paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
MrEPinky Monday, February 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-fire - bottom of the line hard rubber mask with limite Vision
JT Spectra - 260* vision, but made of hard plastic (mine ended up breaking)
JT Flex-7 IZE - Great mask, soft rubber, comes in many colors with two lenses, comparable to the Proteus
Marker Setup: -=Weir Rat Impulse=-
Vision - OTB Frame - VFF - No-rise
Vertical Max-flo - Freak - etc.
Strengths: -My favorite thing about this mask is that it fits like a glove. I have noticed that my Flex-7 bounces around on my face quite a bit when I'm running, no matter how tight my strap is. The Proteus hugs my face with it's cushy and comfortable foam even when I'm running, sliding, diving, etc.

-Tight profile. This mask protects your face and contours to it (whereas my Flex-7 flairs out from the lower part of my face.) With less profile, I'm not exposing a whole lot of my head when I'm snap shooting or hugging my bunker. As for getting shot in the neck - it's just as likely to happen with any other mask (unless you buy a Brass Eagle or Diablo mask with a throat protector, which isn't very cool IMHO)

-Sweet look. Because this mask contours, it just looks sharper than my Flex-7. I didn't really notice this until I saw a picture that someone had taken of me. The only other mask I can think of that may rival the Proteus in this department is the Dye Envision.

-Anti-fog. This mask has yet to fog up on me. I used it in a 40* tourney last weekend and had zero problems with foggage.
Weaknesses: -I haven't noticed much of an increase in hearing, so don't expect the multidirectional ear pieces to do wonders.

-The visor is huge! I suppose you could use it to deflect broken paint away from your hair when you take a hit in the forehead, but I'd rather have a smaller profile. I've also seen quite a few visor jewels lost due to a visor hit so I'd question it's integrity. Keep some super glue handy if you're keen on keeping that jewel on ther...

-It's true, your chin will come below the bottom of the mask when you're yelling, but this is a small price to pay for a smaller profile. It may bother some people, but I'm not too concerned about it.

-The bottom half of the mask is less likely to bounce shot's than my Flex-7. This is also a trade off for having a smaller profile. My advice is to avoid getting shot in the face ;)

-I've noticed that these masks gather condensation in the nosepiece. Not really a bad thing, but it gets a bit wet in there.

-Lenses are a bit hard to remove, but this was also the case with my Flex-7. After taking them out a few times, the mask should break in to make things easier.
Conclusion: These are really nice masks which improve upon the Flex-7 mask of yesterday. I'm really digging the smaller profile that hugs my face and the comfortable glove-like fit that keeps mask where it should be - secured to my face. On top of this, these masks are sexy and well made. They use Spectra lenses which are easy to find. The only real downside to this mask is the rather cumbersome visor. Other than that, it's preference between the Flex-7 and the Proteus. The Proteus takes things in a different direction which I feel are more beneficial to my style of play. Take the above comments into consideration when deciding on this mask and ask yourself whther or not it fits your needs. Hope this review helps!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crime Dog Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray, Brass Eagle Maxx Vision
Marker Setup: Does it matter when we're discussing masks? ;)
Strengths: Comfortable.
Stylish
Small Profile
Good field of view
Easy to find lenses
Little/No Fogging
Weaknesses: Lens hard to change
The thermal lens DID fog at one point.
Review: Before buying the Proteus, I tried both it, AND the DYE Invision mask on my face, to see if either would fit over my glasses. Both did. However, I was immediately able to tell that the Proteus was MUCH more comfortable on my face than was the Invision. I also liked the field of view a bit better.

I tried "talking" with the mask on, but did not experience my chin dropping below the mask, and so this whole "chin" problem is a non-issue for me.

I got a "Smoke" Proteus, and I absolutely love the way it looks, especially with a smoke lense in.

The mask fit well on my head, and stayed tight during continuous play Friday night and Saturday all day.

This mask didn't fog on me at all during speedball games (which was a bulk of my day.) However, the ONE time I played in the woods with a full ghillie (including a ghillied hat), I got VERY warm, and sweat heavily. At this point, I DID have the lens fog on me. So, it seems I only had a fogging problem when I was sweating profusely. I suppose a fan would have helped with that even, but I haven't heard very good reviews on the Vortex Fan made my JT. Thus, I haven't spent money on one until I read better reviews.

Conclusion: I would definitely recommend investing in this mask. I found it at Paintball Wholesalers for $59 I believe. Great deal! The cheapest anywhere else was about $69. Comfortable, small profile, stylish, and good fog protection under "normal" circumstances. (I don't consider my ghillie setup..."normal.")
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ir3bunkerboy Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex-7
Marker Setup: WDP Angel IR3 Red C & C
Dye Ultralite barrel anodized to match.
68/4500 Armageddon tank
Strengths: This Mask is Awesome. Never fogs. No more need for anti fog cleaner. Very comfy.
Weaknesses: Does not cover neck well. But does not down grade the quality.
Review: This mask is the best mask that I have ever used. Even though it does not protect your neck very well it is still a great quality. I will not let the neck thing affect my rating because you can just get a neck protector. You don't even need neck protector if you are a good enough paintballer. I don't think that I will ever change masks unless I get a sponser.
Conclusion: Buy this mask. If you sweat alot it also has a very well padded edges. Almost never FOGS. A++++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RandyLCD Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only rental equipment
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragon LCD, VL Revolution, JT Proteus II, 20 Oz Co2.
Strengths: Tight fit, low target area, NO FOG LENSE!!!
Weaknesses: Not great chin protection
Review: I really love this mask...It is very tight and your vision is really huge...Plus you face does not get that hot! The only complaint is the lack of chin protection...I am only saying this because I got hit in the chin 2 times on my first day and it stung like a mother! Not a lot of protection, but I guess that it's my own fault for getting hit.

This is a great mask and I got it for $54.95 + $8.00 Shipping. Look around and you will find it. I don't have the info in front of me but it was a company who sells through yahoo.com.
Conclusion: I love the mask and highly recommend it to anyone who has the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PAX IMPERIALIS Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision (not as good), Flex 7 and other Spectra masks
Marker Setup: Custom Built Shocktech Autococker
Custom Rainmaker (work in progress, best gun ever!)
Strengths: Extremely comfortable, small profile, looks
Weaknesses: Looks funny with visor (take it off!)
Review: This is the best mask I've ever used. After using a few other masks, none have come close to the excellent performance you get from this one. The masks it tight and comfortable and never fogs. It has a small profile for fewer head hits. The only thing is that it looks funky with a visor, but take it off and that problem is solved. The lenses can be tough to take out, but they're definitely not the worst.
Conclusion: JT's masks are unmatched and this one proves it. They provide the best comfort and protection. The Proteus is king! The Invision doesn't come close to what this mask provides.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 23rd, 2003 at 5:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rabid Fishstick Wednesday, January 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray Mask with thermal lens. The Spectra Proteus is much better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline with crossfire compressed air tank.
Strengths: -Looks really cool
-Very confortable
-Is much easier to project your voice without it being muffled
-A lot easier to hear commands and whats going on
-Light
-Doesn't fog
-Very low profle
-Comes with goggle bag
Weaknesses: What IS bad about this product?
Conclusion: Worth every penny. Go out and get one if your thinking about it. Trust me, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All other JT masks, Scott's, PMI's
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic, 12v Rev, J&J 12" ceramic, chrome Intelliframe, chrome Taso on/off drop, WGP foregrip Reg, Phase 2 Venturi Bolt, Rear Velocity, Pure Energy 68-3k nitro.
Strengths: It offers the same protection of any other spectra mask. Structurally speaking. If you are into the flashy colors, you'll like it. The clear panels are actually clear as opposed to translucent like everyone else's "clear" masks. Very Low profile.
Weaknesses: First off, looks are an issue. If you are a bigger player than "Shorty" from Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom", you are going to look like a GOON. Let's talk coverage. The chin exposure for larger players is a joke. JT could have put a little more down there without sacrificing any low profile attributes. Don't tell me to "suck it up" either. I could care less about getting hit in the chin, if I didn't have to clean the entire mask out afterward. It's not about being a pantywaist anymore, it's about the mask being a pain in the butt. If you have a large melon, don't expect to feel very ventilated. Ever seen the Alien movie? Yeah, now you know what I'm talking about. The visor is all but useless. This mask screams "GIMMICK" and is no better by any means than any other spectra mask. Ear dials? Give me a break.
Conclusion: I work in a paintball proshop, and have more than five years in the sport. I have not seen a more blatant gimmick since the Ram Rod barrel. Get the Flex-7. Proteus isn't worth the extra $40 by any means.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zedthephish Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raven nuvis 1(as good)
Scott Strike( terrible)
Marker Setup: 68 Automag with some stuff
Spyder 2 in 1 with a winforce and other stuff
Strengths: Nice visiblility
Doesnt fog at all
Doesnt feel like you're wearing a mask
Weaknesses: POWER RANGERS IN THE LOST GALAXY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: My friend has this mask, and intrigued, I tried it out for one game. This mask is very very comfortable, to the point where you don't feel like you are wearing a mask. This is also added to by the very wide lens. the only mask I've found to have a comparable F.O.V is the Raven nuvis 1, which means that the vision on this mask has to be about 280 at least. This mask also never ever fogs, ever. You can breathe as hard as you want and it will never ever fog. In fact, the only things I really don't like about this mask are, 1) the price, and 2) the way it looks. I cannot stand the way this mask looks. When i first put it on I ran around karate chopping people(lightly mind you). This mask looks like it came straight out of the dressing room of the White Ranger. And don't say you don't know who the White Ranger is. This mask looks sooooo ridiculous that I got shot because I was laughing so hard i couldn't aim straight. Keep in mind that this is all my opinion, and the fact that the only thing I could find wrong with the mask was aesthetic.
Conclusion: This is a very nice mask. It just looks really funny. Seriously though, if you don't mind or even like the style of this mask you will not be disapointed. However, the style makes me give it a 9 instead of a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

stockcom Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex-7, JT X-Fire, Dye Invision, V-Force Gaudian
Marker Setup: VF cocker with everything but an e-blade
Strengths: small, comfy, 290 degrees of vison, thermal, good ventilation, looks cool, good accoustics
Weaknesses: you will eat paint, minimal chin protection
Review: i bought this mask because my old x-fire was wearing out. it was big, uncomfortable, and looked like i was a newbie. the proteus is small, comfy, neato looking, and i just an all around nice mask. first off, JT is the best mask maker in the industry. they make the best lense and the best masks on the market. i have used JT since i started and have never had a problem. the spectra lense is thermal, durable, and gives you 290 degrees of vision. if i roll my eyes, i can just barely see the outline of the lense. there is very little you can't see. the mask is small in profile, not like the old x-fire. that was like wearing a box on my head that screamed just shoot me! the proteus is possibly the smallest profile mask on the market. and the most comfortable. jt has the best foam and it hugs your head comfortably and leaves very little hanging out to get hit. the accoustic characteristics are great. now when someone is yelling at me or viceaversa, i can actually hear it. they actuallly have built in ear pieces so improve your hearing, and a big area so your voice carries. there in lies one of the minor problems with this mask. if you take one in the mouth area, be prepared to eat a lot of paint. the other problem is that in order to create a small profile, they had to minimize chin protection. if you open your mouth all the way, it will expose the bottom of your chin under the mask. however, this isn't that bad. i've never been hit in the chin (even though i have been shot in the family jewels... twice), and other masks like the invision will expose your open mouth if you open your mouth at all. (i have a big head and chin, so this might not go for everyone)
Conclusion: this is a first rate mask with minor flaws common to all masks. its overall size, comfiness, and performance are excellent, and i don't think i'll need another mask for a long time. i am very happy with my proteus and give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_JJ Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
v force armour
nforcer
Marker Setup: 99 sidefeed cocker with kapp delron detent shock tech cocking rod 14" thunder pig barrel wgp hingedrop forwad stock reg wgp 3 way aka lighting bolt 20 oz co2 with on off and anti syphon
Strengths: never fogged
looks
fit
Weaknesses: chaging lense
Review: This is the best mask ive ever used its comfy ,it fits like a glove ,it never fogs ,and best of all it looks awesome. the only set back is that its very hard to change and clean the lenses but it might be that im used to the v force
Conclusion: i reccommend this mask to any one and if you watch ebay you can get it cheap my was $50 with new lense and tear offs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (18):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media