paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader High Voltage / Viewloader High Voltage / Viewloader High Voltage / Viewloader High Voltage

Viewloader High Voltage Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader High Voltage

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader High Voltage
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
MARKER SPECIFICATIONS:

ANTI CHOP BOLT:
for reduced ball breakage

SPIRAL PORTED BARREL:
for improved accuracy and reduced noise

GAS THRU FOREGRIP WITH SOFT FOAM:
for comfort and improved cold weather performance

Matched marker / loader for optimal performance in all 3 fire modes

* Full Auto – 3 shot burst – Semi Auto
* Fires up to 13 balls per second in Semi and 3 shot burst
* Fires up to 9 balls per second in Full Auto
Product Availability 
The Viewloader High Voltage is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
b_schiffer Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months42 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other viewloaders, triad, orion, etc.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Custom Products Regulator
Black Heart Board
Ricochet Apache
Q-Lock Feedneck
Raptor Rex Air System w/ Empire Cradle
14" Hammerhead coming soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber, new barrel, new hopper
Strengths: Viewloader parts seem to be universal with each other so finding parts isnt a problem
Weaknesses: Feed port, the E hopper that comes with it.
Review: This is my first electronic marker and I can honestly say I am very pleased with it. I was orinally going to get a MR1 but read how much paint they can chop and went out on a limb and bought this marker, it has 3 modes, semi, 3 shot and full auto, I usually only use semi though. One thing I do like is how I can just exchange other viewloader parts unto this one.Im using it in a 24 hr game this weekend ill let you know how it does then

(UPDATE)
Alright after several hours (10?) of nonstop playing and lots of paint I have to say this is an awsome gun to play with. I only used (3) 20 oz tanks for over a case and a half of paint. plus It shot straight. The only break I had was when I accidentaly shoved my barrel into the walls of the trench. I also had a guy show me how to get the gun to shoot on rebound with a simple modification so it now has 4 modes instead of three. and the trigger pull is easy to fix, slide some tape between the actual trigger and the button it hits and TA DAH.


REBOUND: OPEN THE GRIP ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND YOU WILL NOTICE BEHIND THE TRIGGER ON THE TRIGGER FRAME TWO LITTLE METAL "POLES" YOU CONNECT THESE POLES WITH SOMETHING METAL AND IT WILL SHOOT ON REBOUND. UNLESS YOU PUT A SWITCH ON IT IT WILL FIRE WHEN YOU TURN IT ON AND OFF WITH THIS MOD. IF the instructions are unclear take a paper clip and connect all the poles while pulling the trigger and you will eventually find it. but its what the wires from the board connect to the trigger with.
Conclusion: Get it if you want a cheap E marker that wont let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 7:53 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Stavesacre21 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro/Carbine, Tippmann 98 Custom, A-5, Stingray II, Tigershark, PGP
Marker Setup: High Voltage Marker
J&J 12" ceramic barrel
VL200 hopper
PGP - sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (a must)
Hopper
Bolt (maybe)
Trigger Mod
Strengths: Value
Semi/Burst/Auto
Weight
Somewhat balanced
Light trigger pull
Great entry-level electromarker
Weaknesses: Freezing internals
Barrel/Hopper breaks (paint?)
Vertical feed (personal preference)
Brass Eagle ties
Questionable Value
Review: First of all, I came from a background of ALL completely mechanical markers, so i'm not all that positive if i'm being too harsh on this marker or not. It's just in a new catagory to me, and therefore is being judged so.

My first impression of this marker was about the same as it would be with anything else bought at Wal-Mart...don't except the best. However, I've found the marker to be more exceptional then I initially thought. I questioned a full-auto, electro paintball gun priced at $100, which also INCLUDED an agitated hopper. Made me question the integrity of the gun's quality.

Well, apparently the days have changed since when I played 5 years ago or so. I took a break and then got into it again. All the sudden, guns are offering more bang-for-the-buck, and they really are produced with a lot more precision for the money. Gone are the days of other markers such as the stingray...which was so corny that it's barral didn't even SCREW IN.

Anyhow, I found the gun to be surprisingly quick and smooth when it came to firing. Being the first electro marker i've used, I thought the trigger pull was simply IMPRESSIVE. Now apparently, others have commented that it's heavy compared to other electro's out there...but in my own opinion...it really did impress me coming from an all-mechanical Tippmann background. Short and sweet did impress me, and the 3 different modes made it seem like more than a steal than it should have been. Where's the shortcoming here? There had to be one.

And of course, there is. The achilles heel of the gun is made apparent by the barrel and hopper. Looks pretty suave, but it's finish didn't really reassure me too much. I've taken the gun out 3 times now, and played over about 2K paintballs. I had a horrendous 2nd time, with balls breaking not only in the barral, but also in the hopper AND the feeding neck, deaming it about useless until taken apart and cleaned out properly. (NOTE - i can't blame that entirely on the marker, however. I was using Monster Balls, which I enventually found to be produced ultimately by the infamous failure...brass eagle. Enough said). While I couldn't get over the intial excitement of an agitated hopper, I very quickly grew...agitated...with the hopper. I was constantly having hopper breaks, and having to take it apart and clean it out. In the end, while the VL200 may not be able to feed paintballs quite as consistantly as the Quantum VL that comes with marker, the headache that it saves you and the extra 60 paintballs it carries seems to easily outweigh the latter.

The barrel is almost a MUST when it comes to upgrades, as there is a definete night and day effect after playing with my J&J ceramic. WELL worth the $35. I dug deeper to find out that VL was bought out by Brass Eagle years ago, but still retained the VL name. This concern was pretty quickly pushed aside, as the VL High Voltage does seem to outperform any Brass Eagle product i've used, by far.

Another problem that I ran into was when using the full-auto mode. Simply put, the internals freeze up pretty easily, which causes a sloppy recoil, and spraying of flaked CO2 everywhere. I've only played in the cold, so i'm not sure how bad this affects it, but it's a big problem for this gun. In 3 burst, it doesn't happen as frequently as long as you pace yourself. Semi mode didn't really touch it, as your fingers would get tired before you'd freeze it.

I question if the expansion chamber is even functional at times, or if maybe it was just placed there to create a foregrip. At any rate, it does seem to offer a good place to hold the gun balanced.

As mentioned, the gun seems A LOT more paint-brand specific than any other Tippmann i've used...but if you find a brand that it likes, you'll be surprised how sweetly this gun can sing. In my experience, RPS Marballizer work great (why wouldn't they though), and for starter paint, Visable Impact and Recon paint, both made by GameFace, seem to carry their own. A little thick on the fill, but breaks are far and between. Best of all...they are readily available at any local Wal-Mart.
Conclusion: To tap the VL High Voltage's real potential, dump the Quantum VL hopper that comes with it for a $4 VL200 hopper, and a better barrel...immediately puts the gun right up with almost any other entry-level electromarker in it's class.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 1:46 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

WeedWacker Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse- much higher end which is quite eveident but I never expected that from this gun
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom In-line CA and bulk feed with Revvy

SP Impulse w/eyes, q-lock clamping feed neck, CP body, CP micro-razor drop, Egg II, still need on/off asa and a nitro tank (selling my Max-flo)
Recommended
Upgrades:
As stated above a trigger mod would be good.
Barrel (I ordered a sniper barrel for giggles and kicks. will probably go on my prospective tactical marker)
Mostly for preference, but grips might be a good idea
Strengths: Works (for now)
looks nicer than it is
uses both CO2 and N2
Weaknesses: Has a heavy trigger pull
Gas hog
Review: Well I finaly put paint through it and was not dissapointed. It shot straight and didn't break paint even when I tried. i used the revvy so that mighta been it. But that means that all I would need would be the revvy so it's all good. the barrel is very loud. very. I was shooting with a friend who recently bought a game face.. um.. somthing low end mech and that stock barrel was quieter than mine. There was not considerable drop off of gas when on auto or burst but I didn't have a chrono handy so it coulda been cranked all the way open for all I know.

[Edit} I was using it with a 20 oz. CO2 tank and after a whileit started to foire the first shot on burst but the noid clicked the other two times and no paint came out. Then again I was shooting as much as I could and the barrel was frosted over so it could have been frozen internals. anyway I let it defrost and it worked fine. I also have had problems with the 20 oz. CO2 not forming a good seal when xcrewed in but it usually fits fine if I use some gun oil on the threads first.
Conclusion: This marker is a basic electro starter gun. nothing fancy about it just a gun that hoots balls and lets you have fun. above average in my opinion but definitly not amazing. The barrel is better than most stock that I have used (not many) but it is definitly worth it for a beginner although I saw a deal for a trilogy sport with gogs, a pack with pods, CO2 tank, and sqeegee and barrel sleeve for $100. Woulda got that if I had seen it first but hey, this gun was originally to help some friends start and it's working great right now.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 27th, 2006 at 12:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dricasmongo5 Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VL High voltage, 14" PROTO BARREL, Empire loader 15 bps, hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, hopper, and hpa tank
Strengths: Gun works great with compressed air, rate of fire, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Loud, but other than that I havent had any problems
Review: Since havin this gun it has become one to look for on the field, even though there is a big difference between this gun and the high classed guns, it still lays down the paint. Even though the gun is very loud, I have found that it is well made can hang with the best. hopefully with upgrades Im workin on it will be even better

12/18/06 Played yesterday with the new upgrades, and I dont know but this gun was just throughing the paint, I had guys with dm6, dm7, ions that could not believe this gun. Not only that most of these guy are professional players so that says alot. Still there is a difference between my gun and theirs.
Conclusion: Best bang for the buck
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 18th, 2006 at 9:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

headshot 007 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
amp generator, erex pro, spyder imagine
Marker Setup: A Kingman Spyder MR2 with stock stock, stock barrel, clear sound activated halo b hopper, 20 oz. tank "w/ remote coil" (sometimes)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, NEW HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: Looks, accuracy, barrel, nice grip, power:hold for 3 seconds, alot more too list.
Weaknesses: Trigger doesn't feel sturdily attached, when cocked the cocking mechanism feels loose, loudish.
Review: Oh boy... read please.

Ok, just bought this gun on sunday because my friend was using it saturday and it was nice. It comes with semi-auto, 3 shot burst (which is very effective), full auto (13 balls a second) and the ability to have rebound. Rebound as far as i know does not work on this gun i tried it and the only thing that happened was that the gun just wouldn't shoot. Every time you put a paper clip on it or whatever you used it kept shooting on it's own because it's hard to keep the thing on the trigger frame. Anyway, i was using some nasty old paint balls in the gun and could hit the center of a wheelbarrow about 20 feet away. If that's not accurate enough for you, i dont know what is. Talk about semi, now this is good; u can squeeze off 14 balls a second. PROBLEM: the hopper that comes with it doesn't feed very well without it being on. It's a good idea to shoot with it off for 5 - 8 seconds and then flick it on for about 2-3 seconds. NEXT: 3 shot burst. Great for close firefights. Probably your most effective method of taking people out, or clearing bunkers and moving up. It's not a good idea to have this and rebound, because you will go out of ammo fast. Anyway, its nice because you don't need your hopper on to feed balls because its only 3 bullets at a time. You can probably get out 10 - 15 balls a second with this one and it's the fastest way of deliverying balls out of your hopper. PROBLEM: if you pull the trigger 4 times it shoots fine but around the fifth pull, it starts not shooting slower but jamming up. It doesn't deliver the balls slower it just doesn't fires at the rate it did before. NEXT: Full auto. Not the best idea for a fire fight, unless its at a distance. If your in a close firefight you will end up using 3 round burst. Or if your chasing someone around you might use auto or semi, doesn't matter. Auto is just for a good cover fire gun and i think its very useful in woodsball, because auto is not aloud in tournys and it's a good coverfire mode. Rebound (if you can get it working) is pointless if you use auto, clearly, but good for semi. Only good for 3 shot burst and maybe semi is if you have a faster hopper like a halo b, for example. Good gun, doesn't chop at all so far, and it has nice modes. GET THIS GUN ITS VERY NICE!

EDIT*** O...k.... It's ok. Get a new hopper because the one that comes with it sucks. Sorry viewloader but it does. Next... it played well on the field. Got 3 people out in about 5 games. (I'm not the best paintballer either. ) 3 Shot was most useful and as i said before semi works too. Auto helped a little for moving up... not a bad gun. Shoots fast enough and i did like it. I would use it in future only i'm getting a different gun.
Conclusion: Good gun so far, but i think ill sell it and get a different one. Not a bad gun, just not the gun i would want to use. Maybe a backup gun or sell it to my friend. gun gets an 9 for me. BECAUSE: no gun is perfect. and there was a few teeny tiny problems with it. (READ REVIEW) good gun for the price of 100 bucks with a hopper. get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 3rd, 2007 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Algernon Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine
Flash
Black Dragun
Marker Setup: Ghetto ion

Alien abduction angel LED
pred II
Recommended
Upgrades:
New micro switch of a lighter pull weight. 50-80 grams would be recommended.
Strengths: Cheap. Anti chop. Free moterised loader. Walkable.
Weaknesses: Not as walkable as it could be. No ASA threaded vertical adapter. Feedneck.
Review: Good starter marker. If you want to pick up a speedball marker for real cheap to get into the game then this is a fine marker. It compares nicely to a spyder imagine. To max out the potential of the marker you will need to do a mirco switch swap. The marker's stock switch is a bit too stiff, although it is an improvment over some of the kingman markers. It is walkable, however don't expect too much from the marker untill you've done a MS swap and switched to a faster loader. The barrel is loud and the finish isn't so great. I didn't get chance to see how it shoots through breaks, but given the finish it highly questionable. The anti chop bolt was not broken in. it did pinch paint and those pinched rounds would go astray, but the ACS bolt is functional, altough the quantum loader is inadaquate to feed the high voltage.

the marker is better equiped than a spyder imagine or PMI GTI outta the box, however if you're willing to forgoe the moterised loader then the PMI GTI would be a better way to spend your $100. the spyder imagine, although it's trigger and MS are not up to par with the high voltage, does have far more potential given it's strong support by the aftermarket community.
Conclusion:
the spyder imagine, GTI and high voltage are in my opinion, the top 3 sub $100 starter markers for speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

mid-agedballer Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder se & VL high voltage
Recommended
Upgrades:
vl needs barrel upgrade & metal bolt assembly (haven't found an after-market bolt upgrade yet)
Strengths: Too soon to know, but just being electronic is a plus. ,
Weaknesses: Plastic bolt assembly, it broke within the first dozen balls
Review: i don't have much to say about this marker yet. but what i do want to say isn't very good. i bought this marker on 1-18-07. i took it to play the following saturday. i didn't even shoot a dozen balls before the PLASTIC bolt assembly broke. good thing i had my trusty ol' spyder se with me. if not for what was going to be my back-up gun, i would have driven 45 min., bought a case of paint & all day air for nothing. hopefully the VL high voltage will be up and running soon. i'm sure the service dept. at VL will respond appropriately. this is the first problem i've ever had with any of the VL products i've purchased (revolution, pods, elbows, etc.).i'm sure it's just one of those freak things, but it could've really ruined my day. i'm in no way putting down the VL line of merchandise because i look for that name when shopping around. i just hope they change their bolt assembly to metal or offer an after-market up-grade bolt that's metal.
Conclusion: Still undecided until the problem is resolved and i get to sling a case of paint with it!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Yeti05 Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Viewloader voltage modded trigger, eggy III
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new hopper!!!
Strengths: - fast trigger if moddifyed
- can use HPA
- can compete with much higher priced markers
Weaknesses: -Its loud
-Its a blowback
-Its feed neck is a pain
Review: This gun deserves a 7/10 stock but with some simple modification i would give it an 8/10. For moddifying the trigger remove the lower grip, then remove the pin holding the trigger in place and remove the return spring, this spring is really not nessisary and a much higher ROF can be achived with out it (no joke). I also curved the trigger with a dremel tool to make it more comfortable. I would recomend an HPA setup if you do this because CO2 will cool down when shooting really fast and will fail to recock the marker. I have heard about a ramping modificatin available for this gun but I have not succesfully done it yet. Burn the quantum loader it comes with!! (and no, the Quantum in no way reflects the preformance of the Voltage), there are videos on youtube of this hopper losing to a gravity feed hopper in speed. I picked up and Evo III hopper for this gun, I know this is overkill but if I every upgrade then I will not need to buy a new hopper. Also the feed neck is equaly bad. It is designed so that you just jam your hopper into it, no clamps or anything. (this can be fixed though with a hack saw and a weld shop) and stock has no way to upgrade it commercialy Over all I think this is a great gun and definitly is upgradable (ths gun has Spyder threads by the way)
Conclusion: I would recommed this Marker for rec, beginners or intermediate players
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett1986 Tuesday, March 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-Markers Are Similar, but The High Voltage has proven much better over this past year due to reliability, less maintenance, and all out style and function.
Marker Setup: VL High Voltage
Apex Barrel (Also have J&J Ceramic)
Rebound Mod
eVLution (egg style) Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker is GREAT but can use 3 things...

-Electric Hopper (Besides the crap hopper that comes with it)
Recommend eVLution Hopper (Halo is overkill and forces balls too quick for bolt and busts them) eVLuion has so far worked flawlessly for this marker.

-Apex Barrel (Stock Barrel is ok, but Apex is MUST Have) J&J is good too, but Apex is much much better.

-Rebound Mod: Look inside the right side of the trigger frame and connect the top two silver metal points to a switch and you get rebound shots when the switch is turned on. (Shoots on pull & on release)
Strengths: 3 Firing Modes + Rebound
Reliability, Accuracy, Decent Stock Firing Rate, Dependable
Weaknesses: Cold weather temporarily freezes orings like most ALL Co2 powered guns.
Use Nitrogen/Compressed-Air
Review: All in All, it's a GREAT gun, and before this gun I was a big Tippmann fan(Still love em') but never could enjoy a Spyder e-marker or similar guns at all. However, since having the High Voltage with Apex Barrel and Rebound (With good hopper), I haven't touched my 98 Custom.(98 is still a great gun, but much preference toward the High Voltage with Apex accuracy & capabilities, Nice and Fast firing rate, multiple firing modes, and all in a small, light, compact gun which has proven to be greatly reliable and dependable.)
Conclusion: GREAT Marker
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS MARKER TO ANYONE
(Read Description Above)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 11th, 2009 at 12:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TritonUser Sunday, November 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Triton II, VL High Voltage, various BE models, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Pro/Carb with SmartParts barrel and double trigger upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, possibly a J&J ceramic barrel and definitely a new hopper, cause the stock one sucks
Strengths: -Fast, obviously
-Reliable
-Love it
Weaknesses: -Hopper chops
-Gun jams
-It's a VL
Review: I loved this gun, got it off E-bay for 80 bucks, with a J&J ceramic barrel. It performed awesomely and to me sounded like an AK-47 but hey that's my own opinion. I loved it, once again. I suggest, if you have enough money and you want a cheap electronical gun, buy this.
Conclusion: Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media