paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT G.O.T. Timer / JT G.O.T. Timer / JT G.O.T. Timer / JT G.O.T. Timer

JT G.O.T. Timer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT G.O.T. Timer

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT G.O.T. Timer
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 3.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
JT's Game•On•Timer with countdown ability and a 1-minute warning beep. The G.O.T. can be attached directly to the speed collar for heads-up visibility. Battery Included.
Product Availability 
The JT G.O.T. Timer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
MrEPinky Saturday, August 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radioshack timer
+Much more reliable
+Talks to you if you want it to.
+Clips onto the band of your mask.
Marker Setup: Centerfeed 99' Cocker:
Shocktech Superfly Bolt, Palmer Rock & Ram, Bomb 3-way, MacDev Gladiator Reg, Bob Long .45, CP 10 inch barrel, Dye SS 12 inch barrel, and Shocktech Beavertail
Weir RAT Impulse:
Vision, Toxic Bolt, Freak Kit, Vertical Reg, VFF, High Rise, Rat Valve Cap, and Blade trigger.
Strengths: The JT timer is pretty easy to use. Choose your game time and push the start button. Simple as that, with audible beeps to let you know when you're in the last minute. This is nice for tournaments when a game is drawn out and you need to get a pull or hang before time runs out.
Weaknesses: I used the timer for about a week on the speed collar with JT Speed Pods. I liked the whole integration, but the collar stood too tall. I took the timer off the neck and mounted it to the lid of my Revy. It stopped working shortly after, displaying undecipherable bits and pieces on the LED. I never went through the hassle of sending it back to get new one. The Radioshack timers are much more reliable and you can easily return it to any Radioshack store nationwide if you aren't satisfied.
Conclusion: How could JT produce such a delicate and unreliable product for paintball? It was a good idea to integrate it with the speed pod and collar system, but what use is it if it doesn't work? I could understand if maybe it had lasted at least a few tournaments, but a week of ownership and the thing doesn't work. It never even saw a game! And for $15? Radioshack timer all the way.... or buy an Angel LCD with the timer in the grip ;) I highly recommend you stay away from the JT garbage. While the idea was good, it's probably the most delicate and unreliable paintball product I've ever bought. Shame on them for letting this thing leave factory before the bugs were worked out.

~Chris
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arbites[RAT] Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My wrist watch timer
Marker Setup: A-5: E-trigger, NW Paintball Products drop forward, 3A CA tanks (91 CI & 47 CI)
68 Special: Siphon tanks (still don't understand why & I owned an SMG-60 first)
SL-68: 2 Silencers (why not)
Strengths: Great idea
It attaches to the marker
Weaknesses: Seems weak
It attaches BADLY
Designed to not be able to change battery
Review: JT, What were your design people thinking?

This is a great idea, but THE most poorly designed products I have seen in paintball from a company that had demonstrated that it knows better. I can only hope that this was designed by a novice designer who has never actually played paintball. Here are the two major flaws I see in this product:

1) It is $15 and designed to be attached as a disposable. The provided method of attachment (2-sided foam tape) does not allow battery replacement (battery door slides to back of timer). Screws are also provided with the timer / Speed Collar pack, but I'm not sure that they go to the timer since the screws do not have matching holes on the collar, nor is the collar thin enough to use them.

2) It is a marginal timer. Its nice that it has an auto off to save battery power, but it seems flimsy. There is also no way to reset the time if you set it too high. Bad design - kitchen timers are better designed & seem more durable.

I solved the first problem by drilling from the underside back through the front of the timer. I also have holes in my collar to which I am inserting screws from the inside out. The nuts will go onto the outside to allow me to unscrew them & keep the bolt available to rescrew onto.

The second problem ... Well I'll save it for when timing is important (and I happen to be using my speed collar), but when it breaks I won't replace it anyway.
Conclusion: This product is not worth buying seperately. If it comes with the Speed Collar (and the speed collar works for you - see seperate review), use it rather than throw it out, but ...
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cocker kid 2k2 Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used any other timers.
Marker Setup: Smart parts basic impulse s/n 17830
Vert reg
Tapeworm
Strengths: Small and can go almost anywhere.
Weaknesses: No on off.
Review: This is a very nice nifty little timer, it can be programed from 5 minutes to 99 minutes. It has a very sticky surface so it will stick to basically any flat surface you can find. And it also has a sound feature, where it will beep fairly slowly at the 2 minute mark, and fast at the 1 minute mark. I've found this very helpful if its attatched to somewhere not visable, like your goggles. But I generally keep it on the lid/side of my loader.

Only bad thing about this product is it doesnt come with an on off, but my friend who is very good with electronics made me one, so im all set.
Conclusion: Very good product, I would recomend it to any player who needs to know how much time is left in their games, if you can get it fitted to have an on off attatched It will work even better, but if not, just take the battery out when your done using it. Not a very hard thing to do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
five dollar wendys brand wrist watch, (worked better)
Marker Setup: Tricked out 14rps Spyder Java (yes i actually shoot 14 rps from a 90$ gun, thanks to the E-Frame)
Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline, Tasco scope, and car stock
PGP Pump pistol for rainy days
Strengths: it holds down papers real well
Weaknesses: It never worked for me, actually it did for about a few seconds, but soon after realizing that i had installed the battery backwards b/c there are no instructions i realized i had fried the circuits. Word to the wise: be careful which side is up when you install the battery as it will not work if you do it incorrectly
Conclusion: The collar's speed is amazing but the timer isnt worth its weight in paint. overall a bad decision except usually it comes with the speed collar so there isnt much choice
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 28th, 2001
Strengths: Nothing. Actually dont know because we got over 10 of them to the store where I work and couldnt get a single one of them to work??
Weaknesses: Well the fact that they dont even start working. JT has some serius problems with their quality control if they even have any. They should implement TQM.
Conclusion: Been talking to some people and seriously I met one guy who knew some other guy who had said that the JT clock works well. Thats just second hand info so the best thing to do is to go and buy a SUUNTO wrist computer and it will work for sure.

The score o
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 6th, 2001
Strengths: When it works, very handy, compact.
Weaknesses: Bought one at local store, it didn't work. exachanged for another. it didn't work. Exchanged for another. It didn't work. Exchanged for another. It worked. After a day of play, it started shutting off randomly. In all cases batteries were fresh. All in all, paid 12$ for 5 games of use.
Conclusion: Possible that the store I was at got a bad batch, but such things shouldn't pass QA. As long as it works, its neat, but I think a cheap radio shack stopwatch would be more durable.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 21st, 2001
Strengths: pretty conveinent for timed games obviously, mounts on your JT Speed collar, or the lid of your hopper. beeps once counting down at 2 minutes and starts beeping twice at 1 minute. can countdown from 99 minutes max
Weaknesses: pretty pricey, not enough options only countdown. a backlit display wouldnt hurt. you also cant turn off the beeping on the 1 or 2 minute countdowning.
Conclusion: Overall its a pretty cool timer that is a good advantage on a timed game. looks cool, recommended, but you could also wear a stop-watch if you wanted and it would work the same way
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A simple chronograph on any digital watch
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+
Lapco Bigshot
Polecat Paintball Trigger Job (www.polecatpaintball.com)
Dye Stickies
Polished Bolt with removed Venturi
Strengths: This product is absolutely terrible. Go to any local K-Mart, Walmart, or Target and buy a 5 dollar watch with chronograph. Rip the band off of the watch, and duct tape the bandless watch to your hopper (If you want to), Then, just push start and stop whenever you need to time a game.
Weaknesses: It is a good idea, but relatively pointless. I find this product to be useless due to the fact that you can simply listen for the refs whistle in order to know when the game is over. Also, if these things take any sort of direct hit from a paintball, they are toast. Also, the buttons can be hard to push if they get any dirt, mud, dust, or paint in them.
Conclusion: See "The Good" Section. Overall, it is a waste of money, pointless, and relatively / possibly difficult to use. They also give your hopper a slightly higher profile, making it easier to hit. All in all, this thing is a waste of money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media