paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007

Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2007

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2007
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Weight

So what about the weight? Well, let’s just say, you thought the SL66 was light, right? Well the 07 blows that out of the water. Side-by-side with a standard Maniac Ego 06, the new Ego weighs over 230grams, yes 8 OUNCES LESS. 8 OUNCES!!!

Lighter, less kick, quieter signature, more compact, fewer seals, more reliable, more performance, more features, tighter profile, better looks, more adjustability, reduced operating pressure, improved grip ergonomics, easier maintenance etc, etc, etc.
The Ego7 is not just a new milling job, it’s a revelation.

Technical Specifications

All Weights and Measurements Include 14” Barrel, On/Off/Purge System , Battery etc.
Full Set-Up Ready to Go:

Length: 531mm
Height: 216mm
Width: 26mm
Weight: 941g / 2.07 lbs

Feature List

• NEW Ultra-Lightweight Monoform Body
• Deftek Offset Feed Tube
• NEW Flusher-Fitting Eye Covers
• NEW Integrated Rammer Housing
• NEW Integrated FRM
• NEW Lightweight Rammer
• NEW Larger Valve Chamber
• NEW High-Flo Valve
• NEW Lower Operating Pressure
• NEW Swivel Stainless Banjo QEV
• NEW Micro + Opto Switch Board
• NEW Duel Instrument Grade Ball-Raced Trigger
• Magnetic Trigger Return
• NEW Skinny-Fit Co-Moulded Rubber E-Star Grips
• NEW T-Slot Rail Mounting System
• Capped and Uncapped Semi and Ramping Modes
• 9 Debounce Modes
• NEW 07 Cure Bolt
• NEW Direct-Acting Solenoid
• LCD Display
• NEW Swivel In-Line Regulator
• NEW Lever Operated Clamping Feed
• NEW Shaft II 2-Piece 14” 0.693” Barrel
• NEW 07 On/Off/Purge System
• Lower Cyclic Mass
• Less Kick
• Quieter Shot
• Same Excellent Efficiency
• Low Profile Break-Beam Eyes
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Geoffy_Harrison Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months166 of 182 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies
Cyborg
Promaster
Legend
Marker Setup: Platinum Ego7
Reloader B
68 4500 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its an Ego, Therefore IMO it needs no ups, but for sombody picky a barrel kit would be nice( planet is releasing one soon :Tup:)

VERY FAST LOADER
Strengths: VERVERY LIGHT
Very Fast
Super Efficiant
Small
Crazy Thin
Weaknesses: No weaknesses IMO, like i said above
Review: Alright, First off, I have shot about every gun on the market before I got the 07 Ego and I can say that this gun is the best one I have EVER shot. It shoots increadibly smoothly and its very tight. Alright so on to the main review

Accuracy- I have no gripes here, the ego has constantly peformed exellent with every type of paint i have put through it ( From Evil to Premium). The Accuracy is litterally ball on ball and its increadably easy to hit things with this gun.

Weight- Besides the Invert Mini ( which is like .1 ounce lighter) this is the lightest gun on the market. I used to own an Ion, and after picking this up and picking my ion up, the ion (besides feeling like garbage compared to this) feels like a brick.

Size- I have not compared charts, but the ego is definatly one of the smallest guns on the market and definatly the thinest. If youve seen the pictures that comparing the thinness to the 06 ego (which is very thin to), you know what im talking about when i say its super thin.

Speed- The guns speed is only limited by the hopper in this case, i can shoot 30-32 balls a second with a reloader B, i recomend a pulse

Efficiancy- The efficiancy on this gun is great, i used crazy less air then usual

Chrono Test- The Chrono test was very good, by the third day of play i had (feild limit is 250) 247, 249, 247, 250, 245


Conclusion: I would recomend this gun above all others. All high end guns are pricy, but if your going to dish out 1200$, the ego is the only one i would go for. This product is the only one on the market that deserves a 10/10 in my opinion

Please rate this reveiw HELPFULL or UNHELPFULL and or COMMENT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

gustafsons@cox. Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months98 of 103 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
(Owned)Black Magic Autococker - bolt is visible and removable for easy clean
Many others that have been tried but not owned
Marker Setup: 07 Ego
Pulse RF Chip
Pulse Loader
Dye Peanut 4500psi 70ci

Black Magic Autococker (STOLEN) F@#K!!!
Dye Boomstick 16" (STOLEN) Double F@#K!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
apsolutely NONE!
Strengths: light_-_-_-_-_-
fast------------
accurate>>>>>>
air efficient
HOT
very customizable
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Ego= perfection
(cost isn't a weakness!)
Review: --My thoughts--
The 07 ego is competing for the best gun in the world. It is in the TOP 3 according to different players and their personal preferences. (customized markers are only according to its year's model and upgrades)

--First Impression--
Once I recieved this gun from my local pro shop I was amazed before i even opened the box! Anyone could tell that P.E. puts all of their energy into all aspects of what they sell. When I saw that the box was amazing I knew that whatever was inside would blow me away. When the box was opened before me it was as if the gates of heaven were announcing this new bible from the angles of Eclipse! jk...lol...but something like that.

--Performance--
This guns performance is so !GREAT! that words can barely describe its perfection. The best I got- Shoots like a dream!

ACCURACY- Best on the Market!
From about 40-50 feet away it is ball on ball (depending on what the grade of paint used). Getting people along the snake has never been so easy! If a ball brakes (most likely caused by bad paint or turnig off of the eyes and a slow loader) then the accuracy is still great, but not as good as if the barrel was clean. --Enough Said--
LIGHT- One of the lightest on the market.
The 07 Ego weighs a couple ounces more than 2lbs! This gun feels like a feather compared to its parents! In the end; weight matters! Only a few guns weigh less than this; invert mini is all I know... People believe that weight doesn't matter when it does. When you are carrying something that weighs a lot might not seem like you can suck it up, but after a while it feels like the weight has multiplied-annoying!
FAST- Unlimited firing ability!
You get to choose the types of firing and how you want to make that kind of firing type work the way that makes you the most comfortable. One of the firing options that you control is either the micro switch or the opti switch. The switch is just a trigger pull(mouse click). The opti is electronic where you decide where you want the trigger peice to pass so that the gun relizes that the trigger has been pulled (you customize it by percentages). Semi Auto has unlimited firing capability.
TRIGGER- Comfortable...
The trigger is extremely adjustable. You get to change how loose the trigger is, how tight the trigger is, how close the firing rod is to the microswitch, etc... Something I really like about the trigger is that there are built in magnets inside the trigger! The magnet is the screw: turnig to the right makes the magnet stronger- likewise for the other way.
LCD- Makes using a paintball gun less confusing and more customizable.
The LCD is half and inch by one inch. In the beginning there are only 3 options to choose from. If you want the entire layout open up grip and find the small, red button above the battery. It gives you full access to all options and alows you to do anything. Another thing I like about the LCD/Grip frame is that it uses far less energy than any normal grip frame (ultralite). Ex: In the options you can decide how much energy you want to put into the iiiiiii - either low energy or high. Things like that which makes this gun superior to many high guns on the market is its options and its customobility to fit into your comfort zone.
REGULATOR- Perfect
There is no need for a new regulator! The eclipse regulator uses very littly air for each shot making it one of the most air afficient regulators for a paintball gun.This regulator is very consistent! Don't expect the regulator to work perfect at start: It is a good idea to put at least a case of paint through it for it's best performance. When it is at its best it is very consistent; (actual data) 276-269-271-272-271-273-270.
LOW PRESSURE REGULATOR (LPR)- Astounding!
The LPR works great! The 07 Ego is known very well for its ability to work at a very low operating pressure- 50psi!
BOLT- Excellent!
Egos are well known for there body and access to the bolt by just pulling the pin out. By having the bolt exposed it is very easy to clean and remove the bolt for anything. The bolt is made from a plastic called delrin which is used to self-lubricate itself. For the best performance put 2 drops of the Eclipse oil inside the ASA of the gun and dry fire about 10 times to fully lube up the internals such as the regulator. It is a good idea to manualy lubricate your bolt every time you play to prevent friction.
BARREL- New barrel is NOT needed!The barrel is beautiful. I have compared to the boomstick that is made by DYE PRECISION: EGO Barrel-Milling is a lot better on the inside where the second barrel trace is not visible making the conversion for the paintball seem as if it were going down a one-peice barrel (some of the best). This one is truly an exeption! The DYE Boomstick- has the same milling in the middle of each peice as the 07 EGO, but does not have seemed conversion point where as it is visible to spot the ring where the 2 barrels join (looking straight down the barrel). The barrel also has the benifit of reverse threading of the conection of the first and second barrel peices. Whenever I would go to take of my old boomstick barrel, sometimes the end would be overtightened and would be a problem to remove because of the autocockers accessories(solenoid, ram, etc.). Taking off a barrel has never been easier.
FEED NECK- It FITS!!!
Most stock guns have had the problem of fitting fast feed hoppers onto them without replacing them. I can insure you that this feedneck will fit any fast/force feed hopper on the market! --!!Warning!!-- Do not over-tighten the feedneck for a long period of time without the neck of a hopper inside of it! Over-tightening it will cause the feedneck's space for the neck to become smaller!
ASA- Got what you payed for!
The ASA(part of the gun that connects to your air source) is great for decompressing your air supply without having to unscrew it. The ASA uses a different kind of attachment to the gun: it uses "T" slotts to attach it to the gun which is proven to be stronger than the original "V" slots which can break if a blow is taken to it.

--Cleaning--
Cleaning a paintball gun has never been so easy! Just wipe it down after a day of paintball, clean the barrel(If needed), and clean and re-lube the bolt for its next use!

--Milling--
I have never seen a better looking gun before in my life! The milling is grade A----PERFECT! Trust me, you will not let go of this gun when you own it. It is obvious that this gun has been shaved down until there is almost little or no needed scrap metal onto the gun. It is not shaven down enough to break. Besides, it is made from very light, strong metals to insure that it WON'T break.

--Weaknesses--
NONE
Some people believe that the little distance between the iiiiii cover and the trigger frame is a weakness when it actually isn't; it is exactly .35 of a millimeter! Stop complaning! If you get shot in that EXACT spot then a very little amount of paint will get inside that crack and do nothing! Behind the eye wires is the gun...trust me, if you get shot there then just wipe off the paint from the outside. If you feel really paranoid then take off the iiiiiii cover and wipe it! Not that big of a deal! Just because you found a gun that is perfect doesn't entitle you to make a big deal over nothing! No real critic would care about such a miniscule thing as that!
Conclusion: I have tried most of the guns that are considered to be in the top 10 and this BLOWS them away on stock! No upgrades or anything! This gun exceeds in every field considered. Believe me when i say this; you will LOVE the 07 Ego if you choose to use it or buy it! If you have any questions contact me at gustafsons@cox.net
If you have this gun you know for a fact that 10 is NOT enough for a rating!

PLEASE RATE MY REVIEW: HELPFULL or UN-HELPFULL
If I am un-helpfull in any way please leave me a comment. If you want to ask a question contact me on the email address above or leave a comment. Thanks-
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Outkast-Spike Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Ego6, - similar performance, but the "feel" isn't even close

DM6, PM6 U/L, PM5's - similar "feel" due to the Ultralite frames, but performance isn't quite up to the Ego7.
Marker Setup: Ego7 - Stock

Ego6 w/
Dark Frame Maniac Board

Deadly Wind Barrel
Too much more too list
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is decent (.693), but I suppose you could go there.

A good hopper would be smart
Strengths: It does everything you want it to do, and with style.
Weaknesses: Some of the first run has/had solenoid issues.
Price/availability
Review: I was giddy when I received my box full of '07 goodness on Dec. 16th. I immediately aired it up, no leaks (good!) and proceeded to thrash my '07 all day long. It felt so tiny in my hands compared to my Ego6. The performance was outstanding out of the box, it was factory tuned very well. [ Thanks to Planet Employee "Robert" , good work man!]
Efficiency was also very good, using a 68/4500 tank, I noticed I used slightly less air than I normally do.

The dual trigger options (opti and micro switch) is a very nice feature. I prefer the opti method, while others like the "click" of a micro. I'd suggest backing out the micro switch screw in the trigger if you're using opti to save wear and tear on the micro switch.

One of the best features not mentioned most places is the tournament lock feature of the new 3.00 software/board. It doesn't function the same as past models. You can leave it "off" and not have to constantly open the grips to access the board's red button. Very cool.
Conclusion: All in all, everyone's tastes are different, but for me, I haven't put this down to pick up another marker since I've had it and don't see myself doing so in the future. I've used my Ego7 in two hardcore practices and one tournament so far with no issues whatsoever.

If you can afford it, get one. If not, definitely try to get a Planet Eclipse product. You can't go wrong. Customer support is second to none.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xsv06 Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
protos
dm's
timmies
etek egos
Marker Setup: etek ego
upgrades:
virtue board
everything else is stock

Smart parts Ion
upgrades:
shocktech drop
shocktech on/off
q lock feed neck
black heart board
lucky bolt
freak barrel
blade trigger
qev

Ego7
stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing

Strengths: Fast
Very quiet for an ego
Nice milling
Light
absolutely no kick
user friendly
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have only tested this product. The ego 07 is a big step from the 06 ego. Yes, people do say its practically the same. From what i have tested there are some big differences.
The 07 ego is very quiet and egos are not known for being quiet. My etek is very loud compared the 07 ego. There is even less kick in the 07 ego. It is a tiny bit lighter than the 06 models. It comes stock with a great barrel. The stock board is very good, personally when i get my 07 ego im staying stock. When i chronoed the ego it was 271, 284, 286, 292, 279 pretty good speed. The trigger frame is very nice. On semi I was able to shoot at least 15 bps easily. The guy at the store didnt let me play with it but i was content just testing it. (Sorry this review is a little biased, but when i actually get my 07 ego I will be editing this into a more solid review)

EDIT December 26
Finally after saving up for the ego7 Santa managed to help me get one. I had already tested this gun in the past so nothing really surprised me. Last time when i only tested the gun I never really played with the board settings or anything. After receiving the ego7 I spent time playing with the board. I was pretty amazed on how user friendly it was. The settings were very good. It included most tournament setttings, ramping, semi, uncapped rapping ETC (i have not tried all modes). I aired it up and just for fun set it on uncapped ramping. My halo could not keep up with the ego's uncapped ramping. This guns speed is soo good im going to have to save up for a pulse loader now. Im still impressed with the ego even after testing it.
Conclusion: The 07 ego is a hardcore kickass gun, it is one of the best guns out there. Planet Eclipse did an excellent job on making the ego even better. I recommend this gun to all players (lol this gun will boost up a noobs confidence in a flash). It may be pricy but the performance you get out of it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Ultraraptor Sunday, December 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM's, PM's, Ego's, Timmies, and other high ends
Marker Setup: Black/Red DM6, Reloader B with speed feed, Ignition 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different barrel if your picky
Strengths: LIGHT!!!!
nice milling
relatively small
little loud
trigger
Weaknesses: Gap between eye cover and grip frame
trigger guard
Review: Well first off, let me say that this has to be the best 07 marker I've seen/shot. It has the largest improvements over its 06 version whereas other 07 models barely improved their 06 parents. Now the review.

I only tested this marker but that was enough to say that this was an awesome marker. The first major improvement was wieght. I was just holding my friend's 06 ego when I saw my friend walk onto the field with his brand new blue 07 ego. I naturally asked to hold it and my jaw dropped. The 07 ego is almost half the wieght of the 06 ego from the feel of it. It felt like a feather after holding an 06 ego. The marker felt like it could have been make of plastic it was so light. You easily felt like you could break it in your hands due to the weightlessness of this marker.

The milling was pretty nice on the marker. It's definately a different type of style than the 05 and 06 egos had but it's not much better IMO. The milling and anno was flawless but the curves on it were not jaw dropping.

When I shot the marker I was in heaven. Very little kick, a little loud, but the trigger was just a joy to play with. Very light, snappy, responsive, with no side to side play. It was also very easy to shoot fast. I was very pleased with the trigger. The marker was also very accurate. It shot beautiful, clean, tight ropes. All were just ball on ball at 50 ft.

Now the bad.

One thing I noticed when I was looking the body of the marker over was that there's a gap between the eye cover and the grip frame. It's barely the width of pen tip but that's more than enough for paint to get into. Noticing this set me off a little from the marker because a shot to the grip frame and you could have paint all on your board and selonoid. Not a good thing or a fun activity of cleaning.

Also, I wasn't a fan of the trigger guard. This is a personal pet peeve because my fingers move a lot when I shoot so the size of the trigger guard kinda bugged me. I'm used to the large and spacious trigger guard of the UL frame for my DM6 so when I shot the 1/3 size smaller trigger framed ego, my fingers kept hitting the trigger guard which was just annoying and felt kind of uncomfortable.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker. It's extremely light, easy to shoot ropes with, and a good looking marker. I would give this marker a 10 based everything else but because of that gap between the eye cover and grip I'm gonna give it a nine because that would have been an easy fix to leave just a tad bit more metal at the machine shop. Still, it's a very nice marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Vermillion63100 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Dark Ego, 06 Ego, 05 Ego, DM5, DM6, Angel G7 Fly, Angel G7, Evil Minion, Smart Parts Impluse, Smart Parts Ion, Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 06 Dark Ego, Ego 7, Halo B, Freak Barrel with all american 14" tip with both aluminum and steal inserts, 14" shaft and shaft 2 barrel's, 68 cu. in. 5000psi Evil HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit (Recomend a Freak kit w/ steal inserts)
Pulse Hopper (accessory)
45/4500 tank (accessory)
Strengths: Weight
Profile
Speed
Board Features (Compared to previous models)
Owners Manual
Weaknesses: Price
Availability
Shaft 2 Barrel
Break in period
Fit and finish of all body components
Review: First I just wanna say that I'm am very picky about details involving Ego's cause I hold them at such a high standard in comparison to other markers out on the market. I've seen and used all eclipse products on the market and know what to expect from the engineers at planet eclipse. I got my Ego 7 and was impressed with the new case design it was packaged in because it was smaller then all previous years and it has areas for storing extra barrels in the upper case half (case has hinges and is made up of 2 halves and locking clasps). The only thing missing from the case is a carrying handle which would help if you keep your marker in its case when your transporting it. Next thing I looked at is the fit and finish of all the milling work done on the gun. The gun is sweet. Definately able to notice the weight differance and the profile of the gun which helps on break shooting and keeping tucked on your bunkers. I Have yet to see a "thinner" gun on the market then this one. There are some flaws with the fit of some components though. The eye covers do not fit flush against the "grips" leaving a small gap and exposing the eye wiring on both sides. I don't believe this to be a problem with the eye covers themselves but instead the trigger frame. If held up to back lighting you notice there is a gap that goes along the entire trigger frame of the gun where it meets the main body. (All it means is that more paint might get inside the body with marker shots. This is really a minor thing in comparison to the guns abilities though). The eye covers are recessed to keep them more flush with the rest of the "main body" and like previous models, can be easily removed to clean the eyes. The new ASA purge system is nice cause it incorporates the new T design. It deffinately helps keep your tank on the gun when your diving into your bunkers. Now for the trigger and trigger frame. The grips are very nice and are very comfortable like previous models. The trigger guard does have slightly less space for finger travel in comparison to the Star frame but for those who use the now popular three finger technique you'll still have no problems. Set up of the trigger resistance and travel is slightly differant. You wont find a small coil spring in back of the trigger for mechanical return. Instead the mechanical return is a small flap of spring steal attached to the micro-switch. this changes the characteristics of the mechanical return slightly but shouldn't impede you from getting the trigger response that you like. The manual is also one of the best I've seen. Like previous years they don't skimp on going into detail and well its actually a manual. (instead of a bunch of folded up papers)
Now for trials. Gassed up the marker and got some paint (Ramps). Checked consistancy and was shooting 298, 280, 301, 278. Kind of expected that cause the reg still needed to be broken in and the ball to barrel size was off. It took about 4000 rounds through the marker before the reg stabalized and shot 282, 280, 282, 278. Prior to the reg stabalizing, paint did have a tendancey to be very inacurate and chopped from time to time. To help correct this I switched from the shaft 2 barrel (.693) to a standard freak barrel (.689). It helped but I still got some chops in the breach. Now the gun is shooting like a dream (After 4000 rounds). The ropes are consistant, ball on ball, and very acurate from a 30 to 40 yard (90 to 120ft) distance away. Showing 6-9" radial patterns off center. I kept all timing and filter settings stock and only adjusted the high pressure reg to a lower velocity (265 ish). The gun seems to like a slightly lower velocity for more accurate shots. (note this may reduce travel distance slightly). If you get this gun and it chops or is very inconsistant just give it time to break in. Other then that the gun is yet again one of the nicest I've shot. Fast, steady, and accurate. Can't ask for much more to get the job done during tourney play. I don't expect them to hold their value though because I'm already seeing a ton of them out on the fields. Unlike the Darks which are still a rareity and still more pricey then the 07.
Conclusion: Get one. Theres still some slight tuning adjustments that may need to be done when you get it but I believe this gun will out perform all the previous models. Just at first be patient with it and let the internals go through their break in period, get a barrel kit to help with accuaracy / ball to barrel match, and read the manual. It helps you understand how your gun works. Also I'd recomend getting one of the new 45/4500 tanks. It will make the gun even lighter and more low pro. I'll give this gun a 9 because the trigger frame to body match is a little off for the $1250.00 price tag and the barrel, well I just never had good luck with any of the shaft barrel designs.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

karni2 Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion(friends)- accurate out of the box, efficient, needs upgrades, sturdy

Shocker(mine)- Extremley accurate, no kick, unreliable, breaks constantly, very quiet
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12 in. .691 stiffi barrel
GTA expansion chamber
collapsable stock
r-t
and flatline barrel

2003 Black Shocker:
Max-flo 68/4500 system
14 inch stiffi Switch
Black Empire Reloader B
ND slik trigger
HE Bolt

2007 Silver PE Ego
DXS Pulse(smoke)
48 Cu. 4500 CP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (see review)
Strengths: LIGHT!
shooting platform
ACCURATE
efficiency
No kick
easy maintenence
adjustibility
Weaknesses: Very loud(personal preference)
Eye wires are exposed below the eye covers
Review: First Impression- I got my Ego 7 on December 16 at my local shop so I had the opportunity to fiddle around with it before I bought it. As soon as I picked it up I just had to have it... lightest gun ever! The annodizing is also nearly perfect and pictures just doesn't do it justice.

Accuracy- I was only able to put two pods through this baby because I did not have any paint left, but it's accuracy was astounding for being out of the box. literally ball on ball with Proto Dart paint, but there was a wild curve with a X-ball bronze(once)

Stock Barrel- Many people replace their stock barrel for aftermarket ones. The two piece shaft is exellent and the only reason why I am replacing it is for one, I already have a stiffi switch so all I need to do is get new backs, two, the back is .693 which is pretty big bore, and third new backs wont be out for alittle while. Other than that I would keep it and have no urge to buy a barrel kit.

Kick- The Ego has less kick than my shocker with the stiffi barrel. I was alittle worried because I had heard that ego kick alot... well don't worry about the 07 because it is the smoothest shooting gun ive shot. Close to the DM series, but I still like a gun that I can feel shoot.

Noise- The loudest gun I have heard, almost as loud as my A-5 with a flatline. I pretty sure it was just my paint to barrel match because the stock is .693 and my paint was .689-.691. Plus once I get some stiffi backs to fit my ego im sure the noise will go down alot.

Shooting Platform- To tell you the truth it was pretty uncomfortable when I held it. Coming from a shocker that ive played with for 2 years it was quite awkward at first. As I fiddled with it more and more it grew on me, this is the most comfortable gun I have ever held, like an extension of your arm its that nice.

Efficiency- I haven't been able to really test efficiency, but I got about 400psi out of 200-210 shots with my friends 68 cu. 3000. Ill try and update this review when I get a more extensive estimate.

Maintenence- It is extremley easy, the bolt comes out with absolutely no tools and lubing the internals is the easiest thing ever. The guy at my local proshop said that all I need to do is put at max 2 drops of oil inside the asa and just dryfire it to lube all internal parts. When I first gassed up my Ego I had a leak in the asa. I was pretty worried considering $1250 was dropped on the marker, but two quick drops of oil in the asa and a couple of good dryfires fixed the problem.

Eye wires- This is the only problem I have with my Ego. I am not sure if it is just mine but the eye wires are slightly exposed above the grips and below the eye covers. If it were to be shot there then im not sure if the wires will be damaged. I am sure its not big deal, but planet eclipse has awsome customer service and will send me some new ones in a heart beat.

Conclusion: Best gun for 2007 without a doubt. Alot of other very respectable companies like Dye and Macdev just didn't cut it this year, not alot has changed from their last year's models. I will update this review after I play with it today. So, I give the PE Ego7 a 9 because of the eye wires, but this is the closest thing to perfection BUY ONE!!
p.s- the Custom products 48 cu.4500 feels perfect with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Luigi the Beast Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DMs, PMs, Angels, Shockers etc..
Marker Setup: Black EGO7, Dye 14" Titanium Boomstick, Black RF'd Pulse w/ Speedfeed, 68/45 Angel AIR w/ Guerilla HP Reg.

Black Ironmen DM6 stock

Red UL'd DMC, Tadao M6 board, 14" Dye Ultralite, Camo VLocity, Hybrid Skull grips

Blue fade Speed 05, 16" Freak, Black Suicide shell'd Halo

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you're picky about bore sizes, but def. a CCU Kit
zick
Strengths: - Size / Weight
- Efficiency
- Easy Maintenance
- Trigger
Weaknesses: At this price point you should get a couple of extra backs, like the A1
Review: So, first impressions are good. The package it comes into is very nicely done, if the box had a handle you could take it to the field like that. Inside is your marker plus the expected extras, and it has one of the best manuals out there... taking it out of the box was surprising, I've read and heard so much about how light it is, I guess I was expecting a miracle or something. Not that I was disappointed or thought it was heavy, but to be honest, weight wise I was a lot more impressed when I bought my Angel One (didn't like it and it's been traded for the DM6). Then again I was used to the weight of the DMC I had been shooting for the longest at the time, so from that to the A1 was a major leap, which I didn't feel coming from the DM6 to the EGO7.
Obviously this is totally subjective and in no way it should influence other people, after all there's not too many lighter guns out there, if any... and since I kinda started with the low points, let's get that out of the way. I had already read about the gap between the trigger frame and the receiver, and even thou it's very small, and I mean VERY small, it's there and I can't blame anybody that paid $1000+ for being upset. I think perfection's kinda of a strong word, but parts that don't perfectly fit with each other is not the same as, say, slight milling or anno imperfections... The visible eye wires are a by product of that situation, but the gap is so small I don't see the wires as being a problem, still haven’t been shot precisely there, so I would say it’s no big deal (so far).
The little silver thingie under the LPR kinda bugs a little too, it digs into my index finger when I'm shooting with my off hand, what's it doing there anyways? People told me it's supposed to take some air to the solenoid, but isn't this solenoid heralded as being electrically powered, or direct-acting? Not sure what's it do, but I'm not crazy about it, not very symmetrical nor ergonomic. Another thing that's not really a low point, but the comparision is favorable to the competition, is the size of the trigger guard. I've got myself so used to the spacious Ultralite frame on my DM6, that now my fingers hit the guard when I'm trying to walk the trigger really fast. It should just be a matter of getting used to it, but if you have large hands or fingers, you might wanna try it out before making a purchase decision.
If you're the type of EGO owner that likes to upgrade the hell out of a marker, you might wanna look somewhere else, because the gun comes from the factory so shock full of features that the aftermarket companies are having a hard time coming up with parts that actually upgrade instead of downgrading it. It seems to be the case with the Virtue and Tadao boards for example, even thou they offer several "gangsta" modes and whatnot, you'll be loosing some features like the great LCD screen, or the abilty to change the trigger activation mode from opto to microswitch. Even the stock barrel is better than most aftermarket offerings.
And the last low point (for now), there's a couple of pointy spots that could not mix very well with "good-dives-gone-wild" on the field, namely the back of the bolt and the corner of the trigger guard. If you somehow manage to stick your finger in between that and the macro line fitting on the HPR and then dive, you could be in for a nasty injury... oh well, I guess I'm just being kinda picky now...
Ok, those were the lows and now for the good parts. I haven't owned an EGO before, but believe me, I know how they sound... and this one is NOT EGO loud. It's not DM quiet either, but it's a lot better than previous models... and the same goes for shot smoothness. It does kick a bit for somebody used to spool valves, but I'm sure it'll improve as the regs break in and I find some comfortable settings for myself. These are two of the areas where it greatly surpasses the performance of the Angel One (one of it's most direct competitors) more noticeably.
The trigger is really one of the key strengths of this marker, no side to side movement, very light and crisp, I hear it's completely adjustable but I like the factory adjustment so much I'm afraid to change it and mess it up. Very sweet trigger indeed. As a stock feature, it's only comparable to the A1 trigger, but the EGO’s even nicer. Without any tinkering I was able to rip strings of 21+ bps on semi, effortlessly. Add to that the opto / micro switch option and you have something that in itself almost justifies getting the gun, since no other brand can claim to offer that feature.
The software is very adjustable; you have a ton of settings and adjustments that can dramatically affect the performance of the marker. When you first open it, the tournament lock is active, so you have very few options to play with. Once you turn it off, an almost overwhelming quantity of parameters becomes adjustable, and you have to take some time getting used to it, because there’s a lot of menus inside menus and more sub menus that only show up if you know precisely what you’re doing. I wouldn’t call it “unfriendly”, but compared to the scroll wheel of the A1 it feels a bit cumbersome. Obviously is a lot better than counting blinking lights (specially under the sunshine) on the Ultralite frames, but still its complexity requires some getting used to. The payoff is the high customization options, allowing you to fine tune it to your taste to an incredible degree. However, it’s not recommended to start fussing around with the settings until the marker is broken in, which should happen after 10 cases or so.
Accuracy seems to be right on par with the Dye guns, which is a major accomplishment in my opinion. It seems not to mind too much the quality of the paint, shooting both fresh paint and older stuff with similar results. The quality of the paint apparently is a much more influential factor, since the higher grade paintballs seemed to fly much straighter out of the Dye Titanium Boomstick I’ve been using instead of the Shaft 2. And their sizing seems to be fundamental as well, had to shoot a batch of extremely small paintballs last weekend and the results were considerable less than acceptable.
Consistency wasn’t extremely impressive, fluctuating around the +/- 8 fps range, which I guess is fine for the break in period, but I’m hoping will improve dramatically. The real highlight in my opinion is the efficiency, shooting close to a case of paint from a good 68/45 fill. Big difference for someone used to DMs, having to fill up tank every few pods or so, just to be on the safe side. Perfect for any position on the field. Mid guys can use smaller tanks and still have enough air to fill in for the back line if necessary.
This marker looks awesome. Mine’s a dust black one and it’s sweet. I've got myself the silver polished CCU Kit, just waiting for it to arrive. Other than the already infamous gap, there’s nothing really to complain about. Light, compact, fast, adjustable and very desirable. Planet Eclipse has another winner on their hands.
Conclusion: So far I like it a lot. If I wasn't such a gun whore I could probably have this marker as my primary gun for quite a while. I won't deny that money was somewhat of an issue, otherwise I would've bought a DM7, but now I'm kinda happy I didn't. So far it gets...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 21st, 2011 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

x_attycus_x Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego - Very similar, more kick, heavier
Infinity Legend - Also very similar, different design
Marker Setup: Gun metal grey ego7
Pearl blue empire B
Empire fuel LP 71/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
there's nothing really out for the ego7 specifically yet. but when they come out, I'm probably gonna swap the grips. and im gonna change the barrel.
Strengths: Light.
Fast.
Efficient.
Extremely adjustable.
Outstanding customer service.
Weaknesses: Barrel. See bottom of Review
Review: I picked my Ego7 up from the first batch at Badlands in Toronto. well, I actually work there, so i had my name on it really. but yeah, It was one of the gun's that had solenoid issues, so before i even used it, i swapped it out with a new noid.

I aired it up, and it shot like a dream, although it was a little inconsistent. So I tore down the reg, lubed/cleaned, then i was getting +/- 2 fps.

What I really like about the Ego line of markers, is how adjustable they are. The debounce settings are just crazy. if you really wantes to, you can make that trigger crazy-bouncy.

Now, I know its recomended to run Ego's on HPA, but I bought a LP Empire fuel tank, and i absolutely love it. This gun is very consistent. I got almost a case and a half off of one fill.

Maintenance is a breeze, Yank out the bolt, stick a squeegee down there. Unscrew your ram cap, pull out the ram, but a lil oil on there, and you're good to go.

The Barrel. The barrel is great, comes in a standard .693 bore size. I have only one problem with it tho. When I am laning, its dead on. Ball on Ball for sure. BUT, im a front man, I hardly ever lane, and I find that when I'm one-balling, its accuracy is somewhat lacking. Maybe I just can't snap shoot, lol, but I've never had this problem with like an Ultralite.

Now, the customer service. Eclipse is taking the paintball scene by storm. They undoubtedly have by far THE BEST customer service. If you ever have a problem with your eclipse marker, they will see to it, that the problem is fixed before you get off the phone.
.
Conclusion: Ego 7. Great buy if you have the money, if not, start saving. Once you go with eclipse, you never go back.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fazio00 Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 ego and 05 ego
Marker Setup: 07 VICIOUS EGO, Halo with v35 board, crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE!
Strengths: Small
Light
Fast
Nice milling
Almost everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i received my ego I was totally amazed be every feature about this gun... it was super small, it was light, fast, and it was the coolest milling i have ever seen on a pl ego and also standard ego.

so when i took it to my Field it shoot ropes like no other!!! on ramp, i empty a hopper in 8 seconds!!! now that's fast... and it also hade pin point accuracy, it probably had about a 2 to 3 inch radus of a circle.... so basicly this gun is completely indescribable.... but an another thing about it is that u can make different settings and save them on either user 1 or 2 and if u want one or the other you can just switch... also it comes with psp mode, nppl mode and millennium mode.
Conclusion: This gun is pricy but it is worth every single penny... So if u have the funds you should get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media