paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006 / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006 / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006

Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1-piece barrel
Fits most markers
Standard bore size
14" and 16" lengths
Spiral ported
Stiff arbor honed
Ceramic+teflon coated
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Progressive Barrels 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pdonket Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
20oz CO2
12oz CO2
14" Progressive 2006
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would basically recommend any, I used the worst paint possible and the barrel still performed.
Strengths: Accuracy
Length
Looks
Doesn't scratch easily
Self Cleaning
Weaknesses: None that I've found
Review: After going to a Liberty big game with this barrel new, i put it to the test, I cleaned the gun, oiled it, had everything ready to go. This barrel ran laps around the stock barrel.

Length-I personally like the length because for me, 14" is great because its not so long that when you move around, it becomes annoying, and its long enough to get you the distance and accuracy you need.

Accuracy-Well, although I've only used the stock in comparison, this barrel is great, after playing out on the field that day, i got quite a few people out, some at over 80ft. without a problem.

Paint Picky?-So far, it hasn't been at all, I used some white box trash from a local place and they shot great, I got no breaks, and they all got relatively great distance and accuracy. I also used Origin paint from liberty and those too worked great, not a single break in the 2000 I fired at liberty that day.

Self Cleaning- This barrel did a great job at self cleaning from what I've seen so far. I tripped a couple times on some roots and my barrel would end up with 3 inches of dirt inside, well all it took was 1 shot and it was as if there was never any dirt in the barrel, I forgot my squeegee that day, just to show you that its not like I cleaned it in between the fights.

Scratching- Well, I do understand I have not had this barrel for a long time, but the day at liberty I must've knocking my barrel into a hell of a lot of rocks, I expected honestly for the barrel to be scratched, but it came out unscathed. The outside looks still brand new after cleaning off some debris.
Conclusion: I do understand that this is not the best barrel out there, but for the price, it is EXCELLENT. I paid $40 after shipping for this barrel, and it was worth every penny. It exceeded my expectations and lives up to the test I put it through. I recommend this barrel strongly for a person on a budget, that loves paintball!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

towergod Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
mostly stock spyder barrels
but have used a 16" stiffy
Marker Setup: kingman fenix ACS with 16" progressive smartparts barrel
kingman Xtra with acs and 16" smartparts linier barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
any RPS OR PMI
also worked well with draxxus blaze
barrel doesnt like draxxus midnight but i think its the paintballs they didnt work well with any of mine or my friends barrels
Strengths: Accuracy accuracy accuracy
Distance
Price
Weaknesses: Blow through breaks are harder to clean because of porting
Review: I did alot of hunting before i bought the progressive and i am glad i did. it allowed me to buy a barrel that has amazing performance. I tried alot of different barrels that i borrowed from my friends and chose this one for several reasons. first price at $35 it is a steal and worth every penny. second performance several of my friends run SP freak kits and this barrel in my opinion performs just as well as the freak unless your the kind of person who is constantly changing types of paint and even then it works well with just about any thing. Many of my friends who own freaks have gone out and bought a progressive just so they dont have to change sleeves every time they open a new box of paint. All in all i recommend this barrel big time when it just has to work this barrel jumps in smiling. my kill rate was about five per day with a stock barrel with this barrel i am now a force to be reconed with short or long shots this barrel is just awesome.
Also to address the weakness i listed get a squirt bottle it cleans the ports nicely
Conclusion: If you want performance but dont want to pay 70 or 100+ to get it then buy this barrel. I was looking at buying a freak but after using this barrel i dont see the point. This barrel rocks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kamikaze14 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cp single piece 14 inch barrel, stock ion barrel
Marker Setup: smart parts ion white w/ max flo micro, 14 progressive, qlock, halo b red
Recommended
Paintballs:
procaps, draxxus
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Durability
Weaknesses: Bore size not adjustable
Review: When i first used my ion, it worked great. It shot right out of the box and worked very well. There was one problem, my accuracy was'nt consitent enough. Soon after, i bought a cp single piece barrel 14 inch. That helped a little, but not quite enough. Then, I started to look at smart parts barrels. Most were out of my price range, but there was one that interested me, the progressive. I asked people who had used, and they said it rivaled the accuracy of the all american, so i bought it. When i first used it, it helped a tone. i got three kills thanks to it, and many more that day where accuracy came into play.
Conclusion: An overall great barrel, the best one for it's price as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sand_man Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (victor II)
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II stock
SP progressive barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Meh, I only used stingers and bigball, they worked fine for me
Strengths: Accurate!
Sexy lookin!
Price!
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Ok, I just got a victor II, I put less than a month for my pb experience because thats how long I have actually ownd a marker. I've played more than a few time with rental tippman 98cs, but I figure that that might not count. Ok, well I got this the 2nd day I had my victor II, first thing I noticed was...man this thing looks good. Now to the firing. I setup a piece of cardboard on a tree and put this baby to work. It shot very well, I was impressed. Only shot about 250 rounds out of it so far, but no breaks whatsoever. Can't wait to go woodsballing at the field with this! At say....40 feet I think it was I put almost ball on ball from a kneeling position. I can put ball on ball at about 20 feet standing up, but I like to fire from a knee anyway during woodsball which is mostly all I play. Only 40 bucks at the store I got it at, which is great in my book. Cermaic also, so if I do experience a break i nit, I should be able to fire through it with no problem.
Conclusion: All in all, great barrel, perfect so far, I'll try and update this after I play a few games and test it out more!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

keir_spitfire Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard barrels, 8" 8.5" 10"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with X7 hopper, raised reflex style red dot sight.
6pos carbine stock, 14" Smartparts Progressive barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used DXS Frostbite
Strengths: Light weight
available in many colors, as well as polished or dust finish
looks great
Weaknesses: None that I've found
Review: Well I've only used this for one day so far, but what a day!
I used a full 2000 round box and [b]not one break![/b] I got this barrel as my standard 8" tippman barrel wasn't really hitting where I was aiming, so go this 14" based on reviews.
As soon as I started playing with this barrel I knew I has made the right choice. dead on!

The paintballs where hitting exactly where I wanted them, and it was very rarely that I had to aim higher to get that long range hit.
This barrel is amazing I'd say, but then again It's my first upgraded barrel. [i]But I don't see why I need to upgrade again any time soon. [/i]
Conclusion: I'd recommend this product over the standard A5 barrel, for looks, weight, and consistency.

Consistency in a sense where I could constantly hit where I was aiming and that balls weren't just flying all over the place.

Cheap, reliable & brilliant!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liljaygreg Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann Barrel (8.5")
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Tech-T Fang Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
Trigger Mods
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Monster Balls, work very well. ($29.98 for 2000)
Strengths: -Not Shiny (for woodsball)
-ACCURATE!!
-Very Affordable (about $35)
-Hasn't Scratched
Weaknesses: -I haven't found one...
Review: I picked this barrel up at Gander Mt. for about 35 bucks and this thing is awesome. I went out test shooting yesterday and here's what happened...

Shooting at a roughly 2x2' square piece of metal and from 110 feet away, I hit the target 10 times with 10 paintballs!! These were also from a standing position!!!!!!

This barrel is also very durable. I've had it for about 4 months and I play every other weekend and I don't have a single scratch on it. And I play woodsball, so I'm crawling around in the mud with it.
Conclusion: If you want an awesome barrel for a small amount of cash, get the SP Progressive 06.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FBIS.W.A.T. Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every barrel known to man
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Nothing stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
No small bore paintballs like DRAXXUS .. Roles right out of the barrel
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Northing really
Review: Great barrel. I use it for woodsball when I don't want to destroy my Freak Barrel. Just use a good paint to barrel match. Marbalizer works well. The only paint I found not to work at all is Draxxus, which is what Skirmish uses : ( ... For a 1 piece barrel though and at the price, go with this one. You won't be disapointed.
Conclusion: RECOMMEND FOR EVERYTHING BUT TOURNAMENTS. GET A KIT! J&J EDGE or SP FREAK!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mounderpaintbal Thursday, August 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock a-5 barrel
Marker Setup: a-5 with 14'' progressive barrel with rufas dawg double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use flash paintballs
Strengths: Good barrel, very cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: good barrel, cheap price. works good with my gun, and it makes it look better than with the stock barrel. I picked it up for $35 and i'm glad i got it. It took a little while to get used to how long it was compared to the stock barrel, but thats not a big deal.
Conclusion: It's worth the cheap price, and is reliable
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patejl Thursday, June 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann and Spyder various low end markers stocks, SP Linear, Taso Winforce, Hammerhead
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5, Hammerhead Dominator barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - I used hard shell ones (Xballs, Toroball, RPS)
Strengths: Sturdy
Cost
Weaknesses: Not much more accurate
Review: I bought this one for my old T98 - despite I had "Pro" with longer barrel, accuracy still sucked. So I was looking for something realtively cheap (did not play so much that time) which will improve my accuracy. After reding several reviews I decided for this one (12in) - good references, also look was not so bad.
After my first game I was amazed, hit a guy for long distance with first shot. However it turned up later, it was more or less lucky, sometimes it felt I shoot worse than Spyder Rodeo stock barrels my friens have. So I tested it and result were, that on 15m distance it is - way better than Tipmann stock barrel but only slightly better than Rodeo stock one (TBH I do not remember exactly how many shots I fired and details, just result, only remeber I used Xball bronze paintballs).
Cleaning - not too easy, but also not much more difficult than other barrels, also firing several shots barrel self clean pretty satisfactory.
So, I was not really impressed about accuracy, on the other hand this barrel was better than stock and also better than other low-end barrels.
Conclusion: If you want better than stock barrel, get this one, it is probably one of the best for the price. Your accuracy will slightly improve, however, do not expect miracles. If you want ACCURATE barrel as some reviewers post, you have to spend more on Hammerhead or AA.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zacapawned Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG Stock barrel, and tested Freak barrrel
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Lapco Feed neck
14" Smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost any
Strengths: Weight
Accuaracy
price
Porting
Weaknesses: None found so far
Review: I have only used this barrel once so far but it was very accurate and very light. I got every body out that i was aiming for from about halfway across the field with ease. Like i said before it is light, accurate, Cheap, and is very quiet. Also i think it looks really nice.
Conclusion: If you are tight on the cash and want a step up from a stock barrel this barrel fills that roll. This barrel is amazing for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media