paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
JoshFritts Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month66 of 79 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J 2 piece
Freak
DYE aluminum
JT 2 piece
Marker Setup: 2k cocker, shocktech stuff all over it, benchmark 45 trigger frame, ergo reg, ULTRALITE barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze
Strengths: This barrel is the MOST accurate barrel I've ever shot. Better than all the other barrels listed above that I've tried.
It's quiet, and simply looks badass.
14" seems to be a great length, not too long, but not too short either.
When looking down the end of the barrel, the bore step creates 2 perfect concentric circles, the tip and base of the barrel line up perfectly, even though this is the new style "screw" apart ultralite.
Weaknesses: I haven't found much bad about this barrel. I rarely have broken paint in this barrel, but when I did I found that this barrel isn't too great at shooting clean. But as long as you squeegee after a break, this barrel is back to 100%%. And this isn't really even a problem. I haven't broken hardly any paint while using this barrel.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this is the best barrel that I've EVER used. In fact, I usually keep an arsenal of barrels in my collection, but since I've gotten this barrel, I've sold all my other barrels because I'm confident I don't need any more than just this one.
I've heard a lot of theories about "glued" barrels being superior to "screw" barrels, but like I said, I have the new style "screw" dye ultralite and it is just amazing. Dye has really done a great job. The barrel lines up perfectly and hasn't disappointed me yet.
I used to think DYE was all hype and horribly overpriced, in fact I still do when it comes to many of their products, but this DYE ultralite was worth every penny (it helps that I got it for $55 shipped used, not sure if I would have paid full price, but I probably would have considering how impressed I am with this barrel).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: blue Spdyer Shutter with Dye Ultralite Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo, PMI premium (works the best, NEVER break), or most RPS
Strengths: Ok, First I know i dont have the best gun (and no nitrogen yet) But READ this
1. Light
2. Very very accurate, for about 65-75 feet (I dont have the best gun)
3. Pretty good distance, would work amazing on an autococker (dont have one)
4. Good barrel for 80$
5. Same as Boomstick but cheaper price
Weaknesses: 1. Scratchs easly, thats what happens with alumanuim barrels. Rarely is problem for me, as long as you dont run into things with it, it is no big deal
2. The same or a little quieter than my stock barrel, (I use CO2 now so it would deffinitly be A LOT quieter with nitrogen)

Conclusion: If you have a good gun and nitrogen it is perfect and you should DEFINITLY BUY THIS!! I don't know If I was excepting it to be better but it kinda disapointed me. I know it would be way better with a better gun and or Nitrogen. Also dont get a boomstick get this!! it is the same just lighter
1 - 10 (10 Best)
Wieght - 10
Accuracy - 10
Durability - 7
Quietness - 7 (with Co2) 9 (with Nitrogen)
Distance - 7 or 8 with a better gun would be higher 8 or 9
BUY IT!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 at 1:41 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Jonathan Sharpe Thursday, February 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only the tippmann stock barrel
Marker Setup: I have a model 98 with a 12'' dye ultralite barrel, ACI sub-zero 6 chamber expansion chamber, double trigger, phyco ballistics drop forward.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: EXTREMELY ACCURATE! I shot a 2000 case last time i played, didn't break one ball! It's fairly quiet, and hence the name its ultralite. You can also lay balls on top of each other at far distances. It's good for speedball or woodsball your choice.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing was the week of anticipation after I oredered it. Some think the price is a little steep but it's absolutely worth it.
Conclusion: If you have a tippmann 98 stock barrel this is a must!This barrel is amazing!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Texas Sniper Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have also used the freak system for my sniper, and the wgp 2 piece stock barrel.
- The freak compares to the ultralite but the ultralite blows the freak out of the water in accuracy.
-The wgp stock barrel is a great stock barrel but it does not even come close to the ultralite.
Marker Setup: I Have a wgp sniper 03, Ans Genex reg, a C.P. flame drop forward, Ans bottom line setup, and a 14 inch Dye ultralite.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Upon arrivial I did the blow test with 2 different paints, Pmi All-Star and Rps marbs. The marbs matched perfectley. Marbs are the best paint to shoot out of the ultralite! ( Marbs are the best paint period)!
Strengths: Accuracy is the best i have ever seen in a barrel,
distance is amazing!
Weaknesses: breaks are okay not the best to clean
Review: I took my ultralite for a test run and i simply loved it. It was more accurate than I expected it to be. I shot a head of a dandelion dead on from 30 feet in one carefully lined up shot. During playing at the park Iroke a ball in my barrel it was my mistake,I pumped my gun wrong. Then Ipulled out my battle swab in one swipe my barrel was back to 100%
Conclusion: This barrel is great with the accuracy of a boomstick and the weight of the j and j ceramic barrel. I have this barrel on my pump autococker called the sniper, I cant keep up with other guns in rate of fire so my gun has to be dead on accurate that is why I chose the ultralite. I had the choice of any other barrel but in my oppinion and many other people's oppinions the ultralite is the most accurate barrel in the sport of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

danschroeder89 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: The marker I tested it on was a 98 custom with ultralight barrel, hot shot dot sight with a 20 ounce tank............a bit back heavy with the ultralight, but after a minute or two of holding the gun your already used to it
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs(RPS is the way to go)
diablo dusk(great paint and very cheap)
pmi premiums
Strengths: ACCURACY IS AMAZING
Weaknesses: Range Isn't the best
Review: If you are looking for a barrel totally made for accuracy you've found it, this barrel is amazingly accurate. The lightness of the barrel is interesting, one squeegee and the barrel is brand new looking, although if your shooting marbs through this you should not be breaking anything(in the barrel for that matter) I play a lot of woods ball with two big forts about 100 feet away. my friend is the one with the ultralight, I popped a mask up about 5 separate times before parting my base to test his accuracy. Out of the 5 times the extra mask was in the air he fired 7 shots, 6 of them landed on the mask from 100 feet. I shot his gun after the game and was swept away how accurately I was shooting.

This gun does not have the range as other barrels, and no im not just saying that because I have a flatline, I have used a many barrels with better range. If your a front player this is definitely the barrel for you. If not it's not like this gun is going to go 100 feet and die.

If your a sniper I would recommend this barrel to you anyway, just get a little closer to your targets.
Conclusion: This is the only barrel that makes me wonder if I should give up my A-5 flatline system for an ultralight. I am trying to decide as I am typing this review right now. Buy this, you will NOT be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2003 at 9:01 am PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

mrbillwebb Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-American- Highly accurate but fell just under this beauty
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
18" Two piece Ultralite .688 bore
CP On/Off
Aluminum Bolt Cap
so lite

Spyder Imagine, 16 inch SP All American .688 bore
48/3000 pure energy steel tank, revy loader w/ x board
Delrin bolt, pilot acs trigger frame, shocktech lpc., drop forward.
weighs a ton...
'04 Prostock Autococker, E1 Eblade with Zero b board
18 inch two piece SP All American .688 bore
Orracle CT 3-way, Chipley Custom Machine Ram
Slik Pull Pin, Orracle delron two-piece bolt
CP On/Off Rail
Also weighs a ton...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mmmm. Perfection?
Strengths: VERY Accurate, VERY light, VERY sexy, VERY quiet
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Absolutely love this barrel, took it over to park and shot at light poles and it only misses because of my aiming, it fired straight everytime and nailed whatever I pointed it at at any distance the gun could reach, I love how it looks and I love how light it is, although on my proto rail it's one of the heavier parts of my gun.
Conclusion: Buy buy buy buy buy, couldn't recommend a better barrel, using a freak kit with inserts is such a terrible idea, at high rates of fire the insert can start spinning inside the barrel and killing the accuracy of the shooter. Stick to using backs!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IamBatman Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts- Teardrop, progressive, all-american, freak-The freak and all american compare somewhat, but the others dont come close.
32 Degrees-ice cold, whisper-don't come close
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash Lcd, with upgraded bolt, and ESP electronic Frame
DYE 14" Boomstick
Check It 15* Assault Block
VL 12V Revy w/ X-board
68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Hellfire or Marbillizer
Strengths: Light, Very Accurate, Two Piece, and Excellant Honing
Weaknesses: None, but longer barrels require you to turn up velocity
Review: The barrel is extremely accurate and well made. I would recommend it too anyone. If you are a front player, get a 12". Mid players should get 12" or 14". And if you are a back player I would get a 14" or 16" barrel. Pick the right size, and the barrel will kick ass. Make sure that with longer barrels you turn up the velocity otherwise balls will drop right in front of you.
Conclusion: Great Barrel. buy it if you are willing to spend more that 80$ on a barrel. Best in its price range definately.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

scenarioplayer9 Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
Freak
Kaner Kit
Stiffi
ghetto barrels
Marker Setup: WGP E-Orracle
Eclipse Ram and 2 QEV's
Zero B
45/45 PE Tank
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
good ones...marballizer is my favorite
Strengths: accurate
light
cheaper than boomstick
colors
its by DYE
Weaknesses: Price i guess
Review: hey whats up

had a 14" UL on my ion...shot great...extremely good ball on ball accuracy.

To this day i will stand by that Dye makes the best barrels...the Boomsticks are the nicest and most accurate barrel i have ever used...PPS is good to.

If you are thinkin about getting a freak kit....stop...get 2 dye backs and a tip (if u want multiple bores) for the same price....the freak is ok....but its accuracy isnt special...Dye barrels really are the most accurate barrel out there
Conclusion: Great product....get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PMOURT Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 DEGREES WHISPER 14"
EMPIRE TWISTER 16"
STOCK 9"

Marker Setup: SPYDER VICTOR
KINGMAN ESP CAMD TRIGGER
KINGMAN ACS BOLT
DYE DROP FWD
DYE AIRPORT
TRINITY VA
PURE ENERGY REGULATOR
16" DYE ULTRALITE
32 DEGREES SPRING KIT
EMPIRE HOPPER
BOB LONG GUAGE
Recommended
Paintballs:
EVIL (THE BEST MATCH I FOUND)
HELLFIRE (GREAT SHELL)
ALL STARS (A LITTLE SMALLER, GOOD TO ALLOW FOR EXPANSION IN THE SUMMER)

Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Clean look
Weaknesses: With the 16" you use a little more air
Picky on paint
Review: When I got this barrel, i was expecting a great product since it came from Dye. I couldn't afford a Boomstick so I got this after learning that it is the same barrel just made out of aluminum instead. i was right. When people say they get shots grouped within a foot of each other with other barrels, I can honestly say that i lay shots on top of each other with the ultralite. For woods, the 16" that i got is great and the porting and length add to the quietness. For speedball, I usually use my 32* because it is shorter and heaver allowing me to balance the gun better with the tank. You need good paint because as with any bad paint to bore match, you will break if its too big and hook if its too small. Since its a pro grade barrel, i figure to use tourney paint. if your field does not allow you to bring your own paint, get the best they offer; with the precision of the Dye barrel, you cannot afford to be too big or to have breaks. if you do break (which rarely happened to me), flip the gun upside down and shoot it clean it will clean itself in about 5-6 shots.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel, when a game is on the line and you are on a 3-1and need the precision to knck them out, you will be glad to fly the dye flag and win.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ryman12 Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boomstick
stock barrels for the a5, mr1 and 98c
Marker Setup: spyder mr1
dye ultralight
acp lowblow bolt
esp e-frame
ricochet ak
Recommended
Paintballs:
any decent sized paint will be fine but midnight and visible impact seem to be some of the best
Strengths: Light, accurate, decent price.
Weaknesses: A little weaker than some barrels, just be careful.
Review: The dye ultralight is a very good barrel for its price, it isn't really that picky about paint but I wouldn't say that you could accurately shoot really cheap paint. I was able to get a 1 and 1/2 foot grouping at 75 feet with midnight paint, which in my book is pretty good. The only thing that you have to watch out for is banging it around as it is a little bit more fragile than other barrels, but if your careful you will be fine.
Conclusion: It is a good barrel for its price, and it will not let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media