paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels / Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels / Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels

Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $59

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special Ops Paintball and Stiffi (Site Manufacturing Inc.,) have teamed up to bring you one of the best paintball gun barrels on the market. The Blackcell barrels are extremely strong, super quiet, lightweight, and are available in black and olive drab colors. The C-Series barrels are made with an ultra-smooth fiberglass compound center (known as e-glass) to further enhance accuracy, and also feature a carbon-wrapped and Kevlar construction for optimum strength and rigidity.

Featuring killer looks, durability and top performance, the Blackcell C-Series barrels are among the best barrels in the industry today. Eight barrel tips are also available for the Blackcell C-Series barrels.

Bore size: .691
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball C-Series Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
bobaboy007 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 stock barrel, evil Pipe
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, opsgear G36c folding stock.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything medium grade or above. obviously, the better paint, the better accuracy.
Strengths: Light, quiet, accurate, GREAT shoot-through, durable
Weaknesses: Tips can be a hassle, carbon fiber means no squegee
Review: This past Friday I went paintballing with my new barrel for the first time. Its kinda an indoor warehouse/urban type of field. I was shooting Brass Eagle Monster balls which are pretty low-end. minutes into the game, the differance this barrel makes began to shine through. I was more accurate and a whole lot quiter. After the game, i examened my barrel and realized i'd broken one-two balls; i hadn't even seen a change in accuracy. After a few more games, a friend and I compared sound levels. My a5 running co2 and no regs was twice as soft as his a5 w/ regulators, nitro, and the stock barrel. This is really a tremendous, high quality barrel. The only possible weakness would be the tips (i had to tighten mine a few times b/4 it really stayed on the way i wanted it to).
Conclusion: Really a GREAT barrel. Perfect for the a5. If your sick of your stock barrel or flatline GET IT!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

KRA SHARPSHOOTE Sunday, October 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Dogleg stock
Special Ops 12" C-Series Barrel
Opsgear Remote Hose with Check Valve
Opsgear CO2/Compressed Air Tank Pouch
JT Pro Shield Spectra Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Special Forces
Strengths: Very Light Weight
Strong
Quiet
Weaknesses: Kevlar rapping gets dirty very easily.
See UPDATE Below
Review: BARREL UNDER REVIEW: Special Ops 12" C-Series
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Environmental Conditions

Temperature: 80*F Humidity: 17%

Wind Speed: 3Mph Wind Gusts: 4.5Mph

Weather Conditions: Clear

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Paint Information

Date of Purchase: 9/3/07

Brand: Nelson Special Forces Series

Paintball Size: According to most Paintball size charts these paintballs are .690(When I measured them my average size was .677, my minimum size was .669, and my maximum sie was .682)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Marker Setup Information

Velocity: 290FPS

Make: Tippmann Model: A-5

Air Source: CO2

Regulated: No

Barrel: 12" Special Ops C-Series

Modifications List:
- Special Ops Dogleg Air Thru Stock w/Foregrip
- Special Ops 12" C-Series Barrel
- ADCO Sure Shot Sight

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

User Evaluation

Review Date: 9/19/2007

When I received my 12” C-Series Barrel, I was very impressed with how little it weighed. I think the swappable barrel tips are a great way to make you marker stand out. Even if you don’t want a tip for your barrel you will want one to protect the threads at the end, as the barrel doesn’t come with any thread protectors. This barrel does make you’re A-5 considerably quieter, whenever you shoot the A-5 with the Stock barrel you always hear a loud *POP*. With the C-Series you no longer have that *POP* sound.

I took it outside to test it out. I loaded it up with some Patriot Paintballs I had and started shooting at a 12”x12” target from 50’. After burning through 100 paintballs, it seemed like this new barrel was less accurate than the stock barrel. I wasn’t getting tight groups with this paint, so I switched to the stock barrel and my accuracy improved considerably.

After these disappointing results, I decided I didn’t have a good paint to barrel match. Next stop, Fleet Farm! I printed out a Paintball Size Chart and headed off to the sporting goods section.

After comparing the different brands to the chart I narrowed my options down to either Nelson Hot-Spots or Nelson Special Forces. I had tried the Hot-Spots in my stock barrel and I wasn’t to thrilled with them, all the paint in the case I got was dimpled. I decided I would fork out the $15 for 500 balls for the Nelson Special Forces and hope they where worth the $0.03 per ball.

I decided that in order to test the Nelson Special Forces efficiently I would test the Nelson Special Forces against the Patriot Paintballs by shooting them at three different ranges (50’, 75’, & 100’) in both the stock A-5 barrel and my Special Ops 12” C-Series Barrel.

I set up my target in my backyard and marked out the distances I wanted to shoot at. I set up my shooting station at 50’. I threw my BDU jacket on the ground, put my paintballs on my left, my clipboard on my right, and my gun on top of the box of paintballs as a shooting rest. Two days earlier I had zeroed in my sight for 75’ and practiced where to hold on the target at 50’ and 100’.

For this test I shot 10 paintballs of both Nelson Special Forces Paintballs (SF) and Patriot Paintballs (PP) thru both the Stock (Stock) barrel and the Special Ops 12” C-Series (C-S) barrel, at 50’, 75’, and 100’. The average target size was 14” x 26” (W x H).

Key:
Range
-Barrel with Paint…….Group Size…..Miss/Bounce

50’
-C-S with SF….............…….6”…........….….0
-C-S with PP…..…….........16” ……........….1
-Stock with SF……........….10” ……….........0
-Stock with PP……........….12” ……........….3

75’
-C-S with SF……...........….13” ……........….0
-C-S with PP…...…........….20” ……........….3
-Stock with SF……........….15” ……........….0
-Stock with PP……........….18” …........…….4

100’
-C-S with SF……...........….18” ……........….3
-C-S with PP……...........….14” ……........….6/1
-Stock with SF……........….12” ……........….6
-Stock with PP……........….16” ……........….4

NOTE #1: When comparing group size please note that the Group Size is measured from the paintballs that broke on the target. Look at the both the Group Size and Misses to determine the true accuracy potential.

UPDATE 03/13/2008: After using this barrel all fall and a little in the winter I have noticed the grass stains have all faided away leaving the barrel looking like new. I have also tested Nelson HotSpots in this barrel and my finding are:

-Barrel with Paint…….Group Size…..Miss

50’
-C-S with HS….............……9”…........….….0

75’
-C-S with HS……...........….14” ……........….1

100’
-C-S with HS……...........….24” ……........….4
Conclusion: I would fully endorse this Barrel for anyone looking for a quiet barrel with great looks.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2008 at 6:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dooger2 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffie, stock barrels
Marker Setup: A5 w/ rufus dawg
Spec ops A5A2 kit
JCS Offset sight mount
LCS Red Dot scope
Spec Ops Sabre Vest
too much to list....
Recommended
Paintballs:
High grade..
Strengths: Very light, very durable. amazing!
Weaknesses: Nothing!
Review: I would HIGHLY reccomend the c-series barrel. BUT, I would not get higher than a 14 inch.....personal preference. I have used stiffies in the past, and in my opinion, the c-series is so much more durable and a little more accurate. I did have trouble with stiffies in the past, i.e. accuracy and so forth, but I have NEVER seen a barrel like the c-series. I know Im really talking up this barrel, but thats how amazing I am of it. However, I wouldnt reccomend some of the larger barrel tips for two reasons. First reason is some of them add TWO INCHES onto your barrel, and that can be a pain! Second reason, is that they are a larger bore size, and if you break a ball, and clean it out going from the back to front, paint gets stuck all inside the barrel tip. Also, Ive had instances where brush and leaves get stuck in the larger barrel tips.
Conclusion: This is an amazing piece of work. I would never buy anything different. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donnachaidh Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Lapco, J&J, SP, Armson, 32*, Thunderpig, CP just about every barrel out there
Marker Setup: A5
Intruder
Squishy Paddles
Spring Kit
DOP Bottomline Mount
Ion Barrel adapter
X7 Hopper
Zero Kick Hammer
Ion
ND QEV
Lapco Apex Ready Bigshot
Lapco Clamping feedneck
Trinity On/Off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something large enough to clean it after a break - I reccomend underboring with this barrel
Strengths: EXTREMELY light
Weaknesses: Honestly? Hype, just like stiffi
Review: I had one of these on a freshly tuned Ion, and let me tell you; I spent half a case of fresh paint swapping between the Ion stock barrel and this. There was NO noticable difference. The other thing is, when you break a ball, accuracy goes to nil. It actually shot worse than the stock barrel after a break. Pure hype, just like "stiffi". Don't agree? Go spend the money to buy one, you will see.
Conclusion: I give it an average rating because it IS light, but there really aren't any redeeming features about this barrel.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a-5 freak Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
18" All-American
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" All American barrel
68/4500 Dye Throttle tank
NXE Elevation tank cover
e-grip w/ w.a.s
JCS blade trigger
Tech-T vortex mod
Tech-T lightning rod
JCS red Hot Shot bolt
Special Ops SAW stock
Lapco offset rail
ADCO red dot laser sight
Palmer Qev
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hellfire or higher grade
Strengths: Extremely light, strong
Weaknesses: Inaccurate at long distances w/ 4 inch
Review: I got the 4" barrel and i was pretty impressed. It handled my gun shootin at 25 or 26 bps without a chop. Any higher and it would start choppin. But the one thing that separates this barrel out from the rest of the crowd is its weight. Its incredibly light. But the coolest thing is its interchangeable tips. I got the devastator and it looks sick. Downside with the 4 inch is its accuracy drops pretty fast at about 70ft-90ft. Depends on what paint your using.
Conclusion: I have give it a 9 because the accuracy drop. But otherwise, It's another great product from Special Ops.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netramakin Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, stock A5 barrel
Marker Setup: A5, Red Hot, Superfly, Flatline/C-series 4" flanker, Rampage, A-5A2 foregrip, MP5 mag, MP stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any large diameter paint like BE Monster Balls
Strengths: Accurate
Strong (e-glass something or other)
Weaknesses: Doesn't like small diameter paint
Review: I tried this barrel out for the first time the other day on my A5 in near-freezing conditions in CT using HPA. I was breaking Diablo Nightmare paint (small diameter, .687-.689) on semi-auto right from the start and switched to RPS' Polar Ice and Big Ball (both medium/large diameter, .689-.691) with only a little more luck. SpecOps lists the barrel as having a .691 bore, so I was worried I got a bad one, but I took it off and found I was breaking some paint even without the barrel so I attribute at least some of the problem to the conditions.

I brought all of my paint home, let it warm up for a day or two and then tried again. I continued to break the Nightmare paint regularly and again had a little better luck with the Polar Ice, but was still breaking some. I then went through a bag of Monster Balls (large diameter, .692+) using 3-shot burst and didn't break one. With their thick shell, I'm betting they won't be too brittle if I take them in cold conditions like that again, too, so problem solved...sort of. The problem is that if a field is FPO but doesn't have a large diameter paint available (some around here in CT don't always), I have to switch to another barrel and, because it's a similar bore to the Flatline, usually can't use that either.

I'm now getting 6" x 6" accuracy at 50' with this 4" C-series barrel, though, using low-grade "big bore" paint (in controlled conditions). If I can get that kind of accuracy in any reasonable temperature with any large diameter paint, at $35, this barrel will be worth the investment but I'll continue to use the Flatline for distance (and probably wind) and will need to find a smaller bore barrel if I'm having problems with the available field paint and want to go short. Which brings me to the other positive about the 4" barrel: it's size.

When used in "village" or urban situations, it's handy to not have to worry about catching your barrel on a door jam or a tree or your buddy. It also lowers the weight of the gun and, in comparison to using a Flatline, changes the balance dramatically for the better. It's supposedly really strong, too, but I haven't fallen on it or anything yet, so I can't speak for that aspect. Finally, the look is nice, but it'd be great to have a "suppressor" shroud option.
Conclusion: All in all, it's a solid shorty barrel for the money (the nicest version, the 4" black, is $34 before shipping) if you have large diameter paint available. It's accurate at short range (haven't tested longer ranges or in wind yet) and they give you a variety of tips to choose from...for an extra $10. (The Flanker is my favorite so don't buy it.) If your field is BYOP, buy this barrel, buy some Monsters and have fun. If not (and you're not just a barrel whore), make sure you'll have enough use for this product before buying it. I'll give this barrel an overall 8 for now. If a suppressor shroud mod becomes available, I'll bump it up one to 9. If they make a small bore version of this barrel, I'll bump it up two more (mine goes to 11).
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

zhelldog Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts linear barrel, stock barrel, no comparison.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs that are better than low grade should work fine. For example, I use the medium grade paintballs that i find at Walmart.
Strengths: Durable, quiet, and accurate as hell.
Weaknesses: There are no weaknesses!
Review: Okay, first off this is the best barrel on the market today period! Since it is carbon fiber and kevlar, the temperature change from Co2 does not effect the consistency of each shot! You can keep shooting the same spot over and over again!
I am a woodsball and scenarioball player and let me tell you that this barrel is the best one you can get for woodsball. You can pay alot more for barrels that claim to be the best, like an empire twister barrel or a regular stiffi barrel, or even a freak barrel, but this is the best barrel ever!

When I saw this barrel on specialopspaintball.com, I knew right away that it was a must buy because it was made by SpecOps, a very reliable woodsball company. I was lucky to get one because every time I checked the website the barrels were out of stock!
There are 7 different barrel tips that look just plain cool and for only $8! Some people claim that the barrel tip causes some issues with ball chopping but I personally have had none so far. I recommend the Supressor barrel tip because it doesnt add much length to the barrel and it looks nice. Remember that the longer the barrel, the more gas you use up per shot.
At first, I thought that this barrel might chop since I use full auto and the length of my barrel is 16", but surprisingly, no chops! I ran through about 2 cases of paint and not a single chop! The workmanship of the barrel is very good, and obviously alot of effort went into creating this perfect barrel. My only complaint is that currently these barrels are only available for Tippmann A5's. Which doesn't bother me because I have an A5 lol! I am not sure but you may have to call the company and ask if the barrel comes in different threads.
Conclusion: Special Ops pulls off another best-of-the-best product with the Blackcell C-series barrels. Lets take a look at everything to make sure we didnt miss any details:
Price: Great! $60 for the best barrel on the market is a steal!
Performance: The absolute best.
Reliability: This is the old faithfull of barrels.
Looks: You will look like the king of woodsball when you walk onto the ball field and show this to the noobs. 7 different barrel tips all for the same price!
Craftmanship: Hey, its SpecOps and Stiffi, nuff said! (which means it is AWESOME!)

Anyone out there that is looking for a barrel that is quiet, accurate, and looks great, this barrel is calling for you! I highly recommend that you go on www.specialopspaintball.com right after you finish reading my review and buy this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cryosilver Monday, June 4th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12" Thunder Pig barrel - Slightly shorter and heavier; looks a little cooler, but isn't as accurate

Tippman A5 stock barrel - Honestly, I could probably make my own barrel out of PVC and get the same performance
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with response trigger, A2 kit from Spec Ops Paintball and coiled remote
14" SpecOps C-Series barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 20 oz CO2

or

AGD Automag 68 with 14" All American Barrel, custom hopper and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Large diameter paint
Strengths: Light
Cheaper than a Stiffi
Accurate
Doesn't break balls
Weaknesses: Feels a little fragile
Review: I got this barrel about a week ago, and I was very stoked. The first thing I did was test it's accuracy against my 12" Thunder Pig.

That day, I made a 14" group at 30 yards with the TP, and a 10" group with the C-Series, 30 shots each. So, more accurate. After that, I turned my reponse trigger back on and let three hoppers rip through the new barrel; not a single break. I was pleased.

This barrel, despite being 2 inches longer than the TP, was much, much lighter; the Thunder Pig is built like a tank compared to the bare-minimum carbon fiber of the C-Series. This makes the C-Series quicker to aim, since it shifts the weight back on the gun.

It feels a little fragile to me, but maybe that's just compared to the thick-walled, heavy Thunder Pig. I got the Suppressor tip to protect the tip of the barrel, and because it's one of the shorter tips, and with a 14" barrel, I don't really want to add any more to the front of the gun than I have to. It would be nice if the barrel came with a stock tip, but whatever, it still costs less than a Stiffi.

One little thing that annoyed me was the bright yellow Stiffi label on the base of the barrel. I keep my A5 blacked out for indoor play and painted over the silver Tippman label with matte black paint. I had to do the same with the Stiffi label to keep the gun all matte black. Sure it only took a minute, but it was a little annoying regardless.
Conclusion: I have never given anything a 10 out of 10, and I don't intend to start now, because this barrel isn't perfect, but it is the best one I've used to date. If you're looking for a light, accurate barrel and you're willing to spend a little extra for carbon fiber, this should be high on your list.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 4th, 2007 at 8:42 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ECOracer Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Aside from the stock barrel, this is the only one that i have used on my X-7.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, 14" C-Series Barrel, Polished internals
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is a decent quality and has a somewhat bore. The barrel bore is .691 so any ware around there is good
Strengths: Very light, Accurate, Sturdy, Looks great
Weaknesses: See review for two issues
Review: This is the first barrel i bought for my X-7. so other then the stock barrel i honestly dont have anything to compare it to. but this barrel is so much better then the stock barrel its unbelievable.

The weight of this thing is unreal. It literally feels like the thing is made of cardboard its so light. But because of the Carbon Fiber its actually very strong.

I only have two complaints about this barrel. One being the tip. Honestly i hate how this barrel looks without one. it has the threads for it just out in the open just waiting to get destroyed by a rock or something which would make them useless if you ever decided to get a tip in the future. The second problem i have is the fact that the barrel wont fit through the stock barrel shroud (not sure about the other ones) without some trimming or sanding to make the opening for the barrel larger.

but other then that, i love this thing!
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone who want a lightweight, durable, and accurate barrel for a decent price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow51 Friday, November 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Stiffi, J&J, Dye Boomstick, Palmers Brass.
Marker Setup: A5 Tippmann MP5 Crye Multicam: Rampage/Ape e-grip v2.0, Stock Trigger w/pen spring mod, J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel, SpecOps MP5 SD short foregrip/shroud, OPSgear MP5 magazine, Tech-T: [V2 Votex, V2 Lightning Rod, V2 QEPH], WarGear White Soft Paddles, X7 Hopper, X7 Valve, X7 Rear Bolt, JCS RVA, Maddman Spring Kit, Hybrid ASA & Rail, Macro Line & Fittings, Air-Thru Adjustable T-Stock, Hogs Den Grips (coyote), panda86 Hopper Cover.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Cost, Weight, Easy to clean. Accuracy, Quiet, Custom tip or apex can be threaded on.
Weaknesses: None that I can find. Not a barrel kit, different rear inserts.
Review: I have used this barrel for a year now and I love it very accurate, and if you break a ball you can use a fuzzy swab (no snags).

I sold my palmers it was to heavy! you could use 3 of these barrels to add up to the palmer weight.

Conclusion: GREAT FIND AND BUY!
A (9) because no inserts (kit)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media