paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT 2 Piece Barrels / JT 2 Piece Barrels / JT 2 Piece Barrels

JT 2 Piece Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT 2 Piece Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT 2 Piece Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 73
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The barrel comes in 10" 12" & 14". Available for the Angel, Autococker, & Spyder.
Product Availability 
The JT 2 Piece Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Silencer.1 Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Smart Parts Stainless Steel, CP 2-piece, Freak
Marker Setup: 2k1 cocker at 260psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything other than BE or any other large bore paintball.
Strengths: 2-piece construction
Stainless steel control bore
Interchangable fronts and backs
Weaknesses: Hard to clean porting
Weight of the stainless back
Needs backs over .690" bore
Review: I happened to pick up this barrel when I went to my local paintball store to get a CP barrel. They had various JT barrels so I decided to try it out. I bought the 14" front for it and a .690" back.

I've used this barrel for 2 days of play and put roughly 4000 TC Viper paintballs through it without any problems. I broke a ball in the barrel once and after squeeging my barrel, it went right back to performing excellent. The fact you can get different control bores for this, makes it one of the most versatile barrels around.

The stainless steel backs were a main selling point for me. Stainless steel allows you to shoot through breaks easier than aluminum and it also holds a hone for much longer than aluminum can. Some people don't like the weight, but I have found that it helps to move the balance a little farther forward, making my cocker more stable.

As some people have mentioned before, the porting can be a real pain to clean with out water. I've found that the best way to clean the porting out is to tip the marker upside down, place your hand over the barrel and shoot a couple times. That will clean a majority of the paint out in a game or in the staging area if you don't have access to water.

The only real problem I have with this barrel, is that I've not found backs larger than .690". This makes shooting some of the cheaper paints difficult since they generally want something .692" or a little bigger.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a very nice barrel, though at $80-$100, it can be a bit expensive for some. The quality is top notch and I would easily recommend this barrel to anyone looking for high performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Wuzup101 Sunday, August 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* Carbon fiber (spyder)...nice barrel very light
J&J ceramic (cocker)...nice barrel especially for the $25 new I paid for it
Dye Boomstick (friends cocker)...overpriced and IMHO doesnt' look as good as the JT
Various others...
Marker Setup: Custom cocker built by yours truly on a spanky warped monkey body. 200psi input sweetspot, no stock parts, all custom. Running PMI 68/4500 screw in w/ angel minireg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have a .690 bore back the only paint I shot through it was PMI premiums and 32* Team Colors...I haven't put much paint through it because most paint I use is too small for the barrel and I use the ceramic.
Strengths: ~Very well made~ Great fit and finish...extreamly nice bore...halves fit together perfectly
~Various bore sizes~ .686 .688 and .690 avaliable
~Various tip sizes anc colors~ match them to your marker and playing style
~Shots Darts~ with a good paint match you should have no prob laying ball on top of ball with this barrel
~Shoots through breakes~ alright well I actually couldn't get anything to break in it...my gun won't chop...so I took a knife and put a small slit/crack in an allstar and shot it w/o the hopper on. It broke soon after getting in the barrel...but the barrel shot through the break pretty well. Regained pretty much full accuracy after a quick squgee...even while still a bit slimy inside.
~Price~ complete SS back barrel can be had for $90 or under...not bad compared to the DYE barrels of similar design (and they dont screw apart...well the new ones do...but you know what I mean).
Weaknesses: ~Price~ While the complete barrel can be had for a decent price, if you want to buy just the bores they can get expensive...sometimes as much as $70 for the SS bore alone. Individual tips are also quite expensive.
~Hard to find~ The barrels are not hard to find...but the additional tips and bores can be a bit harder. May places do not give you a choice of bore when ordering the barrel.
~Halves should be reverse threaded so that you can twist the front and the barrel will come off. I've already had to remove the tip and use a padded wrench to remove the bore because I couldn't twist it with the pneus in the way and it was on there tight.
~Bore sizes~ I don't think it was a smart idea to make the bore sizes so close...IMHO they should have made something like .683 .687 and .691 to cover wider ground
Conclusion: Great barrel in fit and finish. No one will have a problem with the way it shoots. More options than a boomstick, made with the same or better quality (made by CP), and less in price. Because I am rating the individual barrel and not the barrel system I will give it a 9. If it was a whole system w/ the bores avaliable i would put it as a 7 or 8 because the bores are too close. The individual barrel really is a perfect 10...but it should be reverse threaded as mentioned above....which bumps it down...there is nothing reall wrong with it and it shoots like a dream.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UEAKCrash Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: -Piranha BL
-Chrome Dropforward
-2 peice chrome JT barrel
-12 oz Co2
-Expansion Chamber
-2 Peice Chrome JT barrel
-Stock PMI Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Venom
Strengths: -Cool design
-Easy to clean
-Good compatability
-Easy to customize
-ITS JT!
-Good venting, hardly recoiled when I shot.
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Not much, the only thing I can really think of is when you screw it on the JT logo doesn't always face the right way, but thats not really much of a problem.
Conclusion: Very nice barrel, easy to clean and over satisfied everything I could possibly need in a barrel, go! RUN! BUY THIS NOW! A perfect 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatzballz99 Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stryker Carbon fiber barrel (Don't buy this.)
Spyder pilot ACS stock barrel (Actually, it was pretty good)
Trilogy Pro stock barrel (Almost as good as my JT)
Dye Boomstick: (Horridly overpriced, but better than my JT.)
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro Autococker with:

Dye Boomstick
Custom Products ASA
Macroline
48/3000 psi Myth Air tank
Coming:
Flame Drop
New Detent
Torpedo Reg
Techt Shaft kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Recon Camo Paintballs
Draxxus Triumph Paintballs
Strengths: -Very accurate
-Extremely quiet
-Cheap ($20)
-Wicked cool
Weaknesses: -Shiny
-A little heavy, but not too bad.

Other than that it's fine.
Review: This is a great barrel. It bought it for $20 at an ebay store and it arrived in the mail today, so eagerly I opened the package and put it in my Game Face Vexor and tested it out. I got the back in .688, and it was stainless steel. The front is aluminum.

The test was preformed in 60-70 degree weather with the wind blowing, so this review might not be as accurate.

35 feet- When I aimed I had ball on ball accuracy. This is a very quiet barrel.

50 feet- 4-7 inch grouping. when I aimed it.

60 feet- 6-9 inch grouping when I aimed it.

This is a very nice barrel. It looks sweet, is cheap, quieted my gun down a lot, is accurate, and owns. It's a little heavy, since it's back was made from stainless steel. And it's also a little shiny, but other than that, this is an awesome barrel

Edit: 1/27/2010

OMG THIS BARREL IS PWNZORZ! (Notice that the shot groupings were with an unregulated blowback, co2, and junk paintballs.)

Now that I have a better setup, I must say, that this is one of the best barrels I have owned, second only to my Boomstick.

Edit: 3/03/2010

With the right paint, this shoots as good as my boomstick.
Conclusion: This is an AWESOME barrel! I would give it a 20 if I could!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 3rd, 2010 at 11:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corbo Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick, ultralight, freak
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ cp reg, t-chip, jt 14" 2peice
Recommended
Paintballs:
Round ones.
Strengths: Accurate, Shoots through breaks good.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Well this is a nice barrel. Its boomstick accurate so if you feel like getting a boomstick try this thing out. It also has the stainless back that I dont like because of the weight. Its a nice barrel i broke a ball and after a couple shots it was shooting fine again. Just not the right barrel for me because of the weight.
Conclusion: Its right up with the freaks and boomsticks for performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neko Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Whisper, Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with HPA tank, Comp-Air System, PMI In-Line Secondary Regulator, Rear-Cocking Bolt with Beaver Tail, Evil Deathgrips, JT 2-Piece, Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heat work PERFECTLY in the .688 version.
Strengths: Durable, good looking, accurate, excellent self-cleaning, comes in a variety of sizes and bores.
Weaknesses: We might run all other barrel companies out of buisness buying these.
Review: I have a .688 bore 14", and it works beautifully. As accurate as other more expensive barrels, with the right paint match. I bought mine for $30 during a liquidation sale, but their normal price is still only $45. If you want to invest a little more into a barrel, buy more backs and fronts. The threads align perfectly, and the porting is just enough to silence the shot and clean well. Shoot a few more times, and it's squeaky clean, save the tip porting, where it's wider.
If I didn't have one, I'd buy one in a heartbeat. An AMAZING barrel, ranks with the best of the best.
Conclusion: Get one, and your shots will go where you're pointing, not a few feet away. You will own the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rdbaron02 Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I have a JT excellerator 4.0 (cant wait for the 6.0) with a jt 2 piece barrel on it
Recommended
Paintballs:
I reccommend pmi premium paint or rps big ball paintballs
Strengths: This barrel is very good its accurate, it has the benefits of both stainless steel and aluminum. The aluminum allows light weight and the stainless stell provides accuracy. To top it off its two piece so you can change barrel lenghts and so on
Weaknesses: There is nothing i found to be bad about this product.
Conclusion: Overall i reccommend this barrel over a dye boomstick and its well worth the money i paid for it. I got mine for $75.00 on the internet. This barrel is almost the same as the boomstick but alot cheaper so go and buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Well it is a good mix with a 2000 autococker. This barrel pushes my autococker to its maximum performance in accuracy. I have had this barrel for almost 2 months now and I have been shooting blaze through it and I have never broken a ball yet!!!! My squeegee is only used by my teammates, fellow players, and me when I occasionally shoot out my barrel plug. I used to have a boomstick and I have only seen improvements. It is a removable 2 piece and you can buy new fronts and have different barrel sizes. It is a great barrel in speedball. I have the 14". It is $10 cheaper than the boomstick and it looks cooler. They are made by the same company so there is no reason why a boomstick should be better.
Weaknesses: This is the reason why I love this barrel so much. I can't think of anything I can put in this catagory.
Conclusion: I reccomend this barrel to serious rec ballers and tourney players and speedball fanatics. If you just play once in a while you should probably go for a lapco alluminum or a Custom Products because you won't really notice much of a difference in accuracy if you are not a one a week paintballer. Take it over a boomstick you won't regret it. This barrel is safe to use brittle paint with. It works great with low pressure guns. I believe it to be the best barrel on the market today. This barrel has nothing wrong that I see. So in my mind it is perfect. That means 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C]-[iLDe Thursday, June 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Angel #134, Green Marble
68/4500 Max Flow
Halo B, Clear
Boomers, JT Barrel Set
Recommended
Paintballs:
Feel free to use any that adequately matches the chosen bore size; you have some options and some versatility.
Strengths: - Versatility
This is pretty much the best feature a barrel/ barrel set can have. The entire set consists of a .690, .688 and .686 backs and 12", 14" or 16" inch fronts. You can match your bore size to your barrel and match your barrel length to your preference or style of play.

- Looks
A nice looking barrel set. Similar to the boomer, but a bit more streamlined and stylish.

-Performance
Despite all the bad things said about threaded 2 peice barrels, this set seems to function just as well as anything else when matched with the proper paint.
Weaknesses: The one complaint I have about this barrel set is the bore sizes. I would like to see a larger variance between the bore sizes myself. The set comes with .686, .688 and .690, but I would like to see a .686, .689 and a .691; I just feel that would make it a more versatile peice of gear. I would also like to see all the peices sold in a set with a barrel box. Besides that, I have no complaints.
Conclusion: A good solid barrel/ barel set for the money. Shoots as well as your paint and marker setup will allow it to. I would recommend JT barrels to anyone.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Minkus962 Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" JJ Ceramic, 14" Teardrop
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix, 14 inch JT 2 piece barrel, 12 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that fits, if the bore is right, it will shoot like a dream.
Strengths: Machining
Looks
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I bought a 14" 2 piece JT barrel for my Spyder about 3 months ago. I've been using it since, and have put an excessive amount of paintballs through it.

**Pros**

The barrel is machined perfectly, no impurities, the inside is as smooth as possible. It also looks pretty sweet too.

**Cons**

The stainless stell back is pretty heavy compared to other barrels.

Great upgrade for any gun, from low-end mech to high-end electro.
Conclusion: Great product, almost flawless. 9 only because of weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media