paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / New Designz ION Scorpion Frame / New Designz ION Scorpion Frame / New Designz ION Scorpion Frame / New Designz ION Scorpion Frame / New Designz ION Scorpion Frame

New Designz ION Scorpion Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount New Designz

Buy New Designz ION Scorpion Frame

Paintball Ion Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


New Designz ION Scorpion Frame
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ION Scorpion Frame

All NEW Ultra Lite ION frame. Included features (base) version. Also offered as a combo kit, which adds a reversible 15* ASA and roller blade trigger.

*
recessed body mount screws
*
Ultra Lite, only 6.8 oz thats only 192grams w/asa
*
includes straight asa
*
magnetic trigger return
*
combo kit avail. shown on right (w/15* asa and trigger)
*
side adjust trigger pre-travel
*
switchable left or right side gauge port
*
15* asa doubles as 15* rear facing
*
built in snatch grip
*
huge finger area
*
revised on/off button area, for easier on or off's
*
built in rail, direct ASA mounting

Includes on/off button and all hardware for mounting
Product Availability 
The New Designz ION Scorpion Frame is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
MISTRO Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This frame replaced my stock frame.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Tadao board
NDZ Vortec body
Freak barrel kit
NDZ blade trigger
Contract Killer grenade grips
Virtue easy on button
Smart Parts clamping feedneck
XSV drop forward
XSV on/off
CP regulator
HALO B with rip drive loader
CP 68/45 nitro tank
CP ball detents
Virtue eyes


Strengths: Very light, threaded trigger mount, two finger snatch grip, large slotted trigger guard, great milling.
Weaknesses: Designers should have considered the shapes of aftermarket and stock grips.
I trimmed grip front.
Review: The SCORPION frame from NDS is great. My board even fit better than it did in the stock frame. Their attention to detail is great except for the grips. Holes line up great but there is a gap between the frame front and grip rubber. Trimming takes care of this.
I have the silver model with 90 degree reg mount. Feels and looks AWESOME! I've had many players come up to me and ask " what kind of gun is that?" When I tell them that it is an ion they are very surprised. Usually saying " that's the baddest ion i've ever seen!" This weapon shoots fast and straight! And now that i'm getting used to it, my kill count is getting better and bettter. The top front trigger adjustment should have a longer point on it for a finer adjustment. But it is still a good idea. The two fingered snatch grip is comfortable and well balanced with a drop forward.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT product! If you can afford it highly reccomend it. A 10 rating would be "perfect" and they are almost there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

snakes085 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Ion trigger frame?
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Blackheart board
NDZ Scorpion trigger frame
NDZ QEV
NDZ aluminum saw trigger
NDZ spring loaded ball detent
Shocktech reg
Shocktech clamping feedneck
Hybrid Lady grips
Hybrid push button on-off
Freak barrel kit
Empire Reloader B
Pure Energy 48/3000
Strengths: Awesome milling, light, large trigger guard
Weaknesses: Power button is not "easier" as advertised
Review: I just received this frame and installed it. The milling is awesome, as is the built-in snatch grip, and built in ASA rail. However, the recessed area NDZ advertised as as easier on-off button is actually a lot harder, requiring you to press quite hard to make contact with the button. The trigger guard is enormous, a huge plus, and it has an added feature of having a screw in trigger pin. No more tapping out the friction pin on the stock trigger frame . The only other beef I had was that the grips overhang in the front just a hair.....easily remedied though..
Conclusion: Two thumbs up! This frame looks great, feels good! If your in the market for a new trigger frame, I urge you to consider this product!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 at 9:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pantherfan88 Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion trigger frame
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Virtue Boad, Pro EQ bolt, Sp 360 QEV, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Hybrid Virtue Grip, Q lock feed neck, New Designz Roller Trigger, New Designz Scopian frame, Virtue'd Viewloader Vlocity (Basically nothing stock except for the reg)

Smartparts NXT Nasty Shocker #27 Tadao Board
Strengths: Super light!!!
Weaknesses: None yet...price maybe
Review: This is a little pricey especailly if your mommie doesn't buy you paintball stuff for you... It breaks the bank but it's worth it because its soooo d@mn light!!! My ion is soooo light now.....my brother wants to get it for his ion ( he always copies me whenever i put an up in my gun...
Conclusion: Awesome if you can afford it and awesome even if you cant!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

iliveforthis99 Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most any aftermarket frame.
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Ion: Black Shocktech Shell, 12" Powerlyte Scepter Barrel, VP NDZ Saw trigger, NDZ Breach, Virtue on/off power sticker, NDZ QEV, Blue NDZ Clamping Feedneck, Kila Reaction Detents, Lucky Stage 1 LBM w/ Bolt Stop, Blue Stage 2, Blue/Back Unimount, Blue Hybrid Contract Killer Grips, NDZ Scorpion frame, Evolve PI Reg, Smoke LCD Apache, Crossfire 68/45k.
Strengths: Nice feel, cool looks, light built in rail.
Weaknesses: Doesn't like VP Scythe trigger.
Review: Very nice frame imo. It's lighter and it's not powder coated like the stock frame so big pluses there. The trigger guard is larger giving you more room and the hump on the back is more comfortable then the flat slightly edged stock frame. The screw holes are recessed giving you a nicer, cleaner look. The scorpion snatch grip looks wicked even if you don't like snatch grips. The trigger pivot point is also an improvement over the stock frame, i have nearly zero side to side play w/ my Saw trigger. My only dislike with this frame is that the VP Scythe trigger doesn't work with it which was a bummer since i really like those styles of triggers.
Conclusion: If you're thinking about getting it then get it you won't be disappointed. I'm going to give it a 9 since not all triggers work with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock frame
Marker Setup: Speedball
Ion , Q-lock Feed neck, Hollow Point Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel, Halo V-35 with Rip, Foehn 2.5 Body, Scorpion Frame

Woodsball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, colapseable stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Strengths: Light
Weaknesses: The 15 degree asa, but thats my opinoin
Review: I bought this as NDZ had it on sale for $50. The fit and finish is perfect. Complements the rest of my upgrades well. My only problem with the frame is the 15 degree asa. I tried it out 1st thinking it would help make the marker more compact but it put the reg too close to the trigger for me to use it and when reversed it opened the trigger enough but was uncomfortable. Mine was the combo kit so I got the trigger as well and let me say the trigger is sweat. I have a CP slingblade on my stock frame but the NDZ trigger is better. I preffer magnets anyway, they are crisper.
Conclusion: Definatly worth it especialy since NDZ has it on sale.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcsoerhen Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion trigger frame.
Marker Setup: Ion, Shocktech Feedneck, QEV, L7 Bolt, Scorpion Frame, Roller Blad Trigger, Redz Grips, Easy On/Off ASA, Crossfire Red 68ci 4500psi
Strengths: Super Light
Ergonomics
Board and Battery fit tight and clean
On/Off easier to use
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: I bought this trigger frame the other day for the ion I was building and, good Lord, is this thing light. This frame is unbelievable. My hand feels exponentially better in this frame rather than the stock frame. I purchased the ultimate package so it came with the roller blade trigger as well. Trigger fits great. No wobble like the stock frame and trigger. The pull is short and tight. New designz definitely has a winner.

The built in Snatch grip is comfortable and easily accessible. Great balance when held using the Snatch.

With the dovetail and two hole mounting options on bottom, my easy on/off is even smaller considering I no longer need the adapter therfeore cutting out 3/8" of the vertical profile. Every fractional margin helps.

The frame uses 45 grips, so my Redz grips just screwed right on.

There is actually a milled guideline for the board to seat comfortably in. Looking down through the frame the milling allows the board to slide in easily without any damage. All parts fit in nicely and neatly.

I like the option that I can mount my reg in the stock 90 degree position, but you are also given the option to mount in a 15 degree angle. Very nice.

The battery fits in snugly so no clanking around in the frame.

When purchased you are supplied with an on/off button designed to be easier to use than the original ion on/off. You mount the button. It does function slightly better than the original but not by a vast margin.

The actual trigger guard is huge, so your fingers will fit in there even if you wear mittens. Very spacious and comfortable.
Conclusion: I suggest that if you need a new look for your ion and you want to customize a little bit go with the frame. It looks good, feels good and perfroms how you expect it to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock frame
Marker Setup: ION
Red Q-lock
Firebolt
360 QEV
Kila detents
HALO B w/ victory
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Red NDZ Frame
Red CP rail
Black CP on/off ASA
Red NDZ S-Treme Trigger
Hybrid Lady Grips
14" Powerlyte Sceptor Kit
Strengths: Light, easier use of the on/off button, trigger adjustment... see review
Weaknesses: Trigger screw was short (NDZ, shipped a new one)
grips don't fit perfect
Review: packaging was good, anno was flawless and this frame is as light as it gets out of the box.

The frame itself has 2 points of adjustment for he trigger and uses a screw to hold it in position. Thats right no more hitting it with a hammer! The only down side to this is my old CP trigger wouldn't fit because the barrings in it have too small an inner diameter to fit the pin correctly. (I think this is where the CP gets its slop from when in the stock frame) It didn't matter to me anyway because I switched over to an NDZ trigger anyway. The NDZ trigger in the frame is perfect. Zero slop and the trigger moves like butter. Since I already had a NDZ trigger I used that, but trigger switch screw I had was a bit short. I called NDZ and they sent a whole new set of screws the next day.

The only thing I wish they would have changed is how the grips fit. My Hybrids don't fit flush in the front with the frame. I don't mind it and its actually a little cushy because of this, but up close it looks a little odd. They also should include the 15* as well. The straight ASA doesn't suit the rest of the frame and looks a little odd. I could do without the gage port all together actually.

The frame itself is increadably comfortable. The anno is good as well. The few oz lighter add up when combined with other upgrades as well.
Conclusion: I would suggest this frame to others in the market. Not only does it work great, but its not something every ION owner has more original than the traditional v2 and stage 5 combo.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 17th, 2007 at 4:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media