paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Ripper 3 2007 / Bob Long Ripper 3 2007 / Bob Long Ripper 3 2007 / Bob Long Ripper 3 2007

Bob Long Ripper 3 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Ripper 3 2007

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Ripper 3 2007
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1099

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RIPPER 3

Classic original Ripper milling in the new Gen4 format!

The ALL NEW Ripper3 model has been rebuilt from the ground up. This gun is a great improvement on what is an already legendary line of guns. .
FASTER – shorter bolt length has improved the cycle time.
COMPACT - 1.5 inches shorter than the Alias and other 2005 models.
LIGHTER - 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel, which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias).
STYLE - New look to the LPR system and milling to go with new internals.
COLOR - Variety of colors in the new hard wearing "dust" finish.

New features include:

1. Reduced Force Valve
2. 2006 Boards
3. Most compact, lightweight Intimidators ever!
4. Integrated ram sleeve and cap - make "bumpers" obsolete
5. Super Low-Rise Feedneck
6. Improved Ergonomics
7. Dove Tail Rail
8. Bearing Trigger
9. Pressure Guage

Ripper3 Specs:

Caliber: 68
Action: Electro-Pneumatic
Air Source: Compressed Air/Nitrogen
Battery Type: 9-Volt Battery
Cycle Rate: 25bps Capped and/or Unlimited
Firing Modes: Semi Auto only
Board; Frenzy LCD
Effective Range: 150+ feet
Weight:1.40 lbs
length: 19.1 inches
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Ripper 3 2007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Lopez17 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned 7 Intimidators ranging from the Classic Style, 2K2 versions, Alias platforms and now the Generation 4's. This marker has significant improvements over many of the capabilities offered by previous platforms. It does however require more intensive and proactive maintenance and a diligence in keeping o-rings lubed with Dow 55 and the poppet and rocket cap in the valve operating precisely.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire Reloader B (and now a Pulse) with a PMI Pure Energy or Crossfire Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Due to the redesign from the Alias to the Generation 4 platform, there are very few upgrades recommended out of the box. Most are a matter of personal preference and have minimal effects on the performance of the marker. If you feel compelled to put upgrades in, here's what I'd recommend.

1. Techna Trigger. The stock trigger is the best one Bob has put on an Intimidator but nothing comes close to beating a Scythe II Techna. The wait however is about a year.

2. Tadao M6 Board. The Frenzy board is one of the top two or three stock boards in paintball and has more capabilities than the average user will use. If you're a high end competitive tournament player, the Tadao is the way to go. The cost difference between the Empire 1.5 board that comes stock and the $135 you'll spend on a Tadao makes it somewhat restrictive/unnecessary.

3. Barrel. Everyone swaps this out. Pick your favorite and put it on.

4. Rail/ASA. Same as a barrel. I prefer the CP's but get whichever you prefer.

5. HPR. I recommend that if you're going to get rid of the stock torpedo (which frankly is amazing on my Ripper 3) I'd go with the only one that's significantly better and that's the AKA 2-Liter.

6. Feedneck. I actually am not a big fan of this and would recommend a CCM or Empire Clamping feedneck to supplement this already amazing marker.

7. Probably the only mandatory upgrade that I'd recommend are the hard blue detents from Paintball Kingdom. These ensure that you can easily use a Halo, Reloader B or other forcefed loader without chopping.
Strengths: Balanced valve makes for a marker that operates smooth and consistent at a low LPR.
Weaknesses: More intensive maintenance required compared to previous model intmidators.
Review: Bob has really hit the ball out of the park with the Generation 4 platform. The Milling on the Ripper 3 is reminiscent of the Classic Ripper, Ironman and Ripper 2.5 bodies that the Intimidator community has come to adore. It's been shortened and lightened and accomodated with a 2K6 gripframe to make a light, small, precisely milled marvel that's a dream to shoot.

As with all 2K6 platform markers, the Ripper 3's incorporate many upgraded features. They come stock with the adjustable ram cap that's threaded on the outside making for a smooth ram travel on the inside. The LPR is smaller and easier to remove to access the internals. The gauge has been redesigned and Bob is now using a stock Bob Long gauge that is better and more diminutive than the Ashcroft gauges of year's past. The 2K6 frame is smaller than the infamous and utilizes the same proven Humphrey's Solenoids and hose configurations, however the barbs are better positioned into the ram sleeve (due to a redesign) and are easier to get to and remove without risking damage to the sleeve or LPR block. The Ripper 3 uses an Alias style ram block with the offset barb for easy removal and access to the valve.

The Ripper 3's also incorporate a "balanced" valve system to keep an even pressure on the valve. Early Gen4's had problems with the newly designed poppets and rocket caps. The Ripper 3's were the first Gen4's to come stock with the reinforced Rocket Cap (removed using a 3/8" socket) and brass poppet. Unlike past versions you need to be careful about the lube used on the poppet. The new poppet has 3 o-rings, of which the front one is critical to lube. Lubing the middle one can cause it to become slick and roll off causing a leak.

Ripper 3's are more maintenance intensive and require exclusive use of Dow 55 to ensure swelling of o-rings to ensure a tight seal throughout the marker. The redesigned ram has a rear o-ring that must have a solid amount of Dow for the marker to chrono to velocity.

The Ripper 3 has the proven torpedo regulator and also has a wider trigger guard so you can get those fingers moving quickly. The triggers are probably the best stock ones on an intimidator yet, though I'm still preferential towards a good Techna. The board is the Empire 1.5 board (same as a Frenzy 127.5) and has the firing modes including Semi, PSP, NXL modes with adjustable and uncapped ramping modes as well as adjustable dwell, debounce, mbounce, etc. These are probably the best stock boards in paintball today.

The real upside is that many upgrades from previous versions will work on the Ripper 3's including Gen 4 Techna's, Tadao boards, Regulators and Kila Detents.

The new valve system and overall redesign means a marker that rips strings of paint at blinding speeds, much like previous intimidators, but with little to no kick. Even at 70-80 psi out of the LPR there's little kick to the marker. The balanced valve also enables the owner to move the LPR down into the 40's with conistent cycling/shooting of paint.

The downsides of the marker are the more proactive maintenance required to keep it working. It must take Dow 55 and Dow 55 only as a lube since Dow 55 will swell o-rings. These tight seals are critical for efficient operation. The marker, when working well will get you 1600-1800 shots per 68/4500 fill. it's a relatively quiet shooting marker though not nearly as quiet as a spool valve. Certainly the least noisy of ram/poppet designs.

The milling is incredibly precise and sharp and is actually sharp enough in the back where the prongs can cut you if you try and carry it as if you had a snatch grip. (I jokingly call it the vampire for the symmetrical marks it leaves on my hand). Beyond that, this has some of the best milling of any Intimidator.

The best part of this marker is that it's backed by BLAST, the best shop in paintball. If you have issues with it the BLAST techs are there to service the marker and perform warranty work as needed and without hesitation.

This is probably the pinnacle of Intimidators to date. A low pressure marker with high speed operation capable of ripping strings of paint consistently while operating at 40psi. It's a revolution in the execution of paintball marker technology and certainly incorporates innovations and lessons learned from previous markers.

Both of the pictures listed at the top of this review are of my marker. The first is a picture, taken by Terry59 at BLAST prior to the marker being sent to me in Sept. The second is of me holding it at my house.
Conclusion: A top notch marker in the Intimidator line and well worth the money. It's fast, light, consistent and operates smoothly.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 11th, 2007 at 6:04 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

EvilEye Monday, February 7th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 timmy, 2006 infamous, marg rapper (sort of similar)
Marker Setup: 2007 Bob Long Ripper 3, rotor, ninja 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
board to make it current, otherwise anything would be personal preference. I'm leaving mine 100% stock, as there were only 148 made and I want to preserve this beauty.
Strengths: Balance
Weight
Smoothness
Relatively quiet for a poppit
Weaknesses: nowadays the board
trigger spring can be stiff if new (I got lucky!)
Review: I went from a decked out Marq Rapper to this, and it made me wonder why I had never owned a timmy before!

when the pressures are dialed in, it's game time!!!!!

Considering its age, this baby can shoot right up there with the best of them today. I will admit that I was one of those players who got a little turned off by the age of a gun, but this gun wears it's age like a badge of honor. They don't make guns like this anymore...

There are a lot of upgrades for timmies out there today, and I really can't say you need any of them on a gen 4 timmy. It really comes down to personal preference on this gun. I don't need anything for mine, it shoots fantastic right out of the box (after sitting in an attic for about 3 years!)

If you've ever owned or tested a gen 4 timmy, back me up! these guns are really a force to be reckoned with and are backed by a well renowned and legendary reputation for performance and quality. These guns ARE NOT a downgrade by any means. I know from experience and am very glad!
Conclusion: H311 ya I recommend this gat! Try one and you'll see I'm not pulling your leg! I got mine BNIB for 400, and man I'm never selling this gun EVER.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lil-man Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lasoya timmy,Alias timmy,XSV Ego,PM5,Ion
Marker Setup: black ion,drop forward and on/off,vl egg,crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesn't really need any unless you want a new barrel but i would personanlly put an AA barrel and some vp pistons and whatever else you want
Strengths: It has no kick and its very quiet and is easy maintanace good on air.
Weaknesses: None!
Review: well i got about 4 pods and a full velocity off of 1800 psi and the reg isn't broken in yet so im expecting some very good results. It was very quiet and had very little kick (all guns have at least some kick) and the milling looks really nice and in the pictures it looks like the annos differ from the frame and body but they are really the same color and it is very easy to maintain like all intimidators and bob lon has always had good stuff.its so perfectly balanced too.

Bob Long did it again with his new Ripper 3!
Conclusion: buy one if you have the money and also be on the lookaout for that onyx.
Best gun i'ver had, shot,or held
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media