paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants

Proto 07 Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 07 Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 07 Pants
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
* Adjustable waist with velcro closures makes a perfect fit every time, while the inner leg venting will keep you cool under fire.
* The lightweight design allows you to be comfortable, while the super-strong construction will hold up to aggressive play. Reinforced padded knee panels give protection against knee impacts and vented cargo pockets allow you to carry what you need.
* The combination zipper and button crotch panel is padded and helps protect what's important.
* The sublimated paneling on the sides keeps bright and clean after washing.
* Leg piping and microinjection logos finish this pant off with a cool look and great style.
Product Availability 
The Proto 07 Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Autockr01 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 06 pants - similar
Marker Setup: 06 SFT Shocker
-CP trigger
-CP reg
-HE Bolt
-Trinity clamping feedneck

Infinity Legend
-enough said
Strengths: -Stylish
-Padded (esp in the groin area =D )
-Squeege pocket
-Lots of pockets
Weaknesses: -Not very durable
-Squeege pocket is shallow
Review: After going through a pair of Proto 06 pants, a friend bought me a pair of the 07's. Before even using them, I noticed that they looked very stylish, so that is a plus. Another thing to note is that they have about 5 pockets: two waist level pockets, two cargo pockets, and a squeege pocket (I hope im not forgetting about one). I like the fact that Proto put a squeege pocket on the pants, but its not that deep on the 07 pants. While the pocket is primarily made for battle swabs, straight shots are too long for the pocket to hold and will fall out while playing (I really liked the 06's squeege pocket because it was long enough and narrow enough to hold a straight shot securely). The padding on these pants is decent. The knees have a little bit of padding, but I would still recommend wearing knee pads underneath. I especially like how the groin area is well padded (Thanks Proto!). The first few weeks of playing in these pants, they held up pretty well. However, after a few weeks, I started to notice some significant wear around the knees. A few weeks after that, I had worn a hole in the butt and torn the knees of the pants (almost to shreds) and the snap for the fly had broken.

I am a fairly aggresive player who likes to superman, knee, and baseball slide a lot. Unfortunately, the field that I play at is dirt and may wear the pants much more quickly as opposed to astroturf.
Conclusion: If you are a CASUAL recballer (once a weekend or every other weekend) who doesn't slide excessivly and plays on dirt, I'm sure you will get a lot of use out of and be very happy with these pants. If you are someone who likes to play up front and you like to slide a lot and you play on dirt and you play frequently, the pants will wear quickly (about a couple months). Obviously, if you play on astroturf, the pants will wear MUCH less quickly, and you will be happy with them for a while. Despite my criticism, the Proto 07 pants look awesome and I would recommend them to any casual paintballer or turf baller or someone on a budget.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tooquickforu91 Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
sweat pants- nothing compares to paintball pants
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
14in barrel
4500psi/72ci crossfire tank
ricotche hopper
double trigger
Strengths: Fly
Lots of bounces
Not sweaty
Adjustable waist size
Weaknesses: The sizes jump
Review: When I was buying these they only had a small and a medium..... and I tryed on the small and they were kinda small so I tryed on the mediums and they were really big on me.!!!! So I tightend the waist band( really usefull) and they fit pretty good. Any way what I am trying to say is that they company should not have made a dramatic leap in size.

the good things now ......... when I was playing I was trying to crawl to cover I felt that I got nailed in the leg 3-5 times. When I got to cover i checked if I was hit and to my astonishment all of them bounced!!!! so they are like are really good with bounces!!!
Also when I was finished playing my legs were not even a little bit sweaty. So they are very breathable....

The padding is awsome too.. built in knee pads , side thigh pads and sort of a built in cup.... (lots of padding there)
Conclusion: Overall they are my first pants and I am very happy with them because of all the bounces and the padding and all of the breathableness.
I am mad because of the sizeing but I'm glad i chose the mediums because I'm going to grow into them and if i out grew the smalls i would have to spend another $80
I would recomend them in a heartbeat
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

michaelskul Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Opsgear Interceptor 18"
Evolution II
SmartParts Micro Max-Flo 4500
Crossfire 92/4500
DYE Rhyno Tank Cover
Strengths: Great padding -->especially the fly (-;
Looks
Light
Very durable, "bounce favoring" fabric
Weaknesses: None so far...
Review: These pants are my first ones, so i checked out the reviews of the previous model and other pants before finally buying this product. I didn't know what to expect from them, but after having compared the padding and other key features, i must say they are quite decent. The pockets are quite big and will NOT open without human strength. The venting is very good. It'll keep you cool even after hours of play. My personal favorite feature of these pants is the "bounce off" fabric. I was rushing down the field when my friend nailed me three times on the legs, one of which was on the knee cap. I was sure i was out. But, as soon as i got to cover, to my delight, no paint! Unfortunately, they got rid of the pod loop for those of you who were expecting these to have that.
Conclusion: These pants are basically Dye pants, without Dye written on them, or the price tag that comes with Dye's products. I'm just gonna cut to the chase here: get them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

babustos Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Camo pants
Marker Setup: Blue Dangerous Power Fusion
Blue Egg 2
PMI 72/3000


Strengths: Good venting, looks beautiful, easy to adjust waste, planty of padding
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got these for Christmas, and I use them over old camo army pants. At first I was considering getting knee pads, but these pants have enough padding that I really don't need it. They are very light, vent great, look nice, and have given me 3 or 4 bounces.
Conclusion: Definetely get these if you have the money, they are worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyboy22 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jeans.
Marker Setup: Vexor Eye
Crossfire 47/3000
Mach 404 hopper
CP 1 Piece Classic
Strengths: Comfortable
Vented
Crotch padding
Durable
Well Priced
Weaknesses: Can't find any as of now.
Review: I was at academy, and I was looking through the paintball section when I had come across these pants. I tried them on, and I was impressed. They were very comfortable, and they had great venting, along with the knee/crotch padding (big plus for me.). So far, I've only found the 4 pockets out of the 5, with the 5th being the squeegee one. They seem really strong, and its going to take human force to open them, so it should keep a few of my things in there safely. Price tag was $70. Not that bad, compared with what is out there. Wearing them hasn't been a problem. Again, very comfortable. I've even worn them a few times going out. I really like them, and I'd probably buy another pair when my current ones wear out, and i hope that's in a long time.

I haven't gotten to paintball with them yet, but I'll have an edited area telling how they were for me.
Conclusion: I like them so far. Comfortable, good price, and they are well padded.

I'll have a bit more detailed review on thursday, when I test them out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ocianic Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: ion / virtue / virtue eyes / virtue ez on / new designz qev / freak jr / q-lock feed neck / cp drop / cp on off / cp reg------tippmann A-5 / response trigger / 16'' stiffy / reg / stock-----tippmann 98 / 16'' cp clasic barrel.
Strengths: Very light weight
Good price
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Knee pads very thin easy to rip and or tear when sliding
Review: Great pants work awesome great price just an awesome purchase i would never return or bad mouth them if your looking for a pair of pants that are light weight and comfortable then these are what you are looking for they come in almost every colar and the paint never stains them i have went paint-balling and forgot to wash them for like two weeks and still had no stains......
Conclusion: Buy them there very good almost no problems at all
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-SpEnCeR- Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Rake Trigger
CP Feedneck
Strengths: Durable
Nice padded knees
Squegee Pocket
Aired out
Weaknesses: Main Pockets are velcro
The mesh-inner leg=see through
Heels often drag
Price
Review: They are comfertable and aired out. For the price they are pretty expensive but worth it. These are my first pants and are by far one of the best. However, finding small sized ones is semi-difficult. If u do not want water or mud going up your leg, u can tighten the ancles.
Conclusion: Over all very decent pants.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PreditorPlayer Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye 05 Pants
Dye 06 Pants
Dye 07 Pants
Proto 06 Pants
^^none of these compare^^ but dye 07's are close
Marker Setup: Ironmen DM6- Orange Bolt
Halo B-rip drive-titanium cone
Smart Parts 68/45 with Maxflo
Strengths: Strong!!!
Flexible
Light
padding
Many Pockets
Adjustment!!! will fit anyone
Weaknesses: Front Pockets
Review: Basicly the best thing is stregnth i am a front player and slide a lot and these things never rip and the padding helps you from hurting yourself. you need to look hard for the pockets because i just found some of them... they blend in with your pants but there are a lot. DONT USE FRONT POCKETS WHILE PLAYING. they also tighten a lot so you can adjust them for feet!!! i am very short and skinny and the pants fall down instantly without tightening them but have Tight fit if adjusted
Conclusion: Use these pants over all other pants out there. its worth it they are EXTREMELY strong. many pockets. good for everyone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zodiac910 Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Heh. Before I got these I was just wearing camo army pants to the field. =P
Marker Setup: Black PMR '07 w/ UL Frame
CP Classic 16" and J&J Ceramic Barrels
NDz Aluminum Backcap
Crossfire LP 68/4500
eVLution 3
Strengths: Good Ventilation, Comfortable, Strong, Durable, Cool looking.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought these as my first actual Paintball Pants. I was very impressed when i first put em on and played some games. They are very durable, I slide a lot and still dont have any scratches or tears. They keep you ventilated well, and are very comfortable too. The padding is excellent on these, I still haven't had any leg shots that broke; they always bounce. The extra padding on the knees and crotch are especially useful. The pockets keep shut very well, but the squeegee pocket isnt quite deep enough, so I just put my barrelbag in it.
Conclusion: Overall, excellent pants. They are worth the $80.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EgoBaller410 Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Evil Pants
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse 06 Ego
.692 Dye Ultralite
Halo B w/ rip drive
Draxxus 68/4500
Pure Energy 45/4500

Vforce Profiler
Empre E-Vents
Strengths: Price
Weight (light)
Waist belt
Weaknesses: Durability (more in the review)
location of the swab pocket
Review: I bought these pants back a few months ago when I was looking for a light in-expensive pair of pants. Overall impressions when you first get then are good. They look good, and seem to be of sturdy construction.

After several months of tournament use (about 2-3 times a week) I've found a few things about these pants

Strengths:
-very light, which makes it easy for front players like myself to move.
-Baggy, so you get a decent amount of bounces off the legs.
-Venting is pretty nice, feels a little light in construction, but it gets the job done, and nothing feels better than spreading your legs on a good breeze. : )

Weaknesses:
-The knee construction is a little light. I play front so I've put these pants through a lot of abuse. after the first month or so the knees began to wear along the seems, and the black lining around the knee pads began to wear. after the 2nd month one of the rubber knee patches came loose then eventually ripped off.
-I personally don't like the placement of the swab pockets, the are located below the knees so after a while of running around, you're bound to lose a swab or two. (I've lost 3)

Overall:
They are a decent pair of pants for the money. If you're only going to be playing once or twice a month, and don't put a lot of abuse into your pants, these should be a decent pair of pants for your money. If you are a front player, and are really hard on pants I would recommend looking into another pair of pants.
Conclusion: If you're hard on your gear, find another pair.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media