paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder VS2 / Kingman Spyder VS2 / Kingman Spyder VS2 / Kingman Spyder VS2

Kingman Spyder VS2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder VS2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder VS2
[ View Photos (39) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 117
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
For more than two years we have looked for ways to create a paintball marker that captures all the elements of this sport�s futures including looks, rate of fire, efficiency, and feel. We have achieved these goals and will bring to market the NEW VS Series markers, built with 3G technology including a patent pending low pressure, high performance Balance Valve. The Spyder VS2 with Infiniti Trigger and Spyder VS3 with Rocking Trigger will utilize this 3G technology Balance Valve, making the marker operational at 200psi while maintaining incredible speed and ultimate comfort.

Looking for ways to evolve the Spyder product line, the VS Series paintball markers will include features like Break Beam Eyes, Electronic functions with a dual touch switch, a mini C/A regulator with on/off dial, a vertical adapter with low pressure gauge, a 12� two piece micro ported barrel, a low rise adjustable feed neck, and a Delrin bolt with lock cocking knob. The Spyder VS2 will come standard with the VS Infiniti Trigger providing a fluid feel to the marker with a 25 shot per second firing rate. The VS3 will come standard with a VS Rocking Trigger allowing up to 30 shots per second with two contact points for a maximum rate of fire. Both markers will maintain a sleek all Aluminum body style allowing the user to feel connected to the speed, and accuracy of the VS Series.

Knowing that all paintball players are unique, we have created custom dust finish color Body Kits to individualize your VS marker. The custom five piece Body Kits will come available in Red, Yellow, Green, and Blue and will include eye covers, feed neck, low pressure chamber, rubber fore grip, and a striker plug. Also available is the Spyder 14� two piece Aero twist barrel with optional color tips to enhance the look, and accuracy of the VS marker.

The fluid all Aluminum VS Series receiver design protects the internal 3G technology patent pending Balance Valve that allows the marker to operate at 200psi. While keeping state of the art design in mind, we have developed this custom valve that can attribute to the speed, and �never before experienced� feeling you get while shooting the VS Series markers. The 3G technology also incorporates a lightweight striker, softer springs, and an increase in chamber capacity enhancing the low pressure functionality of the VS marker.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder VS2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Heroguy Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested69 of 83 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rodeo
imagine
98 custom reg/pro
pm6 (The others don't compare)
ion
Marker Setup: vs2 black ricochet appache 68/4500 dxs black vantage linear barrel 07 proto gear redz 4+3 envy harnes
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit/ good .689 barrel if your cheap
Strengths: Comes with good reg / on/off , easy use board, clean , awsome trigger
Weaknesses: Eyes not available in 3-round burst
Review:
edit 1/15/07
This is not $250 I payed $180 for it in october. I you payed more than $190 at most for the base kingman version you got jipped.

I was able to rip easily on this marker after adjusting the trigger to my preferance. When my apache's batteries died I used a grav feed to test the eyesand they were perfect.

Feel smore balanced than my bro ion . It is not lighter thanthe ion I have changed my opinion butit is barely noticable when fully loaded up. This is a great buy.

The standard barrel was pretty accurate for a stock one but anyone could use a kit

eyes not available in 3-round burst it says this in the manual but the light switch to eyes when I tried to but I didn't test if it shot like that cuz I had no air

edit the eyes are not available in 3 round

also if your vs2 is not shooting make sure you didn't put the trigger to far out

on/off works fine

edit when the power is low It is almost too late when the lights start blinking expect like at most 50 shots more
edit
That other guy says his egg double feeds but when I used my bro I didn't have that problem. He should send it in thats what the warranty is for, if something on your marker is of inferior quality kingman replaces it. The trigger might feel fragile but it is not it's solid
Edit The front grip can be replaced trinity has released a new front block for the vs and their own custom vs. Also More companies are working on board for the vs
VSversusIon
Also for vs versus ion the vs is faster stock in semi auto but the ion does have things like ramping and full auto youmay want to consider. Although the vs has a better stock trigger and is much easier to service because it's a blowback. The vs also can be oiled (don't oil the delrin bolt just things like the striker orings) with cheaper 3 in1 oils like gold cup as opposed to the ion in which one should use dow33 to protect the electronics. My bro ion is running at 170 with no internal upgrades while my vs is running at180 stock. If you plan on upgrading a lot get the ion because it has a well established base but if you can wait get the vs2.
Conclusion: Get it

You'll know and see for your self

10 for price when it has so much stock
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
47 Comments - Add Comment

Opteron_FA Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month62 of 64 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LP'ed Spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
12" Odyssey Barrel
Pre-BE Revvy with Sound Activated board
PMI 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. I guess you could upgrade the barrel.
Strengths: Eyes
Clamping Feedneck
Low Pressure
Fast
Reliable
Easy to Maintain
Minimal Kick
Balanced Valve
Weaknesses: Lack of modes, but the board is fast enough on Semi it doesn't matter.
Review: To tell you the truth; when I first recieved the marker I was a little worried about what all the reviews had said about their gun not working. But when I gassed her up and started to rip I'm proud to say I have a working VS2 :)

Now to the review.

Out of the box, it's the sexiest Spyder made. Comes with everything a Spyder Enthusiasts has ever dreamed of seeing in a Spyder. Eyes, LP out of Box, Fast, Lightened Internals, the new Balanced Valve (200psi), timmy like feel, VERY little kick, very consistant stock regulator with On/Off dial, and no need to upgrade right away. It's a dream come true for us; Kingman really hit the spot with this marker. Can't wait to see what's in store of the next generation of spyders!

At first glance people have been asking me if it's a DM or what the hell is that? It's funny to see the look on their faces when they see what a Spyder can actually do. And that's not even it's full potential :)

As I've said before, Kingman has really done an excellent job in the production of the VS Series. The parts seem to be of higher quality while maintaining the simplicity of the tried and true blowback system with a little change here and there.

Eyes:
From experience I was expecting mediocre eye logic, but boy was I wrong... The eye logic is phenominal! I've shot through a case and a half and no chops, the timing is perfect and responds how it's supposed to. I was able to rip my Revvy at 14-15bps without problems(slightly modded revvy).

Performance:
Performance is a big thing for me, and the VS2 just flat out blew me away. This thing can rip on Semi... It's so easy to get going that there isn't any need for the extra modes like Ramping and such. Kick has bee minimized about 90% from the occasional Spyder. It's barely noticable. The gun just performs flawlessly.

Accuracy:
The accuracy out of the box is superb coming from the stock barrel. And with the kick now minimized, shooting at high rates and having your gun boucing around is a thing in the past, you can now shoot fast and still maintain accuracy like more expensive guns.

Overall:
This gun is just phenominal. What more could you want from a stock gun that's easy to maintain, reliable, comes with a the bells and whistles that higher priced guns have? Personally I believe the VS Series should be treated as a High End gun, but that's just me.

Update (Jan.31,07):
Efficiency:
I realized I didn't have this section! Efficiency is on par. Usually for a 47/3000 you would get around 400-500shots and that's what you would get from the VS2. So efficiency is good, but I bet we can squeeze a few more shots with further tuning.

Field testing:
The VS2 is really good overall. The feel, as I've said before, is very similar to that of a Timmy, and does a really good job holding it's ground against the other super guns.

I recently purchases the Tboard for it and just absolutely blows me away! It's amazing to see what a Spyder can actually do and to show off to the others that it isn't necessary to spend large amounts of money to get speed and reliablility in a gun.

Update (July 31,07):
Efficiency:
Well Prem205 and I have found out that if you change it's current light valve spring to a medium valve spring, the guns efficiency will increase. Prem205 claimed to have gotten around 800-950 shots from a 47/3000! I got about 1000-1100 from my 72/3000. Impressive? Much. :)

Board Upgrade:
For you speed demons out there, this is a must have. The VS2 is capable of so much, you'll be amazed when you equip it with either the T-board or Virtue board. If you want to see it check out my videos on PBNation(Opteron-O3), the videos are in my signature.

Internal Upgrades:
For those of you who haven't noticed yet, but Alamocitypb has released their delrin bolt and striker for the VS Series.

Will continue to update...
Conclusion: This gun just blew me away when I finally got the chance to full try it out. This gun was made to compete. This gun is going to give hell to the competition, so watch out. I give this gun a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 31st, 2007 at 7:08 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

griley823 Thursday, October 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
f4 illustraitor
tippman 98
spyder e99
spyder electra 06 with eyes
Marker Setup: spyder vs2, stock for right now...
68/4500 pmi tank
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel or just use a really good choice of paint..
Maybe feed neck but not neccesary...
Other than these to things nothing else is required to perfect your marker
Strengths: Quite
Upgrades allready
Eyes
Looks
Performance
Weaknesses: Barrel
Feedneck but not neccesary
Review: Let me first say that this was the marker I was waiting for kingman to come out with.
I got really excited when I was able to put it in my hands for the first time and go out and play. I went to chrono the gun and it started to spike about +-20 each way but then I was told I would have to at least run a case of paint through it for the regulator to get broken in and it did. It performed very well through out the day and I didn't break a single paintball in the marker then entire time. The only thing I would have against this marker is the barrel and would recommend you get a better one lf you want that top of the line accuracy. Other than that this marker is freakin awesome.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone playing paintball for fun or in tournaments. It does just about as much as the higher rated markers but at a fraction of the price. Way to go Kingman. And seeing how there is no 9.5 rating I'm giving this marker a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

darkentity Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 with response trigger
spyder victor 2, imagine, rodeo
Marker Setup: Vs2
72/3000 Pure energy tank
16 inch j and j ceramic
vforce profilers
view loader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
deffinitly and electric hopper
good paint
compressed air (necessity)
Strengths: FAST!!!!
accurate
very little blow back
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well i just purchased my Vs2 and i've gotta say, after an intense day of paintball, i am extremely happy with it. It shoots extremely fast and the trigger is extremely sensative (i shot myself in the finger on accident) Anyways, it is fairly silent and pretty consistent once it's broken in. It's also fairly efficient on air. The only problem i had all day was that once, for some reason, it chopped a ball (i blame the pmi premium) Still, it was extremely simple to take apart and clean (you dont even need any tools to remove the bolt) After my one break i cleaned it out and the eyes worked flawlessly from then on.
Conclusion: Awesome gun! After playing with it i dont think i could live without it. It is extremely fast, fairly light, sleek, and it has a great price tag. All in all 10 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

hugh jass103 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix- Comparable in durability and accuracy
Mechanical Frame spyders- not as fast
Marker Setup: Spyder 2000 (full body version)
16"sp progressive
or 12" sp teardrop
Bob Long torpedo reg
new designz hp valve
dead on drop forward
68 3000 crossfire
or 88 3000 java
polished stock hammer
ACP Bolt
Revi

VS2
12" Tear drop
Revi
88/3000
Polished hammer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel needs to go, and possibly the regulator
Strengths: Fast, no chopping, cheap price for what you get
Weaknesses: Stock reg has a slow recharge rate, minor bolt problem
Review: Well I had been looking around for a new gun and was checking out eBay and nothing was suiting me. But then one day i saw this gun and knew that I had to get it. So i placed an order at the local shop and it came in a couple of days. I got it all out and was really liking it. Then I went to pull out the connecting pin that holds the bolt and striker together and when i did that the little ball on the spring in the back of the bolt just popped right out. That kinda annoyed me but i put it back in and didnt tighten the screw so much on it and it has worked fine since. The bolt is really nice too, has nice millng and slides nicely, but i am disappointed in that it only has one o-ring on it, I would have liked to see two or even three but the third would kill the detents probably.
Next i pulled out the screw at the back of the trigger frame in order to access the hammer to see what was up there. Wow did that thing get changed it is really small compared to the old one. And as a result i can say that the gun is kick-less.
I am a little disappointed in the fact that I or should i say everyone will need to buy a new vertical adapter in order to use normal regulators. But i guess that does make room for more customization based on what you like.
Feedneck is very functional and holds very well to the hopper, no wiggle at all. I dont see any need to change it out, although i hear that ion threaded necks fit it, not sure though.
Now on to the shooting part of it. I have ran about a case of paint through it up until now and not a chop, even with my Revolution. Using a slightly slower hopper allows me to shoot enough paint without being a waste, and with no chops to speak of. Turning the eyes off to try dry firing and it just went nuts really fast rate of fire. I did experience some recocking issues at higher rates of fire, but that was without paint, with paint no problem at all. I had the pressure about 230 psi. Air efficiency seemed to be lacking when I was playing but i havent really sat down and tried to figure out where it is the most efficient, but as time goes on i am sure I will.
As far as upgrades go i shot maybe 20 shots with the stock barrel and it shot decent but it was really loud. Not that noise truly matters, but on went the teardrop and that helped things out a bit. I would like to get an aftermarket bolt, preferably Alamo City. I just like their products, and hopefully it will have 2 o-rings for better velocity. Maybe a T-board assuming that there is one made(no official word yet), but i see no real reason other than other modes of fire. And since semi is what is normal and if that is all that you can use i would probably just stick with the stock board. And you should get a different regulator if you plan to use it a lot. i think that it would help with efficiency and just total shoot down and whatnot, so that would be a big plus. that's it for upgrades.
This is a great marker overall i believe, i have not had any sort of malfunction yet and i have run a little bit of every paint through it it seems. Everything from some Evil, Xball, Origin Basic Training, Zap Spank, but not a whole lot of each just to see if it worked with it. and this far i haven been disappointed.
Conclusion: Go and get this marker if looking for a cheaper faster electro with good potential to be great. a lot will depend on what aftermarket parts come out though too, but we will see. And as far as the whole ion killer thing, i say they are pretty much equal in performance but the spyder is simpler to work on and understand. And it is metal so it is probably more durable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LIFE_BY_TL-X Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts - ION
Smart Parts - Shocker
Smart Parts - Impulse
Kingman - Imagine 05 LED
Kingman - Compact
Tippmann - Custom 98
Autococker - 2003 vertical feed
Marker Setup: Kingman - VS2
Evil - Driver 14"
PMI - 47ci3k
PMI - 68ci4.5k
Halo - TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Auto Loader 17+
Barrel if you want
Air
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Eyes
Two piece stock barrel
Clamp neck
On Off Reg.
Weaknesses: Low pressure unexpected
Nothing that harms performance
Review: The Kingman VS2 is a great gun, this gun is fully capable of hitting 25+bps, unfortunately I don't got a fast enough hopper. I shot an average of 19bps with out making myself tired. Using this marker in a tournament went well, we placed second place. I can't blame it on the gun either though, we ran a bad play. Other wise we let the cat out of the bag when we bought this gun. Never has a gun been as well rounded as this one. I don't care for the rocker frame, but as I've seen from my team mate, its quick. So if you want something great out of a box and puts an ION to shame, The VS2 is what you need. Got the ION going on eBay for some ups like a new tank and better hopper. This gun needs NO new board to make the competition run for there money. Well you can say that you no longer have to beat them with your wallet lol. My brother has an Angel and we noticed that we're shooting almost the same, thats sad! So for about 200 usd you'll get a gun worth you attention.
Conclusion: Somethings are better late, We had the Wrath, The ION, Newer brands every year, but Kingman is taking the game back. We have now seen that Kingman wants to make it to the high-ends and the passed the ION, so why not place it right? Hit up actionvillage.com and you to can experience the rush for little money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kyodognahew Friday, February 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra ( my only other electric marker ). If I had to compare the two, I would have to say that the only hand up the Electra has over the VS2 is that the Electra is a little bit lighter. How ever, the Electra is not even close to being as comfortable or durable as the VS2 (the Electra's plastic sided grip shattered after taking a direct hit ). The trgger systems on each are on two different planes. In short the VS2's trigger is ALOT better.
Marker Setup: I have 4:
Spyder Classic (oldest type):
-Wooden grip ( yes, real wood)
-14" custom barrel

Spyder TL:
-Rifled 14" barrel

Spyder Electra:
-Halo TSA hopper

( I did other minor things to the guns but they really aren't worth mentioning, how ever I will say that the Classic is the gun I can rely upon no matter what, even in pro matches )
Recommended
Upgrades:
You really don't need any but if you are picky about colors, get a body kit and barrel upgrade ( relativly cheap, about 50 bucks for the both of them )

If you REALLY get into it , get a Freak Barrel Kit.
Strengths: Check the review body
Weaknesses: Check the review body
Review: ***Strengths***
-Rate of fire
-Anti-chop ( works very well )
-Weight ( not too heavy, but it could loose some weight)
-Accuracy
-Trigger setup (pretty sensitive, but not DANGEROUSLY sensitive , so it's all good. )
-Nice balance (if you hold it with your thumb in the upper corner of the trigger frame, index finger behind the neck, middle and ring after the neck, and pinky under the low pressure chamber, you can hardly even feel any weight difference...I hope you understand this is only when there is no hopper or Co2 tank, but even with a tank and Halo TSA hopper fully loaded, its pretty nicely balanced)
-The feeder neck fits nice and snug on most hoppers
-The on and off air tank regulator thingy ( not sure what it is called but it is really handy in taking off the tank and screwing on a full one )
-Easy to clean with the Delrin bolt ( AWSOME! )
-Pretty quiet
-Easy to take appart and clean/oil ( Very easy actually...)
-Comes with 9.6 rechargeable battery (if bought brand-new atleast... )

And most of all...looks sick...

***Weaknesses***
There really aren't many flaws , if I had to be really nit-picky about it, the batter that it comes with can get really messed up if it charges for more than 8 hours so be carefull with that , and Spyder makes their batteries them selves so you NEED to get theirs for it to fit in the gun. But that really doesn't matter because all you need to do is plug the gun in ONE night when you go to bed, and when you wake up, unplug it...Dont charge it again until the battery dies! And as for the battery being only spyder, just make sure it comes with it when you buy it ( if brand new, it will come with it ).
Conclusion: It is a great gun, and a must have for Spyder fanatics. The price tag is very reasonable for what you get and it is legal in the paintball tournies unlike the VS3 (Dual trigger system's aren't allowed *cries* ). So yeah, buy it if you have the cash (which if you work part time and can save 50 bucks a week, you will get it in a month at the most... ) get it. Sweet gun....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most of my homebuilt LP Spyders, about a dozen in all.
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker Half Block Custom Milling and Anodization
All Turtle Internals
Belsales .44 Mag ram with QEVs
AKA SCM3 LPR
Nickel Palmer's Pursuit Shop Fatty Regulator
WGP kaner Kit
Raceframe with Morlock Board
Dye Stickies 3
Halo B with Cheetah
Recommended
Upgrades:
I find it to be adequate stock; I find no reason to change anything, but eh, to each her own.
Strengths: Price
Performance
Weight
Size
Reliability
Quality
Weaknesses: Lack of color choices on the main body
Not the greatest Efficiency..
Review: I've been a Kingman tech for a few years, and when I worked as a tech, I used to get free Spyder parts when people didn't come and pick up their guns, so i was always building LP Spyders, and I've built up a large collection, and it's cost me about...$30 to get the collection going, not bad.

Most of them don't have eyes, because they use Kingman boards, the majority of which lack eye systems.

Now, we come to the VS2. The valve design is miles ahead of previous Spyder valves, and as such, the performance is incredible. The efficiency is puzzling me just a little, it's only doing 1300 or so per 68, I'd expect more, but it's better than an Ion.. The eye logic is incredible, it seems to double scan the cap of the board (it would be 50 breech scans per second).

The electronics work lovely, and Kingman finally got smart and made the linkage between the solenoid and the sear direct by making the solenoid vertical. I did replace the factory switch with a lighter one, just for preference.

I was in awe when I removed the hammer- it's about half the size of the stock one!

The bolt design is hugely improved over previous Spyders, and despite being rather bulky, I like it. There is a tiny bit of a tolerance issue, and the tail of the bolt wobbles in the body a little bit, but since I've owned the gun, it's been very dry down here, I'll have to see what happens with more humidity.

The regulator was very meh out of the box, and being so far away from the valve, the break in period was hell, about 4500 shots (much wasted battery..) but in the end, it turned out well, and I'm happy with the regulator; it'll keep up with the 16 max, 12 consistent ROF I can do.

Alright, enough talking about what happens when I take it out of the box, let's talk about slapping a hopper on the thing.

Now, the VS2 is commonly compared to the Ion, and one thing it definitely beats the Ion on is the feedneck! It'll fit anything from a VL200, to a 10 round feedtube, to my Halo.

Alright, the setup I use with this marker is a Dye 68/45 Throttle tank with a Crossfire regulator on it, a Cheetah Board Halo B with Rip, and the stock barrel (Waiting on my Spyder threaded Scepter..) I found the marker to be very well balanced, and felt light in my hands (this is coming from a Turtle owner, most every marker feels heavy to me, even 05, 06, and Etek Egos) which was likely a result of the balance. I had a pod of paint lying around, I don't recall what kind, but it fit the barrel very nicely. It wasn't ball on ball, as the bore was a wee bit big for the paint, but the accuracy was excellent; I'm happy with the stock barrel. I found there to be very little kick, it was comparable to an 07 Ego with an LPR set a little too high. I haven't had any issues with the marker yet, almost 7 cases later.
Conclusion: Very high quality marker, super reliable, easy on the wallet.

Easily deserves a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ron jeremy Thursday, November 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All spyders. A5s, Autocockers, Ions, Wrath, Automag, F2 illustrator, Phantom pump
Marker Setup: Stock Vs2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different gun
Strengths: Clamping feed neck, The bolt comes out on its own.
Weaknesses: Recocking issues, the front block and the gas through grip.
Review: Well lets just say im not to impressed with this gun. I bought it because of all the good stuff i read about it on this forum. Do all you people work for Kingman and write fake reviews for this gun making it sound better than it is. Also just so you know about my experience i have worked for a paintball store for about 7 years now repairing all types of guns. My gun did not recock out of the box. The first thing i did was lube all the o rings but that did not help. So i looked at this sight and read some advice people have given on their guns. I tried taking the ball detents out like one guy said that did not help. I tried breaking in the reg. I shot 2 full 68/4500 hpa tanks through it and it still did not recock. And yes the tanks were 2 different brands. And no they were not Co2. I emailed kingman and they said send it back to them. So i did and got a new one from them. Well it does the same thing. So i lubed it ,and broke it in and checked for leaks, and tears to the O rings. II then tried some thing new that i have not seen anyone on this sight do. I hooked it up frome the reg on my autococker and ran it from 250 psi up to 500psi and it still did not recock. I then put a different front block on with just the bottle and tried that 800psi for those who dont know. Nope no good still does not recock. I have seen this with people bringing in there spyders trying to go low pressure with this problem. I have used all types of valves on spyders, and had this problem when the tornado valve came out. I have used the maddman rocket valve and gotten spyders to 280 psi or close to. But still have problems sometimes. I then took out the internals and put in the guts from an ordinary spyder and Wow it worked just fine. It does not run a low pressure like that but it proves my point that it is the valve, that is faulty not the regulator. I have let some of the guys at the shop take a look at it and they could do no better. I left the old guts in and am using it like that oh well. I will try to use a different valve on that set up and test it. Maby the maddman maby some others we will test a few. But im not iimpressed with how the trigger holds the parts in on the back. I would like to see the old syle with the pull pin and still use the new bolt that comes out on its own. The same with how the front block screw is hidden under the frame. I drilled my own hole for the pull pin and used a shorter screw to hold the trigger on in back and it is much better now I can pull the guts without taking the trigger screw out. The eyes do work great however and i am ipressed with that. I also like the trigger pull it is a big step up. Over all i would like to see these options on the old body style you could still mill it to look nice but keep the same features please. Sorry Kingman but this gets a 3. Spyder have always been one of the most reliable guns out there but this thing is no spyder. And No im not an ion fan or a wrath fan so dont try and think that. Some people wont like this review but thats fine, and you wont think i am really an air smith but i am, and would give this gun a good review if it deserved one.
Conclusion: Wait till spyder makes some more models with eyes on them they just starded this and might take a few models to get it right. Sorry if you dont agree, but this is not worthy of being call a Spyder. I enjoy using spyders over some of my better guns for those who think i only like high end guns.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

cockblocker Friday, November 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ebladed autocockers. And A5, all spyders mech and electric.
Marker Setup: Stock VS2
Recommended
Upgrades:
what ever you like.
Strengths: Looks cool. clamping feed neck. bolt
Weaknesses: Does not recock that well, hard to take apart copared to old spyders
Review: I got this gun and it did not work worth crap out of the box. The guage was broke and it did not recock that well. I found that if i put the guts from my old spyder in it then it would work fine. Just not at low pressure anymore. I dont like that you have to take the screw out of the handle to get the guts out. If it were the same as the old style with the pull pin. You could still pull the bolt with out taking out the guts. I tried the bold on my Sonix and it comes out fine. I did nip the back of the sonix to let the pin pass by though. but still the pin would be nice. I dont like how the front block screw is hidden under the trigger frame also. Not a very easy way to get it off. My first gun went back to the store and they could not fix it. So i sent it back and got a new one. It does pretty much the same thing and does not recock at all. I lubed all the o rings and replaced them also and it still sucks. I dont like this gun at all kingman could have done a better job on the small things besideds the fact that it does not recock. Before you all bash me I did take it to the shop, both of them and they cant fix em. So im sending this one back also and not getting another one. Kingman droped the ball on this one big time. The shop has had a bunch returned for the same thing also. Im a spyder man through and through but this one is no spyder and should not be called a spyder. It should be called a pile of crap.
Conclusion: This gun is far from being acceptable. It has major issues and i would pass on getting this gun for now. Maby they can get the bugs worked out, but your better off putting a rocket vavle in it if you want low pressure. Good concept bad execution. This gets a 2 just because of the concept and milling but performance it should get a zero.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media