paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Reactive Trigger (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown, as tested in our R&D labs when trigger pulled by computer. Designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases. All new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the world-renowned 68AUTOMAG valve. The RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight Hard Anodized Aluminum Regulator Body. Laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing , carbide tipped Sear Assembly. Polished Stainless Steel Mainbodies. New tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake (see update information shorter barrels. Integral Sight Rail. Built in filter prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Trunnion Tuesday, October 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag 68, '00 autococker, minimag
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro, 51/3k crossfire nitro tank, 12v revvy, stock barrel
Automag 68, 68/3k flatline nitro system, 12v revvy, 16" total freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro is required, so a good tank is suggested. a drop forward will probably make it more comfortable. a 12v revvy is a must. if the paint you use doesn't match the stock barrel, then a new barrel is suggested
Strengths: The ROF is extremely high. The RT action on the trigger makes for a short and snappy pull that I like quite a bit. This gun will NOT do runaway mode like a Tippmann RT in it's stock configuration, so don't expect it to. Runaway is not tournament legal, so you shouldn't need that for serious tourny-style play anyway. The foregrip and sight rail add a nice look to the gun, and I particularly like my black teflon body. The rail and foregrip are also removable if you want to save weight or get that shiny stuff off there for woods play(yes, I do use mine in the woods). So far I've only chopped one ball in the chamber after approximately 3 cases worth of paint. The stock barrel, while a little loud, is good for most medium bore paints. I've heard people complain about the crown point slicing balls open at the muzzle, but I haven't had any such issues(I check for sharp edges when I got it, and they were pretty smooth). The valve can recharge at 26 bps without shootdown, which means you shouldn't get shootdown ever(considering you can feed faster than 18 bps with a HALO B and probably can't pull the trigger faster than 9 or 10 bps anyway). Great consistancy. The two finger Intelliframe is stock with all RT Pros now, and it's a great, sturdy trigger frame. Stainless steel valve and steel body are practically indestructable(unless you're trying really hard to break it). Field stripping is quick and easy. I personally like the twist-lock barrel system, though that's also personal preference. Stock barrel came with plastic nubbins.
Weaknesses: I personally don't like the positioning of the foregrip, but most people that I've allowed to shoot it don't mind. That's a matter of personal preference. I took mine off. It can be a bit weighty with the foregrip and sight rail, so removing the foregrip will save you some weight. I don't mind the weight, but some might. The actual gun body is kinda boring. Again, this isn't something that bothers me, so long as the gun works I'm happy. When you do chop a ball, the barrel should be cleaned with water and squeegeed well and you should make sure the powerfeed(if you have a p/f body) is clear of paint and shell. I've only experienced this once, and that was during a very long string of shooting in a scenario game. In normal speedball situations, where engagement times are short, this problem will most likely not arise. The level 10 upgrade will also help to fix this problem.
Conclusion: This is a great product backed by excellent customer service from a wonderful company. If you're interested in a high end gun that can keep up with an electro, this is pretty much it, with the possible exception of some of the higher end cockers(I don't know cockers very well so I won't speak for them). Most of the things I listed as 'Bad' were personal preference, and the chopped ball scenario doesn't occur often. This is the best paintball gun I've ever shot.

Just some things to note as I often see misinformation in these reviews(not neccessarily reviews for this gun):
-All guns have the same range if shooting at the same velocity.
-Accuracy has nothing to do with barrel length past the first 8 unported inches. after that it's all paint/boresize match.
-Consitency(consistant velocity from shot to shot) is the other major factor in accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
fired a normal mag a few times, those shoot pretty nice too
Marker Setup: RT PRO, tko drop forward, smart parts all american barrel, 68/4500crossfire fiberwrapped, and it came with a double trigger :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
if yours didn't come with a double trigger, i recommend that, but you can still rip off a lot of quick shots easily with single though, and a new barrel, but don't make that your primary upgrade, i'd get a drop forward before that...but thats me
Strengths: the stock barrel really is pretty good, anyone who says it sucks probably had a really bad paint/barrel match, but mine shot well enough to get by for awhile. it shot very very fast. it was comfy to hold. it very rarely chops or breaks on me, if you use decent paint, if you can afford this gun you can afford decent paint, don't be stupid. its very very accurate with the 12 inch all american barrel i have, i know autocockers are amazingly accurate n all, but this thing is very close to their accuracy and the consitency is great, don't ever worry about a 2nd reg. a cocker can't shoot half as fast as this babay, and they can't be chucked into a tree and come out without a scratch. many are the cockers i've wasted with the shere firepower of this gun. if a cocker could shoot as fast as this then i'd say a cocker would have a slite edge on it maybe, but how the h@ll did i get talking about those guns.....anyways..
Weaknesses: the tip of the stock barrel will break a ball once in awhile not often.
Conclusion: this gun really does rock, a newbie could take this gun, try to break it, and not succeed. thus is its durability, and its performance is the best youre gonna find for a gun this durable. its as simple as that. this thing has never given me a hot shot or not come through when i needed high rof and accuracy the most. i do think its perfect, so screw all the people that think there is no perfect gun. this gun might break a pball once in awhile, but thats just cause its too perfect, and it doesn't wanna make other markers feel bad..i'm tired, i'm going to bed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dahoeb Friday, February 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
standard mag
Marker Setup: RT mag, flatline nitro, 12inch boomy
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, decent nitro
Strengths: everything, when i say everything, i do mean it
Weaknesses: i dunno. who knows, maybe someday, possibly 22 years down the road i might have to replace a spring or sear on the gun.
Conclusion: i think that guy who wrote the review below me is a f@ggot. ofcourse he'd say all that, he owns a cocker, and naturally, as a COCKer fiend hes supposed to say bad things about automags, even though the rest of the world says this gun is accurate (which is true) amazingly durable, and requires less maintenaince, less upgrades, and has twice the firepower of a cocker, and is in the long run cheaper. the only plus with the cocker is it is slightly more accurate at a jillion miles away, distances at which the paint won't even break. questions/comments can be referred to my email address, my secretary will respond to them as soon as possible. pleasebe patient for responses as time is money where i live, which is in a trailer park. thank you. god bless.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PGoP Friday, May 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, my entry level marker. I tested most of the major pro guns (Angel, Shocker, Autococker etc.) while shopping for a new marker and settled on the RT Pro becuase I prefer trigger pull over mouse click.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro
Warp Feed
Intelliframe (intellifeed)
18v Revy (X-Board)
Droptech drop forward
crossfire 88/4500 HPA tank (850 preset)
Dye 10" Boomstick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
At least the Warp/Intellifeed.
An HPA tank set to 850 will give the trigger great reactivity.
The 10" Boomstick / Marblizer combo gives this marker insane accuracy.
8-10 bounce paint is a must for this marker (see "the bad")
Strengths: This marker will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger without short stroking it. The reactive trigger enables those who are used to it (it takes a bit of practice) to more than double the normal limitations of trigger pull (5-6 a second). Yes, electros with their mouse clicks will do the same, but this is paintball, not Quake III. Unlike electros with comparable ROF, the RT will do it with near perfect consistency and no shoot down. That means that the 12 balls you shot in one second all left your barrel with nearly the same velocity. Other markers loose power while firing at rates that high, this effects accuracy. If you've got a good paint/barrel match, more than likely those twelve balls landed within a few inches of each other.

The trigger pull vs. mouse click thing is a matter of preference. Personally, I prefer a trigger pull, and one that requires skill. Any fool can click a mouse.

The Retro Valve is the best. no further adjectives needed, and no modifications needed. No aftermarket product will improve this valve (most will hinder it). Don't mess with it, and it will not let you down.

Another reason for buying the RT Pro is it's rugged stainless steal construction. Those who are upgrading from Tippmanns will be shell shocked by the frailty and high maintenance level of most other pro markers (with a few notable exceptions). Automags in general are tough as nails.

Lastly, AGD's customer service is the best in the industry. Tom Kaye (the owner of the company) is often available to help you personally, over the phone or on automags.org. I think this availability is a reflection of how few problems AGD products have.
Weaknesses: This marker will not, I repeat, will not fire 26 BPS. But buck up, no marker will, no feed system can supply balls that fast. If you are looking for pure blazing speed, check out the fully automatic E-Mag Lv. 10 Extreme, or the Angel IR3, both of which will do 20 BPS.

Even with a shortened searing pin, you could never pull a trigger or click a mouse 26 times in one second, so forget about it. The fact that the gun will cycle that fast does not mean it will spray paint that fast.

You WILL short stroke, you WILL chop paint. The temptation to fire even faster WILL overcome you. Chopping (splitting a ball not fully in the chamber) is user error. If you don't think you will be able to control yourself, get a Shocker or another low pressure gun. Their bolts don't hit the ball with enough force to chop.

The marker deserves its reputation for being tough on paint. Tough paint (I shoot marblizer) will not have any problems in this marker. If forced to shoot crappy oblong 0-2 bounce field paint, you will have occasional barrel breaks.

With my set up, this marker weighs about 9000 lbs. I don't care, but you might.
Conclusion: The difference between markers at this level is mostly preferential. Semis will put down between 9 and 12 BPS occasionally bursting around 14 and 15. The RT Pro is the only non electro that can keep up (some will tell you it is faster, but at that point it is the user not the gun). Full auto is already forbade at 98%% of playing fields and multi firing modes soon will be. That leaves a field full of high end semis doing between 9 and 12 BPS.

Accuracy is about matching your paint to your barrel
Range is about FPS
Consistency is about having a good reg
ROF is about feed rate and your trigger finger

In then end they are all basically the same with a few differences. Fire what you like.

I give this Marker a nine in spite of the fact that it is my all time favorite. 10 means perfect, nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

SomebodySomeone Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NO other gun compare to this gun. The closest one would be the old RT, which i have use once.
Marker Setup: AGD RT Pro (Poilished Chrome), VL 12v, Dye Invision Mask, Dye 2003 core division gloves, DeadOn Drop forward (7 inches/ 2.5 down), Crossfire 114ci. 3000psi. nitro tank, Intellifeed hooked up to hopper, SmartParts 14inch Freak barel (black), and of course a level 10 came with my RT Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10, A fast hopper (vl 1 or 2, halo, any over 12 bps), a new barrel unles you play speed ball all the time. Just get a new barrel. I garrentee your accuracy will go up along with your distance.
Strengths: -Speed
-Nice Feel
-Better/Not as expensive as AUTOcrappers
-Plain SEXY
Weaknesses: Nitrogen only, BUT WHO LIKES nasty C02? (eww)
Review: This is my favorite gun because its the best Semi and fastest. It has great performance and it uses nitrogen only for real players. It has the greatest upgrades since AGD is, in my view, the best paintball gun maker. I think they really take their work seriously and they work hard for the players, Thank you Tom Kaye. Thanks for making all those top notch upgrades for those die hards like me (8'D>.

Hopefully you guys are not paying that CrAzY price of $750 (where is that shipped from?). I got mine for $560 brand new just here near me in chicago
Conclusion: Buy an AGD or you will be sorry, even you "angel/autococker" lovers. AGD 4 LiF3...
.....trust this 15 year old (8'D>
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vamp Friday, January 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've played with a Kapp Autococker for a year. Every time I've played with it it's always been a headache to me. I do not recommend cockers. they are so tempermental. I found myself always making adjustments to the regulators, the velocity was never consistant. It was a mess. It was not worth my time.
Marker Setup: I currently use an Automag RT pro, vertical feed, black body. With a 14" 32degrees Carbon fiber barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good cradle or drop forward. And a 4500 tank. Because you are going to need all the air that you can get. Because this gun works best at high pressure. Right under about 900, it dosent shoot as vicious.
Strengths: This gun is no joke. I could out shoot any cocker, and even some of the weaker fully automatic electronic guns. EX AMG Spyder. The recharge on this RT is so outrageously fast. I love the sound when I rock that trigger.
Weaknesses: nothing, I'm happy with everything about it. The velocity adjustment is right there, I can clean it in two seconds. It's not bulky like all the other markers. EX like an autococker's big body, or the ugly impulse.the Impulse looks like your running around with a nasty black box with a barrel sticking out of it.
The RT is pleasant to the eye. The best marker I've played with yet.
Conclusion: Very easy to maintenance. just a couple a drops of Autolube and your like what! who's next.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Auotmag rt pro
Armageddon 4500 psi tank (which is sweet get if if you have the money)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another barrel
Buy parts kit just in case
Another trigger (the rt trigger is lose.)
Maybe the other venturi bolt to help save air and some paintballs from breaking
Strengths: This gun is the s***, it shoots very fast. It's is also very accurate. It's a little ruff on some paintballs, it would be helpful if you match up bore sizes with your paintball sizes to reduce breaks. Otherwise it's not hard to get used to the reactive tigger at all don't listen to those people who say it is. It only took me a few minutes to get used to. It is also very quiet.
Weaknesses: Could be ruff on paint and barrel lock sysytem sucks donkey balls.
Conclusion: It's a great gun if you have the money. At one point I saw it for 450 brand new. I recommend this gun to anyone who is will to spend some money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blando Tuesday, February 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none by comparison
Marker Setup: -14" Boomstick
-electric hopper
-regulated nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
The z-grip. Some players like it some dont. Freak, although it comes with an ok barral. Must have a e-hopper. reguleted nitro
Strengths: -everything
-good range
-easy to field strip
-good looking
-reliable
Weaknesses: -heavy
-expencive
Conclusion: The best gun I ever had. I will keep it for a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kieron Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: AGD RT Pro with Intelliframe, Level 10
Warp Feed with Ricochet AK
Crossfire 88/3k with System X D/F w/ On-Off
Taso 14" Pro SS
Recommended
Upgrades:
In this order:
Level 10 bolt kit (If not equipped with one)
Warp Feed
Flatline Tank system
Strengths: High rates of fire, this marker is capable of firing faster than you can pull the trigger and most hopper's can feed. Through superior design, there is no shootdown, as there is with other markers or CO2 set-ups.
Low upkeep. A couple of drops of lube in the QD after a day on the field and that's it. No need for timing or time consuming maintenance. A yearly o-ring swap is the only major "overhaul" that needs to be performed.
Few moving parts. This marker is 100%% mechanical. No electronics to worry about, if something fails on the marker, it's most likely a blown o-ring.
Customer service from AGD is the best in the business. Also, if you can't get a hold of someone at AGD (a rare occurance), the folks at www.automags.org are some of the friendliest and knowledgeable people when it comes to working on any AGD product.
Twist-lock barrels. If you have a barrel break, give the barrel 1/4 turn and pull. The barrel comes right out. Excellent if you need to clean it in the middle of a game.
Weaknesses: The learning curve for the trigger might be steep. If you don't have a properly installed Level 10 kit, expect to chop balls when you start firing it. Short stroking is a near certanty until you get used to the Reactive Trigger pushing back against your finger.
Conclusion: Some people might complain that AGD markers are paint blenders. I would guess that most of thest people never took the time to learn the marker, or are repeating what they heard from someone else. As with anything else that is new, use it and give it a chance before you draw an opinion.
Other people have complained about twist-lock problems. Most can be repaired with a simple adjustment, be the lock too tight or too loose.

In my opinion, the RT Pro is the best mechanical marker produced. High rates of fire, low upkeep, awesome customer service, easy to work on and a group of other 'Mag owners that are just a click away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trox14 Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Black Magic Cocker, WDP IR3 fly, AGD E-mag
Marker Setup: Automag RT pro w/ Halo B and 68 Ci 3000psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper, Intelleframe, Drop foward, level 10 bolt, and a big tank
Strengths: Plenty of paint flying, the accuracy is okay, looks pretty good and mechanically is perfect
Weaknesses: A little heavy, needs a new trigger frame, gas hog, and a bit pricy
Conclusion: It's a great gun buy one if you can afford it. I haven't had it very long but I love it, it just needs a few upgrades to be as close to perfect as it can be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media