paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
X7 Assassin Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years105 of 116 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first marker in a decade.
Marker Setup: X7
Remote Coil
Red Dot Site
JJ Ceramic Elite Edge Kit
68ci/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell
Go remote for weight
Maybe a stock?
Strengths: Looks!
Weight - see review
EH Cyclone feed
Durable
Upgrades availible
Weaknesses: None yet... If I was being picky, I guess the price and weight.
Review: Ok, if you read above you'll see that I am what you guys call a "newbie". All though my knowledge is limited, I also have an un-bias opinion that does not swing towards woodsball or tournament ball. I will however say, I am an older (32) male, and I went out on the market to find an paintball gun to play in the woods with some buddies and neighbors and that would withstand the abuse of hard pLAY. I looked for weeks online, and first off it is SO Difficult to find a un-bias opinion out there. Tourney guy hates woods guy and vise versa. Two different sports, two different players, and two STRONGLY different opinions. So just because this marker isn't as nice and as shinny as an electtric Angel, lets not post such strongly negative remarks towards it. There is no way this gun deserves a 1.
After using the marker a few times now, I got to say this is a very fine marker. It worked great on a sunny, mid 90's day in Houston. It serves its purpose in life... as a STRONG out of the BOX, Mil-Slim style, reliable, durable, fast shooting (with e-grip) marker. I'll try to rate the gun by category:

WEIGHT:
It is allttle heavy when holding the smaller markers such as the Spyder, Mini and even 98c. But they are smaller. When you consider the the size of the marker and that is comes with a magazine, front grip shroud, front site and rear site, cyclone feed and rails, it is light in comparison. The magnesium alloy used does make a difference, and it does give it a really sturdy feel. Love it. I give the weight a 10. There is nothing they could have done to make it lighter, but stripped it down. But strip it down and you have an A5. Again a 10.

ACCURACY:
I took it out of the box. Walked down to the end of the street with a few neighbors with there markers and after market barrells. Again, in comparison to them, it held its own. It was wicked accurate from about 25 feet. That is close, I know. I use a red dot site, and the paint ball hit dead on from that 25' range. When you shoot alittle further, the paint ball drops below the red dot s site, but is still in line. If you move out to 50 feet on, well the accuracy is no longer great nut its still really good. I read the reviews on the A5 barrell, and this I was told is the same barrell, and the A5 barrell didn't get rave reviews, But this one hits what you are aiming at from about 50 feet. Now when you go outside 75 to 100 feet, the accuracy suffers with the stock barrel. I did buy a JJ Ceramic Elite Edge Barrel Kit. This kit is amazing the X7 marker. And this has nothing to do with the gun, other than the ability to mount it. But you got to go out and get a red dot site. I took quick aim and accurate shots. Never, I mean never pop your head out the same place twice. One shot, One kill happened allot. No more walking your shot into your taget, just aim and shoot (when up close) and they are out. You'll here the opposing team scream to each other, "watch out, the sniper guy is over their somewhere" as I did. I would have to score the accuracy a 8 of a possible 10.

LOOKS:
Nothing looks better. In eyes of the beholder i guess. I would give it a 10, but this is totally subjective, so I will not account for this in my rating.... Wait a minute. I purchased the gun because of the looks. Looks is a factor in almost every aspect of life and this includes paintball. Just look at the aftermarket industry and the mods out there to make you marker look more Mil-Sim... Out of the box this gun looks great. The X7 started a trend that you see allot of other companies following suit again. They want realism and Mil-Sim. X7 started it. I will include it in the final rating and as mentioned before, I have to give it a 10.

UPGRADES:
If you seen Tippmans website, you then know it has tons of upgrades. What else..10

ACCESSORIES:
Mag - This marker has a built in storage in the shape of a magazine clip. Not exactly a great idea, but is innovative to say the least. The mag does fill alittle flimsy when extracted and opened. Not an issue since when it is in the gun, it feels as sturdy as the rest of the gun. time will tell.
Air thru Stock option - There is a feature for a Air Thru Stock option. From what i read it is another industry first. And when you see pictures of others markers with stocks and remote coils, you understand the reason behind their thinking. Very nice option.
Offset Hopper - Another great option is the offset hopper. I allows room to install a red dot or scope directly on top of your marker without and offset rail. I have a 1x30mm red dot, I looked at the 42mm but it may be too big to install directly on top with the hopper right next to it. The 30mm is aleady touching the hopper.
Adjustable sites - Also the stock sites on the X7 are adjustable. They seem to be pretty adequate as well.
4 rails - I comes the rails on the top both sides and bottom. I installed a grip on the bottom shroud rail. and for night games, I mount a Tac Light. It is nice to have to option to do what ever the hell I want. X7 started this, now your seeing allot of other companies follow suit.
Safety - the safety is a switch rather than the typical button, which really adds to the mil-sim look.
That about does the option and accessories of the stock X7. As you can see, plenty to see. I got to give this section a 9 out of 10. I would have loved to see some type of expansion chamber as the Magazine Clip. I hate to add one and ruin the looks. 9

I have to say, this marker loves air. I have a 68/4500. tank and I would refill it after two hoppers, about 800-1000+ balls. When I used CO2, the guy behind the counter got to know me pretty well. I didn't know this, but maybe you A5 owners do, when the air is low, not out but just low, the Cyclone Feed System shuts down completely. I had to finish one game by using the Manual Advance Lever on the side. This acts as a pump in a since and each pump loads a single shot. I got hammered that game. Is there a air gauge you can put on there to tell when it is running low??


Good gun, plenty of fun. The marker has lasted me three years without any issues. It is durable and dependable. Exactly what I was looking for during my first search for my first marker. I couldnt have been more pleased.
Conclusion: I saw this marker online. I hold no bias, loyalty or Alliance with any company or team. I can care less to try to prove to the public and justify my purchase. I just hope you can get a honest review about a marker that is a SOLID WOODS PLAY MARKER. You will not be disappointed if you buy this marker. It is not a shinny light weight, light trigger, ramp feeding electro marker... But it is neither priced like it or meant to be one either. Again it is made for and MARKETED for the woods and for rec players like myself. Sure there are better markers, read reviews on high-in guns, but this one grabbed this "newbies" eye out of the hundred of other markers I had to choose from.
I'll give it a nine. If the accuracy was as tight as the dreams I had about it, I would of given it a ten. But this is paintball, not laser tag. So I should have expected the shots to be off alittle from some distance out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

REvan223 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year50 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A5
Spyder Electra
Spyder Sonix
Spyder Classic
Spyder Compact
Ariakon Sim-4
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann X7
X7 M16 Shroud
Tapco M4 Stock
Sling
E Grip
14" J&J
Jet Click Mod
Secondary Gun:
X7
X7 G36 Carry Handle
Response Trigger
Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
E Trigger
Stock
New Barrel (Flatline) or a J&J For accuracy
Strengths: Customizations
Looks
Feel
Performance
Weaknesses: Maybe Price For those who are on a Budget. =
Review: I've have used a variety of guns and equipment and nothing really compares to this gun. Tippmann has always come out with something good. They have always provided us with working markers that are reliable and that have many customizations. This is where the X-7 Flourishes.

Looks: Mostly opinion. But as soon as I walked onto the field everyone had eyes on me. Looks great. The magazine looks awesome too. The Sights are good. They are the regular surface sights. Very similar to what you'd have on an AK-47. Nevertheless adequate enough for paint ball use. The rails feel nice under my hands. The gun is relatively balanced when used in conjunction with a remote.

Shooting: Firing this gun is identical to firing a 98c or a Tippmann A5. Accurate enough. Distance is about 100-120 feet. Not bad for a marker. However you do have the option of putting a flat line on it. Which is what I did before i even played. The flatline barrel provided distance that was superior to any gun out there on the field. People where getting so mad at me and saying that my velocity was higher. When I cronoed my gun fired at 285fps. Rule of thumb: The Flatline is very picky with paint and is useless in the winter (cold and paint isn't a good idea), so i suggest maybe using a different barrel in the winter or if you just want a better barrel. Anyways this isn't a review on the flatline. So what I'm saying here is the stock barrel isn't the greatest. It fires accurate enough, but there is alot better out there. So get a new barrel. Preferably as soon as you get the gun.

The gun actually has some recoil to it, not much, but some......Especially with a response trigger on it. It feels pretty sweet when firing. The E Grip is really nice and minimizes recoil alot. One thing i noticed that while running, if you don't have some kind of stock to shoulder or a grip to keep your gun steady, your shots will be all over the place. However I did get a vertical grip and im in the process of getting the stock. Even with the vertical grip my shots are way more steady and have tighter groupings when running.

Feel: The feeling of this gun is very ergonomic. In your hand it just feels "right". Very comfortable. To me it feels alot better than my A5, SIM4, 98c....or any other gun out there on the market.....That's pretty important because of the fact that ergonomics are on of the key factors in paintball that can reduce the time it takes to point your gun in the right direction.....

Features: There are rails everywhere on this gun. Good for putting a vertical grip, flashlight, laser, or anything else that appeals to you. Comes stock with a ring on the butt of the gun. Good idea to put a sling there. Cyclone feed is great. Supposed to feed 20 balls per second. I haven't been able to test that (e trigger hasn't come out yet). However there is no doubt in my mind that this marker can do it. I never had any kind of miss feed in any of my games. Only when I was low on ammo. down to 5 or 6 balls that I had miss feeds. Breakages: sure I did have them. But that was do to me crawling in the sand and having dirt go down the barrel. After the barrel was cleared it firing perfect again. Sights: Pretty good sights. Not too adjustable, but adjustable enough. You can move them up and down the gun. I have my front post moved back about 2 inches. My back post is moved up about 4 inches. Looks alot better this way and there is less stress on your eyes.

Cocking Lever: Off to the front left side of the gun. Completely out of the way from snagging on to something. Also the bolt is closed. This is good to keep the sand, dirt , and other debris from getting into the gun. Magazine Compartment: Storage for tools, lube, etc. It may sound stupid having this on your gun. But to be completely honest. You won't believe how much hassle it saved me. Not having to go in your bag for allen wrenches is definitely a plus. Plus the mag looks awesome and adds to the intimidation. It's nice to tell people that the mag actually serves a purpose instead of just for looks. When I get the question "Whats the mag for? You put paintballs in there?" I get to tell them what it's really for. On paper having a mag storage for tools may sound dumb to many, but its just plain practical.

Trigger: The trigger is a single trigger. You can get off about 6-8 bps firing on it. Despite what people say, it isn't such a heavy pull. It feels realistic. With practice you can definitely get fast at pulling it. I'm definitely want an E trigger I would like the auto fire capability. The safety on this gun is the most unique I've ever seen. It is a selector switch. All the way down is on hot. All the way up is safe. You can switch it from safe to semi very quickly. One game i forgot to take off the safety (don't know how the hell i did that) and the first time I saw someone and i realized i couldn't shoot, i just clicked down the safety and fired away. I did buy the response trigger for the gun. It does seem to add recoil, however they are pretty faulty if you have a leak. Sometimes they just stop working when you're low on air. But you can still fire on semi. Personally I think i'm going to buy an E trigger because I can use 3 shot burst and auto. Plus the three slot selector switch looks really nice.

Hopper: The hopper has a nice low profile. Is alot less prone to getting hit. It also does a good job of deflecting incoming balls. Contrary to the believe, you can hold 200 rounds in it.

Update: May 26th 2008 I Purchased the Egrip for the gun about five months ago and i have to say that I am very satisfied. The fire rate is excellent. Very smooth and very reliable. Always turns on, changing batteries is a snap and the safety is excellent. However i noticed that in very high rates of fire such as 20bps or more the x7 chops. Probably because the cyclone can't feed fast enough. I just purchased and installed the Jet Click mod by Blackpoint Engineering co. and i have to say that the quality (physically) and i notice that it is much easier to physically "click" the cyclone feed. I haven't tested it yet however my inquiries on the product will be posted very soon.


Conclusion: Many manufacturers try to please their customers by making the guns look good. However many times these guns look nice (like real guns) but don't function as well. With the x-7 you get the best of two worlds. You get the function, reliability, and customizations, plus the looks. The price of this gun may not be what you consider "affordable" but this gun is indeed worth every penny. The things you can do to this gun are infinite.

If you're looking for a gun that can function great and look great.....here it is. This is the first time that I am 100% satisfied with my marker. Out of all the other markers i've purchased (spyders and ariakon)...this marker has actually fulfilled my standards.
Any questions? Send it to me....i'll be glad to answer any questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2008 at 9:57 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

reb cpl Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month38 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 68 carbine, A5, 98, 98C, SL68II
Strengths: Weight, adaptability, aesthetic value, performance
Weaknesses: Hopper, air line.
Review: Pros:



The weight. The X7 is a larger piece, but the lightweight receivers make the marker a lot lighter than it would seem to be based on its size.


Stripping: It is as effectively simple as the A5 in breakdown and field stripping. The magazine well, while being a new addition, is also simple to remove.


Cyclone: Cycles faster than the old A5 model, excellent addition.


Select Switch safety: a beautiful addition that will make milsim players very happy. Simple in operation, and ‘real world’ design makes this a very desirable feature.


Adaptability: The coming upgrades and modifications for this marker make it extremely flexible in terms of aesthetic marker setup, again very pleasing for milsim and scenario players.


Barrel shroud/sight rails: VERY simple to add modifications without having to dismantle the marker. The shroud can also be removed quickly and easily via two pins. This piece can be removed with modifications still attached, adding speed to the breakdown process.




Cons:



Sight system: Completely useless. The rear sight provides no real usability. The notch in the pin is too shallow to be helpful when used in conjunction with the front sight post, and the system itself, while being neat to look at, doesn’t do much for the aiming of the marker. I found myself ‘spot sighting’ when firing, which is shooting one or two rounds for placement, than correcting the marker visually and without the use of the sights.


Fixed Gas Line: With the addition of the magazine well, the gas line has limited ability to be altered. Where the tombstone adaptor connects to the power tube, with the well there, there is no standard connection fitting there that would allow for the use of something like a LP adaptor or an expansion chamber. It looks as though the only practical adaptation for the air system is the X7 tailored gas thru stock. Without the magazine well, customization of the air system would be easier. Even running a remote line would be tough, unless run first from the tank adaptor.


Barrel shroud/ported barrel combination: While easy to remove, the barrel shroud is difficult to actually take apart should it need to be cleaned. With a ported barrel being stock, if a ball breaks within the barrel and paint makes its way through the ports and into the shroud, the only way to tear it down is to remove it and dismantle the shroud via the 4 screws.


Hopper: Despite being lower profile, the hopper is somewhat difficult to work with. In order to lower the profile, the hopper has been elongated with the feed neck no longer centered. If shooting at a flat angle, this is no problem, but if shooting at even a remotely downward angle, the rounds within the hopper will stack toward the front. The only way to fix this is to tip the maker up in an attempt to refill the cyclone feeder housing. If the hopper is full, there isn’t much of a problem since the rounds at the rear of the hopper will fall into the housing, but with the cyclone’s rate of operation, keeping a full hopper all the time will be difficult. My initial tests of the marker with resulted in several blank firings because the cyclone chamber was empty, as I was shooting downhill.


Mixed feelings:



Magazine/toolkit: While the toolkit is a good idea, many regulated games won’t allow for tools to be carried onto the field. This could eliminate the entire practical purpose of having this feature. It is, however a good effect for those who play scenario games or milsim who are looking for that ‘real feel’ in their markers. Overall, I’m leaning more toward this being a ‘pro’ than a ‘con’ Its practical use in an outlaw or pickup game will be invaluable, and the visual presentation of the marker is enhanced by it.


Barrel Shroud/Barrel combination: The shroud itself will only allow for certain barrels to be used with it. Thick barrels will not fit inside of the shroud, dictating that it be removed in order to utilize some after market barrel.






Conclusion: Overall Rating:



I love the thing! This marker is an excellent addition to the Tippmann line. The versatility of this piece is undeniably in line with all of the company’s other products. The rugged design is also standard with for Tippmann. The ease of use, coupled with many new and useful modifications will make this one a smash hit with anyone who takes their milsim or scenario games seriously. Shooting it is a blast, with a decent trigger pull and the enhanced cyclone system. Its drawbacks are outweighed by its advantages. New and practical features coupled with its excellent performance completely outnumber any of its faults. Kudos to Tippmann and SpecOps on this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

deejayblank Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other mechanical markers
Marker Setup: x-7
port and polish
68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
port and polish is an absolute necessity (see below)
air thru stock
e grip or r.t.
barrel
Strengths: Reliable. Accurate. Durable. Air thru. Low profile hopper. Great feel. Looks.
Weaknesses: Hopper jiggles. Port and Polish required. No upgrades (yet)
Review: Right, I've had my x-7 for a few days now and want to share my initial opinion in light of all these biased and surprisingly terrible reviews. First off, I've used my LP Spyder forever and always said the next gun i get will be a Tippmann, and so this is the first I have purchased. I happen to like the stuff Special Ops does and I strictly play woodsball only. Indoor, x-ball, all the junk is for kids whose parents have way too much money and the wannabes who dream of being in the spotlight. So, when the two made a baby i had to give it a shot.

Off the bat I give it a test shoot and dry fired it once. Damn was it loud. I immediately brought it back inside to open it up. I must say the magnesium casing has a really nice look and feel to it. I was worried about it being too light but it still has good weight without the tank, which I prefer. Something too light feels like a toy. Having never touched a Tippmann before, tear down was a snap and i noticed some quality inner workings. However I did notice a glaring problem. Because of the magnesium manufacturing process there was a sandpaper like feel to the entire inner casing. To anyone who does not know about moving parts, thats bad...real bad. This gun HAS to be ported and polished out of the box. If you cant do that or dont know anyone who can i would not recommend it. I dont know if all Tippys are like that but the x-7 is. I was very relieved to find the case and bolt is easy to sand and polish by hand compared to other things i have done. The whole marker took a little while to do but there is alot of ground to cover. That being said i was going to port and polish regardless because all markers should be. After lubing everything (out of the box all the o-rings are dry) I put it back together in no time. I really was surprised how easy Tippys are to work on.
I take it out for a real test drive and was impressed with the marker completely. It is accurate out of the box, built like a tank, and relatively quiet for a high pressure gun. With the shroud/foregrip attached and using the tank as a stock it has a much more natural feel than any of the regular electro toys running around most fields can imagine. Once the air thru stock is available it is mine. This marker is generated for outdoor, low profile on the run play. Not staying behind bunkers wasting 10 hoppers of paint. With a stock attached you can accurately fire on the run which is a crucial advantage. The weight balance also allows you to sight in alot faster from a relaxed position. If you just hold your marker up and fire as fast as possible, use something else to waste paint with. This is a marker for those who only need a few shots to take someone out.

The slender, low profile and offset hopper gives you much greater field of vision and almost eliminates the possibility of a straight on hopper hit. The cyclone gives you 20 bps without the loud, battery mongering, easy target electro hoppers of the world. Once the hopper is attached it does jiggle, I noticed when opening it. This might create a problem of keeping it attached once its used alot.

I personally like the feel of a mechanical trigger versus electro. The x-7 trigger doesnt feel cheap like its made a 2 pieces, well, because its not. Its well made with just enough pull. Can't wait for the R.T. to come out. Even though the grip is hard plastic i like the feel of it. I wear gloves anyway.

I dont like how the stock shroud feels as a foregrip. I think the side rails are a bit too much. They do come off though which is a plus and makes it feel better to grip.
I also didn't like the magazine/storage compartment which is made of cheap plastic. It is useful for a couple allens and a small thing of oil, but i noticed it to get in the way specifically hitting against my long legs when i ran or crouched. I also think the look of it is too Mil-Sim so i took it off along with the piece it clips into covering the airline. It doesnt look great but the air thru kit will fix that.

Stock barrel is nothing great but name me a stock barrel that is.

I stress this review is done with compressed air. CO2 is not an option with any marker.
Conclusion: All in all this is a juiced up A-5 with maybe a little too much consumer appeal. If you are looking for one of the flashy electro toys this is not your marker. Now if you are into mil-sim or just want the feel and balance of an actual firearm this is a nice choice. I dont care about looks, I dont care you can make look like whatever gun on t.v., I care about FUNCTION. Tippmann is defiantly walking a thin line about realism. Take the cyclone off and some store clerk might believe its real...but thats another discussion. This marker has great weight balance and after a little work shoots as well as any other marker. If you own an A-5 dont bother unless you just have to have the new thing or like to spend money. The production process may have been rushed creating some minor issues, but this is still a quality marker with tons of cosmetic possibilities. If you like the Tippmann product I see no reason not to like this gun. Perhaps those people that have been bashing the x-7 either 1) had their hopes too high, 2) like to bash Spec Ops or Tippmann or 3) my favorite, are just plain ignorant.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Space Lord Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
J&J ceramic 14" barrel
E-Grip
Verticle foregrip
X36 grip rail
9mm mag well
9mm curved mag
X36 folding stock
PCS single point tacsling
Pure Energy coiled remote
Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA tank
Dye Rhino tank cover
Canti mount for sight
Adco red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
E-Grip
Strengths: Looks
Feel
Durability/relaibility
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loose hopper
Review: Good solid feeling gun. Has a somewhat realistic feel to it. Feels very solid and should stand up to typical gameplay i.e. accidental bangs and scrapes. Don't get stupid though, it's not a hammer, folks! If you want a solid mechanical blowback with great Mil-Sim looks, this is your gun. The trigger is typical Tippmann, which leaves one wanting after being used to a nice electro double trigger. The forthcoming e-grip will definately add to the feel of the gun with its external fire mode select. Don't get me wrong, the trigger is as reliable as the day is long. But if you're used to say, an Ion trigger, the Tippmann trigger feels low performance. Everything else feels rock solid as well. Nice tight pushpins, and through-body stye bolts with metal nuts to make it basically bullet proof. (note: the X-7, although tough, should not be used as bullet proof armor. Before you try, do a Google search for "Darwin Awards")

Update 12-24-2006
Well, I've shot some more paint through it and the trigger's getting better, and the gun's starting to get more and more broken in as it's used. Consistency is improving as well. On a side note, I've had problems with the gun leaking (somewhere in the general area of the powertube), but when I removed the air and reattached it, the leak was gone. After the second time this happened, I tore deep down inside the gun. There was quite a bit of powder coating debris inside the gun from the manufacturing process, and some very thin metal shavings. These shavings came from the process of machining the valve, but the edges or "flashings" were not removed. I found two loose metal slivers in the tombstone area, one in the valve, and one in the power tube. I took the back edge of an exacto knife and removed all of the still-attached flashing from the valve body, used some plastic-safe aerosol brake cleaner to blast/flush all the machining/powder coating debris out of the inside and from all internal parts. After using liberal amounts of marker oil and reassembling, the gun seems to now be leak free. My dealer said Tippmann had less than 500 to go out on their first shipment, and as my serial number is 0000338, my guess is the lack of finishing work was an oversight in their desparate attempt to get some product out on the shelves as they had promised. This experience in no way affects my overall opinion of the marker. Aside from leaking a small amount of air, it never missed a beat and still performed reliably and consistently.

Update 3-8-2007:
Well, it still doesn't shoot as accurately or consistently as my Ion. This is with the J&J barrel on the X-7 vs. a box stock Ion. I'm going to try to polish the internals and see if that helps. But for now it will take a one point loss. Also worth mentioning is the loose hopper. I added a layer of duct tape to the base, and it tightened things up considerably. Not a big deal, but worth the mention, nonetheless.

Update 9-9-2007:
Finally have it working like I want it to. The above setup is fun to shoot, and shoulders quite solidly. The 9mm mag also was a major improvement, just in the fact that it doesn't try to fall out all the time like the old one did. I haven't polished the internals yet, yet the accuracy seems to still be improving.
Conclusion: If you already have an A5, this gun is a nice upgrade. However if you were thinking about getting an A5, do yourself a favor and get the X-7. Industrial sources state the X-7 will eventually phase out the A5, which of course means less A5 parts.
Tough, simple air system, looks mean, not perfect but good enough for me. I'm gonna give it a 9. The accuracy and consistency has really started to come around, good enough to easily hit a pie plate at 30 yards. Not to mention the E-Grip has added a whole new dimension to shooting. With the remote, vertical foregrip, folding stock, and red dot sight, the whole gun is a joy to shoulder and snap onto target with confidence. Origionally I had rated this gun at a 7, due to lack of consistency. Well now it's quite accurate and consistent, so that bumps it up to an 8. But hold on, with some carefully selected mods, this gun shoulders like a dream, which adds a point in my book. I'll now give the gun a 9.

Final recommendation? Get a remote setup, and some mods to make the gun fit YOU. I love it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 9th, 2007 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Curben Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
PGP
PMI Pirahna
Marker Setup: PGP - Speedloader, Site Rail, Quick Change co2 knob, Laser, Velocity adjuster
98c basic with random accessories
X7 with Laser sight, Tac Light, Sling, Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Air, Dot Site, Better Barrel
Strengths: Durable, Modular, Higly Upgradable, Cyclone, And of course Looks Great
Weaknesses: Weight, Price, Cyclone
Review: I researched this gun alot before I bought it. It has now seen a bit of abuse So I can say what I need to with some more knowledge.

It has a few good points and a few not so great ones. Now really this is a number of different things on an a5. It has a slightly improved cyclone, modular design Milsim look, A number of modifications already designed for it by the manufacturer(s) and a bit more.

It also has some weaknesses,
So a point by point.
Cyclone: Revamped a bit with some improvements over th A5 Design, Still iable to chop certain paints under certain conditions. Any thin shelled or weak/cheap paint will not be liked. this does remove some versatility in your paint choices, but you dont want to be shooting none of that anyways :) . It is however a good forcefeed system that doesnt need power. However, it feeds on the air, so cold weather, fast shooting will start starving the feed system. Almost needs HPA

Barrell: Its a stock tippmann barrel, yeah, it will work but it could be better. not unique to this marker.

Modular Design: Excellent for a few reasons, You can actually feild strip this at the feild on any reasonably flat serface if need be down to a point you can clean it inside and out to a reasonable degree. full strip will still be needed, but you can get this back on the field quicker, and in better condition then alot of other markers i have seen played with.
Also with the Modular designs things can be switched out on a whim. want to go sleek simple? It has mods for that, want to go rugged and threatening? It has mods for that (mods sold seperatly). And looking at it the triggers can be easily alternated between stock/RT/Electro with just a few clicks and a swap

Air Through Setup: Since the stock is not released yet, I am not 100% sure exactly how it will run, but I can see the concept. First the Hose will run through the gun to the stock, I can see some of the channels for routing this, The great thing about the setup is it will quickly and easily eliminate the the stock hose and If I am correct this will be a quick Swap as well. It looks like 4 push pins removed, 1 screw removed and the hose is gone. Pop in the new hose replace the pins and swap the back plate with the stock.

Magazine: I dont know completely how i feel about this one. Its is a cute feature having the tools with you. But most feilds wont allow that. Mine was OK with it and it was handy having it there. It is also a resin(composit plastic) and as it doubles as a "Handle" by myself and others who use it. Or also a "stand/Tripod" it is a small concern. Also It is a little tough to lock into place, this could cause it to drop/be more fragile if someone isnt aware. I heard of a mag exploding from a shot, this i can only see if its not locked in properly. Also, I have heard that a Mod Mag will not have the tool storage.

Body: this is a hard one, The body is a magnesium alloy, since its millsim there is more to it then a normal body would have the magnesium is lighter, but more expensive, which is likely the factor driving the cost up. Beyond that it is quite durable and does prevent the gun from being TOO heavy, I will say it has a descent weight already, but any morwe would be too much. and all in all it still seems lighter then many Mil Sim modded guns i have held.

Internals: Well, Its a tippmann, same internals, not much improved though the powertube is pre-ported for later mods. Never liked the plastic powertube in the 98 either, but too cheap to change it for now.

Feild Stripping (Assembly Dissassembly): Clamshell design tipman , but w/o the annoying flying spring clip for the feed tube. The other issue is the spring for the cocking lever is just a bit longer then its channel and once you put the halves together you need to reach in and push the spring back. Those allen wrenches in the magazine work well for that.

Hopper: Hopper is low profile but will twist INTO a carrying handle. A better way could be done, Its is a nice hopper overall. with descent capacity 200+ rounds

Other, Misc: It has plenty of rails for toys thios is good. Clips for a sling (sling is useless with a tank on however). If a ball does break there are Ports in the foregrip that spit paint INTO the foregrip and that foregrip uses really small screw to come apart and clean (Just dunk it in water). Trigger is a descent pull not too much not too small, I personally got up to 9 bps though i average 5


Conclusion: It is a decent and solid piece with only a few drawbacks. If you have an A5 its not worth upgrading in most cases, but if choosing between the two, The small improvements better be enough for you Or you need to want a mil sim gun in order to justify the price.

It is worthwhile as a milsim gun and will be easy to take care of. It is a specialized marker however and you need to be sure that its intention is is matched to your playstyle or you will be quite dissapointed.
If you wnat a non electro Milsim that does the look well, and will be durable. Then this is the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 6:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

SuicidalRevolve Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (Tested)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 with Red-Dot sight and custom stock, with custom sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINITELY a new barrel, perhaps new internals, better sights, stock, and remove rails on the side of the shroud if not in use
Strengths: Weight
Durability
Reliability
Ease of use
Ease of maintenance
Customizable
Milsim-looking
Weaknesses: Price
Stock barrel
Stock iron sights
Review: A lot of controversy have been going around this marker; some good, some bad. But overall, this is a great marker. Nothing more, nothing less.

First of all, the accuracy with the stock barrel is pitiful. Simply pitiful. Topped with THE crappiest sight system I've ever seen, it does not help.

However, with a slightly longer barrel - Let's say a 10-incher - can dramatically increase its accuracy. Topped with a decent sight system, this gun will outperform many guns. As long as your Red-Dot sight doesn't break, that is.

ACCURACY: 7 w/stock setup, 9 w/aftermarket barrel
FACTORY SETUP: 5

The durability of the gun is just like the Tippmann quality... Rugged, reliable and virtually indestructible. You can get the AK-47 (Looks more like the 74, but whatever) mods and you can do pretty much the same thing to the marker as its real-life counterpart and will handle the same way. YOU CANNOT BREAK IT ON ACCIDENT. It's just not possible. I've heard some reports saying that the magazine breaks when hit, but that never happened, so as long as you take care of the whole gun things will stay intact.

DURABILITY: 10

The upgradability of the gun is incredible. What some markers have to get after purchase already comes with this gun. Military standard Picatinny Rails COVER this marker, making this the prickliest gun I've ever touched. And here's another thing: It comes with a removable shroud that could be tweaked just the way you want it. Some also complain that the shroud doesn't allow users to mount thicker barrels, but if you remove the ring that lines it thicker barrels could easily be mounted.

As mentioned on "recommended upgrades," I recommended the users to remove the side rails if they are not in use. Why? Because it hurts. The ends of those rails are like knives, and I've cut myself handling it. Plus, it allows the shroud to be held more like a rifle, if you like that kind of feel. After all, this gun was made to fit your needs.

Picatinny rails mean one thing: ACCESSORIZE. If you can put it onto a real gun, this gun can probably take it too. Want a vertical grip? Buy one. Mount one. Want lasers? Mount it. Want a bipod? Stick it on! Want a microwave oven? Put a rail adapter on that bad-boy and put it on. Anything that have a Picatinny or Weaver threading can be put on this gun.

UPGRADABILITY: 10

Reliability of this gun is impressive. The only ball break I've had was after using stale paint for velocity testing and backyard shooting. Never has a ball broken inside my hopper. Never. If you wanna get picky, sure, you can complain about this gas-guzzler of a gun... But I've gone 3 games without refilling my 24Oz. tank. And I even had some left over to do some messing around.

RELIABILITY: 10

Affordability is not something this gun is very good at. Priced at $300 on Special Ops and ActionVillage, this is currently the most expensive Tippmann gun. But you know what? The Cyclone EP is much faster than the A-5's, and the shroud and the rails would cost you an arm and a leg. If you want to get an A-5 and spend another $150 to get where the X7 is, go ahead, but this gun is worth the price in my opinion. So affordability, not so much. But Bang for the Buck factor? Definitely a 10.

AFFORDABILITY: 7
BfB FACTOR: 10

Appearance is vital to a product. A marker might be EXCELLENT. But if it looks like a piece of turd, then who'll buy it? The moment I saw this gun I was in love with it. And this has been my dream gun ever since I got my Spyder. If only I got this baby before the P.O.S. marker...

The love for milsim may or may not persuade a consumer from buying this gun. A lot of my friends complain how ugly it looks because of its rails. I say it looks practical. And it definitely looks sexy. In my opinion. But the important thing is that you have to have the guts to go against speedballers bashing the looks of this gun. Or for any milsim/Tippmann marker for that matter. Sure, this gun is not the lightest. Nor is it the smallest. And it definitely isn't the fastest. But if you take any of the $1000 speedball guns out in the desert... better go sell your kidney to get your gun repaired.

APPEARANCE: 10

Ergonomics decide how long a player can carry around his weapon for prolonged amounts of time. Although big and blocky, the X7 can be lugged around for literally hours without tiring me out. Compared to the A5, it feels much lighter. Why? Because it's balanced. Also, many features are set-up so that it feels right in your hands.

ERGONOMICS: 10
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this gun to any player that asks me which marker they'd like to get. Aside from a slightly hefty price tag, this gun is just too great. Sure, the stock barrel is crap, but so is a lot of guns.

And don't be fooled by people saying it's just a more expensive version of the A-5. Sure, it's more expensive, but the improvements are much greater than they say. So grab your piggy bank, smash it into pieces, and head to your local sports store today! Or anytime sooner! Or whatever!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rattenfanger Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98's, SP8's, IONs, you name it
Marker Setup: A5, remote, Vortex mod, Howitzer bolt, e-grip, 92" tank, OPSgear UPM kit, rickochet hopper, tons of paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell, E-grip, air thru stock, double trigger.
Strengths: Good platform, Light, Solid feel, gets better with time
Weaknesses: Lack of accessories ( for now), Price, Goofy mag/toolkit thing
Review: I got one yesterday and played with it thru the day
It's a hell of a lot lighter than my A-5, especially when you count all the mods I have done to the a5
When I first got it and hooked it up to my remote line it sounded like it had an internal air leak. I killed the air via my slide check and tried again. The air leak was gone. I think it was bone dry inside and pressurizing the marker for the first time pushed oil to all the seals in the marker. The first few paintballs chrono'ed in the low 300's so I cranked it down.
The new safety is great, more like the real thing again.
It's been a long time since I had a pure mech trigger so this took a bit to get used to. I like the feel of trigger, it takes about 3lbs of pressure to get a pull, which is fairly realistic, when compared to a real gun. This is a good thing, because it helps to conserve paint.
Usually with an e-grip or my Ion or sp8 I can blow thru 600-800 rounds per game.
It's fairly accurate, but being a brand spankin' new marker it needs to be worked it over time.
The offset hopper is nice but the lid kept on popping up, again it needs to be worked in and no problem there.
I'll probably loose the stock sights and up on a red-dot site, that's just my preference.
Off the field observations:
When I got it home I stripped it down and here is what I found...
Barrel: Stock -ka-ka what one would expect from a stock barrel. I tried to replace it but the smart parts linear barrel is too large to fit thu the forstock. The coke bottle shape won't fit thru the front or back of the forstock. you can rmove the spacer ftom the front of the grip, but I wasn't going that route yet...
The X-7 does accept A-5 threads, so I guess I need a new barrel. Definitely have to replace.
Forstock: heavy gauge plastic, secured by two locking pins. Rail City! i slapped my forgrip on it and now it looks evil.
Main body: Nice and light, I have a later serial number 000267xx, so this wasn't the first batch that were rushed to market.
There were some complaints about burring and poorly machined internals, I didn't see any thing like that so I will probably polish the internals, as usual.
The New Cyclone: other than the piston tube (which are vented) and the new cyclone paddles, it looks pretty much the same as an a-5.
Internally it's different but I didn't want to yank it apart, just yet.
The Trigger group assembly: totally different from an A-5, much sexier, due to the new safety switch and other things not cross compatable with the A-5.

Conclusion: On the whole, I like it.
I wil be selling my a-5 and replacing it with the X-7 as my primary woodball marker.
Just need some mods and aftermarket stuff for this platform.
A-5's will probably become phased out over time.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 6:51 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SPShocker135 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98 Custom & Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red NXT Shocker with Freak Kit, PMI 45/4500 LP tank, View Loader Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip, or if you want to make it tactical, a longer barrel and a stock
Strengths: Looks, places to mount scopes and other things, very customizable, accurate, low profile
Weaknesses: Slow trigger, hard trigger pull, still pretty heavy, feel
Review: I tested the Tippmann X-7 at a tournament in Springfield, MO, and I cannot say I was very impressed. It is a lot like the A5, just a lot more expensive. I can see someone using it for tactical games, but a definite no for speed-ball and small woods-ball courses. The accuracy seemed about the same as that of the A5 or the 98 custom, but I like the feel of both the 98 custom and the A5 a lot more than i like the feel of this gun. It looks pretty cool, but I see no difference in performance between the A5 and this marker. I guess this marker would be pretty nice to put a bunch of stuff on it and used it for tactical, but I don't really care for the stock model.
Conclusion: If you have a 98 Custom or A5 and are thinking about going to this model, don't. If you want a new gun for anything BESIDES tactical play, I strongly recommend and ION. They are cheaper and just all around better IN MY OPINION.. and for all you people complaining about me talking about an Ion like I said its just my opinion.. chill out. I am giving this marker a 6 because there is nothing totally horrible about it, but nothing great at all eather, especially for the price.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
32 Comments - Add Comment

TipX7 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
Tippmann A5
The Tippmann X7 is a lot better
Marker Setup: Tippmann x7(just basic)
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip
Double trigger
Longer barrel or get Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Feel
Looks
Performance
Accuracy
Light Weight
Conistent
Adaptability
High Rate Of Fire
Powerful
Weaknesses: Not any so far. I just didn't enjoy the price it was
Review: I am a woodsball player and feel that this marker is perfect for that purpose. Lots of mods. The X7 features a magnesium receiver, which offers the durability of aluminum, but is 20 percent lighter. It also incorporates an enhanced Cyclone Feed System that can feed more than 20 balls-per-second and a new low profile, offset hopper, which provides a clear sightline down the top of the marker. Plus, the X7 is the first marker to feature an air-through stock compatible system, which makes it easy to move the gas line to the back of the marker for better maneuverability and a more realistic appearance. GREAT MARKER.
Conclusion: Just a Great marker it is the best so far of the Tippmanns. This gun is accurate, fast and reliable. Doesn't get any better than this if you ask me!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media