paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / VForce Grill Mask / VForce Grill Mask / VForce Grill Mask

VForce Grill Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount VForce

Buy VForce Grill Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


VForce Grill Mask
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 94
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The GRILL sets the new trend with its intense look of pure attitude. The unmatched comfort of this lightweight masterpiece inspires total focus on your game.

New QuickChange ClikDry Foam keeps you dry, even in the harshest conditions. The new sunglass-inspired low profile lens offers the m
Product Availability 
The VForce Grill Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
EVIL APPLESAUCE Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month69 of 74 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt nvader
dye invision
dye i3
Marker Setup: 05 BLUE TO SILVER FADE EGO W/NEXUS BOLT, TI RAM
DYE 71CU 4500PSI THROTTLE SYSTEM
HALO B W/SPEED WHEEL
Strengths: Looks
Light
Very flexible
Easy to clean
Easy to disassemble, re-assemble
Communication
Comfort

Weaknesses: A LITTLE TO FLEXIBLE
or A LITTLE TO OPEN HOLES, ON THE MOUTH PART
Review: up until i bought this mask, the only really high end mask i had owned was my dye masks, but upon purchasing the grill mask i was dumbfounded to how easy everything on the mask was... after my first game with the mask i really found out how different the mask made me feel, and how easy it was to forget that i was wearing the mask... i played the entire day and the mask did not fog up once.. i got shot in the lenses, touched them, washed them with water, and all i did was wipe them with a good microfiber cloth and bam it was back to business..

every thing on the mask was awesome except for one thing and that was the flexibility in the mask.. which i will explain later on..

pros:

no fogging at all, when it a little warm outside i sweat, if i start moving around a lot i sweat, not because Im, not fit, but because i just sweat, and very easily. so when im in the middle of a game i sweat bullets, and when i bought my others masks they worked awesome the first time i used them.. but towards the end of the day, they would start to fog up. but not these mask, they stayed clear throughout the whole day, even when i got home and tried breathing on them they still stayed clear as day...

the mask was super light, lighter than any other mask i have worn, i didn't have any trouble with it, i didn't have to tighten the mask to much to make sure that it did not fall off, that was a plus for me because when i tighten a mask a little to much it starts to give me a headache

i love the way that you dont need a a crowbar to take out the lenses, you would think other companies would have taken that into mind ( dye... cough.. cough..) but its as easy as the profilers, and not only that but its easier..

taking the lenses out is not even the half of it, but the foam is just as easy as the lens, not only that but replacing the strap is a very easy as well infact the only way to get the lenses out is to release the strap. then putting it back together is just as easy as reversing the steps.

communication, is vital when on the field and without it could be the difference between winning and losing.. but talking with the grillz on is as easy as talking to someone with it off. i could yell out and the whole field can here me.

the flexablity of the mask was great as well it was more flexable then the i3's. and didnt get any hits on the bottom part of the mask just one, but even though im sure i can get a couple of easy bounce of it.

the comfort of the mask was also great nothing suprizing but still very grateful for.

cons:

i put this review that the flexability and openess of the mask was a pro but, it was also a con, i put it because i was not sure if it was the ease of flexing the mask or it was the open breathing holes in the front, the reason because i got hit right in the mouth part of the mask and it busted my lip and all the paint went into mu mouth. this was either the cause of one or it was just a double wammy, and my lip was not gushing blood but it got a cut on it, and i was not sure if the mask had bent back and hit my lip or the gelitin shards had enuff force and went through the mask and cut my lip.. so i added both..

Conclusion: All in all i this mask is now my favorite and it is going to stay my favorite, if you want all of the pluses of a paintball mask get this one, dont worry about a busted lip from time to time, if you can take a ball to the neck you can take one to the mouth..
buy this mask.. it cost money because the money was well used into making it... dont think buy... go now, stop reading this review and buy one....... now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 11th, 2006 at 12:39 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

XxJay888xX Friday, December 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire E'vents
Dye I3's
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq6/Onyx
Kila Products 4 Eye System
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Draxxus Pulse
PMI 68/45 Tank
Strengths: -Awesome Looking
-East to Dissasemble
-Very Comfortable
Weaknesses: -No other lenses
Review: These googles are great compared to my E'vents. They make you look like you are pissed off at everything. They are very intimidating to other players. It has removeable foam for when you get your old foam all wet and smelly. The goggles have very great field vision and they come out very, very easily. I definately recommened these goggles over all the 07 line. Oh...By the way it also came with a mask bag, removeable chin strap, and a visor.
Conclusion: Buy them. Really. I give them a 9/10...Nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Macadoo89 Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler
Invision family
Jt Spectra
Strengths: Quick change system
No fog
lense clarity
Excellent ventilation
Bounce potential
IMO, looks
comfort
Weaknesses: The mask has a small profile, some may feel that their chin is exposed.
Review: The Grill is the best mask I have used. Most high end masks have one noticeable deficiency. The invisons and Jt's all have a difficult lense change system. In addition The invisions don't have the peripheral vision of other high end masks. I have never used the Event system, but i have heard they have ventilation issues. The Grill does not have any such fault. The same people who complain about protection on any high end mask will complain about a lack of chin and throat protection, but this is not a real fault. The peripheral vision is uninhibited, although the lense gets narrow in the front. The narrowness does not detract from the fov, however. The comfort of the mask is excellent. It is comfortable the same way the profiler was, so if you thought the profiler was comfortable you will find this comfortable as well.

The quick change system on this mask makes it possible to remove the foam. You can take the lense out in under 10 seconds without any difficulty, and to remove the foam only takes another 10 seconds at most. This feature, in particular the speedy lense removal, is not just a gimmick. Everyone should wash their lense after using it, and having a difficult lense removal either causes lackluster maintenance or inconvenience.

The absolute most important attribute of a mask is its lense. The Grill lens offers unobstructed vision, but also never fogs. Well, I should say hasn't fogged. Personally i don't think it will, because the thermocure method of fog prevention seems to work better than thermal lenses. My Spectra lense never fogged perse, but it became less clear. What i mean is that there was never condensation but visibility suffered noticeably. Thermal lenses have a tendancy to trap water when they are washed also. I have heard anecdotes of Invisions, the Flex family, and Protos fogging. You almost never hear about a Profiler or Grill fogging though. This mask would probably be the least likely to fog of any mask.

People have stated that the coating wheres off on V-force lenses. It has never been a problem for anyone I know, and it obviously hasn't been a problem in the time I have owned a Grill, but even if this does happen it probably has more to do with improper treatment than lense quality. If the coating does where off it could also be that you kept the lense for longer than a year, which you technically shouldn't anyway.

Another little touch on the mask that was nice. The mask is mostly very flexible, except for around the lenses, and on the upper part of the sides. What was nice was that the rigid section on the sides goes down just far enough to keep your ears from being hit by the flexible part.
Conclusion: I highly recommend the Grill. It is less than the Event and I3 pro, and yet IMO better. If money is really an issue, I would get a profiler, as they are IMO the second best mask, next to the Grill.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8nt_baller123 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used a JT mask and its no where near as nice as the GRILLZ
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom-Black
14'' barrel
13cu. in. tank
50 round hopper
Strengths: Easy to clean
Light
NO FOGGING all day
Easy dissassembly
Weaknesses: Price-but you pay for what you get and its the best!
Review: This mask is the best ever. The large Vent holes by the mouth make it very easy to breath and to talk. When i talk to my friends during games its so easy to hear them. The flexability of this mask is crazy go nuts (wakawooooo) (ALICIA!!!) and you can get so many good bounces of of it.

Cons.- When you pull the mask apart to hard to fit it over your face, the center nose part pops out and then just pops back in. Its not a big deal but its kinda weird.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask to beginners and pros. ITS THE BEST!!! and like i said before the price is high but you pay for what you get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 12th, 2007 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profiler, JT Pro-Flex, DYE I3, Ventz
Marker Setup: 2006 Cyborg
PBK Sabre Trigger
06 Sonic Clamping Feedneck
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP mini-rail w/CP on off

2005 Ion
CCM Clamping Feedneck
NDZ Diamond Body
NDZ Firing Can/Breech/Swivel Doughnut
NDZ Detents
NDZ QEV
SP Blackheart Board
SP Firebolt
Virtue Laser Eyes (Blue)
ANS Xtrme Roller Trigger
CP Longbottom Reg
CP Direct Mount On/Off
Strengths: Light, Small, Flexible, Easy change lens, Comfortable
Weaknesses: Price, Small
Review: I picked up the Grill last Saturday. The first thing I noticed is how light the mask is. It weighs pretty much the same as the Profiler. It's just a little bit lighter but you would need a scale to tell exactly how much, we are talking mere ounces here.
The Grill is a pretty small mask. It covers close to the same amount of area as the DYE series masks. If you have a big beaner you might want to consider a different mask, either that or just start wearing a sandana. The lens area of the Grill is a lot smaller than that of the Profiler, but it in no way impedes on your vision when you have the mask on. The field of vision is exactly the same as the Profiler. I also put the mask being small as a weekness just because it does not protect as much area....but it isn't so small that it wont protect the vital areas of your head.
The majority of the Grill is flexible, which is good for bounces. The area around the lens is hard plastic helping to maintain the shape and structural strength of the mask. If you take a hit in the lower portion of the mask you might end up with a very minor welt on your chin or neck.
The lenses are very easy to change. Although when the mask is new the parts are stiff (mine still is, but I know other people who have had them since Cup and they get easier) but they will wear in. The lens is easier to put back in than the Profiler lenses (not that they are difficult) and seems to require less effort.
The Grill is just as comfortable as the Profiler in my opinion. The foam is a little stiff when it is brand new but I'm sure it will soften up over time. But it isn't so stiff that you would think you were wearing a low-end mask or anything. The foam pieces that rest just behind the ears (or are supposed to) are removeable. I have worn it with and without these foam pieces and the mask is comfortable either way.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to players who are looking for a really nice high-end mask. Because it is a little pricey I don't recommend it to the casual player, but rather to those who play more frequently.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Luigi the Beast Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex, VForce Profiler, a couple of Proto masks
Marker Setup: Black Ironmen DM6 with Tadao M6 upgraded board, 14' TI Boomstick, RF'd Pulse w/ Speed Feed, 68/45 Angel AIR with Guerrilla HP Reg.
Strengths: It's very light and small, confortable. The "bouncy" areas really work well.
Weaknesses: I'm still not totally convinced it's any safer than previous masks
Review: First of all let me say that I still love my Profiler and even thou I like the Grill, I might be sticking with my older mask a litle longer. I'll get back to that later. As other VForce offerings I've tried before, this one screams quality the second you pull it out of its box. The first thing to notice even before you try it on is how light it really is. Side by side with a Proflex or the heavier Protos, there's no contest. Compared to the it's older brother, the Profiler, it's still lighter, but not by such margin. You'll literally forget you have it on, after a few minutes wearing it. It's very small as well, not sure it's the smallest on the market but I guess it's close enough.
The design on this thing is really clever, and it shows it the most on the surprisingly small lens it uses, much smaller than any other lenses available, and to their credit, the field of vision that was excellent on the Profiler, remains largerly unchanged or at least it feels this way. This is awesome, specially if you consider that the hardest part on a mask's always gonna be the lens, and by consequence it's the part paint's less likely to bounce off of. I suppose it's based on the lenses of sunglasses in its shape. I should point out that even thou it's advertised as being easier to replace the lens on this one, in my opnion the Profiler is still easier to change lenses.
Other innovations include a nifty foam system that can be replaced just as easily as the lenses or the strap, and the material of the lenses themselves, since they're supposed to release some photochromatic ones, that would change according to light conditions, but hasn't been released as of yet.
At first I didn't care much for the looks of this new mask, but it really grows on you. It makes you look very intimidating and somehow "pissed off", which is a lot better than the Profiler SE, that always makes me think of a clown or someone smiling.
As I said at the beggining of the review, I saw no reason to upgrade from the Profiler untill a few weeks ago, when during a game I got shot on the side of my mask and somehow the paint sprayed the "inside" of my lenses. It got me really worried about how proteticve it would really be and made me want a newer one. I finally decided for the Grill, but when I got it I noticed that it leaves a reasonably big gap on my forehead, where the top of the mask curves down (to give it that "pissed off" look) with enough space in between to squeeze a couple of "unlucky" balls. I haven't palyed with it enough to make sure this woudn't happen, but it looks damn right possible.
Conclusion: If you have a high end mask produced recently, I'd say there's not a a lot of reasons to get this one, specially if you already own a Profiler. In case you don't, this would certainly be a great upgrade, light, small and bouncy. I hope I'm wrong about the safety of this mask, so it gets....
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 8th, 2007 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

deathonastick Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Profiler
Dye Invision
Empire E-Vents
Marker Setup: Smart parts shocker SFT w/ ndz trigger, ndz feedneck, ndz snatch grip, ndz ball detents, HE bolt kit, cp asa on/off, 07 empire vegas grips (lady)
Strengths: Incredible lense, incredible profile (wicked tight fitting and hard to hit), awesome looking, easily maintained
Weaknesses: None
Review: I wont bombard you with cliches, or write an essay about the grill but I'll tell you this... I first saw the grill and didn't care for it, I liked the profiler better to be frank, however, I saw it on Chris Lasoya's myspace on him and it was so cool it wasn't even funny. I looked into it and decided I had to have it. This mask is incredible, from removeable foam inside, to a wicked intimidating look, this mask is perfect. I have yet to be hit in it because it's so incredibly tight fitting and, to be perfectly blunt, awesome in that aspect. Hands down, V Force has one of, if not the best mask on the market right now.
Conclusion: Simply put, V Force has outdone themselves with the grill. It is awesome looking, plays tight, has awesome new features no other mask on the market has, and is plausibly the greatest mask out there right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Batman 5-0 Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly invisions & flex's and they are on par
Marker Setup: Etek2
Strengths: Light, flexable, easy disassembling, extremely ease of lense changing.
Weaknesses: The thermal coating & asthetic coatings used on the lense are weak.
Review: I used this mask for about a year over all I really liked the mask it is light flexable and has a lot of room around the mouth so communication and breathing is good. I had a white one which it stained a little over time but I kind of expected that. It has little foam peices behind the ears so the mask does not create discomfort. The strap works pretty good although on a couple of occasion I had the mask come flipping right off in the middle of practice. The foam around the eyes is really comfortable too. The things that bothered me were the lenses I had to replace them often to often for my taste it seemed like I just got a new lense when I would catch a face hit and the mirror coating would start to come off or the termal coating was coming off before I even got to use them. Another problem with the lenses, which is was the reason I got rid of them ultimately, was when I would get hit in the lense the paint inculding shell would get through the lip that holds the lense in place. This would lead to paint and shell getting into my eye which happened on several occasions with different lenses because of my safety concern I discontinued use of them.
Conclusion: It's an alright mask looks cool functions good though I got problems with the lenses
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darius.B Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye I3 Pro's
Marker Setup: PMR UL Frame, Dye UL 14inch barrel, Viewloader Vlocity Jr. Gangstar, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi LP.
Strengths: Easy Lens Removal, Flexible, Lightweight, Looks Sick, tight design.
Weaknesses: A little Bit Expensive
Review: Ok when I first started Paintball the first mask I purchased was the Dye I3 Pro I thought this was the best goggle system in the world..... until I had to take the lens out it took me 30 minutes just to take out the lenses so I seeked something easier in lenses removal saved up for a week and the I purchased My Grillz for 73.00 bnib when I opened the box this afternoon my jam dropped I was astonished The V-force Grill seriously does look a whole lot sweeter in person I tried them on and I was amazed the manual is easy to comprehend and I took my whole goggle apart in 3 minutes taking out the lens taked 45 seconds I am very pleased with V-force.
Conclusion: In Conclusion this is the best goggle system I have ever had the pleasure to put on my face I reccomend this goggle to any body who is seeking easy lenses removal, easy disasembly of the goggle, A flexible goggle system and wants a goggle that just looks Oh' so sick. even though this goggle is a little bit expensive so was the I3 pro so I give the V-force Grill a 10/10 hope you guys liked this review.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 19th, 2008 at 12:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballa100 Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vforce shield - nice mask but kind of heavy and big
jt full head mask- doesnt even compare.
Marker Setup: Ion w/ tons of ups
phantom with frantom barrel
Strengths: Bouncy bottom
very light
bad@$$ looking
Weaknesses: Foam falls apart fast
expensive
Review: I got this after about a year with my shield. I mus say there is no comparison between this and my other masks or my friends proflex. the proflex is a little lighter but thats about it. This mask is very very comfy there is plenty of room inside for breathing and our voice doesn't bounce back at you like the events. Also they are definitely the coolest looking masks ever made. I havent been shot in the lower part of the mask yet to tell you fi the bottom part does bounce.
Conclusion: great mask i would get this over any other mask i just wish i had gotten the white ones storm trooper FTW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media