trigger at a slightly downward angle. Smart Parts positioned the trigger so that it sits at an angle that is nearly flush with the grip frame and parallel to my angle of trigger pull, and it cannot travel so far forward as to sit at an angle perpendicular to one's natural trigger pull. This makes walking the trigger less intuitive for anyone that pulls at a downward angle. The trigger thus became the first thing I replaced.

Multi-tool adjustment
The regulator on the Shocker requires multiple tools to adjust, as does the Ion. My personal belief is that one should be able to do most basic adjustments, such as velocity and input pressure, with the same sized Allen wrench. Adjusting the velocity requires one to unlock the regulator using a 3/32 Allen wrench, and then one must use a 5/8 open-end wrench to set the velocity, and then one must re-lock the regulator. This seems rather inconvenient, kind of like adjusting the velocity on the Autocockers during the 1990s. This has encouraged many people to want to change regulators.

Manual
I mentioned that a new board was included with the 2009 model. Smart Parts did not include a new manual to reflect that. They kept the old manual and simply added a 2x11 separate piece of paper. It took me a few glances to figure this out, and the separate paper can be easily lost. I think that for a $500 marker, an updated, consolidated manual is not too much to ask.

Gas Efficiency
This is only anecdotal, and it is rather preliminary at that, but the gas efficiency seems much lower than any of my other markers. This section might be updated as I use this marker more, so this section should be taken with the qualifier that this is a preliminary estimation.


STRENGTHS

Unique
Maybe other people have had a different experience, but I don't see many of these at the fields I go to. I kind of enjoy being one of the only people to own one.

Simple maintenance
Maintenance is a breeze. Basically all one needs to do, like many other spool valve markers, is lube the bolt and make sure that the internal o-rings are in good repair. The regulator is also easy to disassemble and reassemble.

Fast
Once I changed triggers, I was able to unleash the full potential of this beast. Stock, it is very quick. I've got pretty fast fingers, having measured my average trigger speed at about 17-18 BPS on my PM6. My Shocker keeps up very well, once the new trigger was installed.

Trigger adjustment
The stock trigger is wonderfully adjustable, albeit poorly positioned. One can adjust the magnetic resistance, the activation point, the post-travel, and pre-travel. For trigger adjustment junkies like me, this makes setting the trigger to however you like very easy, if you like the stock trigger. Many of the aftermarket triggers share this ease of adjustment.

Barrel
I have always loved Smart Parts barrels. An All American 2-piece barrel came stock on the marker. That is probably the most top-notch stock barrel that I have ever received with a marker. Some people have reported that their Shockers came with Freak backs. I don't know why mine did not, but it did not.
Conclusion: I've been playing for over ten years, and I remember when the first Shockers came out. I really wanted one then, and I kept wanting one. I sold my Mini and picked up a new 2009 Shocker NXT for an amazing deal. I really wanted to like this marker, but all in all, I'm disappointed with it. It has great potential, but it needs a few upgrades to realize that, such as a new trigger that sits at a more natural angle and a board that is easier to program. The 4-way adjustability of the trigger is nice, but one can get that with an aftermarket trigger that sits at a more natural angle. And for the retail price, an updated manual that does not simply have a separate addendum should be expected. One should also not have to program a board's maximum rate of fire through the use of low-level algebra.

Basically, what I can't get over is the fact that the stock Mini, a marker that retails for almost $200 less than the Shocker is performing at nearly the same level, and this is after I added a new trigger to the Shocker. The Shocker is a fine marker, once a few upgrades are made, but that is not something I expect to say about a $500 marker. As I said, I didn't pay anywhere near retail, so I'm not too remorseful, but I cannot recommend this marker at retail price, especially when markers like the Mini are available.

Final rating: With 5 being the average and 10 doing everything advertised with no suggestions for improvement . . . 6. This is an above average marker, but it needs upgrades that a marker in its price range should not, even when one bears in mind that Smart Parts dropped the retail price from approximately $700 to what it is now.

Remember, this is all personal opinion. Please feel free to leave comments, but don't dispute a review unless there are FACTUAL errors. Even then, contact me and I'll likely be happy to amend my review to reflect facts
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 25th, 2009 at 10:44 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

melvindoo Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker SFT/ Dynasty Shocker/ Dynasty Ion
Marker Setup: Red NxT/Empire B (Red)/45/4500/Freak Kit
Q-Lock/Hybrid Lady Grips/Shocker Roller Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Note: I (HEARD) shocker parts can be put on this marker but i am not totally sure*... Freak kit would be nice, Q-lock feed, mayb a CP reg
Strengths: Extremely fast
Extremely accurate
Extremely light
Pretty darn reliable
Pretty Efficient
Weaknesses: So far I see no weaknesses on this marker, except, * see review to find out*
Review: Ok, when I got to my local paintball field i saw a ref messing around in the range with the new shipment of NXT Shockers and guess what i said,OMFG let me play with one. Being the nice guy the owner is he let me use one for the day ( but of course with a price lol). Anyway I grabbed it from him and said " this feels different from the SFT...which BTW is pretty obvious. Smartparts kinda redid the design but i personally like it. The new design feels nice in your hands and feels great when sustaining high rates of fire. Well anyway lets to get the testing. Moving on we started off the day with speedball. All i have to say is OMG. Off the break bam got someone(yea its pretty accurate), advancing on got more, and laid down some insane cover(yea its fast to). With a 45/4500 i got over 4 pods and a hopper before having to refill which isn't to bad. What really impressed me was that its light enough for a front man but fast enough for a back man, and me being a mid player i felt it was just the perfect balance.But, there was something i did notice. In MY OPINION/Experience so far with this gun I see it does not like the cold weather and you might have to play with your board to get it shooting properly or just invest in a CP reg.Well by the end of the day my mind was set i was getting one of these bad boys(for the uber price of $700+). All i have to say to my SFT is say hi to Ebay lol.
Conclusion: If your thinking of getting serious into the sport of paintball and getting a high end gun that rips out of the box you cant go wrong with this marker. Its overwhelmingly fast,accurate,light I mean what else is there. Overall a great gun and i can see it proving its worth with players all over.

Smartparts outdid themselves yet again by introducing a new edition to the Shocker family and making another great marker...10/10

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 27th, 2007 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Goatface Thursday, August 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker SFT (almost same,NXT better), EGO 07( lite,LCD screen but alot of kick,loud), DM ( quiet but gas hog)...I've played with these but I haven't owned any so it's hard to compare. Besides it's all personal prefrence and whatevers your playing style when it comes to markers of this magnitude
Marker Setup: Olive Shocker NXT w/ freak back, critical trigger (got it as gift), APE board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I upgrade for personal prefrence not because stock parts were crap.
Strengths: Very quiet...sssshhhh
Shoots straight,
B...A...yoot-iful.
weight
Weaknesses: FSDO first shoot drop off . Got brand new and it was missing reg lock screw.
Review: Shocker NXT by Smart Parts.

This guns pretty cool. It’s half the price of your other tournament level markers but just as good. At the time before purchase I was really debating on spending $1200 for an 07 EGO. I’m glad I didn’t. ( saved me some mula) It’s as quiet as a DM7 and weighs just a little over an EGO. And even with upgrades it’s still cheaper than both. I don’t know about you but money is a big factor in my equipment. Only because I don’t have a lot of it and I need to use it wisely. If it wasn’t I’d probably own all 3 ‘cuz there all awesome…anyways, the gun.

Beautiful!!! The color is really nice and the milling makes it look really sleek. (Hey some people might even say sexy but I don’t see no b(o)(o)bs on it)…but I digress...Like I said I think it’s pretty light, not as light as an EGO but I believe lighter than a DM7. (2lbs 8oz w/ barrel) I was shooting a DM4 before I bought this and the difference in weight really does help improve your game in some ways. i.e. snap shooting, running etc…

As far as parts and shooting go I like the barrel. I just upgraded the back piece to a freak because the stock one is like a .693 and the Paint I shoot is usually around .689. Some people don’t care about bore to ball match but I do and so that’s why I did it. It really shoots straight and guns now days all shoot fast so this one’s no exception. Plus it has hardly any kick. I did notice that when I hit some one in a game it’s usually not just once. Not ‘cuz I’m mean but the marker is that consistent even from a good distance away. I likey !!!! This is my first shocker and when I first got it I wasn’t that impressed with it but once I tinkered around with the velocity, dwell and ROF I got it to sing like a little humming bird.

The trigger is really nice and it took me awhile to get it to the right setting but it was real easy because everything is on the outside of the trigger. On my DM4 I had to crack it open every time to make adjustments then re do this and that and it was a pain. NXT’s is just adjust and go, easy as that. Plus it comes w/ a bearing! Feels real good.

Comes stock with a HE bolt…’nuff said. I guess I don’t need to go through everything it comes with cuz you can just read the stats. But I do want to say that the stock feed neck isn’t as bad as people make it out to be. As for me I’ve had no problems what so ever with it. My hopper goes in stays in and that’s it. Easy peazy. If you want to spend $40 on a feed neck go ahead but I don’t think you have to.

As far as the downfalls. I do get First Shot Drop Off (FSDO) ALOTTT. I mess with the dwell, regrease, regassed, rewhatever and I still get it. Some people say they don’t get it at all but I must be one of the unlucky ones. I guess it’s not that big of a deal but It bugs the $4!T out of me. The ASA is also a weak spot I think. It’s made of soft metal or something because I always have metal shaving everywhere when I remove my bottle. that didnt happen with my other guns so I’m pretty sure its my ASA. If I’m wrong than oops. Also it doesnt bleed the air so it's hard to take off sometimes. I heard you have to baby shockers but I do that anyways so no worries for me.

Price is good. I got mine for $600 new and I’m very happy. I’m teetering on what to give it because it’s a good price and shoots nice but it’s not perfect. It’s cheaper so you can upgrade those parts to make it exactly what you want.uhhh…Arrgh. I want to give it a 10 but since it’s not perfect I’ll give it a 9.

*edit* Fixed my FSDO problem. My APE board has a "bolt stick dwell" adjustment. Messed w/ that and fixed it. I'm so happy
Conclusion: I'm very happy with this. I would like to try the other high end markers more extensivley but as far as this one goes I think it was a good buy. I recommend, highly.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 31st, 2007 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

likewise Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker SFT, Dynasty Shocker
Marker Setup: Shocker NXT all stock, Halo with Rip Drive and Angry Board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you don't have an Angry Board in your Halo get one. Could use a new barrel and a new ASA. Very fast gun but could be faster to I am in the process of putting in a Virtue Board will edit review when I install.
Strengths: Light
Balanced
Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Feed Neck
Review: Out of the box the gun looks great, the multi-axis milling is a big step up from the SFT tube style body. There is much larger trigger guard forcing the reg. forward. I shot about three hoppers through the gun before a walked out of my local shop with the gun, the gun worked fine and seemed to be set up right. A few days later I went to play at my local field, I crono in and everything is fine. First game starts and about five minutes into the game my gun starts to shoot down, about a minute later the balls are just rolling out of the barrel. It was a little cold so I took the gun apart cleaned and greased it then spent about five minutes balancing the dwell and reg. pressure. Next game gun was shooting like a champ. The gun was very accurate, felt better in my hand and more balanced then any other shocker I have played with. For the rest of the day was great really fast and fun.

Edit- 12/1/06
So the problem happened again with the gun but the second time it happened I took the gun apart and there were shavings of the o-rings in the grease and it was blowing out all the grease causing bolt stick. So I replaced all the o-rings and have played twice a week for about a month with no problems at all and it does not seem to be eating o-rings anymore. Plus I installed a virtue board and bought a new pulse loader and my god is this thing fast...
Conclusion: Gun is great Light, Balanced, Fast, Accurate If youre not into the technical aspect of paintball guns then I would then I would say this gun is not for you. As with all shockers they take a bit of maintenance and needs to be cleaned and greased after use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 1st, 2006 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sflusch Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix 05 - LPR was a nice asset, ABS programmed on stock board. Shot well, but larger than the NXT. Hyper2 had some velocity spikes, solved by adding CP reg. Slightly more complex to service, but just because you had to pull out and lube the LPR, adding extra steps.

Smart Parts Ion - Rather than FSDO, the Ion experienced first shot velocity spikes, usually resulting in at least one chop at the beginning of a game. Harder to service due to hoses and body kit being somewhat annoying to remove.

E-bladed Outkast - Considerably more kick, but expected. Only really comparable in rate of fire, as the Cocker's aren't spool valve guns.

2005 Shocker SFT - Only tested and not too familiar with its ins and outs, I do know the SFT had reflective eyes rather than breakbeam, and the internals are quite similar.
Marker Setup: 2007 Shocker NXT - Dust blue, Q-lock feedneck, CP rail-mount on/off ASA, CP regulator, Empire 45 Grips, DXS 68/45 tank, DXS Pulse loader, full Freak with All-American front.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking feeneck - Always a good idea.
Venting on/off ASA - The stock SP ASA doesn't vent the air, it simply cuts off the input to the gun.
New trigger - depends entirely on taste.
New Regulator (possibly) - I'm not a fan of SP's Ion/Shocker regulator, and since I had a CP on my PM5 I decided just to switch it over immediately.
Strengths: Easy to work with, quick to aim, easy to get ripping.
Weaknesses: Screws can damage board, trigger screws can strip, FSDO, cold weather causes problems.
Review: I purchased my NXT recently and for the most part love it. The gun is light and maneuverable, and it shreds. For all of its good points, the defining points on this gun are its shortcomings.

1) No LPR - The gun is hit or miss on paint. Unlike Matrixes, you can't just dial back the LPR to work with brittle paint. However, I hesitated to list this as a shortcoming because it is part of what the gun is, I didn't buy it thinking it had an LPR.

2) Bolt stick / FSDO - The stock board doesn't have any ABS settings, so you have to up the dwell until you don't experience any first shot drop off. I've heard some of the aftermarket boards have ABS settings, but if you increase the dwell the gun will compensate for FSDO.

3) Aftermarket grips - If you choose to use aftermarket grips, you need to watch out for the uppermost screws while screwing them in. Screw them too far in and you'll damage the board, possibly to the point of needing a replacement.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that disassembly for those unfamiliar with a shocker will be odd or difficult your first time. Unlike the Matrix design where the bolt itself can be removed, when you unscrew the back cap you only pull out the bolt guide. To remove the rest of the bolt, you have to insert the guide down the front of the gun and press through until the whole can section comes out. It feels odd at first, but after a couple of times disassembling the gun, it's easy to do.

Also, to adjust the trigger screws, I found that you had to remove the regulator and unscrew the piece above that (not sure what to call it).


EDIT 2: Playing this weekend we started off in cold weather, and though I was using x-ball bronze, I was breaking balls in the barrel from the air pressure. I stepped up my bore size twice and was still blowing the balls apart, so it wasn't a small barrel. You really need to turn down the PSI on this gun for it to handle brittle paint well, so I'm taking off another point. At this point, I've decided to sell the gun and move on to something else with an LPR.

EDIT 3: Decided to give the NXT another go today, in pretty much the same weather as last edit. I pushed the dwell way up and turned the pressure way down, but I still souped an entire hopper in the barrel. Every single ball broke. Worst part was that I was shooting 150 fps @ 100 psi through the gun. I'm assuming the paint just ended up getting really brittle today, since a friend of mine ran it the afternoon on white box with no problems. Moral of the story: if you're getting a lot of breaks with the paint you're using, try other paint, because turning it down won't help.

EDIT 4: Sold the NXT to a friend of mine who has been using it with few problems. I've come to the conclusion that the X-Ball I was shooting was a bad batch, because I kept a bag of it to compare with a fresh batch, and the old stuff is horrible. I'm going to revert to my original appraisal of the NXT, an 8.
Conclusion: A sound marker, the NXT relies on the spool valve design, and comes with all the upgrades necessary for a SFT, so it's a good way to get strong performance with a strong style.

On the whole, it's a simpler and slightly easier to maintain marker than the PM5, which is what I bought it for. I'm taking off a point for the lack of ABS programming, a point off for the high risk of damaging the circuit board.

As with other spool valve guns it doesn't have the highest air efficiency, but with a 68/45, I can easily shoot 4 pods and a hopper.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 at 11:33 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

tullyx Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's, Ion's, various Spyders, Ego's, Older Shockers, Impulses, Promasters, basically I've shot many a marker.
Marker Setup: 2007 Smart Parts NXT Shocker (blue)
basically stock except for new feedneck
Halo B with V35
Crossfire high pressure 68/4500
getting: a new on/off, Freak back
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun doesn't really need much since it's almost perfect out of the box. I would upgrade to the following:
1. Clamping feedneck
2. new on/off
3. Freak back
4. new board (optional)
5. New trigger (optional)
Strengths: VERY fast
VERY reliable
VERY consistant
VERY upgradeable
VERY good price
Weaknesses: crappy stock asa, feedneck
should come with Freak back, Q-lock.
None really
Review: Alrighty, I got this marker around Christmas and from day one it ripped. The milling looks great, it's very balanced and light, and it's affordable. Essentially, you can pay over $1000 for a great gun, or you can spend $700 and get the NXT, which will indeed NOT dissappoint you and leave you with cash to spend on other equipment, paintballs, whatever. Out of the box, the marker is setup to play. Smart Parts is on top of their game and the NXT clearly shows that. This marker will function forever as long as you take care of it. Clean and lube after every day of play and you wont have any problems.

Gassed it up and went to the chrono, I was amazed at the consistancy I was getting. The first shot was at 314, but after a quick turn, I was getting readings of 283, 285, 284, 283, 286, 284. I was amazed! VERY consistant! Mind you this was straight out of the box, and basically stock, other than a clamping feedneck. The parts hadn't had any play time, the reg was still fresh.

Balance is another factor that I find great on the NXT. Fully loaded with a 68/45, it felt so balanced. Easy to snap shoot with, it's truly an amazing feel. It doesn't feel as light as the SFT, but it's close. You won't notice a huge difference in weight, but you will notice the great balance.

Another thing you will notice it the looks. the milling is flawless and flows nicely. The anno feels very crisp and looks great, no blemishes at all. This gun is a piece of art in itsself.

The trigger frame on the NXT feels amazing. It is comfortable to hold, and comfortable to shoot. To some though, the grips might feel a bit large. If so, get new grips, most people will change them anyways. The stock trigger is sexy and shoots wonderfully. At times it may feel a bit fat but after some shooting, you get used to it. Sometimes, the trigger feels mushy also, but this wont hinder your ability to rip. It may feel mushy, but it truly isn't mushy. Once you get it ripping, you'll be paying more attention to the rope of balls flowing from the barrel rather than the trigger.

The stock asa is a piece of crap. This is the one drawback to the gun. Though some will change this piece (like me, to preferably a CP on/off) the stock is cappy. It's hard to screw your tank in and it almost feels like you're gonna break something trying to get the tank on and off. It also leaves very tiny flakes of metal in your asa which could lead to bad things if they get in the gun. Get a new asa as one of your first upgrades after the crappy feedneck.

Accuracy. As we all know, accuracy mainly consists of paint to barrel match. The stock back is nice, and shoots relatively good, but I prefer the freak with its ability to let you match paint. It also is a perfect match for the AA tip that comes stock. Also, I tend to shoot cheap paint. I am going to start buying the more expensive paint because this gun deserves it.

This gun is also very easy on paint. After 6000 balls through the gun, I have yet to break one. I have had a few barrel breaks (due to cheap paint) but NO internal breaks. Clean as a whistle. The Break beam eyes are amazing. No breaks, they are great. This gun will go forever without any breaks.

Last but not least is effeciency. Everyone knows that Shockers have horrid effeciency. Some even with the HE bolt get horrid effeciency. This was not the case for me. On my Crossy 68/45 filled to just under 3000 psi, I was averaging 2 Halo's and 3-4 pods and still had just under 700 psi left in the tank. If you ask me, I'd say that's pretty darn good for a shocker right out of the box.
Conclusion: This marker is the best buy on the market. The NXT blows away the competition, especially for its price. Even with the horrible feedneck and asa, you can replace them and still have money left over to play. Don't spend $1000+ on a overhyped marker when you can get the NXT and get down to business. I am truly impressed with Smart Parts and the new NXT. Get this marker, you WILL NOT regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 6:10 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Zach1116 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used (not owned) Ion and Pilot.
Marker Setup: 07 Shocker NXT with Max Flo 68/45 system, q-lock feed neck, Halo B with V35 board, 16' FREAK barrel, Virtue board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock feed neck, unless you want to struggle with the stock o-ring neck (haha)
20+ bps hopper, Doesn't matter what company, just the speed.
Max Flo/Virtue board are optional, but it sure does make the gun A LOT more fun.
Strengths: Light, Fast, Accurate, Easy to clean, GREAT Trigger, decent HE bolt.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is glued in place, not fun to use. Too many allen wrenches.
Review: I first opened this gun out of the box and thought, "Wow, my very own shocker!" I did not realize the true power of this gun until I got it shooting. But, before I got to shoot it, I had to struggle getting off the feedneck, putting in a board (had to get around some tricky bolts), and getting my Max flo on it. These tasks aren't very hard when you know what you are doing, BUT! this was my first Smart parts gun.....I had my "fun".
After a full day of running around the paintball stores in Lake Forest, California, I found the 0.050 allen wrench needed to adjust the trigger and replace the board. It was all down hill from there. Once the board was in and my Q-lock was on I was ready to get my gun rolling.
The next day, I took my gun to Camp Pendleton Paintball Park. I was 1 of 2 people that day with a shocker (the other person being my friend...with an NXT). Naturally we got the "Ohhs" and "Awws". This gun is truly amazing. I was maxing my hopper at 35 bps without thinking about it, and the gun didn't seem to have to think about it either. The gun was easy to handle around the corners of bunkers, and easy to snap shoot with because of its light weight and small size. The gun is also very low profile, so when you are found in a tight corner, you can sit back and let your fingers do the work. The eyes will allow you to fire as fast as you want and you won't chop once. I went through 2 boxes of paint (4,000 paintballs), without one chopping, and only 1 ball curved(not the gun fault)!
After my first 2,000 paintballs I naturally cleaned the gun (to keep it in top shape), all you have to do is loosen the rear bolt guide, slide out the bolt, wipe it off, pop it back in, and you ready to go in less then 5 minutes. AWESOME!
Some people agreed, after handling my gun (not shooting), that it does not have the same "Shocker feeling," but I personally like the large trigger finger space, and fore-grip place ment. You can hold this gun with comfort!
Conclusion: All in all I gave this gun a 10/10. Why? I love this gun, it the the PERFECT gun for tournaments and rec ball alike. I will use it for the next 5 years....maybe 10. The only problem is that 1) The pesky feed neck, and 6 different sized allen wrenches! 2) No gun is perfect for everyone. So, I recommend you go to a local store or Field and hold one for yourself before you spend $700 on it. I love this gun, and hopefully you will too.

(Look for my gun in the pictures!! Its all black with green carpet in the back ground. Says out of Southern Calfifornia from ZF (= )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 15th, 2006 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media